DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakane et al. (US20130130887, hereinafter referred to as Nakane).
Regarding claim 1, Nakane discloses a Li2O-Al2O3-SiO2-based crystallized glass (See Nakane at the Abstract, disclosing a Li2O—Al2O3—SiO2-based crystallized glass) containing, in terms of % by mass, 60 to 80% SiO2 (See Nakane at Table 3, Example 13, disclosing an example of a glass comprising 65.8 mass% SiO2), 15 to 30% Al2O3 (See Nakane at Table 3, Example 13, disclosing an example of a glass comprising 22.2 mass% Al2O3), 2.45 to 3.64% Li2O (See Nakane at Table 3, Example 13, disclosing an example of a glass comprising 3.6 mass% Li2O), 0 to less than 0.7% Na2O+K2O (See Nakane at Table 3, Example 13, disclosing an example of a glass comprising 0.4 mass% Na2O and 0.3 mass% K2O), more than 0% to less than 1% CaO+SrO+BaO (See Nakane at Table 3, Example 13, disclosing an example of a glass comprising 0% CaO, 0% SrO, and 0.7 mass% BaO), and 0 to 2.4% MgO+ZnO (See Nakane at Table 3, Example 13, disclosing an example of a glass comprising 0.7 mass% MgO and 0.5 mass% ZnO).
Regarding claim 4, Nakane discloses containing, in terms of % by mass, 30 ppm or less Pt and 30 ppm or less Rh (Nakane discloses no Pt or Rh, which is within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 5, while Nakane does not explicitly disclose a β-OH value of 2/mm or less, the β-OH value changes depending on the raw material used, the melting atmosphere, the melting temperature, the melting time as evidenced by the instant specification at [0059] of the PGPub. The composition disclosed by Nakane is substantially identical to the instant glass as detailed in the rejections herein, and therefore the raw materials of Nakane are substantially identical to those of the instant invention. The instant application at [0127] of the PGPub discloses an electric furnace at 1600°C and 20 hours, which will have a substantially identical melting atmosphere, temperature and time as Nakane at [0095] disclosing 1600° C. for 18 hours in an electric furnace. Therefore, because Nakane has raw materials and melting atmosphere, temperature and time as those of the instant invention, Nakane would inherently possess the claimed β-OH value.
Regarding claim 6, Nakane discloses containing, in terms of % by mass, 2 to 4% ZrO2 (See Nakane at Table 3, Example 13, disclosing an example of a glass comprising 2.2 mass% ZrO2) and 0 to 1.24% SnO2 (See Nakane at Table 3, Example 13, disclosing an example of a glass comprising 0.2 mass% SnO2).
Regarding claim 7, Nakane discloses containing, in terms of % by mass, 0.42 to 5% P2O5 (See Nakane at Table 3, Example 13, disclosing an example of a glass comprising 1.4 mass% P2O5).
Regarding claim 8, Nakane discloses having a coefficient of thermal expansion of -15 to 15 x 10-7/°C at 30 to 750°C (See Nakane at Table 3, Example 13, disclosing an example of a glass comprising a thermal expansion coefficient of 12 x 10-7).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakane as evidenced by Drennan et al. (Drennan, J., and B. C. H. Steele. "Zirconia and hafnia." Concise encyclopedia of advanced ceramic materials. Pergamon, 1991. 525-528, hereinafter referred to as Drennan).
Regarding claim 2, while Nakane does not explicitly disclose more than 0% HfO2, Nakane at Example 13 does disclose 2.2 mass% ZrO2. Examiner notes that ZrO2 inherently contains 1.5-3.0 wt.% HfO2 as evidenced by the seventh paragraph of page 526 of Drennan. As such, Nakane would inherently possess the claimed amount of hafnia. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01(I) first paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakane in view of Dondi (Dondi, Michele, et al. "Gray–blue Al2O3–MoOx ceramic pigments: Crystal structure, coloring mechanism and performance." Dyes and pigments 76.1 (2008): 179-186, hereinafter referred to as Dondi).
Regarding claim 3, while Nakane discloses coloring caused by components such as TiO2 and Fe2O3, Nakane does not explicitly disclose more than 0% MoO3. Dondi (Dondi, Michele, et al. "Gray–blue Al2O3–MoOx ceramic pigments: Crystal structure, coloring mechanism and performance." Dyes and pigments 76.1 (2008): 179-186, hereinafter referred to as Dondi) is directed towards Gray–blue Al2O3–MoOx ceramic pigments (See Dondi at the Abstract). Dondi teaches the actual MoO3 contents of pigments range from 0.7 to 2.5 wt% (see Dondi at the third paragraph of page 181). Examiner notes color is an aesthetic design choice, and further notes that it is obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the arts to select a color as desired per MPEP 2144.04(I). As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention when practicing the invention of Nakane to include MoO3 within the range disclosed by Dondi with a reasonable expectation of successfully coloring the glass with a MoO3 pigment as taught by Dondi.
Conclusion
CAMERON K MILLER
Examiner
Art Unit 1731
/CAMERON K MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1731