DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after May 20, 2026, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants’ claimed invention filed on 05/20/2026 in the matter of Application N° 18/708,520. Said documents are entered on the record. The Examiner further acknowledges the following:
Thus, claims 1-16 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (a) or 35 USC 112 (pre-AIA )
Claim 1 recites, in pertinent part, “wherein the at least one insecticide powder is selected for prolonging the effective lifecycle, storage and effectiveness of the insecticide powder.”
The specification does not provide an adequate written description explaining how the insecticide powder is selected so as to achieve the recited prolongation of the effective lifecycle, storage, and effectiveness of the insecticide powder. In particular, the disclosure does not sufficiently identify the criteria, properties, selection methodology, testing parameters, or other characteristics that would permit one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize which insecticide powders satisfy the recited functional limitation.
Although the specification describes insecticide powders and certain physical characteristics thereof, the disclosure does not adequately establish a correlation between those disclosed characteristics and the claimed result of prolonging the effective lifecycle, storage, and effectiveness of the insecticide powder. Merely reciting the desired result does not, without sufficient supporting disclosure, demonstrate possession of the claimed subject matter.
Applicant is required to identify support in the application as originally filed demonstrating how the insecticide powder is selected to provide the claimed prolongation of effective lifecycle, storage, and effectiveness, including the characteristics or criteria relied upon in making such a selection.
Absent such support, the specification does not reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that Applicant was in possession, as of the effective filing date, of an insecticide composition encompassing the presently claimed functional limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15, and 16, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osinga et al. (WO2015052008A1), in view of Fujita et al. (US20110233812A1), and further in view of Ruijun et al. (CN112876384A), and FAO/WHO 1981 Diflubenzuron Evaluation.
Regarding claims 1, and 15, Osinga et al. disclose an insecticidal composition comprising an insecticidal agent in powder form applied to a structural substrate, such as a mesh, net, or fabric. Osinga et al. teach that the powdered insecticidal agents are adhered to the structural substrate by means of an electrostatic coating (See page 3, lines 7-19). In particular, Osinga et al. disclose an electrostatic coating comprising a silicone composition containing a platinum complex, whereby the electrostatic properties of the coating facilitate retention of the insecticidal powder on the substrate while permitting transfer of the powder to an arthropod upon contact with the treated substrate (See page 7, lines 4-8).
Osinga et al. further discloses insecticidal agents suitable for use in powder form, including insect growth regulators of the benzoylurea group, such as diflubenzuron and flufenoxuron. Thus, Osinga et al. teach or suggest an insecticidal composition comprising an insecticide powder that is a benzoylurea insect growth regulator in association with a substance having an electrostatic charge (See page 7, line 24 to page 8, line 4), including those mentioned on page 12, line 1 to page 16, line 15; see also claims 1-15), “insect growth regulators” (mentioned on page 14, line 31, and page 15, line 3).
However, Osinga et al. do not expressly disclose that the benzoylurea insecticide powder has an average particle size between 2 and 20 micrometers or expressly identify the melting point of the selected benzoylurea insecticide as being above 100°C.
Fujita et al. teach agricultural chemical compositions containing powdered agricultural chemical active ingredients, including insecticides (See paragraph 0002 and 0027). Fujita et al. disclose reducing the active ingredient to particles having a mean particle diameter of 1 to 20 micrometers, preferably 1 to 15 micrometers, and more preferably 2 to 10 micrometers (See paragraph 0026). Fujita et al. further identify benzoylurea insecticides, including diflubenzuron, chlorfluazuron, flufenoxuron, teflubenzuron, and lufenuron, among the insecticidal active ingredients suitable for use in the disclosed compositions (See paragraph 0028).
The particle-size range taught by Fujita et al., particularly the preferred range of 2 to 10 micrometers, falls entirely within the presently claimed range of 2 to 20 micrometers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date at the time of the invention to provide the powdered benzoylurea insecticide of Osinga et al. with a particle size with the range taught by Fujita et al., including a mean particle diameter of 2 to 10 micrometers. Fujita et al. expressly teach producing powdered agricultural chemical active ingredients, including the same type of benzoylurea insecticides contemplated by Osinga et al. at such particle sizes. One of ordinary skill in the art therefore, would have had reason to employ the known particle size taught by Fujita et al. when preparing the powdered benzoylurea insecticide of Osinga et al., with a reasonable expectation of successfully obtaining a particulate insecticidal composition suitable for its intended insect-control purpose.
With respect to the limitation requiring the insecticide powder to have a melting point above 100°C, Ruijun et al. establishes that diflubenzuron is an insect growth regulator belonging to the benzoylurea class of insecticides and that diflubenzuron is a crystalline compound having a melting point of approximately 230-232°C, with decomposition (See Detailed Description, paragraph 3).
Accordingly, when diflubenzuron is selected as the benzoylurea insecticide disclosed by Osinga et al., the resulting insecticide necessarily possesses a melting point greater than 100°C. the claimed melting-point limitation therefore represents an inherent physical property of the known diflubenzuron compound rather than a property that must be separately imparted to or produced in the compound. Ruijun et al. confirms that the diflubenzuron contemplated by the prior art possesses a melting point well above the claimed threshold of 100°C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date to employ diflubenzuron as the benzoylurea insect growth regulator in the powdered insecticidal composition of Osinga et al., wherein diflubenzuron inherently possesses a melting point above 100°C, and to provide the diflubenzuron powder with a particle size within the range taught by Fujita et al., thereby arriving at the presently claimed composition.
Regarding the recitation that the insecticide powder is “selected for prolonging the effective life cycle, storage and effectiveness of the insecticide powder,” this language does not appear to impart a structural distinction to the claimed insecticide powder relative to the diflubenzuron powder resulting from the combination of the cited references. The prior art composition would comprise the same known benzoylurea insecticide having the claimed physical characteristics, including a melting point above 100°C and a particle size within the claimed range. Accordingly, merely reciting the intended purpose or desired result for selecting the insecticide powder does not distinguish the claimed composition from the otherwise structurally corresponding composition suggested by the prior art.
Regarding claim 16, the combined references do not expressly state that the insecticide powder “remains powdery without coagulation at temperatures approaching 45°C up to 55°C, as presently claimed.
However, the FAO/WHO evaluation of diflubenzuron teaches that diflubenzuron is a white crystalline solid having a melting point of approximately 230-232°C and exhibits substantial thermal stability. In particular, the reference reports no detectable decomposition following storage for one week at 50°C (See other information on identity and properties).
More significantly, the FAO/WHO reference discloses DIMILIN WP-25, a wettable powder formulation containing 25% diflubenzuron, wherein the particle size of the diflubenzuron is defined as 80% smaller than 5 micrometers. The reference further characterizes the formulation as possessing excellent storage stability and reports that storage for one year at 54°C did not affect the properties of the formulation (See Formulations).
Thus, the prior art establishes that diflubenzuron was known to possess substantial thermal and physical stability in powder formulations at elevated temperatures falling within the presently claimed temperature range. Specifically, a diflubenzuron powder formulation was known to maintain its properties after prolonged storage at 54°C, which falls within the claimed range approaching 45°C up to 55°C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date to employ the thermally stable diflubenzuron powder in the insecticidal composition resulting from the combination of Osinga et al. and Fujita et al., with a reasonable expectation that the diflubenzuron powder would maintain its powder characteristics and resist undesirable physical deterioration, including coagulation, when subjected to elevated storage temperatures approaching 45°C to 55°C. the skilled artisan would have been motivated to select such a thermally stable insecticidal powder in order to maintain the physical integrity, storage stability, and effectiveness of the insecticidal composition during storage and use under elevated temperature conditions.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osinga et al. (WO2015052008A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, Osinga et al. disclose an insecticidal composition comprising an insecticide in powder form applied to a structural substrate (e.g. mesh, net, fabric, etc.). Osinga et al. teaches that powdered insecticidal agents are adhered to the structure for contact-based pest control. Osinga et al. disclose wherein an electrostatic coating consisting of a silicone composition including platinum complex is applied to the structure. The powders that contain the agents can typically be held and bound by the electrostatic coating, but only to the extent that the powders are efficiently transferred to the arthropod when it lands on or comes into physical contact with the mesh structure that has been prepared with that coating. With the transfer in mind, the composition balances the electrostatic forces it applies to the granules (See page 3, lines 7-19). By applying an electrostatic coating in the form of a platinum complex with silicone composition, which contains one or more powders, the agents in the form of powders are effectively stuck to the mesh structure 6 (See page 7, lines 4-8). Additionally, pesticides having melting temperatures higher than 100 degrees Celsius are among those indicated as being appropriate for use in conjunction with the electrostatic material (See page 7, line 24 to page 8, line 4), including those mentioned on page 12, line 1 to page 16, line 15; see also claims 1-15), of the current application. Benzoylurea, Diflubenzuron, and flufenoxuron, etc. are “insect growth regulators” mentioned on page 14, line 31, and page 15, line 3). Osinga et al. also reveal that the insecticide’s composition includes fungi that kill insects, like Metarhizium anisopliae and Beauveria bassiana (See abstract).
Although Osinga et al. does not expressly disclose a particle size of 2-20 µm, or a melting point of 169-172 °C.
The prior art teaches powdered insecticidal compositions and recognizes that particle size is a parameter affecting performance characteristics such as dispersibility, adhesion to target surfaces, bioavailability, and delivery efficiency. Particle size is therefore a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable known in the art to influence the functional properties of a composition. It is well established that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05. optimization of such parameters is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust particle size to obtain improved performance properties expected from known physical principles. The prior art disclosure of powdered insecticides encompasses particulate forms without restricting particle size to any critical or narrowly defined range. Because particle size is a variable known to affect delivery and efficacy, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select and adjust particle within commonly used micronized ranges to balance known trade-offs such as surface area vs. stability, dispersability vs. agglomeration, and penetration vs. drift loss. Selecting a particle size within the micrometer range, including 2-20 µm, represents routine optimization of a known variable to achieve predictable improvements in performance. Where the prior art discloses a general powdered insecticide discovering an optimum or workable particle size range through routine experimentation does not render the claimed range patentable. A claimed range that merely falls within, or is an optimization of, a range that would have been obtained through routine experimentation is prima facie obvious.
The melting point of an insecticide is an inherent physical property of the selected chemical compound. Osinga et al. teaches the use of insecticidal powders. Many conventional insecticidal compounds known in the art (e.g. benzoylurea insect growth regulators such as diflubenzuron) possess melting points within or very near the claimed range. If a known insecticide having a melting point of 169-172°C was known in the art at the time of the invention, then selecting that insecticide for use in Osinga’s et al. powder composition would have been obvious. Selecting a known insecticide with known physical properties, including melting point, constitutes the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the particle size of Osinga’s et al. insecticide powder to a micrometer-scale range such as 2-20 µm to improve contact efficiency, and select a known insecticide compound having a melting point of 169-172°C for use in the powdered composition.
Regarding claims 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, and 14, according to Osinga et al. a mesh structure composed of iron, fabric, stone, or wood that resembles a cloth, grid, or net can be used to cling to one or more powdered biopesticides. (See page 1, lines 5-7, lines 17-18, and page 3, line 7-10). Whereby the material with the electrostatic charge is on the structure, and Benzoylurea, Diflubenzuron, and flufenoxuron, etc. are “insect growth regulators” mentioned on page 14, line 31, and page 15, line 3). Diatomaceous earth is a powder that repels moisture and dissolves when it comes into contact with the target pest’s cuticula (See abstract, page 16, and page 17, lines 17-18).
Claim 12 differs from Osinga et al. in that it recites a pouch holding the structure, wherein the pouch comprises an electric conducting foil material embodied to electrically shield the structure packaged therein.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the electrostatically charged structure of Osinga et al. within a pouch comprising electrically conductive foil material for shielding purposes. Electrically conductive foil packaging materials, such as metalized films and aluminum foil layers, were well known for shielding electrostatically sensitive articles from external electric fields and preventing charge dissipation during storage and transport. Because Osinga’s et al. structure relies on electrostatic charge to retain insecticidal powder, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognize that preserving that electrostatic charge during packaging and shipment would improve product stability and performance. The use of conductive foil packaging to electrically shield charged articles represents the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions (See KSR).
Optimization of packaging to preserve functional electrostatic charge is considered a matter of routine engineering design. No criticality or unexpected result has been demonstrated.
Regarding Claim 7, which further limits the insecticide composition by requiring that “the protective powder has an average particle size between 0.1 and 5 µm”. The closest prior art, Osinga et al. teaches an insecticidal composition comprising a powdered bioactive material applied to a structure (e.g., mesh, cloth, grid, net, etc.), wherein the powder may include desiccating or protective powders such as diatomaceous earth. Osinga et al. teaches the use of powders that adhere to insects and interact with the insect cuticle to exert pesticidal effects. Diatomaceous earth is a known insecticidal desiccant powder that functions by interacting with and damaging the insect cuticle, leading to moisture loss and death. The effectiveness of such powders is well understood in the art to be influenced by surface area and contact efficiency, both of which are directly affected by particle size. Although Osinga et al. does not expressly disclose that the protective powder has an average particle size between 0.1 and 5 µm, the selection of a particular particle size within a workable range constitutes routine optimization of a result-effective variable. It is well established that particle size of powdered materials affects adhesion, surface area, dispersion, and contact with insect cuticle. Smaller particle sizes increase surface area and improve interaction with the target pest. Optimization of particle size to improve performance would have been within the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, seeking to improve adhesion, dispersion, and insecticidal efficacy of the protective powder taught by Osinga et al. would have been motivated to select an appropriate particle size through routine experimentation. Adjusting particle size within the micrometer range to enhance contact efficiency would have been an obvious matter of design choice. Furthermore, the claimed range of 0.1 to 5 µm falls within the conventional micrometer-scale particle sizes commonly used for finely divided powders in pesticidal and desiccant applications. In the absence of evidence demonstrating criticality or unexpected results associated with this specific range, the claimed limitation does not render the composition non-obvious.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the protective powder of Osinga et al. with an average particle size between 0.1 and 5 µm in order to optimize adhesion and insecticidal effectiveness.
Regarding claim 10, Osinga et al. disclose an insecticidal system comprising a structure such as a mesh, grid, net, or cloth onto which a powder is provided. Osinga et al. teaches that the structure may be formed of various materials suitable for supporting the powder. Although Osinga et al. does not explicitly state that the structure is made of a non-conductive plastic capable of holding electric charge, Osinga’s et al. disclosure of mesh/net/fabric structures encompasses materials commonly used for such structures, including plastics. Plastic materials (e.g. polymeric meshes and synthetic fabrics) are well known in the art to be electrically non-conductive (dielectric) materials. It is further well established that non-conductive plastics are capable of retaining electrostatic charge, which enables electrostatic adhesion of powders.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, seeking to enhance the retention of electrostatically charged powder on the structure taught by Osinga et al. would have found it obvious to select a non-conductive plastic material for the mesh or fabric structure because plastics are commonly used for mesh, gauze, net, and fabric structures. Plastics are inherently non-conductive. Non-conductive materials are known to retain electrostatic charge. Retention of electrostatic charge would predictably improve adhesion of electrostatically charged insecticidal powder. Thus, selecting a non-conductive plastic mesh to improve electrostatic retention represents no more than the predictable use of a known material for its known property.
Moreover, to the extent Osinga’s et al. structure includes plastic mesh or fabric (which is conventional in the field), such plastic materials inherently possess non-conductive properties and are capable of holding electrostatic charge. The functional language of claim 10 therefore merely describes an inherent property of a conventional plastic structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form the mesh/net/fabric structure of Osinga et al. from a non-conductive plastic material capable of holding electrostatic charge in order to enhance retention of electrostatically charged insecticidal powder.
Regarding claim 11, Osinga et al. teaches that applying insecticidal agents to structural elements such as meshes increases the likelihood that the target pest will come into physical contact with the applied agents. The structural configuration of the mesh substantially increases the available contact surface area encountered by the pest during landing, crawling, walking, or resting, thereby promoting greater bodily exposure beyond incidental leg contact. Osinga et al. further discloses that such structures may be formed from materials including nylon, cotton, polyester, or similar substrates. These materials may additionally be modified or supplemented with features that enhance attractiveness to the target pest, thereby further increasing the probability of contact with the insecticidal agent. Accordingly, the prior art recognizes that increasing surface area and selecting suitable structural materials predictably improves pest contact and insecticidal efficacy, rendering such design choices obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s response to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been fully considered and is persuasive. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C., 112(b) has been overcome and is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant contends that Osinga et al. fail to teach or suggest all of the limitations of independent claim 1. In particular, Applicant argues that Osinga et al. do not disclose an insecticide powder having an average particle size between 2 and 20 micrometers and having a melting point above 100°C.
The rejection, however, does not rely upon Osinga et al. alone for these limitations. Fujita et al. are relied upon for the claimed particle-size limitation. As discussed above, Fujita et al. expressly teach powdered agricultural chemical active ingredients having a mean particle diameter of 1 to 20 micrometers and, more preferably, 2 to 10 micrometers. Fujita et al. further expressly contemplate benzoylurea insecticides, including diflubenzuron, as suitable insecticidal active ingredients. Therefore, the particle-size teachings of Fujita et al. directly overlap the presently claimed range of 2 to 20 micrometers.
Further, although Osinga et al. do not expressly state the melting point of diflubenzuron, Ruijun et al. establishes that diflubenzuron is a benzoylurea insect growth regulator having a melting point of approximately 230-232°C. Thus, the diflubenzuron disclosed as a suitable benzoylurea insecticide inherently possesses a melting point greater than 100°C.
Applicant argument that Osinga et al. individually fail to expressly disclose each limitation of claim 1 is therefore not persuasive because the rejection is based upon the combined teachings of Osinga et al., Fujita et al., and Ruijun et al. The references are relied upon for what they reasonably teach to one of ordinary skill in the art, and their combined teachings render the subject matter of claim 1 obvious.
Applicant’s arguments do not overcome the rejection, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY BARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615