DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Application filed on 05/08/2024. Claims 1-15 are pending and have been examined. Claims 1, 8, 10, 11, 14 and 15 are independent. This Application was published as U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0006208.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/04876 submitted on 11/03/2022. Applicant’s claims for benefit of a provisional applications 63/277,217 and 63/374,702 submitted on 11/09/2021 and 09/06/2022 respectively, are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arteaga et al. (US Pub No. 2024/0022868, hereinafter, Arteaga) in view of Lu et al., ("SpecTNT: A time-frequency transformer for music audio." arXiv preprint arXiv:2110.09127 (2021), hereinafter, Lu) .
Regarding Claim 1,
Arteaga discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a control system, first audio data of a first audio data format including one or more first audio signals and associated first spatial data, wherein the first spatial data indicates intended perceived spatial positions for the one or more first audio signals (Arteaga, Fig.1, par [032], "…In step 101, a first input multichannel audio signal is received...the first input multichannel audio signal may comprise a 2.0, 3.1, 5.1 or 7.1 multichannel audio signal..."; Fig.1, par [032], "…the multichannel audio signal may correspond to a predefined speaker layout, such as a 2.0, 3.1, 5.1, or 7.1 speaker layout...");
determining, by the control system, at least a first feature type from the first audio data, wherein the first feature type corresponds to a frequency domain representation of the audio data (Arteaga, Fig.4, par [041], Reference Render (Spectrogram) 402-405, i.e., spectrogram is the time-frequency domain representation);
receiving, by the control system, second audio data of a second audio data format including one or more second audio signals and associated second spatial data, the second audio data format being different from the first audio data format (Arteaga, Fig.1, par [032], "…In step 101, a first input multichannel audio signal is received...the first input multichannel audio signal may comprise a 2.0, 3.1, 5.1 or 7.1 multichannel audio signal..."; par [060], "…"first", "second", "third", etc., to describe a common object, merely indicate that different instances of like objects..."), wherein the second spatial data indicates intended perceived spatial positions for the one or more second audio signals (Fig.1, par [032], "…the multichannel audio signal may correspond to a predefined speaker layout, such as a 2.0, 3.1, 5.1, or 7.1 speaker layout...").
determining, by the control system, at least the first feature type from the second audio data (Arteaga, Fig.4, par [041], Reference Render (Spectrogram) 402-405, i.e., spectrogram is the time-frequency domain representation);
training a neural network implemented by the control system to transform input audio data from one audio data format to a different audio data format, the training being based, at least in part, on the first encoded audio data and the second encoded audio data (Arteaga, Fig.3, Steps 301, 302, 303, and 307, par [0], "…In step 301, a reference intermediate audio signal is received. In step 302, the received reference intermediate audio signal is rendered into a first input multichannel audio signal…In step 303, a machine learning algorithm is used to generate an intermediate audio signal based on the first input multichannel audio signal…In step 307, the intermediate audio signal is rendered into a second output multichannel audio signal...").
Arteaga discloses the objection extraction network (Fig.4; i.e., encoder network), which extracts mono objects 415, position metadata 416 (Arteaga, Fig.4, par [015], "…The intermediate audio signal may include one or more audio objects, wherein each of the audio objects includes an audio track and position metadata. The position metadata may include a position (location) of the respective audio object, such as in the form of a coordinate vector..."), but does not explicitly disclose "applying, by the control system, a positional encoding process to the first audio data, to produce first encoded audio data, the first encoded audio data including representations of at least the first spatial data and the first feature type in first embedding vectors of an embedding dimension."
However, Lu, in analogous field of endeavor, discloses applying, by the control system, a positional encoding process to the first (second) audio data, to produce first (second) encoded audio data, the first (second) encoded audio data including representations of at least the first (second) spatial data and the first (second) feature type in first (second) embedding vectors of an embedding dimension (Lu, Figs.1-3, 3.3 positional encoding, SpecTNT architecture, "…we adopt a learnable positional embedding to encode the sequence order of frequency bins...").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the methods and apparatus for audio object and position metadata of Arteaga with the positional encoding and attention mechanism of Transformer-based music information retrieval of Lu with a reasonable expectation of success to learn the representation of audio and adopt a learnable positional embedding to encode the sequence order of frequency bins (Lu, Introduction, Method).
Regarding Claim 2,
Arteaga in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises:
Lu further discloses receiving 1st through Nth audio data of 1st through Nth input audio data formats including 1st through Nth audio signals and associated 1st through Nth spatial data, N being an integer greater than 2 (Lu, Fig.1, 3. Method, "…The input time-frequency representation is first processed with a stack of convolutional layers for local feature aggregation...");
Arteaga further discloses determining, by the control system, at least the first feature type from the 1st through Nth input audio data formats (Arteaga, Fig.4, par [041], Reference Render (Spectrogram) 402-405, i.e., spectrogram is the time-frequency domain representation);
Lu further discloses applying, by the control system, the positional encoding process to the 1st through Nth audio data, to produce 1st through Nth encoded audio data (Lu, Figs.1-3, 3.3 positional encoding, SpecTNT architecture, "…we adopt a learnable positional embedding to encode the sequence order of frequency bins..."); and
Arteaga further discloses training the neural network based, at least in part, on the 1st through Nth encoded audio data (Arteaga, Fig.3, par [038], "…FIG. 3 illustrates a flow diagram of a further example of a method for training a machine learning algorithm...").
Regarding Claim 3,
Arteaga in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the neural network is, or includes, an attention-based neural network (Lu, Abstract, "…we introduce a novel variant of the Transformer-in- Transformer (TNT) architecture. In each SpecTNT block, a spectral Transformer extracts frequency-related features..."; 3.4.3 Transformer Encoder, "…A Transformer encoder is composed of three components: multi-head self-attention (MHSA), feed-forward network (FFN), and layer normalization (LN)..." )
Regarding Claim 4,
Arteaga in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the neural network includes a multi-head attention module (Lu, 3.4.3 Transformer Encoder, "…A Transformer encoder is composed of three components: multi-head self-attention (MHSA), feed-forward network (FFN), and layer normalization (LN)..." ).
Regarding Claim 5,
Arteaga in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 1.
Arteaga further discloses wherein training the neural network involves training the neural network to transform the first audio data to a first region of a latent space and to transform the second audio data to a second region of the latent space, the second region being at least partially separate from the first region (Arteaga, Fig.3, Steps 301, 302, 303, and 307, par [0], "…In step 301, a reference intermediate audio signal is received. In step 302, the received reference intermediate audio signal is rendered into a first input multichannel audio signal…In step 303, a machine learning algorithm is used to generate an intermediate audio signal based on the first input multichannel audio signal…In step 307, the intermediate audio signal is rendered into a second output multichannel audio signal...").8.
Regarding Claim 6,
Arteaga in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 1.
Arteaga further discloses wherein the intended perceived spatial position corresponds to at least one of a channel of a channel-based audio format or positional metadata (Arteaga, Fig.4, par [034], "…The intermediate audio signal may comprise one or more audio objects, wherein each of the audio objects comprises an audio track and position metadata..."; par [041], "…The mono objects 415, the position metadata 416, and the bed channels 417 may be seen as an example representation of the claimed audio objects...").
Regarding Claim 7,
Arteaga in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 1.
Lu further discloses further comprising determining, by the control system, at least a second feature type from the first audio data and the second audio data, wherein the positional encoding process involves representing the second feature type in the embedding dimension (Lu, Figs.1-3, 3.3 positional encoding, SpecTNT architecture, "…we adopt a learnable positional embedding to encode the sequence order of frequency bins...").
Regarding Claim 8,
Arteaga discloses a neural network trained according to the method of claim 1 (Arteaga, Fig,.4, par [040], "…All items inside the dashed box 400 may be running internally a deep neural network (DNN)...").
Regarding Claim 9,
Arteaga discloses one or more non-transitory media having software stored thereon, the software including instructions for implementing the neural network of claim 8 (Arteaga, par [056], "…the present disclosure may take the form of carrier medium ( e.g., a computer program product on a computer-readable storage medium) carrying computer- readable program code embodied in the medium...").
Claim 10 is a method claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Rationale for combination is similar to that provided for Claim 1.
Claim 11 is a method claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Additionally,
Lu further discloses training a neural network implemented by the control system to identify an input audio data type of input audio data, wherein identifying the input audio data type involves identifying a content type of the input audio data (Lu, 1. Introduction, "…SpecTNT, a novel modification of TNT to better fit the music data for MIR tasks; (3) we conduct extensive experiments to demonstrate the capability of SpecTNT in various MIR tasks – vocal melody extraction, music auto-tagging, and chord recognition...")
…
Rationale for combination is similar to that provided for Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12,
Lu further discloses wherein identifying the input audio data type involves determining whether the input audio data corresponds to a podcast, movie or television program dialogue, or music (Lu, 1. Introduction, "…SpecTNT, a novel modification of TNT to better fit the music data for MIR tasks; (3) we conduct extensive experiments to demonstrate the capability of SpecTNT in various MIR tasks – vocal melody extraction, music auto-tagging, and chord recognition...").
Regarding Claim 13,
Arteaga in view of Lu discloses the method of claim 11.
Lu further discloses further comprising training the neural network to generate new content of a selected content type (Lu, 3. Method, "…the output module projects the final embedding into the desired dimension for different tasks..."; 3.5 Output Module, "…The output TE of the 3rd SpecTNT block, E3, can be used towards the final output...").
Claim 14 is an apparatus claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Rationale for combination is similar to that provided for Claim 1.
Claim 15 is a non-transitory media claim with limitations similar to the limitations of Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Additionally,
Arteaga discloses one or more non-transitory media having software stored thereon, the software including instructions for controlling one or more devices (Arteaga, par [056], "…the present disclosure may take the form of carrier medium ( e.g., a computer program product on a computer-readable storage medium) carrying computer- readable program code embodied in the medium...")
...
Rationale for combination is similar to that provided for Claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chang et al., (End-to-end multi-channel transformer for speech recognition." ICASSP 2021-2021 IEEE International Conference on Acoustics, Speech and Signal Processing (ICASSP). IEEE, 2021.) discloses the neural transformer architectures for multi-channel speech recognition systems, where the spectral and spatial information collected from different microphones are integrated using attention layers. The multi-channel transformer network mainly consists of three parts: channel-wise self-attention layers (CSA), cross-channel attention layers (CCA), and multi-channel encoder-decoder attention layers (EDA).
/JANGWOEN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2656
/BHAVESH M MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2656