DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
The presence of claim limitations that are preceded by the phrases “wherein” often raises a question as to the limiting effect of the claim limitations (see MPEP §2111.04). The Examiner has interpreted the limitations following the phrase “wherein” as positively being claimed (i.e. the claim limitations are required and/or the claim limitations following the “wherein clause” limits the structure), where “wherein” is being used as a transitional phrase.
Claim 1 recites “means for enabling a fluid leakage current arising from a pressure differential in the pumping chamber to flow across the PCB front and rear faces” is considered under 112(f) (see ¶0009, ¶0050).
Election/Restriction
Applicants confirmed their election to Group I, claims 1-10 without traverse in their response on July 20, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LOPATINSKY (U.S. Patent Publication US 2004/0234399 A1) in view of RIDGE (European Patent Publication EP 2,864,638 B1).
Regarding claim 1, LOPATINSKY discloses: a pump (1), comprising:
a housing (8), the housing defining a fluid inlet (10), a fluid outlet (11) and a pumping chamber (9) (see Figures 1A, 2, 10, 10A, 11, and 11A, and ¶0037-¶0038 that shows the fluid inlet that the impeller 2 rotates in order to move the fluid to the fluid outlet (11) ) fluidly connected to the inlet and the outlet (see Figures 2, 10A, 11A);
an impeller (2, 5) mounted for rotation in the pumping chamber (see Figures 1A, 2, 10, 10A, 11, and 11A), wherein, in operation, the impeller conveys fluid to the outlet from the inlet (see Figures 1A, 2, 10, 10A, 11, and 11A and ¶0037-¶0038);
a printed circuit board (22) disposed in the pumping chamber adjacent the impeller (see Figures 1A, 3, and 4), the PCB carrying windings (21) for an electric stator and having a front face and a rear face, the front face opposing the impeller and the rear face opposing the front face;
at least one permanent magnet structure (13; 50, 70) fixed relative to the impeller (see Figures 1A and 4, where (13) is fixed as part of the blades of the impeller and (50, 70) are fixed to the shaft that the impeller is also fixed to the shaft) and disposed to oppose the PCB stator windings (see Figure 1A and 4); and
means for enabling a fluid leakage current arising from a pressure differential in the pumping chamber to flow across the PCB front (see Figures 1A, 6, and 7) and rear faces.
LOPATINSKY fails to disclose that the “means for enabling a fluid leakage current arising from a pressure differential in the pumping chamber to flow across the PCB rear face” (LOPATINSKY only discloses the fluid flowing over the front face of the PCB).
Regarding claim 1, RIDGE teaches: a pump (92), comprising:
a housing (see Figure 11), the housing defining a fluid inlet (94), a fluid outlet (94) and a pumping chamber (the pump chamber contains the impeller (92)) fluidly connected to the inlet and the outlet (see Figure 11);
an impeller (92) mounted for rotation in the pumping chamber, wherein, in operation, the impeller conveys fluid to the outlet from the inlet (see Figure 11);
a printed circuit board (88);
means for enabling a fluid leakage current arising from a pressure differential in the pumping chamber to flow across the PCB front and rear faces (see Figure 11 that shows the fluid leakage from the pressure chamber via (97) (¶0037, ¶0039).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have means for enabling a fluid leakage current arising from a pressure differential in the pumping chamber to flow across the PCB front and rear faces in the pump of LOPATINSKY, in order to provide additional cooling to the PCB. Furthermore, cooling both the front and rear surfaces of the PCB would require only routine skill and produces predictable results (i.e. by cooling both sides of the PCB enhances the cooling of it), as well as RIDGE shows fluid flowing from the rear to the front surface of the PCB of the pumped fluid in order to cool the PCB.
Regarding claim 2, LOPATINSKY discloses: the impeller includes a shaft (31) and the at least one permanent magnet structure (50, 70) is fixed to the shaft (see Figure 1A, ¶0049).
Regarding claim 3, LOPATINSKY discloses: first and second permanent magnet structures (13, 50, 70) are fixed relative to the impeller (2) (see Figures 1A and 2, ¶0052-¶0053), the first permanent magnet structure being disposed opposite the PCB front face (see Figure 1A) and the second permanent magnet structure (50, 70) being disposed opposite the PCB rear face (see Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 4, LOPATINSKY discloses: the impeller includes a shaft (31) and the first and second permanent magnet structures (50, 70) are fixed to the shaft (see Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 5, LOPATINSKY further discloses: the means for enabling a fluid leakage current includes:
at least one passageway formed in at least one of the at least one permanent magnet structure and the impeller which fluidly communicates the front of the PCB with the pumping chamber at a first radial position proximate to a rotational axis defined by the impeller (see Marked up Figure 1A of LOPATINSKY and Figure 11A),
at least one passageway formed in the housing that fluidly communicates with the front face of the PCB with the pumping chamber at a second radial position that is greater than the first radial position (see Marked up Figure 1A of LOPATINSKY);
wherein the impeller has centrifugal-style vanes (see Figures 2 and 11A) which generate a radially orientated fluid pressure differential when the impeller is operative to pump fluid (the claimed limitation directed to “which generate a radially orientated fluid pressure differential when the impeller is operative to pump fluid” is considered as a functional limitation. It should be appreciated that the applicant’s functional language in the claims does not serve to impart patentability. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claims. See MPEP 2114. Furthermore, LOPATINSKY is capable of performing the claimed function, since it is a centrifugal pump (see Figures 1A, 2, 11, and 11A, ¶0012)).
Regarding claim 5, RIDGE further teaches:
at least one passageway formed in at least one of the housing or the PCB that fluidly communicates the front faces of the PCB with the pumping chamber at a second radial position that is greater than the first radial position (see rejection of claim 1 above, and Figure 11 that shows multiple radial locations of the PCB and communication with the pumping chamber).
LOPATINSKY as discussed above only shows the front face of the PCB interfacing with the flow from the pumping chamber and not the rear face, but it does show two different radial locations that have a passageway that communicates with the PCB. It requires only routine skill in the art to communicate the rear face of the PCB, as evidence by RIDGE (see rejection of claim 1 above), where the combination of LOPATINSKY/ RIDGE would have both the front and rear faces of the PCB cooled. It is the Examiner’s position that adding a communication port to communicate both the front and the rear surfaces of the PCB requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. added cooling to the PCB), as well as, locating multiple different passageways requires only routine skill in the art, as evidence by RIDGE, thereby allowing additional cooling interfaces, as well as, extra surface area due to increased flow thru the PCB.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified pump of LOPATINSKY / RIDGE as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of MORITA (Japanese Patent Publication JP 2012-193650 provided in IDS filed on 5/7/2025 with a machine translation, which is utilized in the rejection below).
Regarding claim 6, the modified pump of LOPATINSKY / RIDGE discloses the claimed invention including LOPATINSKY discloses the impeller (2) has a radially projecting flange (see Figures 1A and 4), however, fails to specifically disclose that the impeller incudes a through-hole is formed in the flange.
Regarding claim 6, MORITA teaches: the impeller (20) includes a radially projecting flange (see Figures 1 and 2) and a through-hole (26) is formed in the flange (see Figures 1 and 2, ¶0043).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the impeller incudes a through-hole is formed in the flange in the modified pump of LOPATINSKY / RIDGE, in order to provide a passageway to allow for some of the pumped fluid to cool the other side of the impeller (which in LOPATINSKY is the front face of one of the PCBs) (see ¶0043 of MORITA). MORITA teaches that it is well-known in the art to have a through-hole in the flange of the impeller in order to cool the components, therefore utilizing known methods to cool the components as taught by MORITA requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to cool the PCB).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified pump of LOPATINSKY / RIDGE as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of KUBOTA (Japanese Patent Publication JP 2012-193650 provided in IDS filed on 5/7/2025 with an English Abstract that is utilized in the rejection below).
Regarding claim 7, the modified pump of LOPATINSKY / RIDGE discloses the claimed invention including LOPATINSKY discloses the impeller (2) includes a shaft (31, 3) (see Figures 1A, 10, and 11), however, fails to specifically disclose a through-hole is formed in the shaft.
Regarding claim 7, KUBOTA teaches: a through-hole (26, 51a) is formed in the shaft (see Figures 2 and 5 that shows a through-hole is formed in the shaft).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a through-hole is formed in the shaft in the modified pump of LOPATINSKY / RIDGE, in order to provide a passageway to allow for some of the pumped fluid to cool the other side of the impeller (Figures 2 and 5 and Abstract of KUBOTA). KUBOTA teaches that it is well-known in the art to have a through-hole in the shaft in order to cool the components, therefore utilizing known methods to cool the components as taught by KUBOTA to the modified pump of LOPATINSKY / RIDGE requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to cool the PCB, the shaft, and the impeller).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified pump of LOPATINSKY / RIDGE as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SCHULER (U.S. Patent Publication US 2018/323689).
Regarding claim 8, the modified pump of LOPATINSKY / RIDGE discloses the claimed invention as discussed above, however, fails to disclose the specifics of the PCB. Specifically, the modified pump of LOPATINSKY / RIDGE fails to disclose the PCB is a multi-layered board and the PCB windings comprise a circumferential sequence of radially-orientated spokes, each spoke being formed from overlapping radially orientated traces in the PCB layers, wherein the overlapping traces are interconnected via at least two straight vias at opposing ends of the traces, thereby enabling heat generated in internal PCB layers to be thermally conducted to outermost PCB layers.
Regarding claim 8, SCHULER teaches: the PCB (41, 45, 145, 57) is a multi-layered board (see Figures 6A, 6C, and 7) and the PCB windings comprise a circumferential sequence of radially-orientated spokes (see Figures 4, 5, 8, 13, 20E, 27, and 29-31) each spoke being formed from overlapping radially orientated traces in the PCB layers (49, 149), wherein the overlapping traces are interconnected via at least two straight vias (55, 59) at opposing ends of the traces (see Figure 6A), thereby enabling heat generated in internal PCB layers to be thermally conducted to outermost PCB layers (the claimed limitation directed to “thereby enabling heat generated in internal PCB layers to be thermally conducted to outermost PCB layers” is considered as a functional limitation. It should be appreciated that the applicant’s functional language in the claims does not serve to impart patentability. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claims. See MPEP 2114. Furthermore, SCHULER is capable of performing the claimed function since SCHULER has the overlapping traces are interconnected via at least two straight vias at opposing ends of the traces (see Figure 6A)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the PCB is a multi-layered board and the PCB windings comprise a circumferential sequence of radially-orientated spokes, each spoke being formed from overlapping radially orientated traces in the PCB layers, wherein the overlapping traces are interconnected via at least two straight vias at opposing ends of the traces, thereby enabling heat generated in internal PCB layers to be thermally conducted to outermost PCB layers in the modified pump of LOPATINSKY / RIDGE, since a substitution of one known element (i.e. the PCB of LOPATINSKY) for another known element (i.e. the PCB of SCHULER) requires only routine skill in the art and would have produced predictable results (i.e. to produce the advantage of providing a PCB with multiple layers which enhances design flexibility and durability).
Regarding claim 9, SCHULER further teaches: each spoke is wedge- shaped see Figures 4, 5, 8, 13, 20E, and 29-31), having a width at an outer radial end larger than a width at an inner radial end (see Figures 4, 5, 8, 13, 20E, and 29-31).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified pump of LOPATINSKY / RIDGE/ SCHULER as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of NAKAYAMA (Japanese Patent Publication JP 2015-077025 A, a machine translation is provided for in the PTO-893 and is utilized in the rejection below).
Regarding claim 10, the modified pump of LOPATINSKY / RIDGE/ SCHULER discloses the claimed invention as discussed above, however, fails to disclose the windings include a common repeating coil pattern comprising a first coil formed of n sequential spokes connected through inner and outer circumferential traces to n+1 or n-1 sequential spokes disposed at a distance of pole edge to edge distance P such that the first coil is wound in a first winding direction, coupled to a second adjacent coil formed of n sequential spokes connected through inner and outer circumferential traces to n+1 or n-1 sequential spokes disposed at a distance of pole edge to edge distance P such that the second coil is wound in a second winding direction, opposite the first winding direction.
Regarding claim 10, NAKAYAMA teaches: the windings include a common repeating coil pattern (see Figures 6- 8) comprising a first coil formed of n sequential spokes connected through inner and outer circumferential traces to n+1 or n-1 sequential spokes disposed at a distance of pole edge to edge distance P such that the first coil is wound in a first winding direction (see Figures 7 and 8, Page 4), coupled to a second adjacent coil formed of n sequential spokes connected through inner and outer circumferential traces to n+1 or n-1 sequential spokes disposed at a distance of pole edge to edge distance P such that the second coil is wound in a second winding direction (see Figures 7 and 8, Page 4), opposite the first winding direction (see Figures 7 and 8 and Page 4). NAKAYAMA discloses that the first winding direction on (74U) is wound in the forward direction, while the second winding direction on (74U’) is in the opposite (reverse) direction (see Page 4 and Figures 7 and 8).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the windings include a common repeating coil pattern comprising a first coil formed of n sequential spokes connected through inner and outer circumferential traces to n+1 or n-1 sequential spokes disposed at a distance of pole edge to edge distance P such that the first coil is wound in a first winding direction, coupled to a second adjacent coil formed of n sequential spokes connected through inner and outer circumferential traces to n+1 or n-1 sequential spokes disposed at a distance of pole edge to edge distance P such that the second coil is wound in a second winding direction, opposite the first winding direction in the modified pump of LOPATINSKY / RIDGE/ SCHULER, since applying a known technique (i.e. winding the coils in opposite directions for coils that are located in adjacent spokes), as taught by NAKAYAMA, to a known device (i.e. the PCB of the modified pump of LOPATINSKY / RIDGE/ SCHULER) would have yielded predicable results. The results are predictable and provide the improvement of having alternating windings to produce a more compact design).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants’ arguments are based on the fact that no one would have modified LOPATINSKY to add additional cooling if the pump of LOPATINSKY operated satisfactory with cooling on one of the PCB sides only or no cooling at all (applicant argues that (PCB 22) appears to operate with no need for cooling from the coolant at all (see Page 3 of arguments of marked up Figure). Applicant further argues that adding additional cooling would introduce additional cost to manufacture the PCB. The Examiner disagrees with the applicant, since there are benefits of cooling both sides of the PCB, specifically the ability to cool the entire PCB unit not just one side of it. Furthermore, RIDGE teaches that cooling both sides of a PCB is known. Applicant argues that RIDGE is a simple teaching that is known to cool PCBs using the pumped fluid (see Page 3 of Arguments). Applicant further argues that the PCB 88 of RIDGE is not part of the PCB of the stator and therefore does not resolve the problems that are resolved by the arrangement in claim 1. This argument is not persuasive, since there are benefits to cooling a PCB on both sides, such as complete cooling of the PCB, which protects the components. In addition, cooling on both sides is known, as evidence by RIDGE.
Applicant’s opinion on what their invention solves is an opinion (see bottom of Page 3 to top of Page 4 of response). In response to applicant's argument that the PCB 88 does not suffer from the problems associated with the PCB stator that is in the pumping chamber of LOPATINSKY or the problems that are resolved by the arrangement claimed in claim 1, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
The dependent claims are argued based on the independent arguments, which have been addressed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/Mary A Davis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746