DETAILED ACTION
Claims
Applicant’s Claims filed on 05/09/2024 regarding claims 1-41 is fully considered. Of the above claims, claims 1-21 have been canceled; claims 22-41 have been newly added.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature of “a double-layered opening covering the conductive pad and a neighboring part of the reference pad area” (claim 29) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 29-30 and 34-37 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 29, the recitations of “at least one of the conductive pads” in lines 2-3, “the conductive pad” in line 3 and “the reference pad area” in line 4 lack antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 30, the recitation of “a double-layered opening” in line 2 refers to a previously recited limitation.
Regarding claim 34, the recitation of “the third conductive pad” in line 5 lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 35, the recitation of “the conductive pads” in line 3 lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 36, the recitation of “an array of conductive pads” in lines 1-2 should reflect that the array of conductive pads includes the first conductive pad.
Regarding claim 37, the recitation of “the conductive pads” in line 2 lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-25, 27-34, 36 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruyker et al. (US 2019/0195822 A1) in view of Zhe et al. (US 2022/0317081 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Bruyker et al. teach a capacitive oil sensor assembly (sensing electrode structure 300; Figs 4A, 4D; 2-D fields simulations with insulating fluids such as pure oil show the expected exponential decrease in the differences in the sensor capacitance between these different dielectric fluids, as the sensor layer thickness is increased; [0059]) comprising:
a main body (substrate 304; Figs 4A, 4D);
a first conductive pad disposed on, or embedded in, the main body (plurality of sensing electrode fingers 302; Figs 3E, 4A, 4D);
a conductive reference pad area, disposed on, or embedded in, the main body (plurality of sensing electrode fingers 302; Figs 3E, 4A, 4D), wherein the conductive reference pad area is connected to a ground or reference point (the common connection electrodes into which the “A” and “B” sensor fingers 302 attach, and the feed lines from these to the “A” and “B” pads 306 and 308 that line within, and somewhat beyond, the “sensing environment”; [0129]), and wherein a gap or isolation layer separates the first conductive pad and the conductive reference pad area (gaps in between adjacent sensing electrode fingers 302; FIG. 4D);
an electrically conductive layer (area shield 412; FIG. 4D);
a first layer made of an oil-absorbing material (these sensors are based on measurements of the relative permittivity of thin films of sensor materials which selectively absorb an analyte of interest from the fluid environment and which are deposited on top of the interdigitated sensing electrode structure; [0034]; in many cases, chemical sensors operate in one of three environments: gas, conductive liquid, or non-conductive liquid such as insulating oil; [0062]; sensing material 320; FIG. 4D), the first layer arranged between the electrically conductive layer and the main body, covering the first conductive pad and the conductive reference pad area (sensing material 32 is arranged between the area shield 412 and the substrate 304; FIG. 4D); and
a measurement to measure a capacitance between the first conductive pad and the conductive reference pad area (an interdigitated electrode structure is considered to form a two-port electrical element, and the electrical impedance between the two ports can be measured; [0036]; capacitance model; [0074]; FIG. 3E).
Further regarding claim 22, Bruyker et al. do not teach the first layer made of a water-repelling material and a processing unit configured to measure the capacitance.
Further regarding claim 22, Zhe et al. teach a layer made of a water-repelling material and a processing unit configured to measure a capacitance (exemplary coatings 106 that resist the absorption of water are polytetrafluoroethylene and perfluoroalkyl materials; [0044]; Figs 2-3; to measure this change, voltages across the capacitive sensors 100A, 100B, 100C can be recorded with the DAQ machine 208; [0068]; FIG. 1) for the purpose of responding to all property changes in the fluid while remaining largely indifferent to changes of water content within the fluid.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the first layer made of a water-repelling material and a processing unit configured to measure the capacitance, as taught by Zhe et al., into Bruyker et al. for the purpose of responding to all property changes in the fluid while remaining largely indifferent to changes of water content within the fluid.
Regarding claim 23, Bruyker et al. teach wherein the processing unit is configured to detect the presence of oil in the first layer as a change of capacitance between the first conductive pad and the conductive reference pad compared to air in the first layer (the electric field is mostly confined within the sensing material and is used to interrogate the presence of analyte A; [0040], [0044]; the electric field with the presence of analyte A is different compared to the electric field in air).
Regarding claim 24, Bruyker et al. teach wherein the first conductive pad and the conductive reference area are covered by an electrically non-conductive material (2-D fields simulations with insulating fluids such as gas, pure oil and pure water; [0059]).
Regarding claim 25, Bruyker et al. do not teach a second conductive pad disposed on, or embedded in, the main body, wherein the processing unit is configured to detect a capacitance between the second conductive pad and the conductive reference pad area.
Further regarding claim 25, Zhe et al. teach a second conductive pad disposed on, or embedded in, the main body, wherein the processing unit is configured to detect a capacitance between the second conductive pad and the conductive reference pad area (sensors 100A, 100B, 100C; FIG. 1) for the purpose of providing an array of sensors to detect oil at positions in the array.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a second conductive pad disposed on, or embedded in, the main body, wherein the processing unit is configured to detect a capacitance between the second conductive pad and the conductive reference pad area, as taught by Zhe et al., into Bruyker et al. for the purpose of providing an array of sensors to detect oil at positions in the array.
Regarding claim 27, Bruyker et al. do not teach wherein the processing unit is configured to detect an oil expansion direction based on detection of oil at the first conductive pad and the second conductive pad.
Further regarding claim 27, Zhe et al. teach wherein the processing unit is configured to detect an oil expansion direction based on detection of oil at the first conductive pad and the second conductive pad (sensors 100A, 100B, 100C; FIG. 1; a sampling rate of 110 kHz was used to capture the peaks of a 2 MHz sine wave signal; [0078]) for the purpose of providing an array of sensors to detect oil at positions in the array. Since the data for the sensors are captured over time at a sampling rate of 110 kHz, one of ordinary skill in the art would have determined the order of oil detections by the sensors 100A, 100B, 100C and, thereby, the oil expansion direction.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the processing unit is configured to detect an oil expansion direction based on detection of oil at the first conductive pad and the second conductive pad, as taught by Zhe et al., into Bruyker et al. for the purpose of providing an array of sensors to detect oil at positions in the array.
Regarding claim 28, Bruyker et al. teach wherein the main body has a substantially flat shape (substrate 304 has substantially flat shape; FIG. 4D) and wherein the first conductive pad and the conductive reference pad area face away from the substantially flat main body towards the first layer and the electrically conductive layer (sensing electrode fingers 302 face away from the substrate 304 towards the sensing material 320 and area shield 412; FIG. 4D).
Regarding claim 29, Bruyker et al. teach wherein the capacitive oil sensor assembly comprises at least one further conductive pad, wherein at least one of the conductive pads has a double-layered opening covering the conductive pad and a neighboring part of the reference pad area (plural sensing electrode fingers 302; plural area shields 412 with gaps between adjacent shields 412; FIG. 4D).
Regarding claim 30, Bruyker et al. teach wherein the conductive pad covered by a double-layered opening is exposed to direct contact with a liquid (the sensing electrode fingers 302 are configured to selectively absorb analyte from the sensing environment; [0051]).
Regarding claim 31, Bruyker et al. do not teach wherein the first conductive pad is used for detecting oil and wherein the at least one further conductive pad is used for detecting water.
Further regarding claim 31, Zhe et al. teach wherein the first conductive pad is used for detecting oil and wherein the at least one further conductive pad is used for detecting water (coating 106 may be a material that absorbs water but rejects lubricant oil; [0040]; FIG. 1) for the purpose of being able to detect different analytes.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the first conductive pad is used for detecting oil and wherein the at least one further conductive pad is used for detecting water, as taught by Zhe et al., into Bruyker et al. for the purpose of being able to detect different analytes.
Regarding claim 32, Bruyker et al. teach wherein the processing unit is configured to distinguish between detection of oil and water (2-D fields simulations with insulating fluids such as gas, pure oil and pure water show the expected exponential decrease in the differences in the sensor capacitance between these different dielectric fluids, as the sensor layer thickness is increased; [0059], [0062]).
Regarding claim 33, Bruyker et al. do not teach a third conductive pad disposed on, or embedded in, the main body, wherein the processing unit is further configured to detect a capacitance between the third conductive pad and the conductive reference pad area, and wherein the third conductive pad arranged at a certain minimum distance, such as at least 10 mm, from the first conductive pad.
Further regarding claim 33, Zhe et al. teach a third conductive pad disposed on, or embedded in, the main body, wherein the processing unit is further configured to detect a capacitance between the third conductive pad and the conductive reference pad area (sensors 100A, 100B, 100C; FIG. 1), and wherein the third conductive pad arranged at a certain minimum distance, such as at least 10 mm, from the first conductive pad (the length L of fingers 112 can be from 5 mm to 1 cm; [0032]; Figs 1-2; for L = 1 cm, the sensors 100A, 100B and 100C are arranged at a distance of at least 1 cm) for the purpose of providing an array of sensors to detect oil at positions in the array.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a third conductive pad disposed on, or embedded in, the main body, wherein the processing unit is further configured to detect a capacitance between the third conductive pad and the conductive reference pad area, and wherein the third conductive pad arranged at a certain minimum distance, such as at least 10 mm, from the first conductive pad, as taught by Zhe et al., into Bruyker et al. for the purpose of providing an array of sensors to detect oil at positions in the array.
Regarding claim 34, Bruyker et al. teach wherein the processing unit is configured to detect two different liquids, such as oil and water, preferably wherein the first layer is adapted to absorb one of the liquids but not the other (sensor materials which selectively absorb an analyte of interest; [0034], [0038], [0047]; 2-D fields simulations with insulating fluids such as gas, pure oil and pure water show the expected exponential decrease in the differences in the sensor capacitance between these different dielectric fluids, as the sensor layer thickness is increased; [0059], [0062]).
Further regarding claim 34, Bruyker et al. do not teach a fourth conductive pad disposed on, or embedded in, the main body, wherein the processing unit is further configured to detect a capacitance between the fourth conductive pad and the conductive reference pad area, and wherein the fourth conductive pad is arranged such that no external liquid can substantially impact to the capacitance of the third conductive pad without being absorbed by the first layer.
Further regarding claim 34, Zhe et al. teach a fourth conductive pad disposed on, or embedded in, the main body, wherein the processing unit is further configured to detect a capacitance between the fourth conductive pad and the conductive reference pad area, and wherein the fourth conductive pad is arranged such that no external liquid can substantially impact to the capacitance of the third conductive pad without being absorbed by the first layer (sensors 100A, 100B, 100C; FIG. 1; external liquid outside of machine housing 200 does not impact measurements of the sensors) for the purpose of providing an array of sensors to detect different analytes.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a fourth conductive pad disposed on, or embedded in, the main body, wherein the processing unit is further configured to detect a capacitance between the fourth conductive pad and the conductive reference pad area, and wherein the fourth conductive pad is arranged such that no external liquid can substantially impact to the capacitance of the third conductive pad without being absorbed by the first layer, from the first conductive pad, as taught by Zhe et al., into Bruyker et al. for the purpose of providing an array of sensors to detect different analytes.
Regarding claim 36, Bruyker et al. do not teach an array of conductive pads disposed on, or embedded in, the main body, such as wherein the array of conductive pads are arranged in n rows and m columns, wherein the processing unit is configured to detect a direction and/or a speed of expansion of an absorbed oil or other liquid based on timing of changes in capacitance between individual conductive pads and the conductive reference pad area.
Further regarding claim 36, Zhe et al. teach an array of conductive pads disposed on, or embedded in, the main body, such as wherein the array of conductive pads are arranged in n rows and m columns (sensors 100A, 100B, 100C; FIG. 1; 1 row by 3 columns), wherein the processing unit is configured to detect a direction and/or a speed of expansion of an absorbed oil or other liquid based on timing of changes in capacitance between individual conductive pads and the conductive reference pad area (a sampling rate of 110 kHz was used to capture the peaks of a 2 MHz sine wave signal; [0078]) for the purpose of providing an array of sensors to detect oil at positions in the array. Since the data for the sensors are captured over time at a sampling rate of 110 kHz, one of ordinary skill in the art would have determined the order of oil detections by the sensors 100A, 100B, 100C and, thereby, the oil expansion direction.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate an array of conductive pads disposed on, or embedded in, the main body, such as wherein the array of conductive pads are arranged in n rows and m columns, wherein the processing unit is configured to detect a direction and/or a speed of expansion of an absorbed oil or other liquid based on timing of changes in capacitance between individual conductive pads and the conductive reference pad area, as taught by Zhe et al., into Bruyker et al. for the purpose of providing an array of sensors to detect oil at positions in the array.
Regarding claim 40, Bruyker et al. teach a method of detecting oil using a capacitive oil sensor assembly (method of using sensing electrode structure 300; Figs 4A, 4D; 2-D fields simulations with insulating fluids such as pure oil show the expected exponential decrease in the differences in the sensor capacitance between these different dielectric fluids, as the sensor layer thickness is increased; [0059]), comprising the steps of:
providing an oil sensor assembly (sensing electrode structure 300; Figs 4A, 4D) comprising:
a first conductive pad and a conductive reference pad area disposed on, or embedded in, a main body of the sensor assembly (plurality of sensing electrode fingers 302 on substrate 304; Figs 3E, 4A, 4D);
an electrically conductive layer (area shield 412; FIG. 4D);
a first layer made of an oil-absorbing material (these sensors are based on measurements of the relative permittivity of thin films of sensor materials which selectively absorb an analyte of interest from the fluid environment and which are deposited on top of the interdigitated sensing electrode structure; [0034]; in many cases, chemical sensors operate in one of three environments: gas, conductive liquid, or non-conductive liquid such as insulating oil; [0062]; sensing material 320; FIG. 4D), the first layer arranged between the electrically conductive layer and the main body, covering the first conductive pad and the conductive reference pad area (sensing material 32 is arranged between the area shield 412 and the substrate 304; FIG. 4D);
measuring a capacitance between the first conductive pad and the conductive reference pad area (an interdigitated electrode structure is considered to form a two-port electrical element, and the electrical impedance between the two ports can be measured; [0036]; capacitance model; [0074]; FIG. 3E); and
determining a presence of oil based on the measured capacitance and/or determining an addition of oil based on a change of the measured capacitance (the electric field is mostly confined within the sensing material and is used to interrogate the presence of analyte A; [0040], [0044]).
Further regarding claim 40, Bruyker et al. do not teach the first layer made of a water-repelling material and a processing unit configured to measure the capacitance.
Further regarding claim 40, Zhe et al. teach a layer made of a water-repelling material (exemplary coatings 106 that resist the absorption of water are polytetrafluoroethylene and perfluoroalkyl materials; [0044]; Figs 2-3; to measure this change, voltages across the capacitive sensors 100A, 100B, 100C can be recorded with the DAQ machine 208; [0068]; FIG. 1) for the purpose of responding to all property changes in the fluid while remaining largely indifferent to changes of water content within the fluid.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the first layer made of a water-repelling material, as taught by Zhe et al., into Bruyker et al. for the purpose of responding to all property changes in the fluid while remaining largely indifferent to changes of water content within the fluid.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruyker et al. (US 2019/0195822 A1) as modified by Zhe et al. (US 2022/0317081 A1) as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Kuenstel (US 2017/0146162 A1).
Regarding claim 26, Bruyker et al. as modified by Zhe et al. do not teach wherein the processing unit is configured to distinguish between sizes of oil leakages by observing whether only or both of the first conductive pad and the second conductive pad detects presence of oil.
Further regarding claim 26, Kuenstel teaches a sensor arrangement is configured to distinguishing between sizes of oil leakages (a thickness of the absorbing layer increases with an amount of absorbed fluid; [0006], [0015], [0026]; a capacitive humidity sensor, will sense the change in humidity in the absorption layer and will give a signal to give notice that a leakage from the hose assembly will appear in the near future; [0023]; FIG. 1) for the purpose of predicting a leakage. One of ordinary skill would have known that the thickness of the sensing material 320 of Bruyker et al. and the number of sensing electrode fingers 302 detecting oil distinguish the amount of the absorbed oil that is proportional to the size of the leakage.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the processing unit is configured to distinguish between sizes of oil leakages by observing whether only or both of the first conductive pad and the second conductive pad detects presence of oil, as taught by Kuenstel, into Bruyker et al. as modified by Zhe et al. for the purpose of predicting a leakage.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruyker et al. (US 2019/0195822 A1) as modified by Zhe et al. (US 2022/0317081 A1) as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Zorzetto et al. (US 2020/0173835 A1).
Regarding claim 38, Bruyker et al. as modified by Zhe et al. do not teach wherein the first layer encloses the main body.
Further regarding claim 38, Zorzetto et al. teach a coating layer encloses a main body (the liquid subject to level detection, which with the passing of time is absorbed by the overmoulded material 30 that is in contact with the same liquid; [0069]; FIG. 2) for the purpose preventing or delaying the interior electrodes from being reached by humidity of the liquid.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the first layer encloses the main body, as taught by Zorzetto et al., into Bruyker et al. as modified by Zhe et al. for the purpose of preventing or delaying the interior electrodes from being reached by humidity of the liquid.
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruyker et al. (US 2019/0195822 A1) as modified by Zhe et al. (US 2022/0317081 A1) as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Kritzer et al. (US 2011/0217573 A1).
Regarding claim 39, Bruyker et al. as modified by Zhe et al. do not teach wherein the first layer has a porous and/or fibrous structure and/or wherein pores, or insides of the pores of the first layer, are made of, or coated with a lipophilic material, or comprises a lipophilic zone.
Further regarding claim 39, Kritzer et al. teach a layer has a porous and/or fibrous structure and/or wherein pores, or insides of the pores of the first layer, are made of, or coated with a lipophilic material, or comprises a lipophilic zone (the absorption layer 3 in the form of a dielectric is embodied as electrically non-conductive and as porous; [0090]; FIG. 1) for the purpose of having the advantage that the liquid to be detected can reach the absorption layer more easily.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the first layer has a porous and/or fibrous structure and/or wherein pores, or insides of the pores of the first layer, are made of, or coated with a lipophilic material, or comprises a lipophilic zone, as taught by Kritzer et al., into Bruyker et al. as modified by Zhe et al. for the purpose of having the advantage that the liquid to be detected can reach the absorption layer more easily.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 35 and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 41 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim(s) 35 is the inclusion of “wherein the processing unit is configured to measure a difference in time of a first change in capacitance for one of the conductive pads and a second change in capacitance for another one of the conductive pads”. These limitations, as they are claimed in the combination, have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, making claim(s) 35 allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim(s) 37 is the inclusion of “a water-impermeable layer arranged between the conductive pads and the first layer, wherein the water-impermeable layer encloses the main body”. These limitations, as they are claimed in the combination, have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, making claim(s) 37 allowable over the prior art.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The primary reason for allowance of claim(s) 41 is the inclusion of “a core comprising an oil-absorbing and water-repelling material, wherein a changing current in the primary winding causes time-varying magnetic flux in the core, which induces a current in the secondary winding; and a processing unit configured to detect a current change in the second winding to identify the absorption of an oil by the core”. These limitations, as they are claimed in the combination, have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, making claim(s) 41 allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
7 March 2026
/KENDRICK X LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853