DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action details a first action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claims 1-14, 18, 26, 37-42, and 44-46 are pending in this application.
Priority
This application is a 35 USC 371 National Stage filing of international application No. PCT/EP2022/081550 filed on 10 Nov. 2022 and claims benefit under 35 USC 119(a)-(d) to foreign application No. EP 21207637.6 filed on 10 Nov. 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 9 May 2024 and 7 Aug. 2024 have been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election of Group I, claims 1-13, 37-39, and 44-46 in the reply filed on 24 Sep. 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 14, 18, 26, and 40-42 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II-III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 24 Sep. 2026.
Applicant’s election of species (see below) in the reply filed on 24 Sep. 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 7, 11-13, 37-39, and 45-46 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 24 Sep. 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-6, 8-9, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 5, the recitation of “preferably” is indefinite because it is not clear if the recitations that follow are required.
Claims 1-6, 8-9, and 44 are drawn to an almost unlimited number of variations due to the large number of different chemical substitutions set forth in the claims, such as, wherein Formula I, which has variables A, R1 and R2 which can contain any variety of structures due to the variability, which can encompass various different chemical classes, which all have different structural features and utilities.
In certain circumstances, however, a Markush group may be so expansive that persons skilled in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. For example, if a claim defines a chemical compound using one or more Markush groups, and that claim encompasses a massive number of distinct alternative members, the claim may be indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) if one skilled in the art cannot determine its metes and bounds due to an inability to envision all of the compounds defined by the Markush group(s). In such a circumstance, a rejection of the claim for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is appropriate.
The dependent claims 2-6, 8-9, and 44 fall therewith.
Improper Markush Rejection
Claims 1-6, 8-9, and 44 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of claimed formula (I) is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons.
Instant formula (I) requires the following substituent groups:
A is broadly a 6-membered heteroaryl, including all 6 membered heteroaryl containing for example N, S, and O at any position;
R1 is broadly a 4- to 7-membered heterocyclyl which is optionally substituted with at least one halo, or a halo C1-C4 alkoxy, or broadly -NH₂; -N(C1-C₄alkyl)₂; or -NH(C₁-C₄alkyl); wherein the C₁-C₄alkyl is optionally substituted with at least one halo or wherein at least one H which is attached to N in -NH₂ or - NH(C₁-C₄alkyl) is replaced by halo, or
R2 is broadly any 5-membered or 6-membered heteroaryl optionally substituted with 1 or 2 substituents independently selected from -halo, -OH, -CN, -N(C₁-C₄alkyl)₂, -NH(C1-C₄alkyl), -N(haloC1-C₄alkyl)₂, NH(haloC₁-C₄alkyl), haloC₁-C₄alkyl, haloC₁-C₄alkoxy, -C₁-C₄alkoxy, and -C1- C4alkyl.
While the compounds defined by the instant Markush groups share the same structural feature as defined by the core
, the compounds do not share a common use such as targeting alpha-synuclein. The instant specification provides binding assay results for about 20 compounds each of containing a pyridin-3-yl ring corresponding ring A. The specification does not teach or suggest that any 6-membered heteroatom substituted ring A including rings comprising one or more of Si, O, S or N would be suitable for targeting alpha-synuclein. The large number of heteroatom rings encompassed by ring A are not known to be functional equivalents in drug discovery. Similarly, regarding instant R2, the specification does not teach or suggest that that any 5- or 6-membered heteroatom substituted ring including rings comprising one or more of Si, O, S or N in combination with ring A would be suitable for targeting alpha-synuclein or share another common use. Merely substituting an alkyl bound F with I or At can change the physical and chemical properties of a compound making the compound unsuitable any biological use due to stability and lipophilicity changes. A 7-membered heterocyclyl having any heteroatom substitution can impose unexpected steric and/or changes that the affect target and off-target binding.
Applicants’ attention is directed to the third paragraph of MPEP 803.02 which discloses:
“Since the decisions in In re Weber, 580 F.2d 455, 198 USPQ 328 (CCPA 1978) and In re Haas, 580 F.2d 461, 198 USPQ 334 (CCPA 1978), it is improper for the Office to refuse to examine that which Applicants regard as their invention, unless the subject matter in a claim lacks unity of invention. In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 206 USPQ 300 (CCPA 1980); and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). Broadly, unity of invention exists where compounds included within a Markush group (1) share a common utility, and (2) share a substantial structural feature essential to that utility.”
In response to this rejection, Applicant should either amend the claim(s) to recite only an individual species or grouping of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature, or present a sufficient showing that the species recited in the alternative of the claims(s) in fact share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. This is a rejection on the merits and may be appealed to the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in accordance with 35 U.S.C. §134 and 37 CFR 41.31(a)(1) (emphasis provided).
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use. The dependent claims 2-6, 8-9, and 44 fall therewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molette et al. (WO 2017/153601 A1; published 14 Sep. 2017; see IDS filed on 7 Aug. 2024), in view of Devasthale et al. (WO 2010/047956 A1; published 29 Apr. 2010; see IDS filed on 9 May 2024).
Molette et al. teach bicyclic compounds for diagnosis and therapy (see title). Molette et al. teach Parkinson’s disease (PD) (see abstract). Molette et al. teach that the invention relates to compounds of formula (I)
(pg.40) and formula (II)
(pg. 58). Molette et al. teach hit enrichment through scaffold hopping (see international search report, pg. 3). Molette et al. teach core substitutions (pg. 49). Molette et al. teach that radionuclides such as 18F can be attached at any position (pg. 65). Molette et al. teach compound 90
(pg. 133; table 9, staining of Syn aggregates on PD sections,++ (good); staining of Aβ on PD sections, - (no)), compound 129
(pg. 153; table 9, staining of Syn aggregates on PD sections,++ (good); staining of Aβ on PD sections, +++ (strong)), and compound 99
(pg. 117; table 9, staining of Syn aggregates on PD sections,++ (good); staining of Aβ on PD sections, +/- (weak)).
(The last compounds reads in part on a compound of instant formula (I) wherein A=pyridyl (6-membered heteroaryl); X=N; R1=piperidinyl (6-membered heterocyclyl) substituted with F (halo)=
, R1a=F; and R2=thiazolyl (5-membered heteroaryl)=
, s=0)
Molette et al. teach a test kit for detection and diagnosis of a disorder associated with alpha-synuclein aggregates, wherein the test kit comprises a compound and optionally comprises a container for at least one of the compounds and instructions for using the least one compound and kit comprising a sealed vial containing at least one compound (pg. 191). Molette et al. teach a diagnostic composition comprising a compound and pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, adjuvant and/or excipient (pg. 18).
Molette et al. do not teach a claimed compound comprising the core of formula I
or the elected species
.
Devasthale et al. teach that the azolopyrrolone melanin concentrating hormone receptor-1 antagonists (see title). Devasthale et al. teach Parkinson’s disease (PD) ([0057], [0059]). Devasthale et al. teach prior art prior art compounds of formula A
([0008]). Devasthale et al. teach that the bicyclic core ring
will preferably include
or
([0014]). The preferred
groups include
([0019]). Devasthale et al. teach isotopically labeled compounds ([00114]). Devasthale et al. teach the example 55 compound
(pg. 131). Devasthale et al. teach pharmaceutical compositions including a compound of formula I and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable diluent or carrier ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the compositions of Molette et al. (compound 99 and pharmaceutical compositions thereof comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and test kits comprising the compounds of the invention) by substituting the bicyclic core of compound 99 with the bicyclic dihydropyrrolopyrazol-6-one core in Devasthale et al. as taught by Molette et al. and Devasthale et al. because the core substitution would have been expected to provide equivalent bicyclic core and compound advantageously capable of staining α-synuclein and detecting PD whereby advantageously expanding on the discovery of a synuclein diagnostic agent Homologs are prima facie obvious due to a general expectation of similar properties. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the compound made obvious by Molette et al. and Devasthale et al. so that the fluoro-substituted piperidinyl is fluoro-substituted pyrrolidinyl to arrive at the elected species as taught by Molette et al. and Devasthale et al. because it would have been expected to provide a functionally equivalent compound advantageously capable of targeting synuclein and detecting PD.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,552,800 B2, in view of Devasthale et al. (WO 2010/047956 A1; published 29 Apr. 2010; see IDS filed on 9 May 2024).
Claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,552,800 B2 claim the compound
and a diagnostic composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and methods of imaging alpha synuclein aggregates and a disease such as PD and a test kit for the detection and/or diagnosis of a disease, disorder or abnormality associated with alpha-synuclein wherein the test kit comprising at least one compound of formula (I).
Claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,552,800 B2 do not claim the elected species
having the dihydropyrrolopyrazol-6-one core. Devasthale et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the compound of claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,552,800 B2 by substituting the dihydropyrrolopyrazol-4-one core with the bicyclic dihydropyrrolopyrazol-6-one core to arrive at the elected species as taught by Devasthale et al. because that core would have been expected to provide an equivalent compound and test kit advantageously enabling a compound suitable for targeting synuclein and diagnosis of PD.
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 44 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7, 9-10, 12-13, 17, 25, 36, 38-39, 41, and 43-44 of copending Application No. 18/708,694, in view of Molette et al. (WO 2017/153601 A1; published 14 Sep. 2017; see IDS filed on 7 Aug. 2024) and Devasthale et al. (WO 2010/047956 A1; published 29 Apr. 2010; see IDS filed on 9 May 2024). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-10, 12-13, 17, 25, 36, 38-39, 41, and 43-44 of copending Application No. 18/708,694 claim the compounds
and
and a diagnostic composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and a method of imaging synuclein and detecting PD and a test kit for diagnosing and detecting a disease.
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-10, 12-13, 17, 25, 36, 38-39, 41, and 43-44 of copending Application No. 18/708,694 do not claim the elected species
having the dihydropyrrolopyrazol-6-one core and a pyridinyl ring.
Molette et al. teach as discussed above.
Devasthale et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the above compounds of claims 1-4, 7, 9-10, 12-13, 17, 25, 36, 38-39, 41, and 43-44 of copending Application No. 18/708,694 by substituting the dihydropyrrolopyrazol-4-one core with the bicyclic dihydropyrrolopyrazol-6-one core and by substituting the pyridazinyl and pyrazinyl rings with a pyridinyl ring to arrive at the elected species as taught by Molette et al. and Devasthale et al. because that core and pyridinyl ring would have been expected to provide an equivalent compound advantageously enabling a compound and test kit suitable for targeting synuclein and diagnosis of PD.
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 44 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-16, 18, 29, 38-39, and 41-44 of copending Application No. 18/709,187, in view of Devasthale et al. (WO 2010/047956 A1; published 29 Apr. 2010; see IDS filed on 9 May 2024). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-16, 18, 29, 38-39, and 41-44 of copending Application No. 18/709,187 claim the compounds
and a diagnostic composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and a diagnostic method for detecting PD and a test kit for detecting and/or diagnosing a disease associated with synuclein wherein the kit comprises a compound of claim 1.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-16, 18, 29, 38-39, and 41-44 of copending Application No. 18/709,187 do not claim the elected species
having the dihydropyrrolopyrazol-6-one core.
Devasthale et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the compound of claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-16, 18, 29, 38-39, and 41-44 of copending Application No. 18/709,187 by substituting the bicyclic core with the bicyclic dihydropyrrolopyrazol-6-one core to arrive at the elected species as taught by Devasthale et al. because that core would have been expected to provide an equivalent compound and test kit advantageously enabling a compound suitable for targeting synuclein and diagnosis of PD.
Conclusion
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618