DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019202433 A1 (hereinafter “ACOSTA”) in view of US 2018/0195719 A1 (hereinafter “ANGULO”).
Regarding Claims 15-27, 29-31 and 33, ACOSTA discloses:
A gas burner, comprising a gas burner body (5) designed to include a ring of gas outlet openings (29) for providing flames directed towards an interior of the gas burner body, and to include a lower secondary air outlet (see the interior end face of channel 39) located below the ring of gas outlet openings for providing secondary air along an interior side of the flames;
wherein the gas burner body comprises an upper secondary air outlet (see the interior end face of channel or through-hole 42) located above the ring of gas outlet openings for providing secondary air along an exterior side of the flames, the exterior side of the flames being a side that is facing the ring of gas outlet openings;
further comprising a plurality of said lower secondary air outlet (see 39) and/or a plurality of said upper secondary air outlet (see 42);
wherein the plurality of lower secondary air outlets (see 39) and/or the plurality of upper secondary air outlets (see 42) are arranged evenly along a circumference of the gas burner body (see Figs. 6-9);
wherein at least one of the lower secondary air outlet (see 39) and the upper secondary air outlet (see 42) is formed as a through-hole in the gas burner body (5), with the through-hole being fluidly connected with an exterior of the gas burner (see Figs. 6-9);
wherein the through-hole is fluidly connected with a region that is radially around the gas burner body (see Figs. 6-9);
wherein a member selected from the group consisting of the ring of gas outlet openings (29), the lower secondary air outlet (see 39) and the upper secondary air outlet (see 42) faces the interior of the gas burner body (5);
wherein the gas burner body comprises a lower secondary air channel (see 39) which extends along a radial direction from an exterior of the gas burner to the lower secondary air outlet below the ring of gas outlet openings (29), the lower secondary air channel being configured to guide secondary air from the exterior of the gas burner to the lower secondary air outlet;
further comprising a shield element (see 44, 45) extending above the ring of gas outlet openings and having a ring shape with a radius that is equal to or larger than a radius of the ring of gas outlet openings (see Figs. 6-9), said upper secondary air outlet (see 42) being formed as an opening in the shield element located above the ring of gas outlet openings (29);
wherein the shield element is integrally formed with the gas burner body (“Fig. 7 shows schematically an explosive view of the pan support 5, 6 according to Fig. 6. For example, the support structure 7 may be separated into an upper ring portion 44 and a lower ring portion 45. Alternatively, the upper ring portion 44 and the lower ring portion 45 are provided fixedly connected to each other and/or as a one material piece or monobloc element.”);
wherein the gas burner body comprises a pot support (8) configured to hold a cooking pot (13, 14);
wherein the shield element comprises a further opening (see the exterior end face of channel 39) located below the ring of gas outlet openings (29), said lower secondary air outlet (see the interior end face of channel 39) being formed or connected to the further opening in the shield element (see 45);
wherein the shield element comprises a combustion opening (see at least 40) located above the upper secondary air outlet for ejecting combustion products from a combustion of gas;
A gas burner arrangement, comprising: a gas burner comprising a gas burner body (5) designed to include a ring of gas outlet openings (29) for providing flames directed towards an interior of the gas burner body, said gas burner body including a lower secondary air outlet (see 39) located below the ring of gas outlet openings for providing secondary air along an interior side of the gas burner body, and an upper secondary air outlet (see 42) located above the ring of gas outlet openings for providing secondary air along an exterior side of the flames; and a plate (4) having an upper surface on which the gas burner is mounted (see Fig. 2), wherein at least one of the lower secondary air outlet and the upper secondary air outlet is arranged above the upper surface of the plate (see the embodiments of Figs. 6-9);
constructed in a form of a gas stove (1);
A gas stove, comprising: a gas burner comprising a gas burner body (5) designed to include a ring of gas outlet openings (29) for providing flames directed towards an interior of the gas burner body, and to include a lower secondary air outlet (see 39) located below the ring of gas outlet openings (29) for providing secondary air along an interior side of the gas burner body.
ACOSTA does not disclose wherein the gas burner comprises an inclined portion on which the ring of gas outlet openings is arranged, such that the gas outlet openings are directed partly radially inwards towards the interior of the gas burner body and partly upwards along an axial direction of the gas burner body;
wherein the ring has a circular shape, and wherein the gas outlet openings are arranged along an entire circumference of the ring.
ANGULO teaches a gas stove (70) and a gas burner and/or gas burner arrangement (10) comprising: wherein the gas burner comprises an inclined portion (54) on which a ring of gas outlet openings (64) is arranged, such that the gas outlet openings are directed partly radially inwards towards the interior of the gas burner body and partly upwards along an axial direction of the gas burner body (see para. [0015]: “As further shown in FIG. 1, the inner wall 54 of the cover portion 50 includes a set of variably-sized fuel ports 64 disposed therethrough which open upwardly and inwardly into the centrally disposed aperture 62. In use, the variably-sized fuel ports 64 are configured to direct flames towards the centrally disposed aperture 62 in an upward and inward direction, as further described below.”);
wherein the ring (see at least 52) has a circular shape, and wherein the gas outlet openings (64) are arranged along an entire circumference of the ring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify ACOSTA wherein the gas burner comprises an inclined portion on which the ring of gas outlet openings is arranged, such that the gas outlet openings are directed partly radially inwards towards the interior of the gas burner body and partly upwards along an axial direction of the gas burner body; wherein the ring has a circular shape, and wherein the gas outlet openings are arranged along an entire circumference of the ring as taught and/or suggested by ANGULO, since such a modification would cause the flames arising from combustion of fuel at burner head to be directed upwardly and inwardly and concentrated against the bottom central surface area of a vessel supported above the burner head which contrasts with known burner designs in which flames are directed to spread outwardly across the bottom surface of a vessel supported above the burner, in which the flames may spread beyond the vessel, or wick up the side of the vessel. Furthermore, concentrating the flames toward the bottom center of the vessel improves heat transfer performance, shortening the time required to achieve boiling of liquids in the vessel, and otherwise reducing the time required for heat-up of the vessel.
Regarding Claim 28, ACOSTA in view of ANGULO does not disclose wherein the lower secondary air outlet has a height between 1 and 20 mm and/or the upper secondary air outlet has a height between 1 and 20 mm.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further modify ACOSTA in view of ANGULO wherein the lower secondary air outlet has a height between 1 and 20 mm and/or the upper secondary air outlet has a height between 1 and 20 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (in the present case, wherein the lower secondary air outlet has a given height and/or the upper secondary air outlet has a given height), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (i.e., a height sufficient to provide secondary air to the combustion process) involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(I). The height of said lower secondary air outlet and/or upper secondary air outlet is a result effective variable because for a given outlet width, varying the height would regulate the cross-sectional area of the secondary air channel or through-hole which by extension would affect airflow volume and velocity.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ACOSTA in view of ANGULO as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of EP 1469256 A2 (hereinafter “DALLAGLIO”).
Regarding Claim 32, ACOSTA in view of ANGULO does not disclose further comprising: a plurality of pot supports protruding upwards from an upper surface of the gas burner body and configured to support a pot, wherein the plurality of pot supports are configured to form a plurality of respective vertical combustion openings between the upper surface of the gas burner body and the pot when the pot is placed on the plurality of pot supports.
DALLAGLIO teaches a gas burner comprising: a plurality of pot supports (27) protruding upwards from an upper surface of the gas burner body (2) and configured to support a pot (29; see Fig. 2), wherein the plurality of pot supports are configured to form a plurality of respective vertical combustion openings between the upper surface of the gas burner body (2) and the pot (29) when the pot is placed on the plurality of pot supports (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify ACOSTA in view of ANGULO by further comprising: a plurality of pot supports protruding upwards from an upper surface of the gas burner body and configured to support a pot, wherein the plurality of pot supports are configured to form a plurality of respective vertical combustion openings between the upper surface of the gas burner body and the pot when the pot is placed on the plurality of pot supports as taught and/or suggested by DALLAGLIO, since such a modification would provide a venting means for the rising combustion gases, thus ensuring a free flowing convective flow path is established.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because the references are either in the same field of endeavor or are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned. Please see form PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited) attached to, or included with, this Office Action.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORGE A PEREIRO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799