DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “collar” in claim 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3-11, the scope of the claims is unclear because it recites duplicate limitations of the breast portion and areola portion providing a latch portion thus making it unclear if there are two latch portions. Furthermore, the claims recite a plurality of discrete circumferentially spaced elongated recesses and it is unclear if the recited at least one elongate recess in the independent claim are part of this plurality of discrete recesses as suggested in the original disclosure or are separate recesses as suggested in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 12-14, 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0102388 to Lewis et al. (Lewis) in view of US 2016/0081884 to Palmer et al (Palmer).
Regarding claim 1, Lewis discloses a nipple (10) comprising a base portion (18) for attachment to an external component, a breast portion (A, Fig 3 below) extending from the base portion, an areola portion (B, Fig 3 below) extending from breast portion, a teat portion (C, Fig 3 below) extending from areola portion, wherein breast portion extends at a first angle (D) relative to axis of the base portion and areola portion extends at a second angle (E, Fig 3 below) relative to axis of base portion, the first angle being greater than second angle (Fig 3 below). Lewis further teaches breast and areola portion providing a latch portion but does not teach the latch portion comprising at least one elongate recess. Palmer disclose a nipple (10) and in particular discloses a latch portion comprising at least one elongate recess (28) extending circumferentially around an inner surface thereof (Fig 2d). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate an elongate recess to Lewis as suggested by Palmer in order to facilitate collapsing.
Regarding claim 3, Lewis teaches the nipple of claim 1 and further teaches breast and areola portion providing a latch portion but does not teach the latch portion comprising a plurality of discrete, circumferentially spaced elongate recesses. Palmer discloses a nipple (10) and in particular discloses the nipple having a latch portion comprising a plurality of discrete circumferentially spaced elongate recesses (28) extending circumferentially around an inner surface thereof, the recesses forming a discontinuous ring of recesses (Fig 2c-2d). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate spaced recesses to Lewis as suggested by Palmer in order to make the latch portion less stiff and pliable (Palmer, €0026).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Lewis further teaches the recesses (28, Palmer) are arranged in repeating pattern along discontinuous ring.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Lewis further teaches each recess (28, Palmer) providing a region of reduced wall thickness (Fig 3a).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Lewis further teaches latch portion (30, Palmer) has a smooth outer surface at each recess (Figs 2a, 3a).
Regarding claim 14, Lewis further discloses breast portion (A, Fig 3 above) frustoconical in shape (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 17, Lewis further discloses areola portion (B, Fig 3 above) frustoconical (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 18, Lewis further discloses breast portion (A), areola portion (B), teat portion (C) provided by continuous outer wall (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 19, Lewis further discloses teat portion (C) extends from areola portion (B) at a shoulder portion, diameter of the areola portion (B) adjacent to shoulder portion (S, Fig 3 above) is greater than diameter of the teat portion (C) adjacent shoulder portion.
Regarding claim 20, Lewis further discloses breast, areola, teat and shoulder provided by a continuous wall (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 21, Lewis further teaches nipple provided by continuous outer wall (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 22, Lewis further discloses the nipple (10) and a collar (34).
Claim(s) 5-11, as best understood is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis in view of Palmer and US Patent No. 9,295,615 to Tollman.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Lewis teaches the nipple of claim 1 and further teaches breast and areola portion providing a latch portion but does not teach the latch portion comprising a plurality of discrete, elongate recesses. However, Tollman discloses a nipple (Fig 1) and in particular discloses the nipple having a latch portion comprising a plurality of discrete elongate recesses (3e) extending circumferentially around an inner surface thereof and being positioned at discrete positions along an axial direction of the latch portion, to form a plurality of axially spaced discontinuous rings of recesses (from 3e to 3a). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate elongated recesses to Lewis as suggested by Tollman in order to facilitate flexibility (Tollman, col. 1, ll. 40-45).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Lewis further discloses the recesses arranged in a repeating pattern along each discontinuous ring (Fig 1, Tollman).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Lewis further discloses the recess of each ring arranged such that the ends of the recesses are circumferentially offset from end of recesses of adjacent rings (Fig 1, Tollman).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Lewis further teaches center point between any two adjacent recesses on each ring is substantially circumferentially aligned with a circumferential center point of one of the recesses on any adjacent ring (Fig 1).
Regarding claims 9-10, the modified Lewis further teaches the positioning of the rings in relation to the breast and areola portion since Tollman discloses the rings throughout interior of the breast and areola portion (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Lewis further teaches the rings arranged concentrically (Tollman, Fig 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the drawing objection, arguing that one of ordinary skill in the art would know what a collar is. This is not persuasive because claimed subject matter needs to be shown in the drawings and the claims recite a collar in combination with a nipple and assuming one of ordinary skill in the art knows what a collar is, it would still not be clear to one of ordinary skill in the art how the collar interacts with the nipple to form a nipple assembly as claimed.
Applicant further argues that prior art does not teach a latch portion comprising at least one elongate recess extending circumferentially around an inner surface thereof because the recesses of Palmer are ovoidally shaped and not elongate. This is not persuasive because an ovoidal shape is an elongated shape because it has one dimension longer than another dimension. Applicant further argues that Tollman does not teach a plurality of axially spaced discontinuous rings of recesses because Tollman describes indentations (3a-3e) as shallow elliptical indentations. However, these indentations form a plurality of axially spaced discointouous rings of recesses because an indentation is a recess and as shown in Fig 1, the indentations are discontinuous, thus forming a plurality of axially spaced rings.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3735