DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because inclusion of implied phrases such as “disclosure”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: image encoding/decoding method generating a chroma component based on the intra prediction mode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Yoo et al (WO 2020/235960).
Yoo, in Fig. 14, discloses the same computer readable storage medium storing a bitstream as specified in independent claim 10 of the present invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 and 11 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claims 1-9 and 11 are considered allowable over the prior art because none of the references of record alone or in combination suggest, disclose, or teach an image decoding method, the method comprising acquiring a first flag indicating whether an intra derivation mode is applied to a current block, wherein the intra derivation mode represents a mode for deriving an intra prediction mode by using a reconstructed neighboring sample; acquiring a second flag indicating whether a Block Differential Pulse Coded Modulation (BDPCM) is applied to a chroma component of the current block based on the first flag; deriving an intra prediction mode of the chroma component based on the second flag; and generating a prediction sample of the chroma component based on the intra prediction mode all together as claimed. The closest prior art, Zhao (12,526,427), discloses a conventional decoding method, either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render the above limitations obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
12526427 discloses Video Or Image Coding Based On Mapping Of Luma Samples And Scaling Of Chroma Samples
12526458 discloses High Level Syntax For Video Coding And Decoding
12526405 discloses Adaptive Coding Order For Intra Prediction In Video Coding
/Y LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485