DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 08 May 2024 and is the national stage entry for PCT/JP2022/041420 filed 07 November 2022. The Applicant claims priority to foreign application JP2021-183483 filed 10 November 2021. An English copy of the foreign document has not been provided. Therefore, the effective filing date of the instant application is 07 November 2022.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 2 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09 March 2026.
Applicant’s election of Group I (claim 1) in the reply filed on 09 March 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a bending resistance of “10 N” and “5 N.” The Applicant references other bending strength values wherein the bending strength is given in “N/mm2,” that are presumably from the art. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be determined and it is unclear if the units of instant claim 1 should be provided as Newtons (N) or N/mm2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikada et al. (US 4898186 A).
Ikada teaches an osteosynthesis material made of poly-L-lactic acid (claim 1; entire teaching) to fix bones (col. 1, lns. 5-7), addressing claim 1. In regards to the bending resistance limitations of claim 1, these limitations are considered inherent properties of the composition. In lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, these inherent properties are interpreted as being present in the composition since Ikada teaches an osteosynthesis material substantially composed of poly-L-lactic acid. It is noted that “products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP 2112.01 (II)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikada et al. (US 4898186 A) and Hyon et al. (US 5227412 A).
Regarding claim 1, Ikada teaches an osteosynthesis material made of poly-L-lactic acid (claim 1; entire teaching) to fix bones (col. 1, lns. 5-7). In regards to the bending resistance limitations of claim 1, these limitations are considered inherent properties of the composition. In lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, these inherent properties are interpreted as being present in the composition since Ikada teaches an osteosynthesis material substantially composed of poly-L-lactic acid. It is noted that “products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP 2112.01 (II)).
Furthermore, Ikada teaches bending resistance values (Table 1) and Hyon et al. teach a bending strength of 1.6 x 103 to 2.5 x 103 kg/cm2 for PLA and is mostly maintained at 37°C (col. 2, lns. 35-55), where a skilled artisan would have easily recognized the importance of optimizing the bending strength properties of the material in order to create a better or ideal osteosynthesis material. Bending strength is interpreted similarly to “bending resistance” used in instant claim 1. That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the limitations regarding the bending resistance can be viewed as a variable that achieves the recognized result of successfully making the poly-L-lactic acid osteosynthesis material, which a skilled artisan would have been easily motivated to modify and adjust based on the broad teachings of Ikada. The optimum or workable range for the bending resistance can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Applicants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration, such as unexpected results, that would render the optimized values of bending resistance as nonobvious.
Conclusion
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613