DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Germany on 11/12/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the DE 10 2021 129 501.7 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Maki et al. [US 3399373 A].
Regarding Claim 1, Maki discloses an electrical circular connector (12, Fig 2), comprising: a housing (32) for accommodating an insulating body (14), wherein the insulating body (14) has substantially a cylindrical outer shape, wherein the insulating body (14) is configured to accommodate at least one contact element (24, 26, 28), wherein the at least one contact element (24, 26, 28) can be brought into engagement with at least one locking element (second body portion 18) which secures the at least one contact element (24, 26, 28), at least in an axial direction (parts 20 and 22 bear on peripheral beads 56 formed the contact elements 24,26,28 when the locking parts 20,22 are folded; see [Column 5 lines 10-34]), in its position in the insulating body (14), and wherein the locking element (18) is arranged in an integrally bonded manner on the insulating body (14) and, in a locked position, substantially fits into the cylindrical outer shape of the insulating body (14).
Regarding Claim 2, Maki discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Maki further discloses the locking element (18) is arranged with a living hinge (36, 38) on the insulating body (14).
Regarding Claim 5, Maki discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Maki further discloses the insulating body (14) has at least two locking elements (parts 20, 22).
Regarding Claim 6, Maki discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Maki further discloses each respective locking element (20, 22) is are arranged in substantially the same axial position.
Regarding Claim 7, Maki discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Maki further discloses the locking elements (20, 22) are substantially point-symmetrical to one another.
Regarding Claim 8, Maki discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Maki further discloses the locking elements (20, 22) for securing the contact elements (24, 26, 28) are configured to be able to be brought into engagement with each other form-fittingly (parts 20 and 22 are substantially a cylindrical tubular extension of the first body portion 16 and when closed they are closely aligned to fit inside the housing (32, see Fig 9).
Regarding Claim 11, Maki discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Maki further discloses the housing (32) is made of a first material (metal) and the insulating body (14) is made of a second material (resilient molded plastic material, such as polypropylene), wherein the first material is different from the second material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki et al. [US 3399373 A] in view of Nguyen Nhu et al. [US 20130143424 A1].
Regarding Claim 3-4, Maki discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Maki does not explicitly disclose the insulating body has at least two regions which are connected by at least one first web element (claim 3); the locking element is arranged on the at least one first web element (claim 4).
However, Nguyen Nhu discloses the insulating body (300, Fig 6) has at least two regions which are connected by at least one first web element. (330); the locking element (hinged wings 340, 350) is arranged on the at least one first web element (330, see Figures 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maki as suggested by Nguyen Nhu to provide the insulating body having at least two regions which are connected by at least one first web element; the locking element arranged on the at least one first web element. Integrating a web element or partition wall as taught by Nguyen Nhu provides enhances structural stability to the insulating body and creates a centralized anchoring point for hinged locking members, ensuring they pivot accurately and provide consistent clamping force on the element.
Regarding Claim 9, Maki discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Maki does not explicitly disclose the locking elements for securing the contact elements are configured to be able to be brought into engagement with each other frictionally.
However, Nguyen Nhu discloses the locking elements (340, 350) for securing the contact elements (200) can be able to be brought into engagement with each other frictionally.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maki as suggested by Nguyen Nhu to provide the locking elements for securing the contact elements to be able to be brought into engagement with each other frictionally. Doing so allows for easier assembly of the locking parts reducing the need for additional parts in the assembly.
Regarding Claim 10, Maki discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Maki does not explicitly disclose the locking elements rest against a second web element in a mutually engaged position.
However, Nguyen Nhu discloses the locking elements (340, 350) rest against a second web element (330) in a mutually engaged position (see Figures 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maki as suggested by Nguyen Nhu to provide the locking elements rest against a second web element in a mutually engaged position. Integrating a web element or partition wall as taught by Nguyen Nhu provides enhances structural stability to the insulating body and creates a centralized anchoring point for hinged locking members, ensuring they pivot accurately and provide consistent clamping force on the element.
Conclusion
/THASLIMUR RAHMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834