DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Based on the current set of claims (Claims, 28 August 2026), Claims 1-8, 12-17, and 25-30 are pending.
Based on the current set of claims (Claims, 28 August 2026), Claims 1, 12, and 25 are amended and said amendments are narrowing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 12, and Claim 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 20120057619 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Shen”) in view of Wen et al. (US 20130028167 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Wen”).
Regarding Claim 1, Shen discloses a relay node for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (¶40, Shen discloses memory); and
one or more processors (¶33 & Fig. 9, Shen discloses a power difference determination unit and a gain determination unit), coupled to the memory (¶40, Shen discloses that hardware, such as a processor, is coupled to memory), configured to:
relay the communication from a transmit node to the receive node in accordance with the configured power level (¶38 & Fig. 10 (S103), Shen discloses relaying, by the relay apparatus, the signal from the transmitter to the receiver in accordance with an amplification gain where the amplification gain is further based upon the reception level of the direct wave), wherein relaying the communication includes attenuating or amplifying the communication based at least in part on the configured power level (¶38 & Fig. 10 (S103), Shen discloses that relaying the signal include amplifying the signal based at least in part on the amplification gain where the amplification gain is based at least in part on the reception level of the direct wave at the receiver).
However, Shen does not disclose receive, from a receive node, information associated with identifying a configured power level of a communication at the receive node, wherein the configured power level indicates a target power at which the receive node is to receive the communication.
Barnes, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches to:
receive, from a receive node, information (¶94 & Fig. 7 (710), Barnes discloses receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a downlink signal strength indicator value of the UE via a wireless connection of the UE with the repeater) associated with identifying a configured power level of a communication at the receive node (¶41-42, Barnes discloses that the downlink signal strength indicator value is associated a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of a downlink signal measured at the UE where the RSSI may be a power level of a received radio signal at the UE),
wherein the configured power level indicates a target power at which the receive node is to receive the communication (¶41, Barnes discloses that the downlink signal strength indicator value is a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of a downlink signal measured at the UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen by receiving, from a receive node, information associated with identifying a configured power level of a communication at the receive node where the configured power level indicates a target power at which the receive node is to receive the communication as taught by Barnes because the quality of the wireless communication is improved by amplifying, filtering, and/or applying other processing techniques to uplink and downlink signals communicated between the wireless device and the wireless communication access point (Barnes, ¶2).
Regarding Claim 2, Shen in view of Barnes discloses the relay node of claim 1.
Barnes, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, further teaches wherein the information associated with identifying the configured power level includes an indication of a scaling factor for attenuating or amplifying the communication (¶41-42 & ¶50-51, Barnes discloses that the downlink signal strength indicator value indicates a downlink repeater gain level to be adjusted by the repeater by adjusting an attenuation in one or more amplifiers in one or more of a downlink amplification path or an uplink amplification path of the repeater).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Barnes by requiring that the information associated with identifying the configured power level includes an indication of a scaling factor for attenuating or amplifying the communication as taught by Barnes because the quality of the wireless communication is improved by amplifying, filtering, and/or applying other processing techniques to uplink and downlink signals communicated between the wireless device and the wireless communication access point (Barnes, ¶2).
Regarding Claim 12, Shen discloses a receive node for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (¶40, Shen discloses memory); and
one or more processors (¶33 & Fig. 9, Shen discloses a power difference determination unit and a gain determination unit), coupled to the memory (¶40, Shen discloses that hardware, such as a processor, is coupled to memory), configured to:
receive one or more communications from at least one of the first transmit node, via the relay node, or the second transmit node in accordance with the configured power level (¶38 & Fig. 10 (S103), Shen discloses receiving, from the relay apparatus, the signal from the transmitter to the receiver in accordance with an amplification gain where the amplification gain is further based upon the reception level of the direct wave), wherein the relay node is configured for attenuating or amplifying a communication, of the one or more communications, based at least in part on the configured power level (¶38 & Fig. 10 (S103), Shen discloses that relaying the signal include amplifying the signal based at least in part on the amplification gain where the amplification gain is based at least in part on the reception level of the direct wave at the receiver).
However, Shen does not disclose transmit, to a relay node associated with relaying communications for a first transmit node, information associated with identifying a configured power level at a receive node, wherein the configured power level indicates a target power at which the receive node is to receive a communication and is based at least in part on a first configuration of the first transmit node and a second configuration of a second transmit node in communication with the receive node.
Barnes, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches to:
transmit, to a relay node associated with relaying communications for a first transmit node, information (¶94 & Fig. 7 (710), Barnes discloses receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a downlink signal strength indicator value of the UE via a wireless connection of the UE with the repeater) associated with identifying a configured power level at a receive node (¶41-42, Barnes discloses that the downlink signal strength indicator value is associated a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of a downlink signal measured at the UE where the RSSI may be a power level of a received radio signal at the UE), wherein the configured power level indicates a target power at which the receive node is to receive a communication (¶41, Barnes discloses that the downlink signal strength indicator value is a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of a downlink signal measured at the UE) and is based at least in part on a first configuration of the first transmit node (¶23, Barnes discloses that the base station is configured to transmit downlink signals via the repeater) and a second configuration of a second transmit node (¶49-51, Barnes discloses that the repeater is configured to increase or reduce repeater gain level) in communication with the receive node (¶94 & Fig. 7 (710), Barnes discloses that the relay is in communication with the UE)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen by transmitting, to a relay node associated with relaying communications for a first transmit node, information associated with identifying a configured power level at a receive node, wherein the configured power level indicates a target power at which the receive node is to receive a communication and is based at least in part on a first configuration of the first transmit node and a second configuration of a second transmit node in communication with the receive node as taught by Barnes because the quality of the wireless communication is improved by amplifying, filtering, and/or applying other processing techniques to uplink and downlink signals communicated between the wireless device and the wireless communication access point (Barnes, ¶2).
Regarding Claim 13, Shen in view of Barnes discloses the receive node of claim 12.
Barnes, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the information associated with identifying the configured power level includes an indication of a scaling factor for the relay node for attenuating or amplifying the communication (¶41-42 & ¶50-51, Barnes discloses that the downlink signal strength indicator value indicates a downlink repeater gain level to be adjusted by the repeater by adjusting an attenuation in one or more amplifiers in one or more of a downlink amplification path or an uplink amplification path of the repeater).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Barnes by requiring that the information associated with identifying the configured power level includes an indication of a scaling factor for attenuating or amplifying the communication as taught by Barnes because the quality of the wireless communication is improved by amplifying, filtering, and/or applying other processing techniques to uplink and downlink signals communicated between the wireless device and the wireless communication access point (Barnes, ¶2).
Claims 3-8 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Barnes in further view of Wen et al. (US 20130028167 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Wen”).
Regarding Claim 3, Shen in view of Barnes discloses the relay node of claim 1.
However, Shen in view of Barnes does not disclose wherein the configured power level of the communication from the transmit node is based at least in part on a power level of an other communication from an other transmit node.
Wen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, further teaches wherein the configured power level of the communication from the transmit node is based at least in part on a power level of an other communication from an other transmit node (¶39-42 & Fig. 2, Wen discloses that the SNR information, VL-1, is a power level from a transmit node L is based at least in part on the SNR information, VL, of a prior communication from a transmit node L+1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Barnes by requiring the configured power level of the communication from the transmit node is based at least in part on a power level of an other communication from an other transmit node as taught by Wen because multiple-hop MIMO amplify-and-forward relaying is improved by achieving low transmission power consumption while maintaining the target data rate and increasing wireless communication system capacity (Wen, ¶6-8).
Regarding Claim 4, Shen in view of Barnes in further view of Wen does not disclose the relay node of claim 3.
Wen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
attenuate or amplify a power level of the communication to within a threshold difference of the power level of the other communication from the other transmit node (¶39-42, Wen discloses that the transmission power, at each relay node, is amplified based upon prior transmission levels of other transmitting nodes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Barnes in further view of Wen by attenuating or amplifying a power level of the communication to within a threshold difference of the power level of the other communication from the other transmit node as taught by Wen because multiple-hop MIMO amplify-and-forward relaying is improved by achieving low transmission power consumption while maintaining the target data rate and increasing wireless communication system capacity (Wen, ¶6-8).
Regarding Claim 5, Shen in view of Barnes discloses the relay node of claim 1.
However, Shen in view of Barnes does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: provide the information associated with identifying the configured power level to the transmit node to cause an adjustment to a transmit power of the communication by the transmit node.
Wen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
provide the information associated with identifying the configured power level to the transmit node to cause an adjustment to a transmit power of the communication by the transmit node (¶44 & ¶47 & Fig. 3 (320->350), Wen discloses providing the SNR information to each node to cause an adjustment to the transmit power of each node according to a respective transmission power).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Barnes by providing the information associated with identifying the configured power level to the transmit node to cause an adjustment to a transmit power of the communication by the transmit node as taught by Wen because multiple-hop MIMO amplify-and-forward relaying is improved by achieving low transmission power consumption while maintaining the target data rate and increasing wireless communication system capacity (Wen, ¶6-8).
Regarding Claim 6, Shen in view of Barnes discloses the relay node of claim 1.
However, Shen in view of Barnes does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: provide a command to cause an adjustment to a multiple-user multiple-input multiple- output (MU-MIMO) configuration by the transmit node; and adjust a scaling factor based at least in part on causing the adjustment to the MU- MIMO configuration.
Wen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
provide a command to cause an adjustment to a multiple-user multiple-input multiple- output (MU-MIMO) configuration by the transmit node (¶44 & ¶47-48 & Fig. 3 (320->350), Wen discloses providing the SNR information to each node to cause an adjustment to the transmit power of each node according to a respective transmission power. Here, the adjustment of the transmission power and precoding matrix is correlated to an "adjustment of a MU-MIMO configuration"); and
adjust a scaling factor based at least in part on causing the adjustment to the MU- MIMO configuration (¶44 & ¶47-48 & Fig. 3 (320->350), Wen discloses adjusting a precoding matrix based at least in part on causing each node to transmit according to a transmission power).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Barnes by providing a command to cause an adjustment to a multiple-user multiple-input multiple- output (MU-MIMO) configuration by the transmit node and adjusting a scaling factor based at least in part on causing the adjustment to the MU- MIMO configuration as taught by Wen because multiple-hop MIMO amplify-and-forward relaying is improved by achieving low transmission power consumption while maintaining the target data rate and increasing wireless communication system capacity (Wen, ¶6-8).
Regarding Claim 7, Shen in view of Barnes discloses the relay node of claim 1.
However, Shen in view of Barnes does not disclose wherein a first scaling parameter of the relay node is based at least in part on a second scaling parameter of an other relay node associated with an other transmit node in communication with the receive node.
Wen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a first scaling parameter of the relay node is based at least in part on a second scaling parameter of an other relay node associated with an other transmit node in communication with the receive node (¶44 & ¶47-48 & Fig. 3 (320->350), Wen discloses each precoding matrix is recursively based upon a prior precoding matrix of a prior relay node).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Barnes by requiring a first scaling parameter of the relay node is based at least in part on a second scaling parameter of an other relay node associated with an other transmit node in communication with the receive node as taught by Wen because multiple-hop MIMO amplify-and-forward relaying is improved by achieving low transmission power consumption while maintaining the target data rate and increasing wireless communication system capacity (Wen, ¶6-8).
Regarding Claim 8, Shen in view of Barnes discloses the relay node of claim 1.
However, Shen in view of Barnes does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the receive node, information identifying a configuration of one or more attenuation parameters, and wherein the information associated with identifying the configured power level is based at least in part on the information identifying the configuration of the one or more attenuation parameters.
Wen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit, to the receive node, information identifying a configuration of one or more attenuation parameters (¶44 & Fig. 3 (320), Wen discloses transmitting, by a relay node to either a source node or another relay node, antenna port information. Examiner correlate the antenna port information to "information identifying a configuration of one or more attenuation parameters"), and wherein the information associated with identifying the configured power level is based at least in part on the information identifying the configuration of the one or more attenuation parameters (¶44 & Fig. 3 (320), Wen discloses that the antenna port information associated with the SNR information is based at least in part on the configuration of antenna ports at each relay node).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Barnes by transmitting, to the receive node, information identifying a configuration of one or more attenuation parameters where the information associated with identifying the configured power level is based at least in part on the information identifying the configuration of the one or more attenuation parameters as taught by Wen because multiple-hop MIMO amplify-and-forward relaying is improved by achieving low transmission power consumption while maintaining the target data rate and increasing wireless communication system capacity (Wen, ¶6-8).
Regarding Claim 14, Shen in view of Barnes discloses the receive node of claim 12.
However, Shen in view of Barnes does not disclose wherein the configured power level for the first transmit node is based at least in part on an other configured power level of the second transmit node.
Wen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the configured power level for the first transmit node is based at least in part on an other configured power level of the second transmit node (¶39-42 & Fig. 2, Wen discloses that the SNR information, ρL-1, is a power level from a transmit node L is based at least in part on the SNR information, ρL, of a prior communication from a transmit node L+1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Barnes by requiring the configured power level of the communication from the transmit node is based at least in part on a power level of an other communication from an other transmit node as taught by Wen because multiple-hop MIMO amplify-and-forward relaying is improved by achieving low transmission power consumption while maintaining the target data rate and increasing wireless communication system capacity (Wen, ¶6-8).
Regarding Claim 15, Shen in view of Barnes in further view of Wen discloses the receive node of claim 14.
Wen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, further teaches wherein the relay node is configured to attenuate or amplify a power level of the communication to within a threshold delta value of the other configured power level of the second transmit node (¶39-42, Wen discloses that the transmission power, at each relay node, is amplified based upon prior transmission levels of other transmitting nodes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Barnes in further view of Wen by attenuating or amplifying a power level of the communication to within a threshold difference of the power level of the other communication from the other transmit node as taught by Wen because multiple-hop MIMO amplify-and-forward relaying is improved by achieving low transmission power consumption while maintaining the target data rate and increasing wireless communication system capacity (Wen, ¶6-8).
Regarding Claim 16, Shen in view of Barnes discloses the receive node of claim 12.
However, Shen in view of Barnes does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: provide the information associated with identifying the configured power level to the first transmit node to cause an adjustment to a transmit power of the communication by the first transmit node.
Wen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
provide the information associated with identifying the configured power level to the first transmit node to cause an adjustment to a transmit power of the communication by the first transmit node (¶44 & ¶47 & Fig. 3 (320->350), Wen discloses providing the SNR information to each node to cause an adjustment to the transmit power of each node according to a respective transmission power).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Barnes by providing the information associated with identifying the configured power level to the transmit node to cause an adjustment to a transmit power of the communication by the transmit node as taught by Wen because multiple-hop MIMO amplify-and-forward relaying is improved by achieving low transmission power consumption while maintaining the target data rate and increasing wireless communication system capacity (Wen, ¶6-8).
Regarding Claim 17, Shen in view of Barnes discloses the receive node of claim 12.
However, Shen in view of Barnes does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: provide a command to cause an adjustment to a multiple-user multiple-input multiple- output (MU-MIMO) configuration by the first transmit and to cause an adjustment to a scaling factor of the relay node.
Wen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
provide a command to cause an adjustment to a multiple-user multiple-input multiple- output (MU-MIMO) configuration by the first transmit node (¶44 & ¶47-48 & Fig. 3 (320->350), Wen discloses providing the SNR information to each node to cause an adjustment to the transmit power of each node according to a respective transmission power. Here, the adjustment of the transmission power and precoding matrix is correlated to an "adjustment of a MU-MIMO configuration") and to cause an adjustment to a scaling factor of the relay node (¶44 & ¶47-48 & Fig. 3 (320->350), Wen discloses adjusting a precoding matrix based at least in part on causing each node to transmit according to a transmission power).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Barnes by providing a command to cause an adjustment to a multiple-user multiple-input multiple- output (MU-MIMO) configuration by the first transmit node and to cause an adjustment to a scaling factor based at least in part on causing the adjustment to the MU- MIMO configuration as taught by Wen because multiple-hop MIMO amplify-and-forward relaying is improved by achieving low transmission power consumption while maintaining the target data rate and increasing wireless communication system capacity (Wen, ¶6-8).
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Abedini et al. (US 20210306962 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Abedini”).
Regarding Claim 25, Shen discloses a transmit node for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (¶40, Shen discloses memory); and
one or more processors (¶33 & Fig. 9, Shen discloses a power difference determination unit and a gain determination unit), coupled to the memory (¶40, Shen discloses that hardware, such as a processor, is coupled to memory), configured to:
transmit the communication to the receive node in accordance with the configured power level and via a relay node (¶38 & Fig. 10 (S103), Shen discloses receiving, from the relay apparatus, the signal from the transmitter to the receiver in accordance with an amplification gain where the amplification gain is further based upon the reception level of the direct wave), wherein the communication is attenuated or amplified based at least in part on the configured power level (¶38 & Fig. 10 (S103), Shen discloses that relaying the signal include amplifying the signal based at least in part on the amplification gain where the amplification gain is based at least in part on the reception level of the direct wave at the receiver).
However, Shen does not disclose receive, from a relay node, information associated with identifying a configured power level of a communication at a receive node, wherein the configured power level indicates a target power at which the receive node is to receive the communication.
Abedini, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
receive, from a relay node, information (¶70 & Fig. 7 (704) & ¶81 & Fig. 8 (802), Abedini discloses receiving, from a repeater, one or more power configuration parameters) associated with identifying a configured power level of a communication at a receive node (¶54 & ¶59 & Fig. 5, Abedini discloses that the one or more power configuration parameters may include a current transmit power parameter associated with the repeater 506 (PTX,R(DL)), a current gain setting value associated with the repeater 506 (GDL), or any other information such as a first pathloss between the base station 502 and the repeater 506 (PL1) and a second pathloss between the repeater 506 and the UE 504 (PL2). Here, this information would allow the BS to determine the reception power, or power level of a communication at the UE. ¶59 & Fig. 5, Abedini also discloses that the base station may receive, from the UE via the repeater, a power level of a received communication at the UE), wherein the configured power level indicates a target power at which the receive node is to receive the communication (¶54 & ¶59 & Fig. 5, Abedini discloses that the base station can use a combination of PTX,R(DL), GDL, PL1, and PL2 to either indirectly determine, or indicate, a target/desired power level of a received communication at the UE 504 or directly determine, or indicate, a power level of a received communication at the UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen by receive, from a relay node, information associated with identifying a configured power level of a communication at a receive node where the configured power level indicates a target power at which the receive node is to receive the communication as taught by Abedini because system performance is improved by achieving desired characteristics by implementing a closed-loop power control scheme where various system nodes may exchange control messages that provide information related to power control to a controlling node (Abedini, ¶17).
Regarding Claim 26, Shen in view of Abedini discloses the transmit node of claim 25.
Abedini, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the information associated with identifying the configured power level includes an indication of a scaling factor for attenuating or amplifying the communication (¶54 & ¶59 & Fig. 5, Abedini discloses that the one or more power configuration parameters may include a current gain setting value associated with the repeater 506 (GDL) where the current gain setting indicates an amount of amplification for the adjusted communication).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Abedini by requiring that the information associated with identifying the configured power level includes an indication of a scaling factor for attenuating or amplifying the communication as taught by Abedini because system performance is improved by achieving desired characteristics by implementing a closed-loop power control scheme where various system nodes may exchange control messages that provide information related to power control to a controlling node (Abedini, ¶17).
Claims 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Abedini in further view of Wen et al. (US 20130028167 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Wen”).
Regarding Claim 27, Shen in view of Abedini discloses the transmit node of claim 25.
However, Shen in view of Abedini does not disclose wherein the configured power level of the communication at transmission is based at least in part on a power level of an other communication from an other transmit node.
Wen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, further teaches wherein the configured power level of the communication at transmission is based at least in part on a power level of an other communication from an other transmit node (¶39-42 & Fig. 2, Wen discloses that the SNR information, VL-1, is a power level from a transmit node L is based at least in part on the SNR information, VL, of a prior communication from a transmit node L+1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Abedini by requiring the configured power level of the communication at transmission is based at least in part on a power level of an other communication from an other transmit node as taught by Wen because multiple-hop MIMO amplify-and-forward relaying is improved by achieving low transmission power consumption while maintaining the target data rate and increasing wireless communication system capacity (Wen, ¶6-8).
Regarding Claim 28, Shen in view of Abedini in further view of Wen discloses the transmit node of claim 27.
Wen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, further teaches wherein the communication is attenuated or amplified to a power level within a threshold difference of the power level of the other communication from the other transmit node (¶39-42, Wen discloses that the transmission power, at each relay node, is amplified based upon prior transmission levels of other transmitting nodes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Abedini in further view of Wen by attenuating or amplifying a power level of the communication to within a threshold difference of the power level of the other communication from the other transmit node as taught by Wen because multiple-hop MIMO amplify-and-forward relaying is improved by achieving low transmission power consumption while maintaining the target data rate and increasing wireless communication system capacity (Wen, ¶6-8).
Regarding Claim 29, Shen in view of Abedini discloses the transmit node of claim 25.
However, Shen in view of Abedini does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: adjust a transmit power of the communication based at least in part on the configured power level.
Wen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: adjust a transmit power of the communication based at least in part on the configured power level (¶44 & ¶47 & Fig. 3 (320->350), Wen discloses providing the SNR information to each node to cause an adjustment to the transmit power of each node according to a respective transmission power).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Abedini by adjusting a transmit power of the communication based at least in part on the configured power level as taught by Wen because multiple-hop MIMO amplify-and-forward relaying is improved by achieving low transmission power consumption while maintaining the target data rate and increasing wireless communication system capacity (Wen, ¶6-8).
Regarding Claim 30, Shen in view of Abedini discloses the transmit node of claim 25.
However, Shen in view of Abedini does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: adjust a multiple-user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) configuration based at least in part on the configured power level, wherein a scaling factor of the relay node is adjusted based at least in part on the adjustment to the MU-MIMO configuration.
Wen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
adjust a multiple-user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) configuration based at least in part on the configured power level (¶44 & ¶47-48 & Fig. 3 (320->350), Wen discloses adjusting, in response to providing the SNR information to each node, the transmit power of each node according to a respective transmission/reception power. Here, the adjustment of the transmission power and precoding matrix is correlated to an "adjustment of a MU-MIMO configuration"), wherein a scaling factor of the relay node is adjusted based at least in part on the adjustment to the MU-MIMO configuration (¶44 & ¶47-48 & Fig. 3 (320->350), Wen discloses adjusting a precoding matrix based at least in part on causing each node to transmit according to a transmission power).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Abedini by adjusting a multiple-user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) configuration based at least in part on the configured power level where a scaling factor of the relay node is adjusted based at least in part on the adjustment to the MU-MIMO configuration as taught by Wen because multiple-hop MIMO amplify-and-forward relaying is improved by achieving low transmission power consumption while maintaining the target data rate and increasing wireless communication system capacity (Wen, ¶6-8).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474