DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “ELECTRIC MOTOR WITH ROTOR WITH PERMANENT MAGNET IN FIRST SLOTS AND CARTRIDGES HAVING WINDING WITHIN CARTRIDGE IN SECOND SLOTS ”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the second slots are grouped in a plurality of second groups in which each second slot (A) of the same second group defines a corresponding section of a segmented profile, preferably a basically V or U-shaped profile that has a base turned towards said main axis and in that each winding (5) is connected to a respective rotor pole (3), said windings (5) being connected together in series.”
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation [“a corresponding section of a segmented profile”] , and the claim also recites [“preferably a basically V or U-shaped profile that has a base turned towards said main axis“] which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 2-12 are rejected based on dependency from claim 1.
Furthermore, Claim 11 recites “: the motor has ..a triangle configuration, a star configuration, a series configuration, a parallel configuration; the motor preferably comprises two switching devices configured to switch the motor between the following configurations: a star- parallel configuration, a star-series configuration, a triangle-parallel configuration, a triangle-series configuration.”
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation [“the motor has ..a triangle configuration, a star configuration, a series configuration, a parallel configuration;”] , and the claim also recites [“preferably comprises two switching devices configured to switch the motor between the following configurations: a star- parallel configuration, a star-series configuration, a triangle-parallel configuration, a triangle-series configuration “] which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2,5,6,12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omar (WIPO PCT WO 202116277a hereinafter “Omar”-will use Equivalent US 20230344326 as English Translation) in view of Gieras (US PG Pub 20180262091 hereinafter “Gieras”).
Re-claim 1, Omar discloses an electric motor (100,200) comprising: - a stator (102) provided with a casing (surrounding stator 102) extending along a main axis (axis in middle of stator 102) between two end faces (end faces of stator in the axial direction); - a rotor (230) inserted in said casing (inside 100) that rotates around the main axis (axis of rotation of rotor), said rotor (230) having a plurality of first slots (142c,144c,144d) and a plurality of second slots (142a,142b,144b,144e), said second slots (142a,142b,144b,144e) being radially internal in relation to the first slots (142c,144c,144d); - a plurality of permanent magnets (254c,254d,252c) inserted in respective first slots (142c,144c,144d); - a plurality of windings (152,154) coupled to said second slots (142a,142b,144b,144e); said first slots (142c,144c,144d) being grouped together in a plurality of first groups in which each first slot (142c,144c,144d) of the same first group defines a corresponding section of a segmented profile, preferably a basically V or U-shaped profile that has a base turned towards said main axis, characterized in that the second slots (142a,142b,144b,144e) are grouped in a plurality of second groups in which each second slot (142c,144c,144d) of the same second group defines a corresponding section of a segmented profile, preferably a basically V or U-shaped profile (see fig.1) that has a base turned (annotated fig.1) towards said main axis and in that each winding (152,154) is connected to a respective rotor pole (where 152 is located see fig.4).
Omar fails to expliclity teach said windings being connected together in series.
However, Gieras teaches said windings (34) being connected together in series (P[0047], 34 can be connected in series).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify and show the winding connection of Omar being connected together in series as suggested by Geiras as a form of connection of windings in series, or in parallel or series-parallel as needed for design of motor connection of rotor windings (Geiras, P[0047]).
Re-claim 2, Omar discloses the motor according to claim 1, wherein the second slots (142a,142b,144b,144e) have a greater volume (more than) than said first slots (142c,144c,144d).
Re-claim 5, Omar as modified discloses the motor according to claim 1 in which each winding (154) coupled to a corresponding pair of second slots
Omar fails to explicitly teach said winding
However, Gieras shows teach said winding (34) being wound around a partition (33) placed between the second slots (142a,142b,144b,144e) of the corresponding pair (annotated ifg.3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify and show the winding connection of Omar being winding
Re-claim 6, Omar as modified discloses the motor according to claim 1,wherein said windings (154) are made using hairpins, bars (P[0032], bar winding), or standard wire arranged in said second slots (142a,142b,144b,144e).
Re-claim 12, Omar as modified discloses the motor according to claim 1 above.
Omar further teaches comprising a dedicated power device (504, DC side converter) configured to supply electric power to the windings (converter device connected to contrl DC output, therefore connected to windings).
Claim 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omar in view of Gieras in further view of Ishikawa (US PG Pub 20190089215 hereinafter “Ishikawa”).
Re-claim 3, Omar as modified discloses the motor according to claim 1.
Omar as modified fails to explicitly teach wherein the windings are at least partially made of aluminium and/or copper.
However, Ishikawa teach wherein the windings are at least partially made of aluminium and/or copper (P[0008], coil is made by aluminium).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the windings material of Omar wherein the windings are at least partially made of aluminium and/or copper as suggested by Ihsikawa to reduce cost (Ishaikawa, P[0008]).
Claim 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omar in view of Gieras in further view of Leroy (US Patent 8120227 hereinafter “Leroy”).
Re-claim 4, Omar as modified discloses the motor according to claim 1 above.
Omar as modified fails to explicitly teach comprising a connection plate applied to an end face of the casing and configured to electrically connect the windings.
However, Lero suggest a connection plate (Col.5, L.9-14, brush holder arrange don casign electrically connect winding to voltage regulators) applied to an end face of the casing (12) and configured to electrically connect the windings (Col.5, L.9-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Omar wherein a connection plate applied to an end face of the casing and configured to electrically connect the windings as suggested by Leroy to provide connection to regulators via wire connection of 54 (Leroy, Col.5, L.5-14).
Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omar in view of Gieras in further view of Okitsu (WIPO Publication WO2021053937 hereinafter “Okitsu”-will use US equivlant US20220344986 as English Translation Equivalent ).
Re-claim 7, Omar as modified discloses the motor according to claim 1 above.
Omar fails to explicitly teach comprising a plurality of cartridges inserted in corresponding second slots, said windings being wound around corresponding cartridge.
However, Okitsu teaches plurality of cartridges (13,15) inserted in corresponding second slots (11a), said windings (14) being wound around corresponding cartridge (13,,15, see fig.8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Omar wherein a plurality of cartridges inserted in corresponding second slots, said windings being wound around corresponding cartridge as suggested by Okitsu to lower cost, avoid use of high performance winding machine which is pricy, instead use a general winding machine (Okitsu, P[0070]).
Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omar in view of Gieras in further view of LV (Chinese Patent Publication CN 205945465 hereinafter “LV”).
Re-claim 11, Omar teaches the motor according to claim 1.
Omar fails to explicitly teach comprising a plurality of phases and a switching device that can be activated to change an electric configuration of said motor by connecting a plurality of phases in at least one of the following configurations: a triangle configuration, a star configuration, a series configuration, a parallel configuration; the motor preferably comprises two switching devices configured to switch the motor between the following configurations: a star- parallel configuration, a star-series configuration, a triangle-parallel configuration, a triangle-series configuration.
However, LV teaches a plurality of phases and a switching device (see fig.5 showing switch device switch different configurations and structure of connection of at least 3 phases) that can be activated to change an electric configuration of said motor by connecting a plurality of phases in at least one of the following configurations: a triangle configuration, a star configuration, a series configuration, a parallel configuration (see fig.5, showing different configurations using switches); the motor preferably comprises two switching devices configured to switch the motor between the following configurations: a star- parallel configuration, a star-series configuration, a triangle-parallel configuration, a triangle-series configuration [see Abstract
This utility new type is a kind of permanent magnet motor with winding electric control switching mechanism, with 2 the same branch winding at each phase of the motor, each with 2 leading-out contact, a switching mechanism is 5 groups of three-phase magnetic latching relay, each group 3 of two pull-in switch connected with the motor winding of each tie access contact point of each connected with the 2 switch, the switch controller controls each set of closing or disconnecting three-phase magnetic latching relay, the motor winding is star or triangle string in parallel. motor can be 2 the same windings, each switching mechanism. switching controller connected with the main controller. switching controller according to the main controller instruction or switch-off control three-phase magnetic latching relay, the switching motor winding connection mode. winding switching, the 2 winding turns off, so that the output torque of the motor is not changed. This utility model is by switching connection method to realize the regulation of torque and speed, double winding structure to realize smooth switching without fluctuation of torque, and a switching mechanism is simple and reliable.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Omar wherein a plurality of phases and a switching device that can be activated to change an electric configuration of said motor by connecting a plurality of phases in at least one of the following configurations: a triangle configuration, a star configuration, a series configuration, a parallel configuration; the motor preferably comprises two switching devices configured to switch the motor between the following configurations: a star- parallel configuration, a star-series configuration, a triangle-parallel configuration, a triangle-series configuration as suggested by LV to provide protection range with new ranges, equivalent replacement for various systems with different connections, flexibility and improved structure/connection for protection of device, being modular and cost effective (Last Paragraph before claims in LV).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9, as best understood, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims 7 and 1.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re-claim 9, combination with claims 7 and 1, “inter alia” recites :”1. (Currently Amended) An electric motor comprising: - a stator (2) provided with a casing extending along a main axis between two end faces; - a rotor (3) inserted in said casing that rotates around the main axis, said rotor (3) having a plurality of first slots (A) and a plurality of second slots (B), said second slots (B) being radially internal in relation to the first slots (A); - a plurality of permanent magnets (4) inserted in respective first slots (A); - a plurality of windings (5) coupled to said second slots (B); said first slots (A) being grouped together in a plurality of first groups in which each first slot (A) of the same first group defines a corresponding section of a segmented profile, [preferably] a basically V or U-shaped profile that has a base turned towards said main axis, characterised in that the second slots (B) are grouped in a plurality of second groups in which each second slot (A) of the same second group defines a corresponding section of a segmented profile, preferably a basically V or U-shaped profile that has a base turned towards said main axis and in that each winding (5) is connected to a respective rotor pole (3), said windings (5) being connected together in series, 7. (Currently Amended) The motor according to any of the previous claims from 1 to 6, claim 1,comprising a plurality of cartridges (6) inserted in corresponding second slots (B), said windings (5) being wound around corresponding cartridges (6).9. (Currently Amended) The motor according to claim 7, wherein each cartridge (6) comprises a central element provided with a central, winding, portion arranged between two end portions, with a greater width, coupled in a rotor body (3).”
The combination of limitations of claims 9,7 and 1 are found to be unique, the combination of limitation is not taught by any of the references of record alone or in combination of any references, the prior art of record, ai search, ip.com search fail to teach or suggest alone or combined the combination as indicated above.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected based on dependency from claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834