DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending, and claims 1-4 are currently under review.
Claims 5-10 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I in the reply filed on 8/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the shared technical feature is not disclosed in the prior art. This is not found persuasive because the shared technical feature is met by the prior art as explained below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1-4 recite the terms “antibacterial” and “antiviral”, which is indefinite because the common definition of these terms is “tending to prevent growth or spread of bacteria and viruses”, respectively. However, it is unclear as to what particular quantitative measure of prevention, if any, is required by the claimed terms. It is unclear, for example, as to what degree of bacteria or virus growth can be allowed on the steel while still being considered as “antibacterial/antiviral”, or alternatively it is unclear whether the steel needs to completely prevent growth and spread of bacteria or virus. The examiner interprets the claim to be met by any degree of antibacterial or antiviral function.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites a “copper-rich phase”, which is indefinite because it is unclear as to what particular amount of coper, if any, is required in the copper-rich phase. Alternatively, it is unclear whether “copper-rich” merely requires phases having higher copper concentrations than the surrounding phases or merely higher copper concentrations than the general copper amount of the overall steel. The examiner interprets “copper-rich” to be met by any of the aforementioned interpretations.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites the phrase "more preferably…", which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The examiner interprets the claim to not require the limitations following the phrase “more preferably” according to broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN102260832, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. discloses an antibacterial stainless steel coating material [0010]; wherein said coating including copper-rich phases that are uniformly distributed throughout the stainless steel coating [0035]. One of ordinary skill would readily understand that said phases are formed within a matrix of the general antibacterial stainless steel of Zhang et al. Zhang et al. further teaches that the stainless steel includes up to 10 weight percent Cu, which overlaps with the claimed range [0011]. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Since Zhang et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition and similar antibacterial property, one of ordinary skill would understand that the steel of Zhang et al. would also have an antiviral property of at least some degree.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang et al. discloses the stainless steel of claim 1 (see previous). Zhang et al. further teaches compositional inclusions as shown in table 2 below [0011]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition of Zhang et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 2 (wt.%)
Zhang et al. (wt.%)
Cu
6 – 30
0 – 10
Ag
0 – 1
0 – 1
Zn
0 – 1.5
0 – 1
Cr
11 – 30
13 – 28
Mn
0 – 20
0 – 18
Ni
0 – 18
0 – 15
Co
0 – 8
0
Al
0 – 5
0 – 6
Ti
0 – 5
0 – 1
Mo
0 – 4
0 – 3
V
0 – 3
0 – 2
C
0 – 1
0 – 0.08
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claim 3, Zhang et al. discloses the stainless steel of claim 1 (see previous). Zhang et al. further discloses including Si in an amount of up to 0.15 weight percent, which overlaps with the claimed range [0011]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang et al. discloses the stainless steel of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned Cu amount of Zhang et al. further overlaps with the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734