DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-11 and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 December 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7 April 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim ends in a comma and not a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-22 and 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0152055 by Slepoy et al. (Slepoy hereinafter) in view of US 4,234,856 by Jung et al. (Jung hereinafter).
Regarding claim 12, Slepoy discloses an optical wireless power transmission system [see at least Figure 16] for transmitting a beam of optical power [see at least Figure 16, (15)] into its surroundings, the system comprising: a transmitter [see at least Figure 16, (21)] comprising an orientable mirror [see at least Figure 16, (14)] electronically controlled by an input electronic signal [see at least paragraphs 0261 and 0287], the transmitter adapted for transmitting the beam of optical power to a receiver [see at least Figure 16, (22)] comprising a photovoltaic cell [see at least Figure 16, (1)] adapted to convert the optical power of the beam to electrical power [see at least paragraphs 0075, 0113, 0210 and 0280-0281], at least the photovoltaic cell constituting a target [see at least paragraph 0100]; wherein the electronically controlled mirror is configured to have an aiming accuracy at least such that the angular deviation of a beam from a direction intended for its propagation by the electronically controlled mirror, is such that, when the beam is aimed at the target and has the maximum power which the system is adapted to transmit [see at least paragraphs 0111, 0138 and 0260], and the target is at the maximum intended range for that power [see at least paragraphs 0111, 0138 and 0260], the level of optical power transferred into the surroundings and not absorbed by the receiver does not exceed that allowed by a regulatory requirement applicable to a location where the system is authorized to operate [see at least paragraphs 0016; Figure 2].
Slepoy fails to explicitly disclose that the photovoltaic has a frame/boarder. However, Jung discloses this limitation [see at least column 2, lines 3-14].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to have a frame for the photovoltaic cell in order to offer an area for mechanical attachment. Thus, offering solid mounting for the photovoltaic cell.
Regarding claim 13, Slepoy in view of Jung teaches the optical wireless power transmission system according to claim 12.
Slepoy discloses wherein the level of optical power transferred into the surroundings and not absorbed by the receiver does not exceed the regulatory power limit allowed for a class 3B laser at the wavelength of the beam of optical power [see at least paragraphs 0016; Figure 2].
Regarding claim 14, Slepoy in view of Jung teaches the optical wireless power transmission system according to claim 12.
Slepoy discloses wherein the level of optical power not absorbed by the photovoltaic cell and its border surround comprises at least one of optical power reflected from the surface of the receiver, or parts of the optical beam spilling over the edges of the receiver [see at least paragraph 0273; Figure 16, (16)].
Regarding claim 15, Slepoy in view of Jung teaches the optical wireless power transmission system according to claim 12.
Slepoy discloses wherein the level of optical power not absorbed by the photovoltaic cell and its border surround comprises parts of the optical beam spilling over the edges of the receiver [see at least Figure 16, (15); it is inherent that the beam that does not hit the photovoltaic cell is not absorbed].
Regarding claim 16, Slepoy in view of Jung teaches the optical wireless power transmission system according to claim 12.
Slepoy discloses wherein the angular deviation of a beam reflected from the mirror, from a direction intended by the electronic control of the electronically controlled mirror, arises from jitter in the input electronic signal [see at least paragraph 0295; it is inherent that jitter in the signal would produce small angular deviations].
Regarding claim 17, Slepoy in view of Jung teaches the optical wireless power transmission system according to claim 12.
Slepoy discloses wherein the angular deviation of a beam reflected from the mirror, from a direction intended by the electronic control of the electronically controlled mirror, arises from at least one of electronic feedback loop jitter, driver noise level, conversion resolution of digital circuits generating the input electronic signal, and circuit noise [see at least paragraph 0295; it is inherent that jitter/noise would produce small angular deviations].
Regarding claim 18, Slepoy in view of Jung teaches the optical wireless power transmission system according to claim 12.
Slepoy discloses wherein the angular deviation of a beam reflected from the mirror, from a direction intended by the electronic control of the electronically controlled mirror, arises from step increments of a mechanical driver generating the orientation of the mirror [see at least paragraph 0287; it is inherent that movement of the mirror would produce small angular deviations while adjusting].
Regarding claim 19, Slepoy in view of Jung teaches the optical wireless power transmission system according to claim 12, wherein the angular deviation of a beam reflected from the mirror, from a direction intended by the electronic control of the electronically controlled mirror, arises from mechanical vibration of the mirror [see at least paragraph 0287; it is inherent that movement of the mirror would produce small angular deviations while adjusting].
Regarding claim 20, Slepoy in view of Jung teaches the optical wireless power transmission system according to claim 12.
Slepoy discloses wherein at least one element of the system is marked with at least one indication of a regulatory requirement applicable to a location where the system is authorized to operate [see at least Figure 3].
Regarding claim 21, Slepoy in view of Jung teaches the optical wireless power transmission system according to claim 20.
Slepoy in view of Jung fails to teach wherein the element may be a component part of the system or an operational manual of the system. However, this is merely a location of the labeling of regulatory requirement.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to label components or an operational manual of the system in order to notify operators. Thus, reducing the risk of misuse of the system.
Regarding claim 22, Slepoy in view of Jung teaches the optical wireless power transmission system according to claim 12.
Slepoy discloses wherein the regulatory requirement is that the total level of optical power transferred into the environment and not absorbed by the target, Is less than the power limits of a class 3B laser at the wavelength of the beam of optical power [see at least paragraphs 0016; Figure 2].
Regarding claim 24, Slepoy discloses a method for safe transmission of a beam of optical power from a transmitter [see at least Figure 16, (21)] towards a receiver [see at least Figure 16, (22)] in a space comprising: using an orientable mirror [see at least Figure 16, (14)] electronically controlled by an input electronic signal [see at least paragraphs 0261 and 0287] to direct the beam of optical power to a receiver comprising a photovoltaic cell adapted to convert the optical power of the beam to electrical power [see at least Figure 16, (1)], at least the photovoltaic cell and constituting a target [see at least paragraph 0100]; wherein the electronically controlled orientable mirror is designed to have an aiming accuracy at least such that the angular deviation of the beam from the direction intended for its propagation by the electronically controlled orientable mirror, is such that, when the beam is aimed at the target and has the maximum power which the transmitter can transmit [see at least paragraphs 0111, 0138 and 0260], and the target is at the maximum intended range for that power, the level of optical power transferred into the space and not absorbed by the receiver does not exceed that allowed by a regulatory requirement applicable to a location where the system is authorized to operate [see at least paragraphs 0016; Figure 2].
Slepoy fails to explicitly disclose that the photovoltaic has a frame/boarder. However, Jung discloses this limitation [see at least column 2, lines 3-14].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to have a frame for the photovoltaic cell in order to offer an area for mechanical attachment. Thus, offering solid mounting for the photovoltaic cell.
Regarding claim 25, Slepoy in view of Jung teaches the method according to claim 24.
Slepoy discloses for safe transmission of a beam of optical power from a transmitter towards a receiver in a space, wherein the accuracy of the electronically controlled orientable mirror is such that the level of optical power transferred into the surroundings and not absorbed by the receiver does not exceed the regulatory power limit allowed for a class 3B laser at the wavelength of the beam of optical power [see at least paragraphs 0016; Figure 2].
Regarding claim 26, Slepoy in view of Jung teaches the method according to claim 24.
Slepoy discloses for safe transmission of a beam of optical power from a transmitter towards a receiver in a space, wherein the accuracy of the electronically controlled orientable mirror is such that the level of optical power transferred into the surroundings and not absorbed by the receiver arises from parts of the optical beam spilling over the edges of the receiver [see at least Figure 16, (15); it is inherent that the beam that does not hit the photovoltaic cell is not absorbed].
Regarding claim 27, Slepoy in view of Jung teaches the method according to claim 24.
Slepoy discloses for safe transmission of a beam of optical power from a transmitter towards a receiver, wherein at least one of: electronic feedback loop jitter, driver noise level, conversion resolution of digital circuits generating the input electronic signal, circuit noise, step increments of a mechanical driver generating the orientation of the mirror, and mechanical vibration of the mirror, are limited to a level such that the required accuracy of the electronically controlled orientable mirror is achieved [see at least paragraphs 0084 and 0213; the purpose is to limit variations].
Regarding claim 28, Slepoy in view of Jung teaches he optical wireless power transmission system according to claim 12.
Slepoy discloses wherein the level of optical power transferred into the surroundings and not absorbed by the receiver does not exceed the regulatory power limit allowed for a class 3B laser at the wavelength of the beam of optical power [see at least paragraphs 0016; Figure 2].
Regarding claim 29, Slepoy in view of Jung teaches the optical wireless power transmission system according to claim 12.
Slepoy discloses wherein the level of optical power not absorbed by the photovoltaic cell and its border surround comprises parts of the optical beam spilling over the edges of the receiver [see at least Figure 16, (15); it is inherent that the beam that does not hit the photovoltaic cell is not absorbed].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stone et al. (US 2015/0256034) discloses an optical power system.
Graham (US 2008/0084596) discloses a power beaming system with an active mirror.
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836