DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 07/08/2026, has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 7-10 are amended. Claims 7-10 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 2024/0322894 A1) in view of Niu et al. (US 2023/0100009 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Yuan discloses a terminal comprising: a receiver that receives channel state information (CSI) report configuration (Fig. 3, Paragraph 0053 discloses a UE/terminal comprises receiver 356. Paragraph 0062 discloses transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states may be configured at a base station and a user equipment (UE). Each TCI state may be associated with a reference signal (e.g., an SSB reference signal or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)). The multiple TCI states may be used to indicate channel characteristics including a spatial parameter (e.g., a beam direction). A UE may measure multiple reference signals and transmit a report (e.g., a CSI report) regarding the multiple measured reference signals. [0067] The UE may measure 414 the received set of reference signals 412 to identify a preferred beam for future communication and may generate a CSI report) corresponding to a group-based CSI report and configuring exactly two channel measurement resource (CMR) groups (Paragraphs 0072, 0077, 0079, 0080, 0087, 0093 discloses a group-based CSI report 654 may include at least a first reference signal (RS1) (or a first CMR set, “Set1”) and a second reference signal (RS2) (or a second CMR set, “Set2”) and may be associated with non-TDM PDSCH 616 associated with sDCI mTRP 610, a non-TDM PDSCH 626 associated with mDCI mTRP 620, or a channel associated with a single frequency network 640. In some aspects, a multi-beam CSI report for intercell m-TRP may include at least a first reference signal (RS1) (associated with a first PCI, “PCI1”) and a second reference signal (RS2) associated with a second PCI, “PCI2”); and a processor that controls transmission of a CSI report based on the CSI report configuration (Paragraphs 0062, 0067, 0072, 0077, 0079, 0080, 0087, 0093, Fig. 3 discloses processor, channel estimator, Channel estimates derived by a channel estimator 358 from a reference signal or feedback transmitted by the base station 310 may be used by the TX processor 368 to select the appropriate coding and modulation schemes).
Yuan does not explicitly disclose different serving cells.
In an analogous art, Niu discloses wherein out of the exactly two CMR groups, a first CMR group includes a reference signal associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell, and a second CMR group includes a reference signal associated with a PCI of a non-serving cell (Paragraphs 0047, 0049-0051, 0053, 0057 discloses In a first group of the first option (which can be referred to as option 1-1), a ‘ssb-Index-IMR-index-RSRP’ value 302 may be included in the report quantity information element 300. The ‘ssb-Index-IMR-index-RSRP’ value 302 may include one or more SSB indexes and one or more reference signal received powers (RSRPs) from one or more channel measurement resources (CMRs) and one or more IMR indexes associated with neighbor cell PCIs. Paragraphs 0053-0054 discloses A gNB (such as a gNB that may operate the first cell 204 (FIG. 2)) may configure a set of CSI-IM and/or NZP-IMR, which are associated with a neighbor cell. Alternatively, the association may be configured in resource level, and different resources can be associated with different neighbor cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Niu to the system of Yuan to provide the UE may report the report quantity information element with the CRIs and RSRPs from the CMRs and IMR indexes associated with the neighbor cell PCI indicated by the ‘cri-IMR-index-RSRP’ value (Paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 9, Yuan discloses a base station comprising: a transmitter that transmits channel state information (CSI) report configuration corresponding to a group-based CSI report (Fig. 3, paragraph 0053 discloses base station comprises a transmitter 316. Paragraph 0062 discloses transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states may be configured at a base station and a user equipment (UE). Each TCI state may be associated with a reference signal (e.g., an SSB reference signal or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)). The multiple TCI states may be used to indicate channel characteristics including a spatial parameter (e.g., a beam direction). A UE may measure multiple reference signals and transmit a report (e.g., a CSI report) regarding the multiple measured reference signals. [0067] The UE may measure 414 the received set of reference signals 412 to identify a preferred beam for future communication and may generate a CSI report) configuring exactly two channel measurement resource (CMR) groups (Paragraphs 0072, 0077, 0079, 0080, 0087, 0093 discloses a group-based CSI report 654 may include at least a first reference signal (RS1) (or a first CMR set, “Set1”) and a second reference signal (RS2) (or a second CMR set, “Set2”) and may be associated with non-TDM PDSCH 616 associated with sDCI mTRP 610, a non-TDM PDSCH 626 associated with mDCI mTRP 620, or a channel associated with a single frequency network 640. In some aspects, a multi-beam CSI report for intercell m-TRP may include at least a first reference signal (RS1) (associated with a first PCI, “PCI1”) and a second reference signal (RS2) associated with a second PCI, “PCI2”); a processor that controls reception of a CSI report transmitted based on the CSI report configuration (Paragraphs 0062, 0067, 0072, 0077, 0079, 0080, 0087, 0093, Fig. 3 discloses processor, Channel estimates from a channel estimator 374 may be used to determine the coding and modulation scheme, as well as for spatial processing. The channel estimate may be derived from a reference signal and/or channel condition feedback transmitted by the UE 350).
Yuan does not explicitly disclose different serving cells.
In an analogous art, Niu discloses wherein out of the exactly two CMR groups, a first CMR group includes a reference signal associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell, and a second CMR group includes a reference signal associated with a PCI of a non-serving cell (Paragraphs 0047, 0049-0051, 0053, 0057 discloses In a first group of the first option (which can be referred to as option 1-1), a ‘ssb-Index-IMR-index-RSRP’ value 302 may be included in the report quantity information element 300. The ‘ssb-Index-IMR-index-RSRP’ value 302 may include one or more SSB indexes and one or more reference signal received powers (RSRPs) from one or more channel measurement resources (CMRs) and one or more IMR indexes associated with neighbor cell PCIs. Paragraphs 0053-0054 discloses A gNB (such as a gNB that may operate the first cell 204 (FIG. 2)) may configure a set of CSI-IM and/or NZP-IMR, which are associated with a neighbor cell. Alternatively, the association may be configured in resource level, and different resources can be associated with different neighbor cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Niu to the system of Yuan to provide the UE may report the report quantity information element with the CRIs and RSRPs from the CMRs and IMR indexes associated with the neighbor cell PCI indicated by the ‘cri-IMR-index-RSRP’ value (Paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan discloses a system comprising a terminal (Fig. 3 discloses a terminal 350) and a base station (Fig. 3 discloses a base station 310), wherein: a terminal comprising: a receiver that receives channel state information (CSI) report configuration (Fig. 3, Paragraph 0053 discloses a UE/terminal comprises receiver 356. Paragraph 0062 discloses transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states may be configured at a base station and a user equipment (UE). Each TCI state may be associated with a reference signal (e.g., an SSB reference signal or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)). The multiple TCI states may be used to indicate channel characteristics including a spatial parameter (e.g., a beam direction). A UE may measure multiple reference signals and transmit a report (e.g., a CSI report) regarding the multiple measured reference signals. [0067] The UE may measure 414 the received set of reference signals 412 to identify a preferred beam for future communication and may generate a CSI report) corresponding to a group-based CSI report and configuring exactly two channel measurement resource (CMR) groups (Paragraphs 0072, 0077, 0079, 0080, 0087, 0093 discloses a group-based CSI report 654 may include at least a first reference signal (RS1) (or a first CMR set, “Set1”) and a second reference signal (RS2) (or a second CMR set, “Set2”) and may be associated with non-TDM PDSCH 616 associated with sDCI mTRP 610, a non-TDM PDSCH 626 associated with mDCI mTRP 620, or a channel associated with a single frequency network 640. In some aspects, a multi-beam CSI report for intercell m-TRP may include at least a first reference signal (RS1) (associated with a first PCI, “PCI1”) and a second reference signal (RS2) associated with a second PCI, “PCI2”); and a processor that controls transmission of a CSI report based on the CSI report configuration (Paragraphs 0062, 0067, 0072, 0077, 0079, 0080, 0087, 0093, Fig. 3 discloses processor, channel estimator, Channel estimates derived by a channel estimator 358 from a reference signal or feedback transmitted by the base station 310 may be used by the TX processor 368 to select the appropriate coding and modulation schemes); the base station comprises a processor that controls reception of a CSI report transmitted based on the CSI report configuration (Paragraphs 0062, 0067, 0072, 0077, 0079, 0080, 0087, 0093, Fig. 3 discloses processor, Channel estimates from a channel estimator 374 may be used to determine the coding and modulation scheme, as well as for spatial processing. The channel estimate may be derived from a reference signal and/or channel condition feedback transmitted by the UE 350).
Yuan does not explicitly disclose different serving cells.
In an analogous art, Niu discloses wherein out of the exactly two CMR groups, a first CMR group includes a reference signal associated with a physical cell ID (PCI) of a serving cell, and a second CMR group includes a reference signal associated with a PCI of a non-serving cell (Paragraphs 0047, 0049-0051, 0053, 0057 discloses In a first group of the first option (which can be referred to as option 1-1), a ‘ssb-Index-IMR-index-RSRP’ value 302 may be included in the report quantity information element 300. The ‘ssb-Index-IMR-index-RSRP’ value 302 may include one or more SSB indexes and one or more reference signal received powers (RSRPs) from one or more channel measurement resources (CMRs) and one or more IMR indexes associated with neighbor cell PCIs. Paragraphs 0053-0054 discloses A gNB (such as a gNB that may operate the first cell 204 (FIG. 2)) may configure a set of CSI-IM and/or NZP-IMR, which are associated with a neighbor cell. Alternatively, the association may be configured in resource level, and different resources can be associated with different neighbor cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Niu to the system of Yuan to provide the UE may report the report quantity information element with the CRIs and RSRPs from the CMRs and IMR indexes associated with the neighbor cell PCI indicated by the ‘cri-IMR-index-RSRP’ value (Paragraph 0049).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen et al. (US Pub. 2023/0189177) discloses that a network sends configuration information that includes cell identification information of a first SSB and an index for the first SSB, in which cell identification information indicates whether the SSB is an SSB for a serving cell or an SSB for a neighboring cell [paragraph 0081].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROMANI OHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413