DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 12-16 and 19-20 have been cancelled; and claims 2, 6-7, and 21 have been amended, as requested in the preliminary amendment filed on 11/26/2024. Following the amendment, claims 1-11, 17-18, and 21-24 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-11, 17-18, and 21-24 are under examination in the instant office action.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Furthermore, it is noted that the certified copy of the foreign priority document is in English, and as such the claim to foreign priority has been perfected.
Claims 1-11, 17-18, and 21-24 have an effective filing date of November 10, 2021 corresponding to EP21207536.0.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 05/09/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein struckthrough has not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite “aminoacids”, but should read “amino acids”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite “that binds or reactively associates or make a complex with a receptor”, but should read “that binds or reactively associates or makes a complex with a receptor”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10-11, 17-18, 21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a WRITTEN DESCRIPTION rejection.
The claims are generally drawn to genera of anthracycline derivatives, anthracycline-linker reagents, and ADCs thereof, generally useful in the treatment of cancer, wherein generally, the anthracycline of the invention Ant corresponds to formula (II):
wherein X is O or NH and A is a heterocycle (Het) or carbocycle (Cb) selected from the group consisting of (IIIa)-(IIIe):
wherein R is independently H or a straight or branched C1-C6 alkyl and wherein n is an integer from 0 to 6. It is further noted that L is a linker of formula (VI), corresponding to W-PE-RM, wherein W is independently null or a self-immolative system selected from (Va)-(Vc):
wherein R1 and R2 are each independently H, a halogen, methyl, ethyl, or straight or branched C1-C4 hydroxyalkyl; PE is independently null or a dipeptidic or tripeptidic moiety consisting of any combination of natural L-amino acids and unnatural D-amino acids; and RM is a reactive moiety selected from the group consisting of (VIa)-(VIc):
wherein R3 and R4 are each independently H, a halogen, methyl, ethyl, straight or branched C1-C4 hydroxyalkyl, straight or branched C1-C4 haloalkyl, or R3 and R4 taken together form a 3- to 6-membered carbocycle; R5 is H, C1-C3 alkyl, or an electron-withdrawing group comprising NO2 or a CN group; and wherein r is an integer from 0 to 7.
Thus, the claims identify the products of the invention (i.e., anthracycline derivatives, anthracycline-linker reagents, and ADCs thereof) by the generic structures, and their subsequent combinations, as provided above. Thus, the claims encompass a vast genus of anthracycline derivatives, anthracycline-linker reagents, and ADCs thereof comprising variable structural groups/elements.
The instant specification discloses the full structures of 16 anthracycline-linker reagents, and subsequently 16 ADCs thereof, wherein said anthracycline-linker reagents/ADCs comprise 8 anthracycline derivatives (see Pages 14-20). Thus, the instant specification discloses making 16 anthracycline-linker reagents, and subsequently 16 ADCs thereof, wherein said anthracycline-linker reagents/ADCs comprise 8 anthracycline derivatives and describes the complete structures of said anthracycline-linker reagents/ADCs and anthracycline derivatives. Notably, all of the disclosed structures comprise:
A that is a heterocyclic or carbocyclic group selected from (IIIa)-(IIIc);
L that (i) comprises W, wherein W is of (Va), (ii) comprises PE, wherein PE is a dipeptide and wherein the dipeptides are Valine-Citrulline or Valine-Alanine, and (iii) comprises RM, wherein RM is of (VIa).
The specification fails to disclose any other structures comprising: A that is (IIId) or (IIIe), L wherein W and/or PE are null, L wherein W is (Vb) or (Vc), L wherein PE is a tripeptide, nor L wherein RM is (VIb) or (VIc).
To provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of the claimed anthracycline derivative, anthracycline-linker reagent, and ADC genera, the instant specification can structurally describe representative structural variants that still function to, for example, treat cancer, or describe structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus. Alternatively, the specification can show that the claimed invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics (see University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and Enzo Biochem, Inc. V. Gen-Probe Inc.).
In this case, the only factor present in the claims is a recitation of the partial structure(s) as provided above. The instant specification fails to describe structural features common to the members of the genera, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus because the instant specification fails to disclose representative structural variants comprising certain claimed structural elements that still retain their function. Other than for the structures provided at Pages 14-23 of the instant specification, the specification fails to provide the exemplary species comprising: A that is (IIId) or (IIIe), L wherein W and/or PE are null, L wherein W is (Vb) or (Vc), L wherein PE is a tripeptide, nor L wherein RM is (VIb) or (VIc) that still retain their function. The instant specification fails to describe a representative number of structural variants for the anthracycline derivative, anthracycline-linker reagent, and ADC genera that retain their function. Accordingly, in the absence of sufficient recitation of distinguishing identifying characteristics, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed structural elements, and their subsequent combinations, required to make the claimed anthracycline derivatives, anthracycline-linker reagents, and ADCs.
Although Applicants may argue that it is possible to screen for anthracycline derivatives, anthracycline-linker reagents, and ADCs that retain their function, for example in treating cancer, the court found in (Rochester v. Searle, 358 F.3d 916, Fed Cir., 2004) that screening assays are not sufficient to provide adequate written description for an invention because they are merely a wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention. “As we held in Lilly, “[a]n adequate written description of a DNA … ‘requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties,’ not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention.” 119 F.3d at 1566 (quoting Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1171). For reasons stated above, that requirement applies just as well to non-DNA (or RNA) chemical inventions.” Knowledge of screening methods provides no information about the structure of any future anthracycline derivatives, anthracycline-linker reagents, and ADCs yet to be discovered that may function as claimed.
Given the lack of representative examples to support the full scope of the anthracycline derivative, anthracycline-linker reagent, and ADC genera, the present claims lack adequate written description.
Claims 1, 6, 8, 10-11, 17-18, and 21-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “A is a heterocycle (Het) or carbocycle (Cb) selected from the group consisting of (IIIa)-(IIIe)…”. It is specifically noted that at Page 5 of the instant specification, the term “heterocyclyl” is defined as referring “to a saturated or unsaturated non-aromatic 5- to 7- membered carbocyclic ring, wherein 1 to 3 carbon atoms are replaced by heteroatoms selected from nitrogen, oxygen and sulfur, wherein said heteroatoms may be directly connected to each other, nitrogen and sulfur may optionally be oxidized, nitrogen may optionally be quaternized or bring a substituent” (emphasis added). As such, the general definition of a heterocyclic group renders claim 1 indefinite because it becomes unclear as to how many additional heteroatoms are/can be included, what those heteroatoms may be, and what heteroatoms may or may not be oxidized, quaternized, or comprise a substituent; the definition provides additional compounding limitations that render the metes and bounds of the claim ambiguous. Claims 1, 6, 8, 10-11, 17-18, 21, and 24 are included in this rejection as they all depend from and/or incorporate claim 1.
Further regarding claim 2, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. It is unclear if the limitation following the recitation of “preferably” is intended as merely being exemplary, or if the limitation following the recitation of “preferably” is a required feature of the claim. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 21, the claim recites the product of claim 1 (i.e., anthracycline -linker reagent), wherein said product is used as an intermediate for the preparation of antibody-drug conjugate compounds of Formula (Ia). Thus, claim 21 is a product claim further reciting a use of said product; as such, it is unclear if the claim is intended to claim a product or a method, and therefore the scope of the claimed invention is unclear. For the purposes of examination, claim 21 is being interpreted as a product claim.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, it is noted that: (i) claim 22 recites “[a]n anthracycline derivative of formula (II)…”, however claim 22 does not recite a structure corresponding to formula (II), nor does the claim reference a previous claim wherein the structure of formula (II) is defined; and (ii) claim 23 depends from claim 22, and further recites “the preparation of anthracycline-linker reagent compounds of formula (I)”, however claim 23 does not recite a structure corresponding to formula (I), nor does the claim reference a previous claim wherein the structure of formula (I) is defined As such, the claims make reference to structure(s) that are undefined, rendering the claims indefinite.
Further regarding claim 23, the claim recites the product of claim 22 (i.e., anthracycline derivative), wherein said product is used for preparing anthracycline-linker reagent compounds. Thus, claim 23 is a product claim further reciting a use of said product; as such, it is unclear if the claim is intended to claim a product or a method, and therefore the scope of the claimed invention is unclear. For the purposes of examination, claim 23 is being interpreted as a product claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 17-18, and 51-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over each of:
US 8,900,589;
US 8,389,697; and
US 9,695,240.
It is specifically noted that US 8,389,697 and US 9,695,240 are a continuation and a divisional, respectively, of US 8,900,589. As such, all three of the above-listed patents have the same disclosure. For the rejection below, US 8,900,589 (herein after referred to as “Beria”) is being used.
Beria teaches conjugates of therapeutically useful anthracyclines with carriers such as polyclonal and monoclonal antibodies, proteins or peptides of natural or synthetic origin; methods for their preparation, pharmaceutical composition containing them and use thereof in treating certain mammalian tumors (Abstract). A first aspect of the invention relates to conjugates of an anthracycline derivative of the formula (I): [Ant-L-Z]m-T wherein Ant is an anthracycline derivative residue, L is a linker, Z is a spacer, m is an integer from 1 to 30, and T is a carrier such as a protein, peptide, monoclonal or polyclonal antibody or a chemically modified derivative thereof suitable to be attached to the [Ant-L-Z-] moiety or moieties, or a polymeric carrier (Column 22, Lines 57-64; see Column 4, Lines 55-64 for component definitions). Preferably, the anthracycline derivative residue that Ant represents can be released to give an anthracycline derivative of formula (IIA), as reproduced below (Columns 22-23):
It is specifically noted that the above anthracycline derivative corresponds to Ant of the instant claims, absent A of the instantly claimed Ant structure, wherein X is O. In an exemplary embodiment, Beria provides an anthracycline derivative conjugate or a pharmaceutically
salt thereof of the formula (Ia), as reproduced below:
wherein R1 is H, a hydroxy, or a methoxy group; R2 is a C1-C5 alkoxy group , m is an integer from 1 to 30, T is a carrier such as a protein, peptide, monoclonal or polyclonal antibody or a chemically modified derivative thereof suitable to be attached to the [Ant-L-Z-] moiety or moieties, or a polymeric carrier, and L1 is a linker of formula (III) or (IV):
wherein B is a C1-C6 alkylene moiety optionally interrupted, and v, j, k, and y are independently 0 or 1 (Column 23, Lines 21-67; see Columns 4-5 for component definitions except L1). It is specifically noted that, in the instance provided above, the anthracycline derivative residue which Ant represents is tether to the linker L1 through an acetalic bond that involves the primary alcohol at the C-14 of the anthracycline skeleton (Column 24, Lines 1-4). The invention further provides drug-linker intermediates, including anthracycline derivatives of formula (IIc):
Ant-L-(Z)m-X wherein Ant is selected from the following:
wherein the wavy line indicates the attachment of L; L is a linker selected from -N(R)-,
-N(R)m(C1-C12 alkylene)-, -N(R)m(C2-C8 alkenylene)-, -N(R)m(C2-C8 alkynylene)-,
-N(R)m(CH2CH2O)n-, and the below listed structures:
wherein the wavy lines indicate the attachments to Ant and Z; and further wherein Z is an optional spacer selected from -CH2C(O)-, -CH2C(O)NR(C1-C12 alkylene)-, and the below listed structures:
wherein X is a reactive functional group selected from maleimide, thiol, amino, bromide, p-toluenesulfonate, iodide, hydroxyl, carboxyl, pyridyl disulfide, and N-hydroxysuccinimide;
R is H, C1-C12 alkyl, or C6-C20 aryl; R1 and R2 are independently selected from an amino acid side chain; Z1 is selected from -(C1-C12 alkylene)-, -(C2-C8 alkenylene)-, -(C2-C8 alkynylene)-, and -(CH2CH2O)n-, m is 0 or 1; and n is 1 to 6 (Columns 31-33). An exemplary drug-linker intermediate embodiment of formula (IIc) comprising an anthracycline drug moiety and a linker-spacer unit includes compound 55, as reproduced below (Column 38):
It is specifically noted that the anthracycline-linker intermediate above comprises groups corresponding to the instantly claimed A group and L, wherein A is a heterocycle group of instant formula (IIIa) and L is a linker of instant formula (VI) wherein W is that of instant formula (Va) wherein R1 and R2 are each H, PE is a dipeptide of citrulline and valine, and RM is of instant formula (VIa) wherein r is an integer of 5. An exemplary synthetic route from PNU-
159682 C-14 carboxyl derivative 56 and linker-spacer intermediate 60 is provided in Figure 7d, as reproduced below:
An exemplary antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) provided by the invention includes that reproduced below:
wherein D is a drug unit (i.e., anthracycline drug unit) and p is an integer from 1 to 8 (Columns 80-81). It is further noted that Beria teaches an anthracycline derivative intermediate corresponding to compound 57, as reproduced below, in Example 3c (Columns 121-122):
Beria teaches that in one embodiment, the ADCs of the invention specifically bind to a receptor encoded by an ErbB gene (e.g., EGFR, HER2, HER3 and HER4) and in some embodiments the ADC may specifically bind to the extracellular domain of the HER2 receptor and the antibody (Ab) of formula (IIc) is a humanized antibody such as huMAb4D5-8 (i.e., trastuzumab) (Columns 43-44). Additionally, Beria teaches that drug loading of ADCs may range from 1 to 8 drugs (D) per antibody (Ab); the average number of drugs per antibody in preparations of ADC from conjugation reactions may be characterized by conventional means such as mass spectroscopy, ELISA assay, electrophoresis, and HPLC and wherein the quantitative distribution of ADC in terms of p may also be determined (Column 84, Lines 1-9). It is specifically noted that Table 2 at Columns 86-87 provides exemplary ADCs comprising anthracycline derivates as the drug, wherein the average drug/antibody ratio (DAR) is further provided; the average DARs of anthracycline derivative-containing ADCs, including ADCs comprising trastuzumab (i.e., “Tr”), are 2.18, 2.4, 1.25, 1.6, 2.57, 2.43, 1.43, 2.13 and 1.65. Beria further teaches that ADCs of the invention are useful as antitumor agents; a mammal (e.g., a human or animal) may therefore be treated by a method comprising administering thereto a pharmaceutically effective amount of a conjugate of the invention (Column 105, Lines 28-32). The ADCs may be used to treat various diseases or disorders in a patient, such as cancer and autoimmune conditions including those characterized by the overexpression of a tumor-associated antigen (Column 105, Lines 34-37). Exemplary cancers to be treated include those listed at Column 106, Lines 7-23; for example, some cancers to be treated include carcinoma, lymphoma, blastoma, sarcoma, and leukemia or lymphoid malignancies, wherein some particular examples include endometrial or uterine carcinoma, hepatic carcinoma, anal carcinoma, penile carcinoma, adenocarcinoma of the lung and squamous carcinoma of the lung, and thyroid cancer. Beria further teaches that ADCs may be formulated as pharmaceutical compositions with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or diluent, wherein any appropriate carrier or diluent may be used (Column 102, Lines 51-53). ADCs may be combined in a pharmaceutical combination formulation, or dosing regimen as combination therapy, with a second compound having anti-cancer properties; the second compound may be a chemotherapeutic agent, cytotoxic agent, cytokine, growth inhibitory agent, anti-hormonal agent, aromatase inhibitor, protein kinase inhibitor, lipid kinase inhibitor, anti-androgen, antisense oligonucleotide, ribozyme, gene therapy vaccine, anti-angiogenic agent and/or cardioprotectant (Column 106, Lines 48-60).
However, it is noted that the exemplary structural embodiments above utilize PNU-159682 C-14 carboxyl derivative compound 56, wherein the -OH used for conjugation to a linker is attached to the carbonyl carbon. It is specifically noted that Beria also teaches that PNU-159682 has been shown to be remarkably more cytotoxic than nemorubicin and doxorubicin in vitro, and was effective in vivo tumor models, wherein PNU-159682 is named as 3'-deamino-3",4'-anhydro-[2"(S)-methoxy-3"(R)-oxy-4"-morpholinyl]doxorubicin, and has the structure reproduced below (Column 4, Lines 1-32):
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to substitute exemplary starting compound 56 of Beria with PNU-159682, wherein such a substitution would yield the below listed structures:
One would have been motivated to make such a substitution to arrive at the above-listed structures because Beria teaches that PNU-159682 has been shown to be remarkably more cytotoxic than nemorubicin and doxorubicin in vitro, and was effective in vivo tumor models; thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute compound 56 of Beria with PNU-159682 (i.e., substitute one anthracycline for another) because such a substitution would have reasonably been expected to yield compounds useful in making ADCs wherein said compounds and ADCs thereof would reasonably be expected to be useful in the treatment of, for example, cancer wherein the efficacy of anthracyclines, including those with structures of Beria compound 56 and PNU-159682, are established as well as their use in ADCs and synthetic approaches associated therewith.
Additionally, specifically with regard to instant claims 21 and 23, it is noted that the recited uses of the claimed products do not result in a structural difference between the instantly claimed products and the products rendered obvious by Beria, and as such claims 21 and 23 are also rendered obvious by Beria.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11, 17-18, and 51-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-12, 15, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 8,900,589 (herein after referred to as “first reference patent”) in view of each of:
US 8,900,589;
US 8,389,697; and
US 9,695,240.
It is specifically noted that US 8,389,697 and US 9,695,240 are a continuation and a divisional, respectively, of US 8,900,589. As such, all three of the above-listed patents have the same disclosure. The teachings of the disclosure of US 8,900,589 (herein after referred to as “Beria”) are provided in the 103 section above.
First reference patent claim 1 is drawn to an antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) compound comprising an antibody covalently attached by a linker L and an optional spacer Z to one or more anthracycline derivative drug moieties D, the compound having the formula
(D-L-(Z)m)p-Ab or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein:
n is 1 to 6; p is an integer from 1 to 8; and wherein Ab is an antibody which binds to one or more tumor-associated antigens or cell-surface receptors selected from (1)-(36), wherein it is specifically noted that (17) is HER2 (ErbB2). First reference patent claim 2 further limits the ADC of claim 1, wherein R1 and R2 are each independently selected from a list of structures, wherein it is specifically noted that said list of structures include isopropyl (side chain of amino acid valine) and -(CH2)3NHCONH2 (side chain of amino acid citrulline). First reference patent claims 3-4 further limit the ADC of claim 1 wherein, respectively: (i) spacer Z comprising a para-aminobencyloxycarbonyl (PAB) group; and (ii) the linker-spacer unit L-Z comprises a meleimidocaproyl (MC) group. First reference patent claim 5 further limits the ADC of claim 4 wherein Z comprises a valine-citrulline (vc) group. First reference patent claims 7-9 further limit the ADC of claim 1 wherein, respectively: (i) the Ab is trastuzumab; (ii) p is 1, 2, 3, or 4; (iii) the ADC comprises a mixture of the antibody-drug conjugate compounds, wherein the average drug loading per antibody in the mixture of antibody-drug conjugate compounds is about 2 to about 5. First reference patent claim 10 further limits claim 9 wherein the average drug loading per antibody in the mixture of antibody-drug conjugate compounds is about 3 to about 4. First reference patent claims 11-12 are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising the ADC of claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent, carrier, or excipient, wherein the pharmaceutical composition may further comprise a therapeutically effective amount of a chemotherapeutic agent. First reference patent claim 15 further limits the ADC of claim 1, wherein the antibody binds to HER2. First reference patent claim 18 further limits the ADC of claim 1 wherein the ADC has the following structure:
However, it is noted that the first reference patent does not specifically claim anthracycline reagents, ADCs, and/or anthracycline derivatives thereof corresponding to PNU-159682 (i.e., anthracycline-based compounds wherein anthracycline is of instant formula (II)). These deficiencies are remedied by the teachings of Beria, as provided in the 103 section above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to substitute the anthracycline of the first reference patent with PNU-159682, taught by Beria, wherein such a substitution would yield the below listed structures:
One would have been motivated to make such a substitution to arrive at the above-listed structures because Beria teaches that PNU-159682 has been shown to be remarkably more cytotoxic than nemorubicin and doxorubicin in vitro, and was effective in vivo tumor models; thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the anthracycline compound used by the first reference patent with PNU-159682 taught by Beria (i.e., substitute one anthracycline for another) because such a substitution would have reasonably been expected to yield compounds useful in making ADCs wherein said compounds and ADCs thereof would reasonably be expected to be useful in the treatment of, for example, cancer wherein the efficacy of anthracyclines, including those with structures of the first reference patent and PNU-159682, are established as well as their use in ADCs and synthetic approaches associated therewith.
Claims 1-11, 17-18, and 51-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-9, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 8,389,697 (herein after referred to as “second reference patent”) in view of each of:
US 8,900,589;
US 8,389,697; and
US 9,695,240.
It is specifically noted that US 8,389,697 and US 9,695,240 are a continuation and a divisional, respectively, of US 8,900,589. As such, all three of the above-listed patents have the same disclosure. The teachings of the disclosure of US 8,900,589 (herein after referred to as “Beria”) are provided in the 103 section above.
Second reference patent claim 1 is drawn to an anthracycline derivative of formula (IIc), corresponding to Ant-L-(Z)m-X:
Second reference patent claim 7 further limits the anthracycline derivate of claim 1 wherein the anthracycline derivate has the structure below:
Second reference patent claim 8 further limits the anthracycline derivate of claim 7 wherein the anthracycline derivate has the structure below:
Second reference patent claim 9 further limits the anthracycline derivative of claim 7 wherein the anthracycline derivative has the structure below:
Second reference patent claim 13 further limits the anthracycline derivative of claim 1 wherein R1 and R2 are independently selected from a list of structures, wherein it is noted that said list of structures includes isopropyl (side chain of amino acid valine) and -(CH2)3NHCONH2 (side chain of amino acid citrulline).
However, it is noted that the second reference patent does not specifically claim anthracycline reagents, ADCs, and/or anthracycline derivatives thereof corresponding to PNU-159682 (i.e., anthracycline-based compounds wherein anthracycline is of instant formula (II)), pharmaceutical compositions, or methods of treating cancer thereof. These deficiencies are remedied by the teachings of Beria, as provided in the 103 section above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to substitute the anthracycline of the second reference patent with PNU-159682, taught by Beria, wherein such a substitution would yield the below listed structures:
One would have been motivated to make such a substitution to arrive at the above-listed structures because Beria teaches that PNU-159682 has been shown to be remarkably more cytotoxic than nemorubicin and doxorubicin in vitro, and was effective in vivo tumor models; thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the anthracycline compound used by the second reference patent with PNU-159682 taught by Beria (i.e., substitute one anthracycline for another) because such a substitution would have reasonably been expected to yield compounds useful in making ADCs wherein said compounds and ADCs thereof would reasonably be expected to be useful in the treatment of, for example, cancer wherein the efficacy of anthracyclines, including those with structures of the first reference patent and PNU-159682, are established as well as their use in ADCs and synthetic approaches associated therewith.
Claims 1-11, 17-18, and 51-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-5 of U.S. Patent No. 9,695,240 (herein after referred to as “third reference patent”) in view of each of:
US 8,900,589;
US 8,389,697; and
US 9,695,240.
It is specifically noted that US 8,389,697 and US 9,695,240 are a continuation and a divisional, respectively, of US 8,900,589. As such, all three of the above-listed patents have the same disclosure. The teachings of the disclosure of US 8,900,589 (herein after referred to as “Beria”) are provided in the 103 section above.
Third reference patent claim 1 is drawn to a method of making an antibody-drug conjugate (ADC) compound comprising reacting an anthracycline derivative and an antibody (Ab) to form the ADC compound, wherein the anthracycline derivative is selected from a list of structures, wherein it is noted that said list of structures includes the structure reproduced below:
wherein R is H, C1-C12 alkyl, or C6-C20 aryl; R1 and R2 are independently selected from an amino acid side chain; the antibody (Ab) is an antibody which binds to one or more tumor-associated antigens or cell surface receptors selected from (1)-(36) wherein it is noted that (17) is HER2 (ErbB2); and wherein the ADC compound is selected from a list of structures, wherein it is noted that said list of structures includes the structure reproduced below:
Third reference patent claims 3-4 further limit the method of claim 1 wherein, respectively: (i) Ab is trastuzumab; and (ii) the ADC compound comprises a mixture of the ADC compounds, wherein the average drug loading per antibody in the mixture of ADC compounds is about 2 to about 5. Third reference patent claim 5 further limits claim 4 wherein the average drug loading per antibody in the mixture of ADC compounds is about 3 to about 4.
However, it is noted that the third reference patent does not specifically claim anthracycline reagents, ADCs, and/or anthracycline derivatives thereof corresponding to PNU-159682 (i.e., anthracycline-based compounds wherein anthracycline is of instant formula (II)), pharmaceutical compositions thereof, nor methods of treating cancer. These deficiencies are remedied by the teachings of Beria, as provided in the 103 section above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to substitute the anthracycline of the third reference patent with PNU-159682, taught by Beria, wherein such a substitution would yield the below listed structures:
One would have been motivated to make such a substitution to arrive at the above-listed structures because Beria teaches that PNU-159682 has been shown to be remarkably more cytotoxic than nemorubicin and doxorubicin in vitro, and was effective in vivo tumor models; thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the anthracycline compound used by the third reference patent with PNU-159682 taught by Beria (i.e., substitute one anthracycline for another) because such a substitution would have reasonably been expected to yield compounds useful in making ADCs wherein said compounds and ADCs thereof would reasonably be expected to be useful in the treatment of, for example, cancer wherein the efficacy of anthracyclines, including those with structures of the first reference patent and PNU-159682, are established as well as their use in ADCs and synthetic approaches associated therewith.
Conclusion
Claims 1-11, 17-18, and 21-24 are pending. Claims 1-11, 17-18, and 21-24 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/ALYSSA RAE STONEBRAKER/Examiner, Art Unit 1642