DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The correction to claim 9 has been acknowledged and reviewed and therefore the objection made in the previous office action has been removed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: configured to generate at least one second lighting beam in claim 1; configured to determine an intensity distribution in claim 3; configured to sequentially illuminate in claim 5; configured to generate the first lighting beam in claim 6; configured to reflect the first lighting beam in claim 7; configured to measure a first photoreaction of the eye in claim 10; configured to be fastened in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Everett (20200085294).
Regarding claim 1, Everett discloses an optical device for capturing images of an eye of an individual (Fig 2a, [0037], ophthalmic imaging system), the optical device ([0037], slit-scanning ophthalmoscope) comprising: a first measurement channel (101); and a second measurement channel (103), wherein the first measurement channel (101) is implemented by a first device ([0037], Fig 2a, illumination light from source 110) configured to: generate at least one first lighting beam (102) directed toward the eye (106) and along a first axis (Fig 2a, [0037], imaged to the retina at the back of the eye), and capture at least one first image of the eye ([0037], signal from the light collected by the camera 113 as the beams are swept across the retina) when illuminated ([0037], measure the effect of the optical system on these two illumination paths) by the at least one first lighting beam (102), wherein the second measurement channel (103) being is implemented by a second device ([0037], Fig 2a, illumination light from source 111) configured to: generate at least one second lighting beam (104) directed toward the eye (106) and along a second axis (Fig 2a, [0037], imaged to the retina at the back of the eye) separated from the first axis by at least 5° (Fig 2a shows 102 and 104 separated by angle greater that 5° and within the claimed range), and capture at least one second image of the eye when illuminated by the at least one second lighting beam ([0037], signal from the light collected by the camera 113 as the beams are swept across the retina), and wherein the first measurement channel (101) and the second measurement channel (103) being are synchronized together (Fig 2a, [0038], illumination paths 101 and 103 will be displaced vertically relative to one another on the retina).
Regarding claim 6, Everett discloses wherein the first measurement channel (101) and the second measurement channel (103) are located on a same single module (Fig 2a, [0038], illumination paths 101 and 103 will be displaced vertically relative to one another on the retina), and wherein the optical device ([0037], slit-scanning ophthalmoscope) further comprises a mirror (108), the mirror (108) and the same single module being configured to generate (Fig 2a, [0037], light returning from the retina after illumination from the upper and lower illuminations follow paths 102 and 104) the first lighting beam (102) and the second lighting beam (104).
Regarding claim 8, Everett discloses wherein the first lighting beam having a first optical wavelength ([0070], place two illumination sources (e.g. LEDs or lasers)) and the second lighting beam having a second optical wavelength different from the first optical wavelength ([0070], place two illumination sources (e.g. LEDs or lasers)).
Regarding claim 16, Everett discloses wherein the second axis is separated from the first axis by at least 10° (Fig 2a shows 102 and 104 separated by angle greater that 10° and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 17, Everett discloses wherein the second axis is separated from the first axis by at least 20° (Fig 2a shows 102 and 104 separated by angle greater that 20° and within the claimed range).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Everett (20200085294) in view of Mrochen (20180125355).
Regarding claim 2, Everett discloses the invention as described within claim 1 but does not teach wherein the first device further includes a first camera and the second device includes a second camera. However, within a similar endeavor, Mrochen teaches wherein the first device further includes a first camera and the second device includes a second camera (Fig 1, [0084], cameras 103, 104, 105 collect simultaneously light emanating from the multiple point sources 101 and reflected from the anterior cornea 111). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the ophthalmic device of Everett with the components of Mrochen for the purpose of providing a technique for that optimizes performing ophthalmic measurements on an eye (Mrochen, [0008]).
Regarding claim 19, Everett in view of Mrochen discloses the invention as described within 2 and Mrochen further teaches wherein the first device further includes a first plurality of first light sources and wherein the second device further includes a second plurality of second light sources (Fig 2, [0077], 12 LEDs 101 in an outer circle and 9 LEDs 101 in an inner circle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the ophthalmic device of Everett with the components of Mrochen for the purpose of providing a technique for that optimizes performing ophthalmic measurements on an eye (Mrochen, [0008]).
Claim(s) 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Everett (20200085294) in view of Mrochen (20180125355) and in further view of Baranton (20120274902).
Regarding claim 3, Everett in view of Mrochen discloses the invention as described within 2 but does teach wherein the first camera and/or the second camera is further configured to determine an intensity distribution of reflection of an illuminating beam. However, Baranton teaches wherein the first camera and/or the second camera is further configured to determine an intensity distribution of reflection of an illuminating beam ([0183]], electronic and computer device uses the signal representative of at least one image and preferably the signals representative of each of the images; [0187], electronic and computer device analyzes each captured image to determine the spatial distribution of the intensity of the retinal reflection of the corresponding source). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the ophthalmic device of Everett and Mrochen with the components of Baranton for the purpose of optimizing the images accurately captured that present retinal reflection of the eye (Baranton, [0195]).
Regarding claim 20, Everett in view of Mrochen and in further view of Baranton discloses the invention as described within claim 3 and Baranton further teaches wherein the first device further includes a first plurality of first light sources and wherein the second device further includes a second plurality of second light sources (Fig 2, [0112], lighting means 20 of the measuring device 100 comprise a plurality of light sources 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the ophthalmic device of Everett and Mrochen with the components of Baranton for the purpose of optimizing the images accurately captured that present retinal reflection of the eye (Baranton, [0195]).
Claim(s) 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Everett (20200085294) in view of Copland (20210196113).
Regarding claim 4, Everett discloses the invention as described within claim 1 but does not teach wherein the first device further includes a first plurality of first light sources, and wherein the second device further includes a second plurality of second light sources. However, Copland teaches wherein the first device further includes a first plurality of first light sources ([0131], first light sources 120), and wherein the second device further includes a second plurality of second light sources ([0135], light source 130 comprises a second light source 132 which may comprise a plurality of lamps). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the ophthalmic device of Everett with the components of Copland for the purpose of improving the images that are used for wavefront measurements within an ophthalmic system (Copland, [0140]).
Regarding claim 18, Everett in view of Copeland discloses the invention as described within claim 4 and Copeland further teaches wherein the first plurality of first light sources are first LEDs ([0131], first light sources 120), and wherein the second plurality of second light sources are second LEDs ([0135], light source 130 comprises a second light source 132 which may comprise a plurality of lamps). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the ophthalmic device of Everett with the components of Copland for the purpose of improving the images that are used for wavefront measurements within an ophthalmic system (Copland, [0140]).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Everett (20200085294) in view of Yates (20180242846).
Regarding claim 7, Everett discloses the invention as described within claim 6 but does not teach further comprising a hot mirror configured to reflect the first lighting beam and to allow the second lighting beam to pass. However, Yates teaches further comprising a hot mirror (Fig 5A, [0064], hot mirror filter 11) configured to reflect the first lighting beam and to allow the second lighting beam to pass (Fig 5A, [0030], hot mirror filter blocking infrared light being emitted from the photographing light source and redirecting light from the observation light source into the illumination optical path). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the ophthalmic device of Everett with the components of Yates to allow for more efficient processing and diagnostics of recorded images (Yates, [0061]).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Everett (20200085294) in view of Lefaudeux (20230172449).
Regarding claim 9, Everett discloses the invention as described within claim 8 but does not teach wherein the first optical wavelength is comprised between 800nm and 899nm and the second optical wavelength being comprised between 901nm and 1000nm. However, Lefaudeux teaches wherein the first optical wavelength is comprised between 800nm and 899nm ([0027], emission spectral band of the primary sources is between 800nm and 1000nm and within the claimed range) and the second optical wavelength being comprised between 901nm and 1000nm [0027], emission spectral band of the primary sources is between 800nm and 1000nm and within the claimed range). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the ophthalmic device of Everett with the components of Lefaudeux for the purpose of optimizing controlling the position of the pupil of an eye in reference to a frame within an ophthalmic system (Lefaudeux, [0001]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The previous 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection previously cited has been addressed and removed in the above office action.
The amended claim language of claims 1, 5, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, and 15 have been addressed in the current office action.
Applicant’s remark as they pertain to claim 1, Examiner is not persuaded. Specifically, as set forth in the prior art Everett, paths 102 and 104 are disclosed to be returning from the retina after illumination from the upper and lower illuminations. No special definition of lighting beam is found in the present specification, and, absent a special definition, Examiner is obligated to take the broadest reasonable interpretation not in conflict with the specification. It is noted that the feature upon which applicant relies (i.e., “lighting beam”) has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s interpretation of, “lighting beam,” which states/seems to imply that lighting beam must be a specific source of light or energy. However, the specification is silent as to the exact energy that is being broadcasted or moved within the claimed system; the specification does not prohibit such an interpretation; therefore, Examiner's interpretation is both reasonable and not in conflict with the specification, and the limitation is met by the prior art. Applicant argues that the light disclosed within the prior art as being separated on different axes. However, it is noted that "[t]he use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968))." MPEP §2123. The recitation "light" of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. MPEP §2106. Par 37 of the prior art discloses upper and lower illumination beams, 101 and 103 which have been interpreted as light beams or rays.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are allowed.
Claims 5 and 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to dependent claim 5, the prior art of Everett taken either singly or in combination with any other prior art fails to suggest such an optical device including the specific arrangement: “wherein the optical device is configured to sequentially illuminate one of the first light sources and then one of the second light sources or to sequentially illuminate at least two of the first light sources and then at least two of the second light sources”.
Specifically, with respect to dependent claim 10, the prior art of Everett taken either singly or in combination with any other prior art fails to suggest such an optical device including the specific arrangement: “a system for determining a relative peripheral refraction of an eye of an individual, the system comprising; and calculation circuitry comprising a memory and a processor configured to measure a first photorefraction of the eye based on at least the at least one first image measure a second photorefraction of the eye based on at least the at least one second image, and determine the relative peripheral refraction based on the first photorefraction and the second photorefraction”. Claims 11 and 12 are allowable due to pendency on dependent claim 10.
Specifically, with respect to independent claim 13, the prior art of Everett taken either singly or in combination with any other prior art fails to suggest such an optical device including the specific arrangement: “capturing, using a first measurement channel of an optical device for capturing images of the eye, at least one first image of the eye; capturing, using a second measurement channel of the optical device, at least one second image of the eye; measuring a first photorefraction of the eye based on the at least one first image; measuring a second photorefraction of the eye based on the at least one second image; and determining the relative peripheral refraction based on the first photorefraction and the second photorefraction, wherein the capturing the first image and the capturing of the second image are synchronized”. Claims 14 and 15 are allowable due to pendency on independent claim 13.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Sharrief I. Broome
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/SHARRIEF I BROOME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872