DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 does not refer to a preceding claim, it depends from claim 22. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-12, 18-19, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tokunaga (US 20140349516 A1).
As to claim 11, Tokunaga discloses: A high-voltage (high enough voltage to necessitate safety during connection/disconnection of power supply cables 5; see par. 0044; high enough voltage for motor 1 of wheel loader 100 in Fig. 11-12; see par. 0062, 0068) component 1, 10 (Fig. 1 to 5), comprising:
a housing 11 including a cover element 12 which closes an opening of the housing, the cover element being detachably connected to the housing via a plurality of connecting elements 13 (par. 0040);
a high-voltage connection 11T, 5T (motor terminals, cable terminals; par. 0049; Fig. 5; high enough voltage to necessitate safety during connection/disconnection of power supply cables 5, high enough voltage to be suitable for wheel loader 100; Fig. 11-12; par. 0068) arranged in the housing and being accessible from the outside exclusively via the opening; and
a cable (between 3 and 14B; see Fig. 1 and 3-5), arranged outside the housing, extends from a non-detachable first connection 3 (sensor; par. 0036; Fig. 1) arranged on the housing to a second connection 14A that is selectively detachable and arranged on the housing, the cable, in a connected state of the second connection, (a) is arranged at least partially over the cover element such that at least one connecting element is covered by the cable (by cable and connector 14B, see Fig. 2) and is thus not accessible from the outside (par. 0044), and (b) is electrically conductively connected to the high-voltage component (through sensor 3, controller 4, and power cables 5) at the second connection;
wherein, in a disconnected state of the second connection, the high-voltage component is configured to discharge (when disconnected, no-power-feed state in the power supply cables 5, therefore power is discharged from the connections; see par. 0043-0044).
As to claim 12, Tokunaga discloses: The high-voltage component according to claim 22, wherein the cover element is configured to be removable after release of the at least one connecting element (see Fig. 5, par. 0040).
As to claim 18, Tokunaga discloses: wherein the cable is a low-voltage connection and the second connection is a low-voltage connection (signals are considered low voltage with respect to power cables; signals exchanged between sensor 3, interlock 14, and controller 4; see par. 0036).
As to claim 19, Tokunaga discloses: wherein the at least one connecting element is a screw (bolts 13 are screwed in; par. 0040).
As to claim 21, Tokunaga discloses: wherein, in the disconnected state of the second connection, the cable is configured to pivot about the non-detachable first connection such that the at least one connecting element is accessible from the outside (see Fig. 4).
As to claim 22, Tokunaga discloses: wherein the at least one connecting element is configured to selectively secure the cover element to the housing (par. 0040).
As to claim 23, Tokunaga discloses: further comprising at least one further connecting element, the at least one further connecting element configured to selectively secure the cover element to the housing, wherein, in the connected state of the second connection, the at least one further connecting element is accessible from the outside (see Fig. 2-1).
As to claim 24, Tokunaga discloses: wherein the cover element is configured to be removable after release of the at least one connecting element and release of the at least one further connecting element (after release of all connecting elements 13; par. 0040-0041).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokunaga (US 20140349516 A1) alone as applied to claim 11 above.
As to claim 13, Tokunaga does not explicitly disclose (in the current embodiment):
wherein at least two connecting elements are covered by the cable.
However, Tokunaga discloses in another embodiment (Fig. 7):
wherein at least two connecting elements 13 are covered by the cable (between 3 and both interlocks 14);
in order to provide improved safety (par. 0053-0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tokunaga as suggested by Tokunaga, e.g., providing:
wherein at least two connecting elements are covered by the cable;
in order to provide improved safety.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 14, 16, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokunaga (US 20140349516 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Krieg (US 20140014407 A1).
As to claim 14, Tokunaga does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the cable is detachably connected to the housing between the first connection and the second connection via at least one first fastening.
However, Krieg discloses:
wherein the cable is detachably connected (by screws; par. 0001) to the housing between the first connection and the second connection (e.g., between ends/terminations of the cable) via at least one first fastening (screws; par. 0001);
in order to secure the cable to the housing in a fixed position (par. 0001).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tokunaga as suggested by Krieg, e.g., providing:
wherein the cable is detachably connected to the housing between the first connection and the second connection via at least one first fastening;
in order to secure the cable to the housing in a fixed position.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 16, Tokunaga in view of Krieg disclose:
wherein the cable is arranged at least partially in a cable guide (par. 0001; Krieg), the cable being fastened via the cable guide at least to the at least one first fastening (par. 0001; Krieg).
As to claim 25, Tokunaga does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the cable is arranged at least partially in a cable guide, the cable guide being detachably connected to the housing.
However, Krieg discloses:
wherein the cable is arranged at least partially in a cable guide (par. 0001), the cable guide being detachably connected to the housing (via screws; par. 0001);
in order to secure the cable to the housing in a fixed position (par. 0001).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tokunaga as suggested by Krieg, e.g., providing:
wherein the cable is arranged at least partially in a cable guide, the cable guide being detachably connected to the housing;
in order to secure the cable to the housing in a fixed position.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokunaga (US 20140349516 A1) in view of Krieg (US 20140014407 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Baba (JP 2013-82273 A). Foreign reference and translation submitted with IDS.
As to claim 16, Tokunaga in view of Krieg discloses:
wherein the at least one connecting element is configured to be accessible from the outside only in the disconnected state of the second connection (see par. 0044; Tokunaga).
Tokunaga in view of Krieg does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one connecting element is configured to be accessible from the outside only in the disconnected state of the second connection and after detachment of the at least one first fastening.
However, Baba discloses:
a cable guide fastening 46;
in order to restrict the degree of freedom and limit the movement range of the signal cable (par. 0028) and prevent connection of the interlock when the cover is removed from the housing and prevent energization during work (par. 0032-0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tokunaga and Krieg as suggested by Baba, e.g., providing:
wherein the at least one connecting element is configured to be accessible from the outside only in the disconnected state of the second connection and after detachment of the at least one first fastening;
in order to restrict the degree of freedom and limit the movement range of the signal cable, prevent connection of the interlock when the cover is removed or being removed from the housing, and prevent energization during maintenance work.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokunaga (US 20140349516 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Furuta (US 20050032404 A1).
As to claim 17, Tokunaga does not explicitly disclose: wherein the second connection is a plug connection.
However, Furuta discloses a plug connection 200, 300 (Fig. 8) for an interlock signal line 202, 302;
in order to connect/disconnect the interlock signal line (par. 0072-0074).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tokunaga as suggested by Furuta, e.g., providing:
wherein the second connection is a plug connection;
in order to connect/disconnect the interlock signal line.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokunaga (US 20140349516 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Klein (US 20200039658 A1).
As to claim 20, Tokunaga discloses: wherein the high-voltage component 1 is a motor and the high-voltage connection comprises an electrically conductive connection between an inverter (inverter of controller 4; par. 0037) and a stator (stationary part of the motor; through motor terminals 11T; par. 0049).
Tokunaga does not disclose:
wherein the high-voltage component is a traction drive and the high-voltage connection comprises an electrically conductive connection between an inverter and a stator of the traction drive.
However, Klein discloses:
high voltage connections between an inverter/controller and electric motors that provide traction drive (par. 0029);
in order to provide a traction drive vehicle (par. 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tokunaga as suggested by Klein, e.g., providing:
wherein the high-voltage component is a traction drive and the high-voltage connection comprises an electrically conductive connection between an inverter and a stator of the traction drive;
in order to provide a traction drive vehicle.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ikeno (US 20130241282 A1), Sumikawa (US 20180257510 A1), and Rathmacher (US 9085240 B2) disclose power connection arrangements.
/JACOB R CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835