DETAILED ACTION
This communication responds to the application filed May 9, 2024, and the Response to Restriction Requirement and amended claim set filed January 2, 2026. Claims 1-12 and 14-19 are currently pending.
Non-elected claims 9-12 and 14-19 are WITHDRAWN.
Elected claims 1-8 are REJECTED for the reasons set forth below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on January 2 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that, as amended, all Groups contain a common technical feature, and that the common feature is special because it is not taught by US 2017/0198170. This is not found persuasive because the common feature is indeed not special. As discussed below, the common feature is known in the art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application is the national stage entry of PCT/IB2022/060480, filed October 31, 2022, which claims priority to US 63/264,047, filed November 15, 2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al. (US 2020/0095475).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki teaches a pressure sensitive adhesive comprising a copolymer including 2-ethylhexylacrylate and hydroxyethyl acrylate monomers, 2-isocyanatoethyl methacrylate, and a polyisocyanate crosslinker. (Ex. 1, para. [0093].)
Regarding claims 2 and 8, the copolymer is modified by the 2-isocyanatoethyl methacrylate via reaction with the hydroxy groups of the copolymer, thereby forming a modified copolymer containing unsaturated pendant groups. (See para. [0093].)
Regarding claims 3-7, Sasaki is silent as to the recited properties. However, “[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. (In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) Given that the pressure sensitive adhesive of Sasaki is substantially identical to the claimed pressure sensitive adhesive, it is reasonable to infer that it should possess the same properties. Because the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to Applicant to show otherwise. (See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clapper (US 2017/0198170).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Clapper teaches optically clear pressure sensitive adhesives comprising a copolymer including 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl methacrylate, and hydroxypropyl acrylate monomers and isocyanatoethyl methacrylate. (Table 11, Exs. 17-19.)
The difference between Examples 17-19 of Clapper and claim 1 is that Examples 17-19 do not include a multifunctional crosslinker. However, Clapper more generally teaches that crosslinking additives may be added to the pressure sensitive adhesives to increase cohesive strength of the PSA. (para. [0031].) Crosslinking additives include multifunctional additives such as multifunctional aziridine, isocyanate, and epoxy. (Id.)
Regarding claims 2 and 8, the copolymer is modified by the 2-isocyanatoethyl methacrylate via reaction with the hydroxy groups of the copolymer, thereby forming a modified copolymer containing unsaturated pendant groups.
Regarding claims 4-7, Clapper is silent as to the recited properties. However, “[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. (In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) Given that the pressure sensitive adhesive of Sasaki is substantially identical to the claimed pressure sensitive adhesive, it is reasonable to infer that it should possess the same properties. Because the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to Applicant to show otherwise. (See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).)
Conclusion
CATHERINE S. BRANCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763