Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2019199539.
With regard to claim 10, note JP2019199539 discloses producing a modified conjugated diene rubber by using n butyllithium as a polymerization initiator to polymerize monomers containing a conjugated diene compound. The resulting polymer has an active terminal end and is reacted with a polyorganosiloxane of formula 1
and is then reacted with a compound represented by formula 2
.
The refernece also identifies 3 aminopropyl-dimethylmethoxysilane as one of the compounds that may be used as the formula 2 compound. This compound does not contain a secondary amino group. The refernece also teaches a modified butadiene polymer having a terminal functional group containing nitrogen and silicon atoms, a weight average molecular weight of 1,000-100000 and molecular weight distribution of 2.0 or less. See abstract and page 2 lines 41 to page 3 line 7, page 6 line 32, page 18 line 33 through page 19 line 31 and claims 1-5.
Although JP2019199539 does not disclose the resulting polymer using the exact formula reacted in claim 10, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select 3-aminopropyl-dimethylmethoxysilane from the formula 2 compounds taught in the reference. Since using the 3-aminopropyldimethylmethoxysilane containing the X2 group represented by formula 4-2 wherein Y1 is an -OR2 group and falls within formula 3 of claim 10. The resulting structure also falls within the claimed definitions of A1, R1, n, i, and k would result in a polymer which is the same as the modified polymer represented by formula 3 of claim 10.
With regard to claim 11, in addition to the rejection above, the claim teaches a polymer composition containing a modified conjugated diene polymer and silica which is by the process of claim 1 is a product by process claim. The polymers appear to be the same or nearly the same as that of JP2019199539 since both contain a conjugated diene polymer having a silicon and nitrogen containing terminal groups. Thus, defining the polymer by the method of claim 1 dos not distinguish the claimed composition from the composition of JP2019199539 and would have been obvious to the skilled artisan. When chemical compounds have “very close” structural similarities and similar utilities, without more a prima facie case may be made, In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457 (CCPA 1957); i.e., obviousness may be based solely upon structural similarity (an established structural relationship between a prior art compound and the claimed compound, as with homologs). See In re Duel, 51 F.3d 1552, 1559 (Fed. Cir. 1995). The necessary motivation to make the claimed compound, and thus the prima facie case of obviousness, arises from the reasonable expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties. In re Gyurik, 596 F.2d 1012, 1018 (CCPA 1979). See page 28 lines 15-26 and page 36 lines 17-22.
With regard to claim 12, in addition to the rejection above, JP2019199539 discloses that the polymer composition may be crosslinked. Note page 28 lines 38-39.
With regard to claim 13, in addition to the rejection above, the polymer composition of the reference teaches that one or both of the tread and sidewall may be formed using the polymer composition. See page 28 lines 42- page 29 line 10.
In conclusion, in view of the above, there appears to be no significant difference between the reference(s) and that which is claimed by applicant(s). Any differences not specifically mentioned appear to be conventional. Consequently, the claimed invention cannot be deemed as unobvious and accordingly is unpatentable.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an Examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Applicant(s) claimed invention is directed to:
A method for producing a modified conjugated diene- based polymer, the method comprising: polymerizing a monomer comprising a conjugated diene compound in the presence of a polymerization initiator, wherein the polymerization initiator comprises a silicon-containing initiator having an alkali metal element or an alkaline earth metal element and a group F2, and wherein the group F2 is a group "*1-Si(R1)n(Y1)3-n": wherein:R1 represents a C1 to C20 hydrocarbyl group;Y1 represents group "-OR2" or group "-NR3R4";each of R2, R3, and R4 independently represents a C1 to C20 hydrocarbyl group; n is an integer of 0 to 2;when n is 0 or 1, a plurality of Y1s are identical to or different from one another; when n is 2, a plurality of Ris are identical to or different from one another; and"*1" represents a bond to a carbon atom.
The crux of the invention lies in the discovery that a modified conjugated diene polymer can be used as the polymerization initiator for polymerizing a monomer containing conjugated diene compound. This produces the claimed modified conjugated diene based polymer which can yield a cross-linked product having excellent low fuel consumption performance may be prepared while avoiding the problems commonly associated therewith. Such has neither been anticipated by nor made obvious from the prior art. With regard to claims 1-9,and 14, the prior art reference JP2019199539 does not disclose or suggest using the compound required by claim 1 as the polymerization initiator for a monomer containing a conjugated diene compound. Moreover, adding a compound after polymerization is different than using the compound to initiate the polymerization. Thus, the art of record demonstrates other methods used in the art which do not however, result in the same product or contain the advantages as mentioned and neither avoid the problems as mentioned above.
Information Disclosure Statement
Note that any future and/or present information disclosure statements must comply with 37 CFR § 1.98(b), which requires a list of the publications to include: the author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date and place of publication to be submitted for consideration by the Office.
Improper Claim Dependency
Prior to allowance, any dependent claims should be rechecked for proper dependency if independent claims are cancelled.
Correspondence
/Terressa Boykin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765