Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 5/18/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding the prior claim objections, Applicant’s amendments overcome all prior objections.
Regarding the prior art rejection of claim 1, in paragraphs 4-5 of page 6 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant’s arguments are directed to that the prior art reference Beyer fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the amended limitations of amended claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments are moot in light of the new rejections; please see the action below for details of the new rejections which are necessitated by Applicant's amendment.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
“has a first side (501) extending from the first point (510) wherein the first side (501) partially faces in the direction of rotation and partially faces in the second direction (512);” identified in claim 1 line 10. Note that Fig 5 does not show side 501 configured as such.
“has a second side (502) extending from an end of the first side (501) to the second point (514) wherein the second side (502) partially faces in the direction of rotation and partially faces in the second direction (512);” identified in claim 1 line 12. Note that Fig 5 does not show side 502 configured as such relative to side 501.
“has a third side (503) extending from the second point (514) and partially facing in a direction opposite the direction of rotation;” identified in claim 1 line 15. Note that Fig 5 does not show side 503 configured as such.
Note that 35 U.S.C. 113 identifies the requirement for drawings to be generally provided (“The applicant shall furnish a drawing where necessary for the understanding of the subject matter sought to be patented.”) and 37 CFR 1.83(a) identifies requirements for what those drawings must show (“The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box)”).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6499942 B1 (hereinafter Nonaka).
Regarding claim 1, Nonaka discloses:
A turbomolecular pump bladed disc, comprising:
a central hub (64; Fig 2) configured to be rotated in a direction of rotation about an axis, the axis defining an axial direction (Fig 1 shows all this);
and one or more blades (63; Fig 2) radially extending from the central hub;
wherein each of the one or more blades has a cross-section in a shape (Fig 8B) that:
tapers (a broadest reasonable interpretation of “taper” may be “to reduce gradually” per https://www.dictionary.com/browse/taper or “to become gradually narrower at one end” per https://dictionary.cambridge.org/us/dictionary/english/taper) to a first point (Annotated Fig 8B_a) in a first direction (Annotated Fig 8B_a) (the direction of the taper comprises a component which is in the first direction),
the first direction being parallel with the axial direction (e.g. Fig 1 combined with Figs 2 and 8B shows this);
tapers to a second point (Annotated Fig 8B_a) in a second direction (Annotated Fig 8B_a),
the second direction being parallel with the axial direction and opposite to the first direction;
has a first side (Annotated Fig 8B_a) extending from the first point wherein the first side partially faces in the direction of rotation and partially faces in the second direction;
has a second side (Annotated Fig 8B_a) extending from an end of the first side to the second point wherein the second side partially faces in the direction of rotation and partially faces in the second direction;
has a third side (Annotated Fig 8B_a) extending from the second point and partially facing in a direction opposite the direction of rotation;
and for each of the one or more blades, the cross-section of that blade is an intersection of that blade with a plane perpendicular to a radial direction in which that blade extends from the central hub (Fig 2 combined with Fig 8B shows this).
Nonaka may not explicitly disclose:
the shape is a parallelogram
However, Nonaka does identify that his shape is a polygon and courts have established that a change in shape will not sustain a patent and is not inventive, rather is a practice requiring only ordinary skill and hence is considered a routine expedient and obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art. In other words, it is not inventive to merely change the prior art’s shape from a polygon to a parallelogram. See MPEP 2144.04(IV). Furthermore, it is noted that Applicant’s disclosure identifies different polygon shapes (e.g. para 0009, Figs 5-7, Figs 9-11) which indicates that merely specifying a particular type of polygon shape is not critical to the invention.
Annotated Fig 8B_a
Regarding claim 3, Nonaka as modified above discloses:
for each of the one or more blades the cross-section of that blade is at or proximate to a tip of that blade (e.g. Figs 2 and 8B shows this as one having ordinary skill would reasonably understand).
Regarding claim 4, Nonaka as modified above discloses:
for each of the one or more blades, the cross-section is at one radial position along a length of the blade
and each other radial position along the length of the blade has a respective radial-position cross-section that tapers to a respective radial-position first point in the first direction,
wherein the length of the blade is defined in the radial direction from the central hub (e.g. Figs 2 and 8B shows this as one having ordinary skill would reasonably understand).
Regarding claim 5, Nonaka as modified above discloses:
for each of the one or more blades, the length of the blade comprises an entire extent of the blade in the radial direction (e.g. Figs 2 and 8B shows this as one having ordinary skill would reasonably understand).
Regarding claim 6, Nonaka as modified above discloses:
for each of the one or more blades, the cross-section is at one radial position along a length of the blade
and each other radial position along the length of the blade has a respective radial-position cross-section that tapers to a respective radial-position second point in the second direction,
wherein the length of the blade is defined in the radial direction (e.g. Figs 2 and 8B shows this as one having ordinary skill would reasonably understand).
Regarding claim 7, Nonaka as modified above discloses:
for each of the one or more blades, the length of the blade comprises an entire extent of the blade in the radial direction (e.g. Figs 2 and 8B shows this as one having ordinary skill would reasonably understand).
Regarding claim 17, Nonaka as modified above discloses
for each of the one or more blades, the length of the blade comprises a majority of an entire extent of the blade in the radial direction (e.g. Figs 2 and 8B shows this as one having ordinary skill would reasonably understand).
Regarding claim 18, Nonaka as modified above discloses
for each of the one or more blades, the length of the blade comprises a majority of an entire extent of the blade in the radial direction (e.g. Figs 2 and 8B shows this as one having ordinary skill would reasonably understand).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Art Golik/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745