Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 72 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 72 is rejected for the recitation of “disposed at at least” in line 6. It is believed Applicant intended to recite “disposed at least on”. Applicant is advised to clarify the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 72 and 87-90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seto et al. (JP 2010/088730).
Regarding claims 72 and 87, Seto et al. teaches a method of making a flooring product and flooring product comprising a griege product comprising primary backing (base fabric 3 or a combination of base fabric 3 with backing 4) having a face side and a back side, a plurality of fibers tufted into the primary backing and extending from the face to form a face fiber of the griege product having a predetermined length, a secondary backing (backing layer 4 or 5 or the combination of 4 and 5) secured to the back side of the primary backing and a layer of polyester based material disposed on at least a portion of the face fiber [0009, 0015, 0027-0028, 0037 and Fig. 1]. Seto et al. are silent regarding the claimed property of wet delamination. However, given Seto et al. teach such a similar flooring product with such similar components and composition including the claimed layers and the layer of polyester base material, the claimed wet delamination property is inherent to the flooring product of Seto et al. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 88, Seto et al. teaches the polyester based material comprises an aqueous dispersion and further comprises a water repellant material (paraffin and wax).
Regarding claims 89-90, Seto et al. are silent regarding the claimed properties. However, given Seto et al. teach such a similar flooring product with such similar components and composition including the claimed layers and the layer of polyester based material, the claimed properties are inherent to the flooring product of Seto et al. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 73-79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seto et al. (JP 2010/088730).
Regarding claim 73-75, Seto et al. teaches laminating the backing layer 5 to the backing layer (considered to be combination of layers 3 and 4). Seto et al. teaches polyester binder material and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the same resin polyester binder material (liquid glue) as a precoat material disposed on the backside of the primary backing (underside of layer 4) to laminate the layers 3 and 4 to layer 5 and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 76-77, Seto et al. teaches the layer of polyester based material can be applied to solely the yarns or the yarns and the base fabric and therefore is taught as both a discontinuous film and a continuous film.
Regarding claims 78-79, the layer of polyester based material at least partially and substantially encapsulates at least a portion of the plurality of fibers as the yarns are taught as being immersed in the resin.
Claims 80-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seto et al. (JP 2010/088730) in view of Torlakoglu et al. (“Alkyd–amino resins based on waste PET for coating applications”, Waste Management, Vol. 29, Iss. 1, Jan. 2009, pp. 350-354).
Regarding claims 80-85, Seto et al. is silent regarding the claimed specifics of the polyester. However, Torlakoglu et al. teaches polyester based material that is polyethylene terephthalate ester-based and comprises acrylic modified alkyd resin in order to use recycled materials to make a binder. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the polyester based material that is polyethylene terephthalate ester-based and comprises acrylic modified alkyd resin of Torlakoglu et al in Seto et al. in order to use recycled materials to make a binder and arrive at the claimed invention. Given the previous combination teaches such a similar flooring product with such similar components and composition including the claimed layers, the layer of polyester base material and specifics of the polyester based material, the claimed properties are inherent to the flooring product of the previous combination. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 86, Seto et al. and Torlakoglu et al. are silent regarding the claimed amount of the polyester-based material. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed amount (which is notably a wide range) in order to affect the final yarn mechanical properties.
Prior Art Not Used but Relevant
CN 102712799 teaches polyester binder resin composition for carpets.
Conclusion
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789