DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 11 Applicant generally argues that the cited art does not teach the receiving step in the independent claims.
The Office Action has not shown that the cited references teach or suggest all of the features of independent claims 1, 17, 28, and 30. For example, the Office Action has not shown that Casaccia, Ji, and Zhou-alone or in any combination-teach or suggest:
receiving, from a first network device using a first communication technology, an indication of a resource mapping between a first set of time resources for downlink communications using the first communication technology and a second set of time resources for downlink communications using a second communication technology,
as recited in independent claim 1. Independent claims 17, 28, and 30 recite similar or complementary features. The Office Action relies on Casaccia as allegedly being relevant to the aforementioned features of independent claim 1. See Office Action, p. 3 (citing Casaccia FIG. 1 and FIG. 5).
On pages 11-12 Applicant characterizes the teachings of Casaccia. On page 12, Applicant specifically argues claim 1 (emphasis by Applicant):
The Office Action alleges that "one or more of the receiving steps" in Casaccia is relevant to "an indication of a resource mapping between a first set of time resources for downlink communications using the first communication technology and a second set of time resources for downlink communications using a second communication technology," as recited in independent claim 1. See Office Action, p. 3 (citing Casaccia FIG. 5, steps 508, 510, and 516 and " [0069]- [0071]). However, the Office Action has not shown that the multiple synchronization signals described in Casaccia teach or suggest "a resource mapping between a first set of time resources for downlink communications using the first communication technology and a second set of time resources for downlink communications using a second communication technology," as recited in independent claim 1. That is, Casaccia describes a "predetermined timing relationship," and "synchronizing transmission time slots," which the Office Action has not shown to teach or suggest "an indication of a resource mapping between a first set of time resources and a second set of time resources," for at least the reason that the Office Action has not shown that the UE of Cassacia receives an indication of "the predetermined timing relationship," or any other signaling indicative of "a resource mapping," as recited in independent claim 1. Thus, the Office Action has not shown Casaccia to teach or suggest all of the aforementioned features of independent claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments focus on receiving “a resource mapping”. However, the claim recites receiving “an indication of a resource mapping ...”. See claim 1 (emphasis by the Examiner):
receiving, from a first network device using a first communication technology, an indication of a resource mapping between a first set of time resources for downlink communications using the first communication technology and a second set of time resources for downlink communications using a second communication technology,
As stated in the previous Action at the top of page 4:
Casaccia teaches to receiver [sic] synchronization signals and to receive assignment signals (FIG. 5, steps 508, 510, 516). It also teaches to actually receive the signals (FIG. 5: steps 512, 518). Although not explicitly illustrated in FIG. 5, from these teachings it would have been obvious to determine the timing for receiving the messages based on the received assignment signals.
Casaccia teaches to send and receive signals using both RF and VLC, using both RF and VLC transmission and receiving devices. In other words, it teaches first and second communication technologies and corresponding devices for each transmission/receiving technology at each gateway, AP, and UE. Furthermore, FIG. 2 teaches the use of VLC and RF to transmit scheduling info (steps 210, 212, 216, 218).
In other words, Casaccia teaches the receiving of synchronization information for time slots of the VLC and RF channels (see FIG. 5, step 508). This is the receiving of an indication of resource mapping (e.g., when the resources can be used) between first communication technology (VLC) and second communication technology (RF). In other words, the synchronization and timing information is an indication that the limited resources have been mapped/allocated. Casaccia also teaches receiving assignment and scheduling information for VLC and RF signals (see FIG. 5, steps 510, 516). This is also receiving of an indication of resource mapping between first communication technology (VLC) and second communication technology (RF). In other words, the assignment and scheduling information is an indication that the limited resources have been mapped/allocated.
See also Casiccia at [0047] (reproduced on pages 6-7 of the previous Action) which specifically describes the VLC signal and the RF signal as “time resources”. This paragraph also specifically mentions a relationship between the VLC and RF channels, and that there is timing synchronization between the VLC and RF signals.
In other words, the receipt of synchronization information for time slots and the receipt of assignment and scheduling information for the VLC and RF channels, as taught by Casaccia, is an indication of resource mapping between the VLC and RF communication technologies. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
On pages 12-14, Applicant argues that the remaining claims are patentable for the reasons argued with respect to claim 1. This is not persuasive for the reasons discussed with regard to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obvious
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10, 11, 14, 15, 17, 18, 23, 24, 26, 28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0153923 (Casaccia).
Regarding claim 1, Casaccia teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a first network device using a first communication technology, an indication of a resource mapping between a first set of time resources for downlink communications using the first communication technology and a second set of time resources for downlink communications using a second communication technology (FIG. 1: UE 152 receives from gateway 102 or AP 112, 114 one of VLC and RF signals; FIG 5: one or more of receiving steps 508, 510, 516);
determining a timing for receiving a first message from a second network device using the second communication technology based at least in part on receiving the indication of the resource mapping; and
receiving, from the second network device, the first message using the second communication technology based at least in part on determining the timing (FIG. 1: UE receives RF or VLC signals from gateway 102 or AP 112, 114).
Casaccia teaches to receive synchronization signals and to receive assignment signals (FIG. 5, steps 508, 510, 516). It also teaches to actually receive the signals (FIG. 5: steps 512, 518). Although not explicitly illustrated in FIG. 5, from these teachings it would have been obvious to determine the timing for receiving the messages based on the received assignment signals.
Casaccia teaches to send and receive signals using both RF and VLC, using both RF and VLC transmission and receiving devices. In other words, it teaches first and second communication technologies and corresponding devices for each transmission/receiving technology at each gateway, AP, and UE. Furthermore, FIG. 2 teaches the use of VLC and RF to transmit scheduling info (steps 210, 212, 216, 218).
FIG. 1 illustrates the system including the gateway 102, APs 112, 114, and UEs 148, 150, 152.
FIG. 2 illustrates a method of operating the gateway 102.
FIG. 5 illustrates a method of operating the UE 152.
See also:
[0047] In step 206, the gateway configures a visible light communications access point, e.g., a light emitting diode (LED) access point, controlled by said gateway, as a supplemental wireless cell which supports downlink communications (e.g., visible light communications). In some embodiments, configuring said visible light communications access point includes assigning said UE device to a light channel. In some such embodiments, the light channel corresponds to a set of light intensity modulation frequency and time resources, said time resources having a predetermined relationship with a wireless radio channel used by said gateway. The timing synchronization between resources on the light channel with resources on the wireless radio channel allows for coordination of the transmission of signals over the wireless radio channel and light channel. For example, in some but not necessary all embodiments, signals received on the light channel may be acknowledged via the wireless radio channel with the time of the wireless resources used to acknowledge a light channel signal occurring at a specific time offset from the light signal transmission. In some embodiments, the visible light communications access point, e.g., LED access point, is coupled to the gateway by a powerline communications link. In some embodiments, the visible light communications access point, e.g., LED access point, is coupled to the gateway by an Ethernet communications link. In some embodiments, the supplemental wireless cell is a LTE SCell. Operation proceeds from step 206 to step 208.
In other words, this teaches the use of a wireless optical communication link/technology in which the UE device is assigned a light channel corresponding to modulation frequency and time resources having a relationship with wireless RF channel used by the gateway. The provides for timing synchronization and coordinates wireless RF and light channel communication.
Regarding claim 2, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, to the first network device, a second message using the first communication technology based at least in part on receiving the first message from the second network device using the second communication technology, the second message comprising feedback information associated with the first message received from the second network device using the second communication technology (FIG. 5, step 514: transmit ACK).
See also:
[0070] In step 510, the UE device receives an assignment signal from said gateway scheduling a transmission on a downlink light channel corresponding to said VLC access point. In some embodiments, the received assignment signal from the gateway scheduling transmission on a downlink light channel corresponding to said VLC access point is received on a wireless radio control channel. Operation proceeds from step 510 to step 512. In step 512, the UE device receives VLC signals communicating traffic data on resources of said downlink light channel identified by a received assignment signal. Operation proceeds from step 512 to step 514, in which the UE device transmits an acknowledgment signal corresponding to said downlink light channel to said gateway. In various embodiments, the acknowledgment signal transmitted in step 514 is transmitted on a radio uplink channel that is synchronized with said downlink light channel. In some embodiments, downlink light channel time slots are synchronized with wireline, e.g., powerline, communications time slots used to supply data to said VLC access point via a wireline communications link. In some embodiments, there is synchronization between a powerline communications time slot, a corresponding VLC downlink time slot, and a corresponding wireless radio uplink time slot.
Regarding claim 4, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising: transmitting, to the first network device using the first communication technology, a third message comprising feedback information associated with messages received from the first network device using the first communication technology (FIG. 5, step 521: transmit ACK).
Casaccia teaches that ACK in step 514 can be transmitted on RF signal. It would have been obvious that ACK in step 520 can be implemented in a known manner, such as using RF (see [0070]).
Regarding claim 10, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the resource mapping further comprises:
receiving, as part of the indication, one or more system frame numbers associated with the first communication technology or the second communication technology or both, one or more frame offsets between the first communication technology and the second communication technology, and one or more slot durations or frame lengths associated with the first communication technology or the second communication technology or both, or any combination thereof; and
determining a timing for receiving the first message using the second communication technology based at least in part on any combination of the one or more system frame numbers, the one or more frame offsets, and the one or more slot durations or frame lengths, wherein receiving the first message is based at least in part on determining the timing.
The Examiner notes that this is a broad claim with many alternative limitations. Casaccia teaches synchronization signals/SFN. See [0048]. Furthermore, Ji teaches TTI/slot timing. It would have been obvious that the transmission in Casiccia can be implemented in a known manner, such as taught in Ji. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication), and the results would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 11, Casiccia teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: aligning a timing associated with the first communication technology and a timing associated with the second communication technology, wherein the resource mapping between the first set of time resources for downlink communications using the first communication technology and the second set of time resources for downlink communications using the second communication technology is based at least in part on the aligning.
Casaccia teaches the timing alignment/synchronization. See the discussion above. Furthermore, Ji teaches TTI alighment. See FIGS. 4-6. It would have been obvious that the transmission in Casiccia can be implemented in a known manner, such as taught in Ji. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication), and the results would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 14, Casiccia teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first network device comprises a base station and the second network device comprises a visible light communications access point.
See FIG. 1 illustrates a base station 104 connected with access points. This combination is illustrated with both radio and VLC communication. See also FIG. 8: VLC in UE 806 and AP 804.
See also VLC in FIGS. 9-15 and 17.
To the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that the first and second devices can be implemented in known ways (e.g., the base station, including the access points, and the UE with a VLC access point.
Regarding claim 15, Casiccia teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first communication technology comprises a radio access technology and the second communication technology comprises visible light communications.
See the use of both radio and VLC in FIGS. 1, 8-15, and 17.
Regarding claim 17, Casaccia teaches a method for wireless communication at a first network device, comprising:
determining a resource mapping between a first set of time resources for downlink communications using a first communication technology and a second set of time resources for downlink communications using a second communication technology (FIG. 2:at least one of steps 208, 210, 216);
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) using the first communication technology, an indication of the resource mapping (FIG. 2: one of steps 212, 218); and
monitoring for one or more messages from the UE based at least in part on the resource mapping (FIG. 2: one of steps 214, 220).
FIG. 2 is reproduced for reference.
See a more detailed discussion of the art in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising:
receiving, from the UE, a second message using the first communication technology based at least in part on the UE receiving a first message using the second communication technology from a second network device (FIG. 2: the other of steps 214, 220); and
transmitting, via a backhaul connection, to the second network device, feedback information associated with the first message based at least in part on receiving the second message from the UE.
Regarding the use of backhaul communication, see:
[0109] Gateway 1702 further includes a network interface module 1709 which couples the gateway 1702 to other networks and/or the Internet via link 1711. Backhaul link 1753 couples the network interface of the macro base station 1704 to the network interface of the gateway 1702. In some embodiments, gateway 1702 receives content from other networks and/or the Internet and/or macro base station 1704 via link 1711 and network interface module 1709. In some such embodiments, gateway 1702 then the forwards at least some of the received content to VLC access point 1712. VLC access point 1712, then transmits the content to one or more UE devices, e.g., to UE device 1748, which is located within its VLC coverage area.
In other words, it was known to use a backhaul link for communication. It would have been obvious that known forms of communication (e.g., backhaul communication) can be used for communication in the recited method.
Regarding claim 23, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 17, wherein transmitting the indication of the resource mapping further comprises:
transmitting, as part of the indication, one or more system frame numbers associated with the first communication technology or the second communication technology or both, one or more frame offsets between the first communication technology and the second communication technology, and one or more slot durations or frame lengths associated with the first communication technology or the second communication technology or both, or any combination thereof.
This recites subject matter that is substantially the same as claim 10 and is rejected for the reasons discussed in claim 10.
Regarding claim 24, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising:
aligning a timing associated with the first communication technology and a timing associated with the second communication technology, wherein the resource mapping between the first set of time resources for downlink communications using the first communication technology and the second set of time resources for downlink communications using the second communication technology is based at least in part on the aligning.
This is substantially the same as claim 11 and is rejected for the reasons discussed in claim 11.
Regarding claim 26, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising:
receiving, from the UE, using the first communication technology, a third message comprising feedback information associated with messages received from the first network device using the first communication technology.
This is substantially the same as claim 4 and is rejected for the reasons discussed in claim 4.
Regarding claim 28, Casaccia teaches a method for wireless communication at a second network device, comprising:
receiving, from a first network device using a first communication technology, an indication of a resource mapping between a first set of time resources for downlink communications using the first communication technology and a second set of time resources for downlink communications using a second communication technology (FIG. 1: UE 152 receives from gateway 102 or AP 112, 114 one of VLC and RF signals; FIG 5: one or more of receiving steps 508, 510, 516);
determining a timing for transmitting a first message to a user equipment (UE) using the second communication technology based at least in part on receiving the indication of the resource mapping; and
transmitting, to the UE, the first message using the second communication technology (FIG. 2: steps 213, 219).
This is similar to claim 1. See the more detailed discussion of Casaccia in claim 1.
Regarding claim 29, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 28, further comprising:
receiving, from the first network device, via a backhaul connection, feedback information associated with the first message.
Regarding the use of a backhaul connection, this would have been obvious. See the discussion of claim 17.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US 2016/0269943 (JI).
Regarding claim 5, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the third message and the second message are transmitted using a time-division multiplexing pattern based at least in part on a single Tx capability of the UE.
Casaccia teaches the use of TDMA transmission. See:
[0106] It is advantageous for the VLC downlink transmissions to be synchronized with the LTE uplink channels. One of the key issues here is the synchronization between the uplink and downlink channels. In some embodiments, using the Time Division Multiple Access (TDMA) feature of the PLC (powerline) communication protocol is used for synchronization. The gateway 1510, e.g., a Hy-Fi gateway, in some embodiments, assigns higher QoS to UEs participating in LTE SDL, e.g., to UEs using the VLC SDL. The effect of this is that those UEs can use deterministic, contention-free slots of the PLC communication protocol. The gateway 1510, e.g., Hy-Fi router, can obtain timing signals from the integrated HeNB to determine TDMA slot assignment time instants for the UEs operating in SDL mode using the VLC SDL. An exemplary timeline of the PLC protocol is shown in drawing 1600 of FIG. 16. Horizontal axis 1601 represents time. An exemplary power line signal 1602 is shown with an AC line cycle 1604, which is either 50 Hz or 60 Hz depending upon the particular application. There is a time interval 1608, between the start of AC line cycle and the start of a beacon period. In various embodiments, the time interval 1608 is fixed and predetermined In various embodiments, the time interval 1608 corresponds to a line cycle phase shift. The beacon period is, e.g., 40 msec in the case of a 50 Hz AC line cycle or approximately 33.3 msec in the case of a 60 Hz AC line cycle. Two exemplary iterations of a beacon period (1606, 1606') are shown. First beacon period 1606 includes a beacon region 1610, a Carrier Sense Multiple Access With Collision detection (CSMA) region 1612 and a Contention free Time Division Multiple Access (TDMA) region 1614. Second beacon period 1606' includes a beacon region 1610', a CSMA region 1612' and a Contention free TDMA region 1614'. In some embodiments, when a UE device is assigned downlink traffic channel VLC resources, the UE is assigned contention free resources in a contention free TDMA region. In some embodiments, contention free VLC downlink resources in a contention free TDMA region include a plurality of contention free slots. In various embodiments, a contention free wireless radio uplink resource for communicating an acknowledgment signal corresponds to a contention free downlink VLC downlink traffic channel region, e.g., in accordance with a predetermined mapping. For example, a particular contention free downlink traffic channel VLC slot corresponds to a contention free wireless radio uplink resource, e.g., in accordance with a predetermined mapping. In some such embodiments, an uplink wireless radio acknowledgment signal, corresponding to the downlink VLC traffic signal, does not need to, and does not, include an identifier.
Arguable this teaches the claim. However, in the interests of compact prosecution, Ji is cited to teach the use of single or multiple antenna transmitters for RF transmission.
[0045] The RF unit 214a, 214b may provide the modulated and/or processed data, e.g. data packets (or, more generally, data messages that may contain one or more data packets and other information), to the antenna 216a, 216b for transmission to one or more other devices. This may include, for example, transmission of control and scheduling signals for multiple RATs utilizing a single RAT according to embodiments of the present disclosure. For example, control and scheduling signals for both RAT sub-systems (RAT 1 and RAT 2) of wireless communication device 200 may be coordinated through the first RAT sub-system (RAT 1). The antenna 216a, 216b may further receive data messages transmitted from other devices and provide the received data messages for processing and/or demodulation at the transceiver 210a, 210b. Although FIG. 2 illustrates each antenna 216a, 216b as a single antenna, the antenna 216a, 216b may include multiple antennas of similar or different designs in order to sustain multiple transmission links.
In other words, it was known that RF transmission can be implemented with a single antenna or with multiple antennas.
It would have been obvious that the transmission in Casiccia can be implemented in a known manner, such as taught in Ji (e.g., TDMA with a single antenna). In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication), and the results would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 6, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the third message and the second message are transmitted simultaneously based at least in part on a dual-Tx capability of the UE.
Ji teaches the use of single or multiple antenna transmitters for RF transmission. In other words, it was known that RF transmission can be implemented with a multiple antennas (e.g., dual transmit capability).
It would have been obvious that the transmission in Casiccia can be implemented in a known manner, such as taught in Ji. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication), and the results would have been predictable.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2016/0269943 (JI).
Regarding claim 7, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the first network device using the first communication technology, control signaling indicating a delay associated with messages communicated using the second communication technology relative to the first communication technology (FIG. 2, step 208: transmit sync time slots on both light and RF; FIG. 5, step 508: receive sync signals on both light and RF channels),
wherein receiving the first message using the second communication technology is based at least in part on receiving the control signaling (FIG. 5, steps 512, 518: receive data signals after receiving sync signals and based on assignment signals).
Casaccia teaches that the base station provides timing information to the UE. To the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that “timing” information includes information regarding a “delay” of the communication. Furthermore, the timing information is used for receiving subsequent signals.
Furthermore, see Ji at FIGS. 4-6 which teach control signaling to indicate timing/delay of the DL signals.
See also [0053]-[0054].
It would have been obvious that the transmission in Casiccia can be implemented in a known manner, such as taught in Ji. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication), and the results would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 8, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the resource mapping further comprises:
receiving an indication that the first set of time resources for downlink communications using the first communication technology is mapped to the second set of time resources for downlink communications using the second communication technology, wherein receiving, from the second network device, the first message using the second communication technology is based at least in part on receiving the indication.
Casaccia teaches that the base station provides timing information to the UE. To the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that “timing” information includes information regarding a “delay” of the communication. Furthermore, the timing information is used for receiving subsequent signals. Furthermore, Ji teaches control signaling which indicates the timing/delay of DL signals associated with RAT across slots. See [0053] and [0054].
It would have been obvious that the transmission in Casiccia can be implemented in a known manner, such as taught in Ji. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication), and the results would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 9, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the resource mapping further comprises:
receiving an indication that the second set of time resources for downlink communications using the second communication technology is mapped to a third set of time resources for uplink communications using the first communication technology; and
transmitting, to the first network device, a second message using the first communication technology based at least in part on receiving the indication, wherein the second message comprises feedback information associated with the first message received from the second network device using the second communication technology.
Casaccia teaches the time of the wireless resources used to ack a light channel signal occurring at a specific time offset from the light signals DL transmission. See [0009] and [0047]. Furthermore, Ji teaches timing between RAT2 data and ACK/NACK, See FIG. 4.
It would have been obvious that the transmission in Casiccia can be implemented in a known manner, such as taught in Ji. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication), and the results would have been predictable.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of US 2016/0269943 (JI).
Regarding claim 20, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising:
transmitting, to the UE using the first communication technology, control signaling indicating a delay associated with messages communicated using the second communication technology relative to the first communication technology, wherein the delay is associated with the UE receiving the first message using the second communication technology.
This is analogous to claim 7 and is rejected for the reasons discussed in the claims from which it depends and from claim 7.
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of US 2016/0269943 (JI).
Regarding claim 21, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 17, wherein transmitting the indication of the resource mapping further comprises:
transmitting, an indication that the first set of time resources for downlink communications using the first communication technology is mapped to the second set of time resources for downlink communications using the second communication technology, wherein monitoring for the one or more messages from the UE is based at least in part on transmitting the indication.
This is analogous to claim 8 and is rejected for the reasons discussed in the claims from which it depends and from claim 8.
Regarding claim 22, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 17, wherein transmitting the indication of the resource mapping further comprises:
transmitting, an indication that the second set of time resources for downlink communications using the second communication technology is mapped to a third set of time resources for uplink communications using the first communication technology; and
receiving, from the UE, a second message using the first communication technology based at least in part on transmitting the indication, wherein the second message comprises feedback information associated with a first message received from a second network device using the second communication technology.
This is analogous to claim 9 and is rejected for the reasons discussed in the claims from which it depends and from claim 9.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of US 2016/0269943 (JI).
Regarding claim 27, Casaccia teaches the method of claim 26, wherein the third message and a second message are received using a time-division multiplexing pattern based at least in part on a single Tx capability of the UE.
This is analogous to claim 5 and is rejected for the reasons discussed in the claims from which it depends and from claim 5.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0153923 (Casaccia) in view of US 2011/0318021 (Zhou).
Regarding claim 30, Casaccia teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more processors;
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and
instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a first network device using a first communication technology, an indication of a resource mapping between a first set of time resources for downlink communications using the first communication technology and a second set of time resources for downlink communications using a second communication technology;
determine a timing for receiving a first message from a second network device using the second communication technology based at least in part on receiving the indication of the resource mapping; and
receive, from the second network device, the first message using the second communication technology based at least in part on determining the timing.
Regarding the particular functionality, this would have been obvious as discussed in claim 1.
Zhou at FIG. 8 illustrates a computer system including a DSP and memory to store instructions and for the DSP 806 to execute the instructions to implement desired methods or functionality in an optical communications system.
See, for example:
[0040] FIG. 8 shows an example of a computational system 802 for performing a multi-stage carrier phase recovery process. One skilled in the art can construct the computational system 802 from various combinations of hardware and software (including firmware). One skilled in the art can construct the computational system 802 from various combinations of electronic components, such as general purpose microprocessors, digital signal processors (DSPs), application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), random access memory, and non-volatile read-only memory.
[0041] Computational system 802 comprises computer 804, which includes a digital signal processor (DSP) 806, memory 808, and data storage device 810. Data storage device 810 comprises at least one non-transitory, persistent, tangible computer readable medium, such as non-volatile semiconductor memory (data storage device 810 can also comprise other non-transitory, persistent, tangible computer readable medium with sufficiently high data transfer rates).
[0042] Computational system 802 further comprises input/output interface 820, which interfaces computer 804 with input/output device 840. Data, including computer executable code can be transferred to and from computer 804 via input/output interface 820. Computational system 802 further comprises digital signal interface A 822, which interfaces computer 804 with digital signal source 842. An example of digital signal source 842 is a DSP that transmits digital signal X.sub.k. Computational system 802 further comprises digital signal interface B 824, which interfaces computer 804 with digital signal receiver 844. An example of digital signal receiver 844 is a DSP that receives decoded symbol .sub.k.sup.(3).
[0043] As is well known, a computer operates under control of computer software, which defines the overall operation of the computer and applications. DSP 806 controls the overall operation of the computer and applications by executing computer program instructions that define the overall operation and applications. The computer program instructions can be stored in data storage device 810 and loaded into memory 808 when execution of the program instructions is desired. The method steps shown in the flowchart in FIG. 7 can be defined by computer program instructions stored in memory 808 or in data storage device 810 (or in a combination of memory 808 and data storage device 810) and controlled by the DSP 806 executing the computer program instructions. For example, the computer program instructions can be implemented as computer executable code programmed by one skilled in the art to perform algorithms implementing the method steps shown in the flowchart in FIG. 7. Accordingly, by executing the computer program instructions, the DSP 806 executes algorithms implementing the method steps shown in the flowchart in FIG. 7.
In other words, it was known to use a processor, memory, and programming to implement desired methods or functionality in an optical communications system.
It would have been obvious that the functionality taught in Casaccia can be implemented in a known manner, such as with a processor, memory, and instructions as taught Zhou. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., communications) and the results would have been predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 12, 13, 16, 19, 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. The prior art of record teaches the general subject matter of the claims (see the rejections above) but fails to teach the particular embodiments in the objected to claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARREN E WOLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634