DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 4 in line 3, “the fluid” lacks antecedent basis in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9, 11-14, 16, 17, 19, 20, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0131717 to Ko et al., hereinafter referred to as Ko, in view of KR10-0621235 to Jung, hereinafter referred to as Jung, (see English language translation provided herewith).
In reference to claim 1, Ko as modified by Jung disclose the claimed invention.
Ko discloses a storehouse (1, see figure 1), comprising:
a first space (2) configured to provide a space for goods, and having a first (2b) storage compartment and a second storage compartment (2c);
a second space (111/112, see figure 2) configured to accommodate a plurality of first heat exchangers, and to be fluidly connected to the first space (2), the plurality of first heat exchangers including a heat exchanger (121) for the first storage compartment (2b) and a heat exchanger (121) for the second storage compartment (2c);
a first wall (13) configured to define at least a portion of the first space (2); and
a second wall (see annotated figure below) configured to define at least a portion of the second space (111/112);
the second wall including a heat exchanger case (110) defining a first installation space (111) configured to accommodate the heat exchanger (121) for the first storage compartment (2b) and a second installation space (112) configured to accommodate the heat exchanger (122) for the second storage compartment (2c), wherein the heat exchanger case includes an insulation wall (see below) that separates the first installation space from the second installation space.
Ko fails to disclose a first fan and a second fan are disposed in the first installation space.
Jung teaches that in the art of refrigeration units, that it is a known method to dispose a first fan (108) and a second fan (108b) in an installation space (at 110) for a heat exchanger (107) supplying cooling air to a cooled compartment (102). Jung teaches that such a configuration allows for a single evaporator to supply cold to both a refrigerated compartment and an ice making compartment independently. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, to modify Ko by Jung to include an ice maker such that, a first fan and a second fan are disposed in the first installation space, since all claimed elements were known in the art, and one having ordinary skill in the art could have modified the prior art as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded a predictable result of providing individual cold air flow to both a refrigerated compartment and an ice maker.
In reference to claim 2, Ko as modified by Jung disclose the claimed invention.
Jung teaches the first fan (108) is configured to supply fluid to the first storage compartment (102), and wherein the second fan (108b) is configured to supply fluid to an ice-making space (130) provided in a door, see figure 5. Accordingly, when modifying Ko by Jung as applied in claim 1 supra, the limitations of claim 2 would be met by the combination.
In reference to claim 9, Ko as modified by Jung disclose the claimed invention.
Jung teaches an ice-making space (130) is provided in a door and is fluidly connected to the heat exchanger (107) for the first storage compartment (102). Accordingly, when modifying Ko by Jung as applied in claim 1 supra such that the refrigerator included an ice maker and the air flow passages of Jung, the limitations of claim 9 would be met by the combination.
In reference to claim 11, Ko as modified by Jung disclose the claimed invention.
Ko discloses a first heat exchanger case (see below) defining the first installation space (111); and
a second heat exchanger case (see below) defining the second installation space (112), and wherein the insulation wall is provided in at least one of the first heat exchanger case or the second heat exchanger case, see below.
In reference to claim 12, Ko as modified by Jung disclose the claimed invention.
Ko discloses a (170) configured to separate the first space (2) and the second space (111/112), wherein the partition (170) includes an inlet (171) configured to allow fluid of the first space (2) to be introduced into the second space (111/112), and an outlet (173) configured to allow fluid of the second space (111/112) to be provided to the first space (2).
In reference to claim 13, Ko as modified by Jung disclose the claimed invention.
Ko discloses a duct (61/51) configured to fluidly connect the first storage compartment (2b) and the first fan (131), wherein the duct (61/51) is connected to outlet (173) of the partition (170).
In reference to claim 14, Ko as modified by Jung disclose the claimed invention.
Ko discloses the duct (61/51) includes:
a first duct (61) configured to supply fluid from the second space (111/112) to the first storage compartment (2b) and to be fluidly connected to the outlet (173) of the partition; and
a second duct (51) configured to return fluid from the first storage compartment (2b) to the second space (111/112) and to be fluidly connected to the inlet (171) of the partition (170).
In reference to claim 16, Ko as modified by Jung disclose the claimed invention.
Ko discloses a third wall (115) configured to define a third space (113) that accommodates a second heat exchanger (150), wherein the first storage compartment (2b) and the second storage compartment (2c) disposed above the first storage compartment are separated by a partition (14a), and wherein the second space (111/112) and the third space (113) are arranged horizontally below the first storage compartment (2b), see figure 3.
In reference to claim 17, Ko as modified by Jung disclose the claimed invention.
Ko discloses a third wall (115) configured to define a third space (113) that accommodates a second heat exchanger (150), wherein the first storage compartment (2b) and the second storage compartment (2c) disposed above the first storage compartment (111/112) are separated by a partition (14a), and wherein the second space (111/112) and the third space (113) are arranged below the first storage compartment (2b) in a vertical direction, see figure 3.
In reference to claim 19, Ko as modified by Jung disclose the claimed invention.
Ko discloses a storehouse, comprising:
a first space (2) configured to provide a space for goods, and having a first storage compartment (2b), a second storage compartment (2c),
a first wall (13) configured to define at least a portion of the first space (2);
a second space (111/112) configured to accommodate a first heat exchanger (121), the second space being (111/112) connected to at least one of the first storage (2b) compartment, the second storage compartment (2c) by at least one duct (60);
a second wall (see annotated reference above with respect to claim 1 for the examiner's definition of the second wall) to define at least a portion of the second space (111/112);
a first fan (131) provided in the second space (111/112), and configured to control flow of fluid or air into the first storage compartment (2b);
a second fan (132) provided in the second space (111/112), and configured to control flow of fluid or air into the second storage compartment (2c); and
Ko fails to disclose a third storage compartment a third fan provided in the second space, and configured to control flow of fluid or air into the third storage compartment.
Jung teaches that in the art of refrigeration units, that it is a known method to provide a third storage compartment (ice maker compartment 130) a separate fan (108b) provided in a heat exchanger accommodating space (at 110), and configured to control flow of fluid or air into the third storage compartment. Jung teaches that such a configuration allows for a single evaporator to supply cold to both a refrigerated compartment and an ice making compartment independently. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, to modify Ko by Jung to include a third storage compartment for an ice maker, and a third fan provided in the second space, and configured to control flow of fluid or air into the third storage compartment, since all claimed elements were known in the art, and one having ordinary skill in the art could have modified the prior art as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded a predictable result of providing individual cold air flow to both a refrigerated compartment and an ice maker.
In reference to claim 20, Ko as modified by Jung disclose the claimed invention.
Ko discloses a third space (113) configured to accommodate a second heat exchanger (150);
a third wall (114) to define at least a portion of the third space (113); and
fourth fan (51) provided in the third space (113), and configured to control flow of fluid or ambient air.
In reference to claim 22, Ko as modified by Jung disclose the claimed invention.
Ko discloses the at least one duct (60) includes:
a first duct (61) that connects the first storage compartment (2b) to the second space (111/112);
a second duct (55) that connects the second storage compartment (2c) to the second space (111/112).
Jung discloses a duct (121) that connects the third storage compartment (130) to the heat exchanger space (at 110). Accordingly, when modifying Ko by Jung as applied in claim 19 supra, the limitations of 22 would be met by the combination.
In reference to claim 23, Ko as modified by Jung disclose the claimed invention.
Jung discloses the third storage compartment (110) includes an ice-making space. Accordingly, when modifying Ko by Jung as applied in claim 19 supra, the limitations of claim 24 would be met by the combination.
In reference to claim 24, Ko as modified by Jung disclose the claimed invention.
Ko discloses a third fan (132) disposed in the second installation space and configured to supply fluid to the second storage compartment (2c).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 25 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12, filed May 27, 2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 19 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Ko have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jung which teaches that the features not disclosed by Ko are obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CASSEY D BAUER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763