DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the preliminary amendments filed 05/08/2024. Claims 6 and 15 have been canceled. Claims 1-5, 7-14 and 16-22 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/08/2024 was filed on or after the mailing date of the Application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first fan in claim 5 and the second fan in claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The term “primary desorber” could not be found within the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-12, 17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Warmerdam et al. (US 20150211754 A1, hereinafter “Warmerdam”).
Regarding Claim 1, Warmerdam teaches an air conditioning system [Fig. 1] comprising:
a lower critical solution temperature (LCST) liquid desiccant [¶ 0007] configured to have a moderate phase liquid configured to separate into a weak phase liquid and strong phase liquid upon heating [¶ 0050-0057; liquid desiccant, after flowing through dryer 10 via inlet 3, is provided to regenerator 40, wherein the aqueous portion of the desiccant flows through membrane 41C to concentrate the desiccant in the regenerator 40 along portion 41A while providing water vapor along portion 41B];
a heater [44] configured to transfer heat to the moderate phase liquid to separate the moderate phase liquid into the weak phase liquid and the strong phase liquid [¶ 0057; heating the aqueous desiccant increases vapor pressure, thereby improving aqueous vapor migration through membrane 41C];
a separator [40] configured to physically separate the weak phase liquid and strong phase liquid [¶ 0057; regenerator 40 concentrates the desiccant flow by separating aqueous vapor via membrane 41C];
an absorber [10] configured to receive the strong phase liquid [via inlet 3], wherein the strong phase liquid is configured to absorb moisture from air thereby dehumidifying the air [concentrated desiccant [¶ 0050; the desiccant flow is configured to absorb moisture from an airflow stream supplied by air inlet 1]; and
a primary desorber [20 or 52] configured to receive the weak phase liquid [¶ 0050-0056; humidifier 20 receives condensed cooling liquid via conductor 71], wherein the weak phase liquid is configured to desorb moisture to air thereby cooling the primary desorber through evaporative cooling [¶ 0050-0056; air stream 1 is humidified at least via humidifier 20 and produces a conditioned air volume 122].
Regarding Claim 2, Warmerdam teaches the system of claim 1 above and Warmerdam further teaches comprising:
a recuperator [combination of 60 and 43] configured to transfer heat to the moderate phase liquid from the weak phase liquid and the strong phase liquid [¶ 0057; in dryer 40, strong desiccant liquid flows from 41A towards heat exchanger 43B to serve as a heating means for desiccant flowing through 43A] [¶ 0059-0060; aqueous solution in conductor 71, derived from membrane contactor 41, is supplied to heat exchanger 60, wherein the solution is configured to raise the temperature of the moderate desiccant flowing from dryer 10].
Regarding Claim 5, Warmerdam teaches the system of claim 1 above and Warmerdam further teaches comprising at least one of:
a first fan that configured to blow air over the absorber to reduce its temperature [¶ 0050; while Warmerdam does not explicitly disclose a fan enabling the movement of airflow, Warmerdam does state that an air volume 121, continuously or batch-wise, is drawn into the air-conditioning system from a room 120, wherein the air is configured to flow over the heat exchangers in the dryer module 10; thus the description of drawing air, necessarily requires the action of a device, such as a blower or a fan, as is commonly known to be used in an air-conditioning system]; or
a second fan configured to blow air over the primary desorber, thereby cooling the air passing over the primary desorber.
Claim 6 canceled
Regarding Claim 7, Warmerdam teaches the system of claim 1 above and Warmerdam further teaches comprising:
a secondary desorber [30] configured to receive the weak phase liquid leaving the primary desorber [¶ 0060; cooling liquid in conductor 71 circulates from 53 and circulates back to 53 via conductor 72, therefore liquid flowing into 20B may later flow into 30B, as desorber 30 is downstream desorber 20 in conductor 71];
wherein the weak phase liquid desorbs moisture to air [Abstract; heat exchangers 20 and 30 are humidifiers].
Regarding Claim 8, Warmerdam teaches the system of claim 1 above and Warmerdam teaches wherein the absorber comprises:
absorber channels configured to have downward flowing strong phase liquid and upward flowing air [¶ 0051-0055; frame 220 is formed with parallel alignments of channels in a counter-current formation, wherein an arrangement of frames 220 form a cassette 200 to be utilized as membrane contactors or heat exchangers, wherein the channels may be oriented in any direction]; and
heat exchanger fins extending from an exterior of the absorber channels [¶ 0051-0055; the plurality of frames 220 making up the channels are considered to provide a fin configuration, as the frames are disclosed to modify the surface area of the heat exchanger, just as the function of a fin modifies the heat exchange capabilities of a heat exchanger].
Regarding Claim 9, Warmerdam teaches the system of claim 1 above and Warmerdam teaches wherein the primary desorber comprises:
absorber channels configured to have downward flowing strong phase liquid and upward flowing air [¶ 0051-0055; frame 220 is formed with parallel alignments of channels in a counter-current formation, wherein an arrangement of frames 220 form a cassette 200 to be utilized as membrane contactors or heat exchangers, wherein the channels may be oriented in any direction]; and
heat exchanger fins extending from an exterior of the absorber channels [¶ 0051-0055; the plurality of frames 220 making up the channels are considered to provide a fin configuration, as the frames are disclosed to modify the surface area of the heat exchanger, just as the function of a fin modifies the heat exchange capabilities of a heat exchanger].
Regarding Claim 10, Warmerdam teaches the system of claim 1 above and Warmerdam teaches wherein the heater comprises;
a section of pipe configured to have LCST liquid desiccant flowing in it [¶ 0057; Fig. 1; heater 44 serves to heat desiccant flowing therethrough];
wherein the section of pipe comprises a color exterior configured to absorb energy from the sun [¶ 0053; While Warmerdam does not explicitly disclose that heating means 44 absorbs solar energy from the sun, Warmerdam does teach that the disclosed heat exchanger cassette layout may be integrally formed into other construction elements, such as building walls and roofs, or solar cells, therefore providing that heating means 44 may be formed from the disclosed heat exchanger layout coupled with solar cells for absorption of energy] [Alternatively, See Erickson (US 20100275629 A1) Fig. 1 for use of a solar collector].
Regarding Claim 11, Warmerdam teaches the system of claim 1 above and Warmerdam teaches wherein the heater is selected from the group consisting of a solar heat heater, a waste heat heater, a gas heat heater, an electric heat heater, and a combination thereof [¶ 0053; While Warmerdam does not explicitly disclose that heating means 44 absorbs solar energy from the sun, Warmerdam does teach that the disclosed heat exchanger cassette layout may be integrally formed into other construction elements, such as building walls and roofs, or solar cells, therefore providing that heating means 44 may be formed from the disclosed heat exchanger layout coupled with solar cells for absorption of energy] [Alternatively, See Erickson (US 20100275629 A1) Fig. 1 for use of a solar collector].
Regarding Claim 12, Warmerdam teaches the system of claim 2 above and Warmerdam teaches wherein the recuperator comprises:
a first recuperator heat exchanger [60] configured to transfer heat from the weak phase liquid to the moderate phase liquid [¶ 0059; Fig. 1; heat exchanger 60 may act as a heating step for desiccant leaving the dryer 10, exchanging with liquid from cooling conductor 71]; and
a second recuperator heat exchanger [43] configured to transfer heat from the strong phase liquid to the moderate phase liquid [¶ 0057; Fig. 1; strong desiccant leaving heat exchanger 41 flows to 43 and exchanges heat with moderate desiccant flowing from 60].
Regarding Claim 17, Warmerdam teaches a method of air conditioning with the air conditioning system of claim 1 above, comprising:
heating the lower critical solution temperature (LCST) liquid desiccant with the heater [44] to a temperature higher than ambient temperature so that the LCST separates from the moderate phase liquid to the strong phase liquid and the weak phase liquid [¶ 0057; regenerator 40 heats the desiccant to provide a strong desiccant flowing from 42 and a weak desiccant flow originating from 41] ;
separating the strong phase liquid from the weak phase liquid with the separator [¶ 0057];
cooling the strong phase liquid and the weak phase liquid [¶ 0057; Fig. 1; heat exchanger 42 and 43 in 40 cool the strong desiccant before flowing towards 10 via 3] [¶ 0060; heat exchanger 52 cools the weak desiccant fluid to condense into an aqueous solution];
absorbing moisture from air to the strong phase liquid with the absorber [10], thereby dehumidifying the air [¶ 0050-0051; dryer module 10 receives strong liquid desiccant via inlet 3 to remove moisture from the air stream from 121];
desorbing moisture from the weak phase liquid to air with the primary desorber [20], thereby humidifying the air and cooling, via evaporative cooling, ambient [¶ 0050-0056; air stream 1 is humidified via at least humidifier 20 and produces a conditioned air volume 122]; and
recombining the strong phase liquid with the weak phase liquid [¶ 0050-0057; at least humidifier 20 re-introduces aqueous solution to an air stream 120, wherein strong desiccant removes the moisture via at least 10, to thereby combine and create a moderate desiccant, finalizing the loop in Fig. 1].
Regarding Claim 19, Warmerdam teaches the method of claim 17 above and Warmerdam further teaches comprising:
transferring heat from the weak phase and strong phase liquids to the moderate phase liquid with a recuperator [combination of 60 and 43] [¶ 0057; in dryer 40, strong desiccant liquid flows from 41A towards heat exchanger 43B to serve as a heating means for desiccant flowing through 43A] [¶ 0059-0060; aqueous solution in conductor 71, derived from membrane contactor 41, is supplied to heat exchanger 60, wherein the solution is configured to raise the temperature of the moderate desiccant flowing from dryer 10].
Regarding Claim 20, Warmerdam teaches the method of claim 17 above and Warmerdam teaches wherein the heater comprises a section of pipe [¶ 0057; Fig. 1; heater 44 serves to heat desiccant flowing therethrough];
wherein heating is achieved at least partially by heating by the section of pipe with LCST flowing in it [¶ 0057; Fig. 1; heater 44 serves to heat desiccant flowing therethrough]; and
wherein the section of pipe is a color configured to absorb energy from the sun [¶ 0053; While Warmerdam does not explicitly disclose that heating means 44 absorbs solar energy from the sun, Warmerdam does teach that the disclosed heat exchanger cassette layout may be integrally formed into other construction elements, such as building walls and roofs, or solar cells, therefore providing that heating means 44 may be formed from the disclosed heat exchanger layout coupled with solar cells for absorption of energy] [Alternatively, See Erickson (US 20100275629 A1) Fig. 1 for use of a solar collector].
Regarding Claim 21, Warmerdam teaches the method of claim 17 above and Warmerdam teaches wherein heating is achieved at least partially by at least one of solar heat, waste heat, gas heat, or electric heat [¶ 0053; While Warmerdam does not explicitly disclose that heating means 44 absorbs solar energy from the sun, Warmerdam does teach that the disclosed heat exchanger cassette layout may be integrally formed into other construction elements, such as building walls and roofs, or solar cells, therefore providing that heating means 44 may be formed from the disclosed heat exchanger layout coupled with solar cells for absorption of energy] [Alternatively, See Erickson (US 20100275629 A1) Fig. 1 for use of a solar collector].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warmerdam as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Erickson (US 20100275629 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Warmerdam teaches the system of claim 1 above but Warmerdam does not teach comprising:
an air-to-air heat exchanger; wherein the air to air heat exchanger is configured to receive the dehumidified air from the absorber and the humidified air from the primary desorber and transfer heat from the dehumidified air to the humidified air.
However, Erickson teaches a liquid desiccant chiller [See Annotated Fig. 1] comprising a dehumidifier [A] utilizing a liquid desiccant configured to supply air to a system (i.e. supply), an adiabatic humidifier [B] downstream from an air return flow, and an air-to-air heat exchanger [C] disposed between the humidifier and dehumidifier, such that heat is transferred from the air flowing from the dryer [¶ 0017 and Claim 1]. Erickson further teaches that air-to-air heat exchangers are vitally important, otherwise much of the applied energy ends as wasteful heating of the air, instead of the desired cooling and drying of the air [¶ 0025]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the air-to-air heat exchanger as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the air-to-air heat exchanger would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. air-to-air heat exchangers provide a means to transfer heat between dehumidified and humidified air stream, thereby providing the desired effect of cool and dried air [¶ 0025].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Warmerdam to have an air-to-air heat exchanger; wherein the air to air heat exchanger is configured to receive the dehumidified air from the absorber and the humidified air from the primary desorber and transfer heat from the dehumidified air to the humidified air, in view of the teachings of Erickson where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. air-to-air heat exchangers provide a means to transfer heat between dehumidified and humidified air stream, thereby providing the desired effect of cool and dried air.
Regarding Claim 18, Warmerdam teaches the method of claim 17 above but Warmerdam does not further teach comprising:
exchanging heat from the dehumidified air to the humidified air.
However, Erickson teaches a liquid desiccant chiller [See Annotated Fig. 1] comprising a dehumidifier [A] utilizing a liquid desiccant configured to supply air to a system (i.e. supply), an adiabatic humidifier [B] downstream from an air return flow, and an air-to-air heat exchanger [C] disposed between the humidifier and dehumidifier, such that heat is transferred from the air flowing from the dryer [¶ 0017 and Claim 1]. Erickson further teaches that air-to-air heat exchangers are vitally important, otherwise much of the applied energy ends as wasteful heating of the air, instead of the desired cooling and drying of the air [¶ 0025]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the air-to-air heat exchanger as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the air-to-air heat exchanger would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. air-to-air heat exchangers provide a means to transfer heat between dehumidified and humidified air stream, thereby providing the desired effect of cool and dried air [¶ 0025].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Warmerdam to have an air-to-air heat exchanger; wherein the air to air heat exchanger is configured to receive the dehumidified air from the absorber and the humidified air from the primary desorber and transfer heat from the dehumidified air to the humidified air, in view of the teachings of Erickson where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. air-to-air heat exchangers provide a means to transfer heat between dehumidified and humidified air stream, thereby providing the desired effect of cool and dried air.
Regarding Claim 22, Warmerdam teaches an air conditioning system [Fig. 1] comprising:
a lower critical solution temperature (LCST) liquid desiccant [¶ 0007] configured to have a moderate phase liquid configured to separate into a weak phase liquid and strong phase liquid upon heating [¶ 0050-0057; liquid desiccant, after flowing through dryer 10 via inlet 3, is provided to regenerator 40, wherein the aqueous portion of the desiccant flows through membrane 41C to concentrate the desiccant in the regenerator 40 along portion 41A while providing water vapor along portion 41B];
an outside portion comprising:
a recuperator [combination of 60 and 43] configured to transfer heat to the moderate phase liquid from the weak phase liquid and the strong phase liquid [¶ 0057; in dryer 40, strong desiccant liquid flows from 41A towards heat exchanger 43B to serve as a heating means for desiccant flowing through 43A] [¶ 0059-0060; aqueous solution in conductor 71, derived from membrane contactor 41, is supplied to heat exchanger 60, wherein the solution is configured to raise the temperature of the moderate desiccant flowing from dryer 10];
a heater [44] configured to transfer heat to the moderate phase liquid to separate the moderate phase liquid into the weak phase liquid and the strong phase liquid [¶ 0057; heating the aqueous desiccant increases vapor pressure, thereby improving aqueous vapor migration through membrane 41C];
a separator [40] configured to physically separate the weak phase liquid and strong phase liquid [¶ 0057; regenerator 40 concentrates the desiccant flow by separating aqueous vapor via membrane 41C];
an absorber [10] configured to receive the strong phase liquid [via inlet 3], wherein the strong phase liquid is configured to absorb moisture from outside air thereby dehumidifying the outside air [concentrated desiccant [¶ 0050; the desiccant flow is configured to absorb moisture from an airflow stream supplied by air inlet 1]; and
an inside unit comprising:
a desorber [20 or 52] configured to receive the weak phase liquid [¶ 0050-0056; humidifier 20 receives condensed cooling liquid via conductor 71], wherein the weak phase liquid is configured to desorb moisture to inside air thereby cooling the desorber through evaporative cooling [¶ 0050-0056; air stream 1 is humidified at least via humidifier 20 and produces a conditioned air volume 122]; and
a liquid-to-liquid heater [51] configured to transfer heat from the weak phase liquid entering the desorber to the weak phase liquid leaving the desorber [¶ 0060; weak desiccant flowing from separating portion 41 flows into heat exchanger 51, while weak desiccant flowing from the condensing unit 52, making an aqueous water solution, counter currently flows into 51, wherein the heat exchange is disclosed to optimize performance];
Warmerdam does not teach an air-to-air heat exchanger; and wherein the air-to-air heat exchanger is configured to receive the dehumidified outside air from the absorber and the humidified inside air from the desorber and transfer heat from the dehumidified outside air to the humidified inside air.
However, Erickson teaches a liquid desiccant chiller [See Annotated Fig. 1] comprising a dehumidifier [A] utilizing a liquid desiccant configured to supply air to a system (i.e. supply), an adiabatic humidifier [B] downstream from an air return flow, and an air-to-air heat exchanger [C] disposed between the humidifier and dehumidifier, such that heat is transferred from the air flowing from the dryer [¶ 0017 and Claim 1]. Erickson further teaches that air-to-air heat exchangers are vitally important, otherwise much of the applied energy ends as wasteful heating of the air, instead of the desired cooling and drying of the air [¶ 0025]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the air-to-air heat exchanger as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the air-to-air heat exchanger would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. air-to-air heat exchangers provide a means to transfer heat between dehumidified and humidified air stream, thereby providing the desired effect of cool and dried air [¶ 0025].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Warmerdam to have an air-to-air heat exchanger; and wherein the air-to-air heat exchanger is configured to receive the dehumidified outside air from the absorber and the humidified inside air from the desorber and transfer heat from the dehumidified outside air to the humidified inside air, in view of the teachings of Erickson where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. air-to-air heat exchangers provide a means to transfer heat between dehumidified and humidified air stream, thereby providing the desired effect of cool and dried air.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warmerdam as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Betts et al. (US 20150233589 A1, hereinafter “Betts”).
Regarding Claim 4, Warmerdam teaches the system of claim 1 above and while Warmerdam teaches further comprising:
one or more heat exchangers [42] configured to transfer heat from one or more at least one of the weak phase liquid or strong phase liquid [¶ 0057; heat exchanger 42 serves as a cooling down step for desiccant flowing through the regenerator 40, transferring heat to general purpose cooling liquid 71], Warmerdam does not explicitly teach wherein the heat exchanger is liquid-to-air and transfers heat to ambient.
However, Betts teaches a liquid desiccant regeneration system [Figs. 6 and 9] comprising a high concentration liquid desiccant [1252a] and a low concentration liquid desiccant [1252b] wherein the high concentration liquid desiccant may flow through a heat exchanger portion [1168], such that ambient air flows over the heat exchanger for cooling of the liquid flow [¶ 0125-0127]. Betts teaches that this cooling effect, upstream of the heat exchange for building supply air, provides another means for the system to control the amount of psychrometric cooling utilized [¶ 0125-0133]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the liquid-to-air heat exchangers as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the liquid-to-air heat exchangers would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means for a cooling effect, upstream of the heat exchange for building supply air, provides another means for the system to control the amount of psychrometric cooling utilized, thereby improving the system [¶ 0125-0133].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Warmerdam to have wherein the heat exchanger is liquid-to-air and transfers heat to ambient, in view of the teachings of Betts, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means for a cooling effect, upstream of the heat exchange for building supply air, provides another means for the system to control the amount of psychrometric cooling utilized, thereby improving the system.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warmerdam as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 13, Warmerdam teaches the system of claim 2 above and While Warmerdam teaches wherein the recuperator comprises: a heat exchanger [combination of 43 and 60] configured to have the moderate phase liquid flowing in a first direction and the weak and strong phase liquids flowing in a second direction [¶ 0016, 0030, 0054, 0056; the channels are consistently disclosed to operate most efficiently in countercurrent directions]; wherein the moderate, weak, and strong phase liquids are all physically separated [Fig. 1; moderate desiccant flows from 10 to 40, strong desiccant flows from 41 through 43 and 42; weak desiccant flows from 71], Warmerdam does not teach wherein the recuperator comprises a single recuperator heat exchanger.
However, when considering the above disclosure regarding the combination of heat exchangers 60 and 43, being provided directly in series, and considering that the combination fulfills the claimed function of recuperation with countercurrent flow, the distinction between the claims and the prior art may be considered an obvious matter of deisgn choice of making parts integral [MPEP 2144.04 V.B]. Specifically, neither the prior art nor the instant disclosure can be found to provide a perceived need to combine the heat exchangers of three separate, independent flows into a single unit. Furthermore, when considering the function of the heat exchangers 60 and 43 in series, it would not appear to one of ordinary skill in the art that the combination of heat exchanger housings would modify the operation of the device in a significant manner. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have made integral the recuperators by known methods and that in combination, the recuperator would perform the same function as it did when separated, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results would not be significantly modified by the integration of parts.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warmerdam as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Woods et al. (US 20190285290 A1, hereinafter “Woods”).
Regarding Claim 14, Warmerdam teaches the system of claim 1 above and Warmerdam further teaches comprising:
a desiccant storage tank configured to store excess LCST liquid desiccant [¶ 0026; Warmerdam discloses that storage containers (not shown) may be used for at least the aqueous desiccant solution].
Warmerdam does not teach wherein the separator comprises: a separation tank configured to separate, via gravity, the weak phase liquid and the strong phase liquid.
However, Woods teaches a heat-pump driven desiccant regeneration system [Figs. 1-6] comprising a liquid desiccant storage tank [750] [Fig. 7; ¶ 0060] wherein a weak desiccant and a strong desiccant, both present in the storage tank, may be separated by a means of density stratification, wherein the lighter concentration of desiccant collects at the top of the tank, and the heavier at the bottom [¶ 0036]. Woods teaches that this method of separation enables the use of internal heating elements in the tank aid in separation of the desiccant [¶ 0036]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined separation method as claimed by known techniques and that in combination, the separation method would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. separation of desiccants through gravity/density stratification is a known method in the art to separate desiccant concentrations, thereby providing a known means to utilize heating means within a collection tank to separate desiccants [¶ 0036].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Warmerdam to have wherein the separator comprises: a separation tank configured to separate, via gravity, the weak phase liquid and the strong phase liquid, in view of the teachings of Woods, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. separation of desiccants through gravity/density stratification is a known method in the art to separate desiccant concentrations, thereby providing a known means to utilize heating means within a collection tank to separate desiccants.
Claim 15 canceled
Regarding Claim 16, Warmerdam teaches the system of claim 1 above but Warmerdam does not explicitly further teach comprising a combined desiccant storage tank configured to store excess LCST liquid desiccant and separation tank configured to separate, via gravity, the weak phase liquid and the strong phase liquid.
However, Woods teaches a heat-pump driven desiccant regeneration system [Figs. 1-6] comprising a liquid desiccant storage tank [750] [Fig. 7; ¶ 0060] wherein a weak desiccant and a strong desiccant, both present in the storage tank, may be separated by a means of density stratification, wherein the lighter concentration of desiccant collects at the top of the tank, and the heavier at the bottom [¶ 0036]. Woods teaches that this method of separation enables the use of internal heating elements in the tank aid in separation of the desiccant [¶ 0036]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined separation method as claimed by known techniques and that in combination, the separation method would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. separation of desiccants through gravity/density stratification is a known method in the art to separate desiccant concentrations, thereby providing a known means to utilize heating means within a collection tank to separate desiccants [¶ 0036].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Warmerdam to have a combined desiccant storage tank configured to store excess LCST liquid desiccant and separation tank configured to separate, via gravity, the weak phase liquid and the strong phase liquid, in view of the teachings of Woods, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. separation of desiccants through gravity/density stratification is a known method in the art to separate desiccant concentrations, thereby providing a known means to utilize heating means within a collection tank to separate desiccants.
Conclusion
/KEITH STANLEY MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763