Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the
prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention
pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
1. Claims 1-4,7,9-12, & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Torii et al (JP 2021117041 A), hereinafter Torii, in
view of Gilliland et al (JP 6502196 B2), hereinafter Gilliland.
2. Regarding Claims 1 & 9:
Torii teaches an optical sensing system and method, ([Abstract]: “To improve surveying accuracy of a building structure by a three-dimensional (3D) scanner.SOLUTION”, “implement scanning by the 3D scanner at each surveying reference point 30; synthesize point group data in all surveying reference points 30; generate 3D data by modeling processing; implement an arrangement plan of lighting equipment 24 with respect to the generated 3D data; set an attachment reference point, and obtain a three-dimensional coordinate of each attachment reference point; and register the three-dimensional coordinate in an electro-optical distance measuring instrument”). Torii teaches a plurality of scanner devices that are installed at mutually different sites, ([0038]: The equipment base 16 has 3D scanners 28 arranged at a plurality of locations (in this embodiment, six survey reference points 30). Each 3D scanner 28 has a measurement range (see the dotted rectangular frame A shown in FIGS. 2 and 4 (A))). Torii teaches a signal processing device ([0052]: FIG. 5 is a functional block diagram of the survey control device 50 that executes control for executing survey using the point cloud data obtained from the scan process by the 3D scanner 28 according to the present embodiment.). Torii teaches the plurality of scanner devices emit laser beams toward a subject, and receive reflected light reflected by the subject, ([0071]: In the process of FIG. 6, six 3D scanners 28 scan at the same time (allowing a certain time difference) (step 104), and sequentially capture the point cloud data (step 106)). Torii further teaches, ([0076]: In step 120, the acquired three-dimensional coordinates are registered in the laser rangefinder, and this routine ends).
Torii does not teach, the signal processing device being connected to the plurality of scanner devices by use of a plurality of optical fiber cables, and the signal processing device outputs, to the plurality of scanner devices via the plurality of optical fiber cables, a first optical signal being relevant to the laser beam to be emitted by each of the plurality of scanner devices, and acquires, from the plurality of scanner devices via the plurality of optical fiber cables, a second optical signal being relevant to the reflected light received by each of the plurality of scanner devices.
However, Gilliland teaches, ([0018]: FIG. 5 is a block diagram showing the details of the interconnection between LADAR system controller 72 and the cooperation system of host vehicle 2. An LADAR system controller 72 is an intermediate function that monitors the status of the various LADAR sensors installed in the host vehicle and captures all of the 3D data captured by these host LADAR sensors and provides control input to these LADAR sensors It is. The LADAR system controller 72 may be incorporated into the vehicle CPU as a single software or hardware in some vehicle designs. LADAR system controller 72 sends a command to the short distance LADAR sensors SRU1 (52), SRU2 (54), SRU3 (56), SRU4 (58) and long distance LADAR sensors LRU1 (46), LRU2 (48) sensor interface Including 66. Fiber optic cables and wire harness 64 provide the physical medium for transferring the commands from sensor interface 66 to the various LADAR sensors. The 3D data and status signals are returned from the various LADAR sensors to the sensor interface 66 via fiber optic cables and wire harnesses 64. Similarly, command signals are sent to many (n) 2D cameras 62, and status and image data are returned from the 2D cameras to the LADAR system controller 72 via the wire harness 64. Each of the long distance sensor units 46, 48 logically including a transmitter and a receiver, via a set of bi-directional connections 50, the transmitter and receiver of the physical medium of the fiber optic cable and wire harness 64 and the sensor interface 66 Connect with the Each short distance sensor unit 52-58, which logically comprises a transmitter and a receiver, receives the physical medium of the fiber optic cable and wire harness 64 and the transmitter and sensor interface 66 via a pair of bidirectional connections 60. Connect to the Sensor interface 66 receives digital logic levels from scene processing unit 68 and control processing unit 74 and transmits them on fiber optic cables and wire harness 64 to the various LADAR sensors located on host vehicle 2 Adjust the signal of The sensor interface 66 amplifies the outbound signals from one or more of the LADAR sensors or one or more control processors 74 and scene processor 68 of the 2D camera installed in the vehicle 2, level adjustment, digital to analog conversion, electricity- Optical signal conversion may be performed. Conversely, for inbound signals, the sensor interface 66 amplifies 3D or 2D data and status signals sent from any one of the various LADAR sensors or 2D cameras installed on the vehicle 2, level shifting, analog -Digital conversion, optical-electrical conversion may be performed, and then these received and / or converted signals may be supplied as digital signals to the control processor 74 and the scene processor 68. A sensor interface 66 including D / A and A / D signal converters may be completely or partially present on the readout integrated circuit (118 in FIG. 8). The scene processing device 68 composites the 3D frames received from each of the enabled LADAR sensors into a composite 3D map of the entire space in front of and around the vehicle 2. The scene processing device 68 may also merge the 3D map with 2D image data received from multiple (n) 2D still or movie cameras 62 to provide improved resolution, color, contrast. The addition of a conventional 2D static or video camera 62 provides the system with improved object identification capabilities. A complete 3D map of the area surrounding the vehicle 2 is best realized when the auxiliary and short distance sensors 52-58 are installed. In the preferred embodiment, six LADAR sensors, including two long distance sensors 46, 48 and four short distance sensors 52-58, provide a complete 360 ° field of view. A 3D map of the entire space surrounding and in front of the vehicle 2 may be synthesized by the scene processing device 68. Some vehicle installations also include retrograde long distance LADAR sensors (not shown) to provide an additional margin of safety. The superimposed fields of view of the long distance sensors may allow the scene processing device 68 to eliminate some shadows in the far field pattern, or the scene processing device 68 may reliably identify objects or obstacles in the path of the vehicle 2 It may be possible to obtain additional shape data that may allow for The superimposed field of view between the short distance sensor and the long distance sensor not only reduces shadows but also additional shape data for any feature or object within the combined field of view thanks to the wider angle swept by the short distance sensors 52-58. It is supplied to the scene processing device 68. The control processor 74 receives from the LADAR sensor status data indicating laser temperature, transmit laser pulse power, pulse waveform, receiver temperature, background light level, etc., and adjusts global input parameters to various LADAR sensors to be controlled. Determine about Global settings such as detector bias, trigger sensitivity, trigger mode or SULAR (Staring Underwater Laser Radar) mode, filter bandwidth etc. can be sent from the control processor 74 to a given LADAR sensor, A given LADAR sensor may override the local settings originally set or adjusted by the local control processor present in the particular LADAR sensor).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Torii with Gilliland to include the signal processing device being connected to the plurality of scanner devices by use of a plurality of optical fiber cables, and the signal processing device outputs, to the plurality of scanner devices via the plurality of optical fiber cables, a first optical signal being relevant to the laser beam to be emitted by each of the plurality of scanner devices, and acquires, from the plurality of scanner devices via the plurality of optical fiber cables, a second optical signal being relevant to the reflected light received by each of the plurality of scanner devices, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Torii with Gilliland, since such configurations are immune to electromagnetic interference, allow lightweight and compact scanners. In addition, fiber optics are non-conductive, resistant to severe vibrations and temperature fluctuations, and eliminate the risk of short circuits, improving safety and durability.
3. Regarding Claims 2 & 10:
Torii teaches the plurality of scanner devices are disposed around the subject, ([0039]: It is preferable that the survey reference points 30 are arranged at appropriate intervals around the measurement range according to the number of the survey reference points 30. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, when there are six survey reference points 30, it is preferable that the survey reference points 30 are spaced about 60 ° from each other with the measurement range A as the center (evenly arranged around the measurement range A). It is not necessary to arrange the angles evenly. Further, the distance from the measurement range A does not have to be the same). See FIG. 2
4. Regarding Claims 3 & 11:
Torii teaches the plurality of scanner devices emit the laser beams toward the same subject from mutually different directions.
See Claims 2 & 10
5. Regarding Claims 4 & 12:
Torii teaches at least one scanner device among the plurality of scanner devices is movable independently of another scanner device among the plurality of scanner devices, ([0067]: In step 104, each survey reference point 30 scans the 3D scanner 28. The scanning by the 3D scanner 28 at each survey reference point 30 does not have to be performed at the same time, and one or a plurality of 3D scanners 28 may be moved between the survey reference points 30 and shared).
6. Regarding Claims 7 & 15:
Torii teaches the subject is a raw materials heap in a raw material yard, and the plurality of scanner devices are installed in the raw material yard, ([0079]: Further, in the present embodiment, the building 10 (dome-shaped stadium), which is one of the large spatial structures, has been described as an example for scanning the survey range with the 3D scanner 28 at a plurality of survey reference points. The effect of the present invention does not depend on the size of the building 10. Scanning with the 3D scanner 28 from one location can be applied to all buildings where the required number of point cloud data cannot be obtained. For example, commercial facilities such as office buildings and gymnasiums, public facilities such as school buildings and gymnasiums, and transportation structures such as bridges (girder bridges, arch bridges, suspension bridges, etc.) can be mentioned). Torii further teaches, ([Figs. 2-4]: Show a construction site).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Torii to include monitoring of a material yard or stock yard since the conditions and operating environment are similar. both are active, open-air industrial environments with heavy machinery, safety hazards, raw materials, and strict safety requirements. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Torii since, using such a system to monitor materials provides inventory tracking, logistics management, automated operations, and safety management, with immunity to environmental interference and long distance communication capability. In addition, such a system can provide these capabilities regardless of lighting or weather conditions.
7. Claims 5-6, & 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Torii et al (JP 2021117041 A), hereinafter Torii, in
view of Gilliland et al (JP 6502196 B2), hereinafter Gilliland, and further in view of McNicholas et al (US 20220180733 A1), hereinafter McNicholas.
8. Regarding Claims 5 & 13:
Torii as modified by Gilliland does not teach an optical repeater provided in at least one optical fiber cable among the plurality of optical fiber cables.
However, McNicholas teaches a monitoring system including Lidar and fiber optic communication, ([0022]: light modulated by a radio frequency signal and transmitter over fiber optic link and/or cable, Intermediate frequency (IF-over fiber) (lower radio freq.), Fiber to the antenna (FTTA) an optical to electrical (O and/or E) converter, Satellite Communications on L-Band frequency range, Satellite Communications on Ka band, fiber optic amplifier(s)). McNicholas further teaches, ([0024]: “intelligent word recognition, object recognition, photodiode and/or photodiode array, fiber optic imaging and/or High speed camera, high speed imagery, Hybrids, I.R., artificial vision, LIDAR”, “Optical wireless communications, and communicate these inputs by wire, bus duct, wirelessly, via radio and/or light and/or fiber optic and/or coax and/or cable and/or coax R.F. cable and/or RFoF and/or any combination there-of to and/or from processor and/or s and/or system network”). McNicholas continues to teach, ([0296]: These Figures display the many different methods of land based routes for data to be transferred between NOC's, and interoperability of NOC's and/or Data centers. Shown are wired, wirelessly by radio and/or light. Cellular, Fiber Optic cable, Optical Wireless Communication, repeaters, all combine to provide robust redundant data communications from NOC to NOC, from NOC to Satellite, from NOC to Spacecraft). See figures 9 & 10.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Torii and Gilliland with McNicholas to include an optical repeater provided in at least one optical fiber cable among the plurality of optical fiber cables, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Torii and Gilliland with McNicholas, since optical repeaters extend optical signal range and coverage, preserve signal integrity, ensure network traffic does not disrupt real-time analytics or alerts, and provide system scalability.
9. Regarding Claims 6 & 14:
Torii as modified by Gilliland does not teach the signal processing device includes an optical switch for switching an output destination of the first optical signal and an acquisition source of the second optical signal.
However, McNicholas teaches, ([0282]: Optical switches capable of delivery of qubits, quantum optical router is another name for optical switch. Optical modulators and optical routers can be made from each other Optical switches may be operated by electro-optic effects, magneto-optic effects or other methods may also be used to perform logic operations, plus semiconductor optical amplifiers, which are opto-electronic devices that may be used in place of optical switches and be integrated with microelectronic circuits. They are used for rerouting of optical switch transmission path, such as during a system fault, rerouting around the fault).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Torii and Gilliland with McNicholas to include the signal processing device includes an optical switch for switching an output destination of the first optical signal and an acquisition source of the second optical signal, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Torii and Gilliland with McNicholas, since optical switches provide solid-state reliability and durability, dynamic routing of signals, high speed and precision, and high signal integrity.
10. Claims 8 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Torii et al (JP 2021117041 A), hereinafter Torii, in
view of Gilliland et al (JP 6502196 B2), hereinafter Gilliland, and further in view of Shuff et al (US 20210269174 A1), hereinafter Shuff.
11. Regarding Claims 8 & 16:
Torii as modified by Gilliland does not teach, the subject is an aircraft parked at an airport, and the plurality of scanner devices are installed at the airport.
However, Shuff teaches, ([0036]: In a ninth alternate embodiment, the FAA is advised prior to drone flight through a third-party application (app) to a Low Altitude Authorization and Notification Capability (LAANC) for flight and airspace approval, specifically for flights in Class B, C, D and some Class E airspace around airports). Shuff further teaches, ([0075]: a traffic alert from a Traffic Flow Sensor System (TFSS) of a nearby traffic accident. The TFSS is a separate device and consists of an EO/IR camera, stereo camera pair, lidar and/or radar sensors and any combination thereof to detect and monitor traffic flow and abnormal traffic flow to include traffic incidence. Upon the TFSS issuing a traffic alert of an incident or accident, CM 270 initiates a signal to a central monitoring center, and the FAA for flight approval. Once approved, CM 270 signals DDP 100 to open CT and when open to start the drone propellers 310 and commence autonomous drone flight—to takeoff, fly to and hover over the accident, take photographs and videos of the scene and assist in accident scene forensics and to assist police in clearing the scene more rapidly, so as to resume normal traffic flow. Central monitoring center personnel have the ability to override the autonomous drone control at anytime to aid in the resolution and clearing of traffic incidence. Designated emergency personnel with first-hand knowledge of the incident would also have the ability to override the autonomous drone control at anytime to aid in the resolution and clearing of traffic incidence through their remote control devices or cell phone apps at the incident scene. Docking processor module 375 and signal light controller also communicates directly with autonomous or semiautonomous vehicles for a signal light status or change. The communication is selected from the group consisting of a Bluetooth communication, LoRa Communication, an internet communication, a cell phone network communication (4G/5G), an independent intranet network communication, an RF communication, a wired communication, or an optic fiber communication).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Torii and Gilliland with Shuff to include the subject is an aircraft parked at an airport, and the plurality of scanner devices are installed at the airport, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Torii and Gilliland with Shuff, since such a system located at an airport with an airplane as the subject can provide digital twin integration, asset and collision protection, and security management, with low latency in low light or sever weather conditions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
CN 102305785 A: Discloses a system for real time monitoring of slag, including Lidar and fiber optic communication.
/J.W.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645