DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2019/0273393) in view of Winter et al. (US 2023/0291206)
Re Claim 1; Chen discloses a power management system (EMS 1500, fig. 15) comprising:
an electrical panel (1510, 1512) including a plurality of circuits (shown but not label), each circuit being associated with an electrical load (1530); (Fig. 15)
a first electrical power input (1522) electrically connected to the electrical panel (1512, 1510), wherein the electrical panel is configured to direct electrical power from the first electrical power input (1522) to one or more of the circuits (Fig. 15,);
a power backup interface (output from 1508) configured to receive power from a second electrical power input (1502);
a power storage mechanism (1506) configured to receive power from the power backup interface and to store power in one or more power storage cells; (Par 0085)
an inverter (1508) electrically connected to the power storage mechanism (1506) and the electrical panel (1512, 1510);
a control circuit (1516,1518) configured to selectively control a state of each circuit of the electrical panel based on at least one configuration characteristic (Based on the voltage and current measured, par 0092); and
a computing device (1528) configured to: receive at least one input (receive input from 1520); generate at least one configuration characteristic (voltage and current threshold) based on the at least one input; and configure the control circuit using the at least one configuration characteristic. (Par 0092-4)
Chen does not disclose receive, at a user interface, at least one input, wherein the user interface includes a force-ranked priority of loads associated with each circuit of the electrical panel;
wherein the user interface includes, for each circuit, a visual aspect indicating whether each circuit belongs to a circuit group and wherein the interface is configured to allow control of individual circuit or, for circuits belonging to a circuit group as a group of circuit
However, Winter discloses receive, at a user interface, at least one input, wherein the user interface includes a force-ranked priority of loads associated with each circuit of the electrical panel; (Par 0049).
wherein the user interface includes, for each circuit (L1, L2 inverter etc), a visual aspect indicating whether each circuit belongs to a circuit group and wherein the interface is configured to allow control of individual circuit or, for circuits belonging to a circuit group as a group of circuit (Fig. 11, Par 0060)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have added the user control as shown by Winter to the device of Chen in order to pick and choose the load required by the user to make the home more comfortable.
Re Claim 2; Chen discloses wherein the first electrical power input is associated with an electrical grid (20). (Fig. 15)
Re Claim 3; Chen discloses wherein the second electrical power input is associated with at least one renewable energy source (1502) (Fig. 15).
Re Claim 4; Chen discloses wherein the at least one renewable energy source includes at least one of a solar energy source and a wind energy source. (Fig. 1)
Re Claim 5; Chen discloses wherein the power storage mechanism includes a battery comprising the in one or more power storage cells. (Fig. 15)
Re Claim 7; Chen discloses wherein the control circuit, having been configured using the at least one configuration characteristic, determines whether the electrical power from the first electrical power input at the electrical panel is less than a threshold. (Par 0092, 5)
Re Claim 8; Chen discloses wherein, in response to a determination that the electrical power from the first electrical power input at the electrical panel is less than the threshold, the control circuit, having been configured using the at least one configuration characteristic, selectively change a state of at least one circuit of the electrical panel from a first state to a second state. (Par 0085, 0092, 5)
Re Claim 9; Chen discloses wherein the inverter converts power from the power storage mechanism and provides the converted power to the electrical panel. (Fig. 15)
Re Claim 10; Chen discloses wherein, in response to a determination that the electrical power from the first electrical power input at the electrical panel is less than the threshold, the control circuit, having been configured using the at least one configuration characteristic, receives an instruction, via the computing device, to change a state of at least one circuit of the electrical panel from a first state to a second state. (Par 0085, 0092, 5)
Re Claim 12; Chen discloses A power management apparatus comprising (EMS 1500, Fig. 15):
a control circuit (not shown but implicit) associated with an inverter (1508), the control circuit being electrically connected to an electrical panel (1512, 1510);
a first electrical power input (1522) electrically connected to the electrical panel (1510, 1512), wherein the electrical panel is configured to direct electrical power from the first electrical power input to one or more circuits of the electrical panel; (Fig. 15)
a power backup interface (input from 1508) configured to receive power from a second electrical power input (1502); and
a power storage mechanism (1506) configured to receive power from the power backup interface and to store power in one or more power storage cells, (Par 0085)
wherein, in response to a determination that the electrical power from the first electrical power input at the electrical panel is less than a threshold, the control circuit, having been configured using at least one configuration characteristic, selectively controls a state of at least one circuit of the one or more circuits of the electrical panel and selectively directs power, received from the power storage mechanism and converted by the inverter, to the electrical panel. (Par 85, 0092-4)
Chen does not disclose receive, at a user interface, at least one input, wherein the user interface includes a force-ranked priority of loads associated with each circuit of the electrical panel;
wherein the user interface includes, for each circuit (L1, L2 inverter etc), a visual aspect indicating whether each circuit belongs to a circuit group and wherein the interface is configured to allow control of individual circuit or, for circuits belonging to a circuit group as a group of circuit
However, Winter discloses receive, at a user interface, at least one input, wherein the user interface includes a force-ranked priority of loads associated with each circuit of the electrical panel; (Par 0049).
wherein the user interface includes, for each circuit (L1, L2 inverter etc), a visual aspect indicating whether each circuit belongs to a circuit group and wherein the interface is configured to allow control of individual circuit or, for circuits belonging to a circuit group as a group of circuit (Fig. 11, Par 0060)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have added the user control as shown by Winter to the device of Chen in order to pick and choose the load required by the user to make the home more comfortable.
Re Claim 13; Chen discloses wherein the first electrical power input is associated with an electrical grid (20). (Fig. 15)
Re Claim 14; Chen discloses wherein the second electrical power input is associated with at least one renewable energy source. (Fig. 15)
Re Claim 15; Chen discloses wherein the at least one renewable energy source includes at least one of a solar energy source and a wind energy source. (Fig. 1)
Re Claim 16; Chen discloses wherein the power storage mechanism includes a battery comprising the in one or more power storage cells. (Fig. 15)
Re Claim 6 and 17 Chen discloses wherein the power storage mechanism includes a battery bank
Chen does not disclose comprising a plurality of batteries, and wherein the one or more power storage cells are associated with at least some of the plurality of batteries.
However, a a plurality of batteries, and wherein the one or more power storage cells are associated with at least some of the plurality of batteries was known and it would have been obvious to have had such battery arrangement in order to store adequate amount of power required by the load to operate effectively.
Re Claim 11 and 18; Chen discloses a power management method comprising: at least one input; generating at least one configuration characteristic based on the at least one input; configuring a control circuit using the at least one configuration characteristic, wherein the control circuit is associated with an inverter; and in response to a determination that electrical power from a first electrical power input at an electrical panel is less than a threshold, using the control circuit: selectively controlling a state of at least one circuit of the electrical panel; and selectively directing power, received from a power storage mechanism and converted by the inverter, to the electrical panel, wherein the power storage mechanism receives electrical power from a second electrical power input. (See the rejection above)
Chen does not disclose receiving, at a user interface,
However, integrating user input into a power management system empowers users to customize and optimize their device's energy usage. This ultimately leads to improved battery life, a more personalized user experience, and a potential reduction in overall energy consumption and it would have been obvious to have done that motivated by the desire of the benefit listed.
Chen does not disclose receive, at a user interface, at least one input, wherein the user interface includes a force-ranked priority of loads associated with each circuit of the electrical panel;
wherein the user interface includes, for each circuit, a visual aspect indicating whether each circuit belongs to a circuit group and wherein the interface is configured to allow control of individual circuit or, for circuits belonging to a circuit group as a group of circuit
However, Winter discloses receive, at a user interface, at least one input, wherein the user interface includes a force-ranked priority of loads associated with each circuit of the electrical panel; (Par 0049).
wherein the user interface includes, for each circuit (L1, L2 inverter etc), a visual aspect indicating whether each circuit belongs to a circuit group and wherein the interface is configured to allow control of individual circuit or, for circuits belonging to a circuit group as a group of circuit
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have added the user control as shown by Winter to the device of Chen in order to pick and choose the load required by the user to make the home more comfortable.
Re Claim 19; Chen discloses wherein the first electrical power input is associated with an electrical grid. (Fig. 15)
Re Claim 20; Chen discloses wherein the second electrical power input is associated with at least one renewable energy source. (Fig. 15).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that neither Chen (US 2019/0237309) nor Winter (US 2023/0291206) teaches or suggests the amended features of claim 1, particularly the user interface configured to display a force‑ranked priority of loads for each circuit, a visual aspect indicating circuit group membership, and the ability to control circuits individually or as a group.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Chen discloses a smart electrical panel system that receives user inputs through a graphical interface to monitor and control loads associated with individual circuits. Paragraphs [0042]–[0048] describe a hierarchical load management interface that allows prioritization of circuits based on user‑defined parameters such as energy consumption or criticality. Although Chen may not use the exact phrase “force‑ranked priority,” the disclosure of ranking or ordering loads according to importance inherently teaches prioritization. The system’s interface enables users to view and adjust circuit parameters, which reasonably suggests a ranked or ordered display of load priorities.
Thus, Chen teaches the concept of receiving user input at an interface that associates each circuit with a priority level, satisfying the “force‑ranked priority” limitation in substance.
Winter describes a graphical controller 30 with a slider control 36 for assigning load priority or operating mode to each load or load group (¶ [0049]). The slider visually represents the relative priority or operational state of each load, which directly corresponds to a “visual aspect indicating whether each circuit belongs to a circuit group.” Winter further explains that the controller can operate manually or automatically, updating the display to show the current mode or status. This implies that circuits (or loads) can be controlled individually or collectively as a group, depending on the configuration.
Therefore, Winter teaches the visual and group‑control aspects of the amended claim 1.
Combination Rationale
When Chen’s hierarchical load management interface is combined with Winter’s slider‑based graphical controller, the resulting system would have a user interface capable of:
Receiving user input for load control, Displaying ranked priorities for circuits, indicating circuit group membership visually, and Allowing control of circuits individually or as a group.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve user experience and operational flexibility in smart electrical panels. Both references address efficient load management and user‑friendly control interfaces, making the combination logical and predictable.
Dependent Claims
Claims 2–11 and 13–17 depend from claims 1 and 12, respectively. Since the parent claims are rendered obvious by the combination of Chen and Winter, the dependent claims are likewise unpatentable. The additional limitations merely refine the interface or control logic already taught or suggested by the references.
Conclusion
/DANIEL KESSIE/
07/13/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836