Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a heavy solution” in the first limitation but also recites “a heavy solution” in the second limitation. It is unclear if the two references of “a heavy solution” are referring to the same or different solution. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed the references are the same heavy solution.
Claims 17-18 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2015/0238974 in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a purification apparatus comprising: a heavy solution reservoir (221) capable of storing a heavy solution; a container (210) for separating, with the solution supplied from the heavy solution reservoir, a sample based on a specific gravity difference; a discharge pipe (255) through which a supernatant of the sample in the container is discharged; a first pipe (258 and pipe after separator 260) through which a waste solution from the container is discharged, the first pipe being provided below the discharge pipe; a second pipe (294) through which the heavy solution from the first pipe is sent to the heavy solution reservoir; and a filter unit (264) provided in the second pipe to remove a contaminant from the heavy solution discharged through the first pipe (Fig. 2 and [0023]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches a pump (269) as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches a waste solution reservoir (267 268) as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches a waste solution reservoir (267 268) as claimed and a separator (260) located between the container and the first pipe when the first pipe is the portion after separator leading to the branching off the second pipe (Fig. 2). It is noted that Wang teaches the separator is a SWECO model number XS48S88, which is a vibratory screen/mesh separator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2015/0238974 in IDS) in view of Hoek et al. (US 2016/0046503 in IDS).
Regarding claims 2, 6, and 17-18, Wang fails to teach a sensor capable of determining turbidity or completion of filtering as claimed. Hoek teaches that it is known to monitor filter in order to determine the condition of the filter and estimate lifetime of said filter. The various parameters sensed would include pressure, filtrate flow rate, and filtrate quality, such as turbidity ([0132]). It is noted that the various parameters sensed would include determining turbidity or completion of filtering as claimed. As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to include sensors as claimed in order determine the condition of the filter and estimate the lifetime of the filter.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2015/0238974 in IDS) in view of Johnson (US 2010/0307975).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches that a filter is used but fails to teach a first and second filter of varying pore sizes as claimed. Johnson teaches that for filtering a liquid, it is known to provide single or multiple filters in series wherein downstream filters have smaller pore size in order to ensure that the filtered liquid is substantially free of particles ([0030]). As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to provide multiple filters in series as such a configuration is well known and allows for successive treatment by filters with smaller pore sizes thereby ensuring removal of any particles/debris as desired in Wang.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 is allowed.
Conclusion
/PETER KEYWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776