DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The Examiner recognizes Foreign Priority to EP21212206.3, with a filing date of 12/03/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/09/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Please refer to applicant’s copy of the 1449 herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of claims 1-11, 13 and 14 in the reply filed on 01/06/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner has not provided any indication that the content of the claims was considered in light of the description in making the assertion of a lack of unity as well as that search of all the claims would not impose a serious search burden. This is not found persuasive because the shared technical feature cited in the restriction requirement included all of the structural features of the furnace recited in claim 1. This shared technical feature does not make a contribution over the prior art for the reasons cited in the Restriction Requirement, and thus does not constitute a special technical feature for unity of invention. This determination was made in light of the description, but it is noted that although claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification cannot be read into the claims. Further, search and examination burden is a standard for US restriction practice. However, this application was filed as a 371 PCT and is subject to lack of unity restriction, which does not require a showing of search or examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 12 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected apparatus (furnace), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made with traverse in reply filed on 01/06/2026.
Specification
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because character letters are used as a listing method ( for example: (i), (ii) ). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-5 is/are objected to because of the following informalities. The form below is read/Examiner suggestion:
Regarding Claim 1 - inlet mean (s)/ an inlet mean; outlet mean (s)/ an outlet mean (s); from flue gas/ from a flue gas.
Regarding Claims 4 and 5 – has a CO2 concentration / has 2 concentration.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2, 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPGPUB
20200331789A1 (as submitted in the IDS dated 05/15/2024) by Sakurabayashi et. al. (herein
“Sakurabayashi”) and in further view of WO2020229559A1 by Reynolds et. al. (herein “Reynolds”)
and in further view of U.S. Patent 5,743,929 (as submitted in the IDS dated 05/15/2024) by Kapoor et.
al. (herein “Kapoor”) and further view of U.S. Patent 9,611,164 by Jeanvoine et. al. (herein “Jeanvoine”).
Regarding Claim 1 - Sakurabayashi teaches a process for melting vitrifiable materials to produce flat glass, comprising,
providing a furnace; Fig. 1, element 1 [0023], “ the manufacturing method of this embodiment comprises a glass melting furnace”.
comprising,
at least one main melting tank comprising electrical heating means; Fig. 2, [0032], “In order to directly electrically heat (heat through application of a current) the molten glass Gm to melt the glass raw materials Gr, a plurality of rod-shaped electrodes 11 are mounted to a bottom wall part 10 of the glass melting furnace 1.”
a fining tank; [0025], “The fining chamber 2 is a space for performing a fining step of fining (degassing) the molten glass Gm supplied from the glass melting furnace 1 through the action of a fining agent or the like.”
at least one neck separating the at least one main melting tank and the fining tank; Fig. 1, element 6 [0031], “The molten glass Gm is continuously discharged through the transfer pipe 6.”
inlet mean(s) located at the at least one main melting tank; Fig. 2 element 12 [0034],
“The glass melting furnace 1 comprises a screw feeder 12 serving as a raw material
supply part. “
outlet mean(s) located downstream of the fining tank; Fig. 1 element 7.
charging the vitrifiable materials comprising raw materials and cullet in the at least one melting tank with the inlet mean(s), an amount of cullet being; [0034], [0031] “The screw feeder 12 is configured to continuously supply the glass raw materials (solid raw materials)…”, “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the glass melting furnace 1 is configured to continuously melt glass raw materials (cullet may be included)…”,
melting vitrifiable materials in the at least one melting tank by heating with electrical means; [0032], “In order to directly electrically heat (heat through application of a current) the molten glass Gm to melt the glass raw materials Gr, a plurality of rod-shaped electrodes 11 are mounted to a bottom wall part 10 of the glass melting furnace 1 under the state in which the plurality of electrodes 11 are immersed in the molten glass Gm. In this embodiment, heating means other than the electrode 11 is not mounted to the glass melting furnace 1, and the glass raw materials Gr are melted only by electric heating (electric energy) with the electrode 11 (full electric melting).”
fining the melt in the fining tank; Fig.1 element 2 [0025], “The fining chamber 2 is a space for performing a fining step of fining (degassing) the molten glass Gm supplied from the glass melting furnace 1 through the action of a fining agent or the like.”
flowing the melt from the fining tank to a working zone through
While Sakurabayashi teaches fining the melt in the fining tank, Sakurabayashi fails to teach,
a fining tank provided with oxy-combustion heating means;
fining the melt in the fining tank by heating with the oxy-combustion heating means alimented with gas and/or hydrogen.
In a similar endeavor of melting glass using electrical heating means in the melting tank (elements 9 and 91 Fig. 1), Reynolds teaches the use of a fining tank with burners(length of element C, in combustion area 3, burner 7 of Fig. 1). “From the entry to the exit, the furnace superstructure includes two main sections, a heat recovery section 2 followed by a combustion section 3 divided into two zones 31 and 32 provided with burners 6, 7. An inlet 16 is provided upstream of the furnace for charging it with batch raw materials and a downstream outlet 14 for discharging refined glass is located at the combustion section 3.”, (lines 422-425). Further, the burner is an oxy-gas combustion burner, ““Burners in first combustion zone are oxy-combustion type or aero- combustion type…Oxy-combustion with gas and oxygen preheating”, (lines 282, 286); Burners in last combustion zone (zone 7) operated at relatively low power and are aero-combustion type, with cold or hot air, or oxy-combustion type with or without gas preheating”, (lines 276-277). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the oxy-gas burners located in the fining section of Reynolds in the process of Sakurabayashi, one being motivated to do so for the purpose of balancing heat inputs, wherein heat inputs of electrodes and burners is balanced seamlessly along furnace operation according to variation of fuel and electricity costs to minimize furnace production cost while limiting carbon dioxide emissions from combustion, as noted by Reynolds (lines 229-231).
While Sakurabayashi teaches vitrifiable materials that contain cullet, Sakurabayashi fails to teach,
an amount of cullet being at least 10% in weight of a total amount of vitrifiable materials.
Reynolds further teaches an embodiment where the cullet is between 50%-70% for an emerald green glass (line 710). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the cullet in the raw materials, as is commonly known in the art, as one would be motivated to do so to decrease the energy needed for melting the batch materials. Further, to also increase the pull rate of the melting operation, as noted by Reynolds (line 710-711).
While Sakurabayashi teaches the use of electrodes for heating, Sakurabayashi fails to teach,
an electrical input fraction for melting and fining ranges from 50% to 85%;
Reynolds further teaches heat input of the electrodes may cover 20% to 80% of total furnace heat inputs (line 235). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the flexible range of electrical input fraction of Reynolds in the method of Sakurabayashi, as one would be motivated to do so for the purpose of operating the glass furnace wherein heat inputs of electrodes and burners is balanced seamlessly along furnace operation according to variation of fuel and electricity costs to minimize furnace production cost while limiting carbon dioxide emissions from combustion, as noted by Reynolds (lines 228-231). Further, overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the portion of Reynolds electrical input fraction range that corresponds to the claimed range. MPEP 2144.05.
While Sakurabayashi teaches a duct to exhaust to discharge atmosphere in the furnace to the outside ([0036], and Reynolds teaches a discharge opening for flue gas provided upstream (in the fining section) (line 27) to recover flue gas for heat recovery, neither (the combination) teach specifically,
capturing CO2 from flue gas;
said flue gas having a CO2 concentration of at least 35%;
the capturing CO2 from flue gas comprises compression and/or
dehydration.
In a similar endeavor of melting glass where oxy-fuel combustion burners reside in the fining portion, Kapoor teaches a method of capturing flue gases in an oxy fuel fired glass melting furnace that contains hot carbon dioxide rich furnace waste gas which is then treated to remove NOx and SOx to produce pure carbon dioxide as a bi-product of the process. (Col 2 lines 21-31). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to deploy the method of Kapoor to the process of the combination, as one would be motivated to do so for the purposes of efficiently removing NOx, SOx ,and particulates to levels set by the Environmental Protection Agency while at the same time producing carbon dioxide which meets food grade standards, as noted by Kapoor (Col 2, lines 10-19).
Further, Kapoor cites the advantage of using oxygen or oxygen-enriched air in glassmaking furnaces as an opportunity to produce high purity carbon dioxide from the furnace exhaust gas as when oxygen-enriched air or substantially pure oxygen is used as the oxidant, the exhaust gas usually contains about 30 to 50% carbon dioxide. Having a level of carbon dioxide in exhaust gas is known to one skilled in the art in the industry and would be inherent to the melting process. See MPEP 2112.01.
Further, Kapoor cites, as part of the purification process of the waste gas, that quench liquid containing carbonate is introduced to the waste gas in line 10 and reacts/contacts with the waste gas (Col 6 lines 62-67). Upon contact with the waste gas, the water in the quench liquid stream evaporates (dehydration) (Col 7 lines 1-2) before moving through filtration system B. Continuing, Kapoor teaches that after gas filtration in system B, the gas moves to scrubber C, where an aqueous carbonate solution enters, allows the waste gas to react with the carbonate, and then is cooled, where most of the moisture is condensed out (dehydration) of the gas (Col 7 lines 13-24); any aqueous solution remaining in scrubber C is discharged. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the evaporation process in the gas waste stream purification process of Kapoor for the discharged gases of the combination, one being motivated to do so to prevent wetting of the filter equipment in element B, and for removing most of the water formed in the furnace due to combustion, as noted by Kapoor (Col 6 lines 58-61, Col 7 lines 40-44). As well, Kapoor further cites the use of feed compression in a conventional liquid carbon dioxide plant, E (Col 5 lines 37-40) . One skilled in the art would know that using compression in the process of making purified liquid CO2 is inherent. See MPEP 2112.01.
While Sakurabayashi teaches a main melting tank and fining tank to continuously supply glass raw materials and perform continuous melting ([0033], [0034]) , Sakurabayashi fails to teach
at least one auxiliary melting tank.
pre-melting at least a part of the cullet in an auxiliary melting tank and flowing the
pre-melted cullet to the at least one melting tank.
In similar endeavor of a melting process comprising a main furnace with electrodes and burners, with
main batch materials fed to generate molten glass, Jeanvoine cites the use of a “submerged-
combustion auxiliary furnace, said auxiliary furnace being fed with auxiliary batch materials, the auxiliary
molten glass feeding the main furnace toward its upstream end in the first third of its length” (Col 2 lines
36-43). In regard to the main furnace and the auxiliary furnace, “they are generally supplied with
conventional batch materials that are in the form of a powder, and where appropriate, partially as
cullet”, (Col 6 lines 1-3). The auxiliary furnace has raw materials that contain cullet, and the raw
materials when molten are fed to the main furnace. Hence, the cullet is pre-melted and fed to the main
furnace. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to pre-melt the cullet in the auxiliary tank and flow the pre-melted
cullet (raw materials) of Jeanvoine, and add this equipment and process to the process of the
combination, as one would be motivated to do so for the purposes of providing a larger quantity of glass
to the main furnace for a short period of time to meet demand, as noted by Jeanvoine (Col 2 lines 44-
67).
Regarding Claim 2 - Sakurabayashi, Reynolds, Kapoor and Jeanvoine in the rejection of claim 1 above
teach all of the limitations of claim 1.
Sakurabayashi fails to teach wherein,
the amount of cullet is at least 30% in weight of the total amount of vitrifiable materials;
Reynolds teaches instant Claim 2 previously in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4 and 5 – Sakurabayashi, Reynolds, Kapoor and Jeanvoine in the rejection of claim 1
above teach all of the limitations of claim 1.
Sakurabayashi fails to teach wherein,
(Claim 4) said flue gas has a CO2 concentration of at least 40%;
Claim 5) said flue gas has a CO2 concentration of at least 50%;
Kapoor teaches both instant Claim 4 and instant Claim 5 previously in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6 – Sakurabayashi, Reynolds, Kapoor and Jeanvoine in the rejection of claim 1
above teach all of the limitations of claim 1.
Sakurabayashi fails to teach wherein,
the capturing CO2 from flue gas consists essentially of compression and/or dehydration.
Kapoor teaches instant Claim 6 previously in Claim 1. There are four (4) waste gas processing
steps (B, C, D and E). Steps B and C use aqueous solutions that are eventually removed
(dehydrated) and Step E uses compression. Three of four processing steps include compression
or dehydration, which would read as consisting essentially of compression and/or dehydration.
Regarding Claim 7 and 8 – Sakurabayashi, Reynolds, Kapoor and Jeanvoine in the rejection of claim 1
above teach all of the limitations of claim 1.
Sakurabayashi, Reynolds, and Jeanvoine (the combination) fail to teach,
further comprising eliminating acidic components from said flue gas (Claim 7).
wherein the eliminating acidic components from said flue gas is prior or concurrent to the
capturing CO2 (Claim 8).
Kapoor teaches eliminating SO2 containing gases in Step C (gas scrubbing system) (Col 5 lines 13-24),
where the discharge gas from Step C enters the NOx reduction plant (Step D) (Col 5 lines 25-26). Step C
and Step D occur prior to Step E, which is the CO2 capture and processing plant (Col 5 lines 37-41). SO2
and NOx gases are known in the art as acidic gases. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary
skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to eliminate the acidic
components of the flue gas prior to capturing the CO2 per the process of Kapoor and implement into the
process of the combination , as one would be motivated to do so for the purposes of efficiently and
inexpensively reduce all of the impurities contained in glassmaking furnace flue gas to levels set by the
Environmental Protection Agency, as noted by Kapoor (Col 2 lines 11-14).
Regarding Claim 9 – Sakurabayashi, Reynolds, Kapoor and Jeanvoine in the rejection of claim 1
above teach all of the limitations of claim 1.
of claim 1.
While Reynolds teaches the recovery of flue gas to heat a charge, such as batch materials that are
already in a melting tank (lines 310-311, line 319), the combination fails to teach,
further comprising cullet pre-heating, at least partially by recovering heat from the
furnace, before charging said cullet in the at least one melting tank and/or in the at least one
auxiliary melting tank.
Jeanvoine teaches melting glass where electrodes are used in the main furnace and a finer is
located downstream of the main furnace, recovering heat from flue gases from
the main furnace and the auxiliary furnace to reheat the raw materials, including cullet, that feeds both
furnaces (Col 7 lines 6-12). The melting installation is depicted in Fig. 1 (Col 7 lines 30-67, Col 8 lines 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to pre-heat the cullet from recovered heat from the furnace before charging
the cullet (raw materials) of the method of Jeanvoine in the process of the combination, as one would
be motivated to do so for the purpose of the common industrial reason of energy efficiency, as
capturing waste heat from melting tanks for other purposes, including heating raw materials, is known
to those skilled in the art. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely
to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct.
1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPGPUB
20200331789A1 (as submitted in the IDS dated 05/15/2024) by Sakurabayashi et. al. (herein
“Sakurabayashi”) and in further view of WO2020229559A1 by Reynolds et. al. (herein “Reynolds”)
and in further view of U.S. Patent 5,743,929 (as submitted in the IDS dated 05/15/2024) by Kapoor et.
al. (herein “Kapoor”) and further view of U.S. Patent 9,611,164 by Jeanvoine et. al. (herein “Jeanvoine”)
and further view of WO2021233530A1 by Chmelar et. al. (herein “Chmelar”).
Regarding Claim 3 and 13 – Sakurabayashi, Reynolds, Kapoor and Jeanvoine in the rejection of claim 1
above teach all of the limitations of claim 1.
While the combination teaches oxy-combustion heating means, he combination fails to teach wherein,
the oxy-combustion heating means are alimented with at least 50% hydrogen (Claim 3);
the oxy-combustion heating means are alimented with at least 80% hydrogen (Claim 13).
In a similar endeavor of combustion in a glass furnace, Chmelar teaches a method of hydrogen
combustion with controllable flow of a hydrogen fuel gas composition and an additional gas flow
composition through a cavity of an industrial furnace, especially in a glass furnace
(Page 4, lines 23-26). Further, Chmelar cites a “hydrogen fuel gas composition if formed by a first fuel
constituent of 80 weight % or more of hydrogen gas and 20 weight % of less of another fuel gas or gas
constituent” (Page 6, lines 6-8). Continuing, “the hydrogen fuel gas composition can consist of…pure
hydrogen gas in total” (Page 6 lines 17-18), and “another oxidant gas constituent, preferably oxygen,
can be present in an amount of 20 weight % or less” (Page 6 line 31, Page 7 line 1). It would have been
obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to have used the 80% hydrogen weight % gas in an oxy combustion burner per Chmelar in the
method of the combination, as one would be motivated to do so for the purpose of having a ratio of
heating burner power to a hydrogen fuel gas composition kinetic power that balances out an optimal
weight between the intake of chemical energy per kinetic power of the gas compositions, and provide
for optimal combustion. As well, to prevent overheating of the furnace refractory, as noted by Chmelar
(Page 9, lines 12-16). Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that using hydrogen gas in
place of carbon-based fuels reduces the amount of CO2 produced during combustion. The combination
of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield
predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPGPUB
20200331789A1 (as submitted in the IDS dated 05/15/2024) by Sakurabayashi et. al. (herein
“Sakurabayashi”) and in further view of WO2020229559A1 by Reynolds et. al. (herein “Reynolds”)
and in further view of U.S. Patent 5,743,929 (as submitted in the IDS dated 05/15/2024) by Kapoor et.
al. (herein “Kapoor”) and further view of U.S. Patent 9,611,164 by Jeanvoine et. al. (herein “Jeanvoine”)
and in further review of WO2012150175A1 by Bioul et. al. (herein “Bioul”).
Regarding Claim 10 – Sakurabayashi, Reynolds, Kapoor and Jeanvoine in the rejection of claim
9 above teach all of the limitations of claim 9.
While Jeanvoine teaches pre-heating cullet, Jeanvoine fails to teach wherein,
a maximum temperature of cullet at the cullet pre-heating is 450°C.
In a similar endeavor of melting glass where heat is recovered from burners of an oxy-combustion
element of a furnace to pre-heat raw materials ([0025], Bioul teaches raw materials that include cullet
([0011]. Further, Bioul cites the use of “fumes” to heating vitrifiable material where the heating of the
material is performed in a heat exchanger ([0025]). Continuing, “the temperature of the vitrifiable
charge in the exchange…should not exceed 500°C” ([0028]).
While Bioul teaches the pre-heating of the vitrifiable material is performed in a heat exchanger,
overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having
ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the
portion of Bioul’s temperature range that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05.
Further, while advantageous to bring raw materials (including cullet) to the highest possible
temperature for pre-heating, certain temperatures should not be exceeded in order to not make the
charge “sticky”, as noted by Bioul ([0028]).
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPGPUB
20200331789A1 (as submitted in the IDS dated 05/15/2024) by Sakurabayashi et. al. (herein
“Sakurabayashi”) and in further view of WO2020229559A1 by Reynolds et. al. (herein “Reynolds”)
and in further view of U.S. Patent 5,743,929 (as submitted in the IDS dated 05/15/2024) by Kapoor et.
al. (herein “Kapoor”) and further view of U.S. Patent 9,611,164 by Jeanvoine et. al. (herein “Jeanvoine”).
and in further view of NPL “Raw Materials for the Glass Industry, Chapter 6; Introduction to Industrial
Minerals” Manning (herein “Manning”).
Regarding Claim 11 - Sakurabayashi, Reynolds, Jeanvoine and Kapoor in the rejection of claim 1
above teach all of the limitations of claim 1.
While Sakurabayashi teaches vitrifiable materials, and Reynolds teaches an emerald green glass that is a soda-lime glass (line 517) with cullet, neither teach wherein,
the raw materials comprising less than 25% in weight of carbonate compounds;
In an analogous endeavor of glass raw materials, Manning teaches the portion of carbonate materials in soda-lime glass is approximately 25% (Page 120, Table 6.1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the level of carbonates in the soda-lime glass of Manning in the glass of the combination as a measure of process design and process control. As carbonate materials decompose on heating with the loss of carbon dioxide which results in the batch having to degas as it is heated, the temperatures and the composition used have to be designed to provide an appropriate combination of melt properties, particularly viscosity, to allow the escape of carbon dioxide and any other gases that may be present, as noted by Manning (Page 125, Para. 3).
Claim 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPGPUB
20200331789A1 (as submitted in the IDS dated 05/15/2024) by Sakurabayashi et. al. (herein
“Sakurabayashi”) and in further view of WO2020229559A1 by Reynolds et. al. (herein “Reynolds”)
and in further view of U.S. Patent 5,743,929 (as submitted in the IDS dated 05/15/2024) by Kapoor et.
al. (herein “Kapoor”) and further view of U.S. Patent 9,611,164 by Jeanvoine et. al. (herein “Jeanvoine”).
Regarding Claim 14 - Sakurabayashi teaches a process for melting vitrifiable materials to produce flat glass comprising,
providing a furnace; Fig. 1, element 1 [0023], “ the manufacturing method of this embodiment comprises a glass melting furnace”.
comprising,
at least one main melting tank comprising electrical heating means; Fig. 2, [0032], “In order to directly electrically heat (heat through application of a current) the molten glass Gm to melt the glass raw materials Gr, a plurality of rod-shaped electrodes 11 are mounted to a bottom wall part 10 of the glass melting furnace 1.”
a fining tank; [0025], “The fining chamber 2 is a space for performing a fining step of fining (degassing) the molten glass Gm supplied from the glass melting furnace 1 through the action of a fining agent or the like.”
at least one neck separating the at least one main melting tank and the fining tank; Fig. 1, element 6 [0031], “The molten glass Gm is continuously discharged through the transfer pipe 6.”
inlet mean(s) located at the at least one main melting tank; Fig. 2 element 12 [0034],
“The glass melting furnace 1 comprises a screw feeder 12 serving as a raw material
supply part. “
outlet mean(s) located downstream of the fining tank; Fig. 1 element 7.
charging the vitrifiable materials comprising raw materials and cullet in the at least one melting tank with the inlet mean(s), an amount of cullet being; [0034], [0031] “The screw feeder 12 is configured to continuously supply the glass raw materials (solid raw materials)…”, “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the glass melting furnace 1 is configured to continuously melt glass raw materials (cullet may be included)…”,
melting vitrifiable materials in the at least one melting tank by heating with electrical means; [0032], “In order to directly electrically heat (heat through application of a current) the molten glass Gm to melt the glass raw materials Gr, a plurality of rod-shaped electrodes 11 are mounted to a bottom wall part 10 of the glass melting furnace 1 under the state in which the plurality of electrodes 11 are immersed in the molten glass Gm. In this embodiment, heating means other than the electrode 11 is not mounted to the glass melting furnace 1, and the glass raw materials Gr are melted only by electric heating (electric energy) with the electrode 11 (full electric melting).”
fining the melt in the fining tank; Fig.1 element 2 [0025], “The fining chamber 2 is a space for performing a fining step of fining (degassing) the molten glass Gm supplied from the glass melting furnace 1 through the action of a fining agent or the like.”
flowing the melt from the fining tank to a working zone through
While Sakurabayashi teaches fining the melt in the fining tank, Sakurabayashi fails to teach,
a fining tank provided with oxy-combustion heating means;
fining the melt in the fining tank by heating with the oxy-combustion heating means alimented with gas and/or hydrogen.
In a similar endeavor of melting glass using electrical heating means in the melting tank (elements 9 and 91 Fig. 1), Reynolds teaches the use of a fining tank with burners(length of element C, in combustion area 3, burner 7 of Fig. 1). “From the entry to the exit, the furnace superstructure includes two main sections, a heat recovery section 2 followed by a combustion section 3 divided into two zones 31 and 32 provided with burners 6, 7. An inlet 16 is provided upstream of the furnace for charging it with batch raw materials and a downstream outlet 14 for discharging refined glass is located at the combustion section 3.”, (lines 422-425). Further, the burner is an oxy-gas combustion burner, ““Burners in first combustion zone are oxy-combustion type or aero- combustion type…Oxy-combustion with gas and oxygen preheating”, (lines 282, 286); Burners in last combustion zone (zone 7) operated at relatively low power and are aero-combustion type, with cold or hot air, or oxy-combustion type with or without gas preheating”, (lines 276-277). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the oxy-gas burners located in the fining section of Reynolds in the process of Sakurabayashi, one being motivated to do so for the purpose of balancing heat inputs, wherein heat inputs of electrodes and burners is balanced seamlessly along furnace operation according to variation of fuel and electricity costs to minimize furnace production cost while limiting carbon dioxide emissions from combustion, as noted by Reynolds (lines 229-231).
While Sakurabayashi teaches vitrifiable materials that contain cullet, Sakurabayashi fails to teach,
an amount of cullet being at least 10% in weight of a total amount of vitrifiable materials.
Reynolds further teaches an embodiment where the cullet is between 50%-70% for an emerald green glass (line 710). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the cullet in the raw materials, as is commonly known in the art, to decrease the energy needed for melting the batch materials. Further, to also increase the pull rate of the melting operation, as noted by Reynolds (line 710-711).
While Sakurabayashi teaches the use of electrodes for heating, Sakurabayashi fails to teach,
an electrical input fraction for melting and fining ranges from 50% to 85%;
Reynolds further teaches heat input of the electrodes may cover 20% to 80% of total furnace heat inputs (line 235). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the flexible range of electrical input fraction of Reynolds in the method of Sakurabayashi, as one would be motivated to do so for the purpose of operating the glass furnace wherein heat inputs of electrodes and burners is balanced seamlessly along furnace operation according to variation of fuel and electricity costs to minimize furnace production cost while limiting carbon dioxide emissions from combustion, as noted by Reynolds (lines 228-231). Further, overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the portion of Reynolds electrical input fraction range that corresponds to the claimed range. MPEP 2144.05.
While Sakurabayashi teaches a duct to exhaust to discharge atmosphere in the furnace to the outside ([0036], and Reynolds teaches a discharge opening for flue gas provided upstream (in the fining section) (line 27) to recover flue gas for heat recovery, neither (the combination) teach specifically,
capturing CO2 from flue gas;
said flue gas having a CO2 concentration of at least 35%;
the capturing CO2 from flue gas comprises compression and/or
dehydration.
In a similar endeavor of melting glass where oxy-fuel combustion burners reside in the fining portion, Kapoor teaches a method of capturing flue gases in an oxy fuel fired glass melting furnace that contains hot carbon dioxide rich furnace waste gas which is then treated to remove NOx and SOx to produce pure carbon dioxide as a bi-product of the process. (Col 2 lines 21-31). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to deploy the method of Kapoor to the process of the combination, as one would be motivated to do so for the purposes of efficiently removing NOx, SOx ,and particulates to levels set by the Environmental Protection Agency while at the same time producing carbon dioxide which meets food grade standards, as noted by Kapoor (Col 2, lines 10-19).
Further, Kapoor cites the advantage of using oxygen or oxygen-enriched air in glassmaking furnaces as an opportunity to produce high purity carbon dioxide from the furnace exhaust gas as when oxygen-enriched air or substantially pure oxygen is used as the oxidant, the exhaust gas usually contains about 30 to 50% carbon dioxide. Having a level of carbon dioxide in exhaust gas is known to one skilled in the art in the industry and would be inherent to the melting process. See MPEP 2112.01.
Further, Kapoor cites, as part of the purification process of the waste gas, that quench liquid containing carbonate is introduced to the waste gas in line 10 and reacts/contacts with the waste gas (Col 6 lines 62-67). Upon contact with the waste gas, the water in the quench liquid stream evaporates (dehydration) (Col 7 lines 1-2) before moving through filtration system B. Continuing, Kapoor teaches that after gas filtration in system B, the gas moves to scrubber C, where an aqueous carbonate solution enters, allows the waste gas to react with the carbonate, and then is cooled, where most of the moisture is condensed out (dehydration) of the gas (Col 7 lines 13-24); any aqueous solution remaining in scrubber C is discharged. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the evaporation process in the gas waste stream purification process of Kapoor for the discharged gases of the combination, one being motivated to do so to prevent wetting of the filter equipment in element B, and for removing most of the water formed in the furnace due to combustion, as noted by Kapoor (Col 6 lines 58-61, Col 7 lines 40-44). As well, Kapoor further cites the use of feed compression in a conventional liquid carbon dioxide plant, E (Col 5 lines 37-40) . One skilled in the art would know that using compression in the process of making purified liquid CO2 is inherent. See MPEP 2112.01.
While Sakurabayashi teaches a main melting tank and fining tank to continuously supply glass raw materials and perform continuous melting ([0033], [0034]) , Sakurabayashi fails to teach
at least one auxiliary melting tank.
pre-melting at least a part of the cullet in an auxiliary melting tank and flowing the
pre-melted cullet to the at least one melting tank.
In similar endeavor of a melting process comprising a main furnace with electrodes and burners, with
main batch materials fed to generate molten glass, Jeanvoine cites the use of a “submerged-
combustion auxiliary furnace, said auxiliary furnace being fed with auxiliary batch materials, the auxiliary
molten glass feeding the main furnace toward its upstream end in the first third of its length” (Col 2 lines
36-43). In regard to the main furnace and the auxiliary furnace, “they are generally supplied with
conventional batch materials that are in the form of a powder, and where appropriate, partially as
cullet”, (Col 6 lines 1-3). The auxiliary furnace has raw materials that contain cullet, and the raw
materials when molten are fed to the main furnace. Hence, the cullet is pre-melted and fed to the main
furnace. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to pre-melt the cullet in the auxiliary tank and flow the pre-melted
cullet (raw materials) of Jeanvoine, and add this equipment and process to the process of the
combination, as one would be motivated to do so for the purposes of providing a larger quantity of glass
to the main furnace for a short period of time to meet demand, as noted by Jeanvoine (Col 2 lines 44-
67).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER PAUL DAIGLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741