DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 4/13/2026. Claims 1-10 have been amended. No other claims have been amended, added, or canceled. Accordingly, claims 1- 10 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1- 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okumura (US2020/0406771 A1) in view of JP2009136109A (hereinafter 109).
As per claim 1, Okumura discloses: a charge-discharge system that performs charge-discharge with a vehicle energy storage in a predetermined supply area to which power from a power system and a power apparatus are supplied, and supplies power to a power load in the supply area, the charge-discharge system comprising (see Okumura at least fig. 1-13 and in particular fig. 1, 2 5 & 12):
acquire charge-side power amount information indicating a magnitude of a power amount including a charge power amount from the charge-discharge system to the vehicle energy storage apparatus in predetermined periods, and discharge-side power amount information indicating a magnitude of a power amount including a discharge power amount from the vehicle energy storage apparatus to the charge-discharge system (see Okumura at least fig. 1-13 and in particular fig. 1-2, 8-11; EV charger and discharger [102], charging and discharging amounts over multiple days/period);
generate display data for causing a display device to display a calendar screen on which the charge-side power amount information and the discharge-side power amount information are displayed for each of the predetermined periods in a calendar in which the predetermined periods are arranged (see Okumura at least fig. 1-13 and in particular fig. 1-2, 8-11; EV charger and discharger [102], charging and discharging amounts over multiple days/period); and
transmit the display data to the display device (see Okumura at least fig. 1-13 and in particular fig. 1-2, 8-11; EV charger and discharger [102], charging and discharging amounts over multiple days/period).
Okumura discloses the invention as detailed above.
However, Okumura does not appear to explicitly disclose a switching circuit; and a processor adapted to control the switching circuit to selectively connect the vehicle energy storage apparatus to the power system or the power apparatus based on the status of the power system, wherein the predetermined periods comprises a plurality of one days.
Nevertheless, 109—who is in the same field of endeavor—discloses a switching circuit; and a processor adapted to control the switching circuit to selectively connect the vehicle energy storage apparatus to the power system or the power apparatus based on the status of the power system, wherein the predetermined periods comprises a plurality of one days (see 109 at least fig. 1-10, Abstract and Tech-problem and solution; connector [124], switch [122], ecu [114], charging control device, connector connection detector, daily power consumption, daily boarding and alighting records, daily fuel consumption, daily power consumption).
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the given invention would have been motivated to combine 109’s charge control device with those of Okumura’s energy display system in order to form a better overall user experience (i.e., by breaking down and demonstrating consumption rates and controlling the charging and/or discharging of the vehicle based upon demonstrated need).
Motivation to combine Okumura with 109 not only comes from knowledge well known in the art, but also from 109 (see 109 at least Abstract and Tech Problem and Solution).
Both Okumura and 109 disclose claim 2: wherein the generation unit generates the display data for causing the display device to display the calendar screen on which a charge-side power amount diagram that is a diagram indicating the magnitude of the power amount indicated by the charge-side power amount information is displayed as the charge-side power amount information, and a discharge-side power amount diagram that is a diagram indicating the magnitude of the power amount indicated by the discharge-side power amount information is displayed as the discharge-side power amount information (see Okumura at least fig. 1-13 and in particular fig. 1-2, 8-11; EV charger and discharger [102], charging and discharging amounts over multiple days/period and see 109 at least fig. 1-10, Abstract and Tech-problem and solution; see claim 1 above).
Motivation to combine Okumura with 109, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Okumura and 109 disclose claim 3: wherein the generation unit generates the display data for causing the display device to display the calendar screen on which a numerical value indicating the magnitude of the power amount indicated by the charge- side power amount information is further displayed at a position corresponding to the charge-side power amount diagram as the charge-side power amount information, and a numerical value indicating the magnitude of the power amount indicated by the discharge-side power amount information is further displayed at a position corresponding to the discharge-side power amount diagram as the discharge-side power amount information (see Okumura at least fig. 1-13 and in particular fig. 1-2, 8-11; EV charger and discharger [102], charging and discharging amounts over multiple days/period and see 109 at least fig. 1-10, Abstract and Tech-problem and solution; see claim 1 above).
Motivation to combine Okumura with 109, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Okumura and 109 disclose claim 4: wherein the generation unit generates the display data for causing the display device to display the calendar screen displayed such that the charge-side power amount information and the discharge-side power amount information have the same positional relationship for each of the predetermined periods (see Okumura at least fig. 1-13 and in particular fig. 1-2, 8-11; EV charger and discharger [102], charging and discharging amounts over multiple days/period and see 109 at least fig. 1-10, Abstract and Tech-problem and solution; see claim 1 above).
Motivation to combine Okumura with 109, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Okumura and 109 disclose claim 5: wherein at least one of a power generation apparatus and an energy storage apparatus is connected to the charge-discharge system, the acquisition unit acquires, as the charge-side power amount information, vehicle charge power amount information indicating a magnitude of a charge power amount of the vehicle energy storage apparatus and first power amount information indicating a magnitude of a power amount of at least one of a charge power amount of the energy storage apparatus and a power consumption amount of the power load, and acquires, as the discharge-side power amount information, vehicle discharge power amount information indicating a magnitude of a discharge power amount of the vehicle energy storage apparatus and second power amount information indicating a magnitude of a power amount of at least one of a generated power amount of the power generation apparatus and a discharge power amount of the energy storage apparatus, and the generation unit generates the display data for causing the display device to display the calendar screen on which the vehicle charge power amount information and the first power amount information are displayed as the charge-side power amount information and the vehicle discharge power amount information and the second power amount information are displayed as the discharge-side power amount information (see Okumura at least fig. 1-13 and in particular fig. 1-2, 8-11; EV charger and discharger [102], charging and discharging amounts over multiple days/period and see 109 at least fig. 1-10, Abstract and Tech-problem and solution; see claim 1 above).
Motivation to combine Okumura with 109, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Okumura and 109 disclose claim 6: wherein the generation unit generates the display data for causing the display device to display the calendar screen in which the first power amount information is displayed closer to the vehicle charge power amount information than the vehicle discharge power amount information, and the second power amount information is displayed closer to the vehicle discharge power amount information than the vehicle charge power amount information (see Okumura at least fig. 1-13 and in particular fig. 1-2, 8-11; EV charger and discharger [102], charging and discharging amounts over multiple days/period and see 109 at least fig. 1-10, Abstract and Tech-problem and solution; see claim 1 above).
Motivation to combine Okumura with 109, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Okumura and 109 disclose claim 7: wherein the generation unit generates the display data for causing the display device to display the calendar screen on which a diagram indicating the magnitude of the power amount indicated by the vehicle charge power amount information and a diagram indicating the magnitude of the power amount indicated by the first power amount information are displayed side by side as the charge- side power amount information, and a diagram indicating the magnitude of the power amount indicated by the vehicle discharge power amount information and a diagram indicating the magnitude of the power amount indicated by the second power amount information are displayed side by side as the discharge-side power amount information (see Okumura at least fig. 1-13 and in particular fig. 1-2, 8-11; EV charger and discharger [102], charging and discharging amounts over multiple days/period and see 109 at least fig. 1-10, Abstract and Tech-problem and solution; see claim 1 above).
Motivation to combine Okumura with 109, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Okumura and 109 disclose claim 8: wherein the generation unit generates the display data for causing the display device to display the calendar screen on which charge-side power amount display information for displaying the charge- side power amount information and discharge-side power amount display information for displaying the discharge-side power amount information are further displayed, the acquisition unit is configured to be capable of acquiring information indicating that at least one of the charge-side power amount display information and the discharge-side power amount display information displayed on the display device has been selected, and the generation unit generates the display data for causing the display device to display the calendar screen on which the charge-side power amount information is not displayed, when the acquisition unit does not acquire information indicating that the charge-side power amount display information has been selected, and generates the display data for causing the display device to display the calendar screen on which the discharge-side power amount information is not displayed, when the acquisition unit does not acquire information indicating that the discharge-side power amount display information has been selected (see Okumura at least fig. 1-13 and in particular fig. 1-2, 8-11; EV charger and discharger [102], charging and discharging amounts over multiple days/period and see 109 at least fig. 1-10, Abstract and Tech-problem and solution; see claim 1 above).
Motivation to combine Okumura with 109, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Okumura and 109 disclose claim 9: A method for controlling a charge-discharge system that performs charge- discharge with a vehicle energy storage apparatus that is an energy storage apparatus of a vehicle in a predetermined supply area to which power from a power system is supplied, and supplies power to a power load in the supply area, the method comprising: controlling a switching circuit to selectively connect the power system to the power load based on the status of the power system; acquiring charge-side power amount information indicating a magnitude of a power amount including a charge power amount from the charge-discharge system to the vehicle energy storage apparatus in predetermined periods, and discharge-side power amount information indicating a magnitude of a power amount including a discharge power amount from the vehicle energy storage apparatus to the charge-discharge system (see Okumura at least fig. 1-13 and in particular fig. 1, 2 5 & 12); generating display data for causing a display device to display a calendar screen on which the charge-side power amount information and the discharge-side power amount information are displayed for each of the predetermined periods in a calendar in which the predetermined periods are arranged (see Okumura at least fig. 1-13 and in particular fig. 1, 2 5 & 12); and transmitting the display data to the display device , wherein the predetermined periods comprises a plurality of one days (see Okumura at least fig. 1-13 and in particular fig. 1-2, 8-11; EV charger and discharger [102], charging and discharging amounts over multiple days/period and see 109 at least fig. 1-10, Abstract and Tech-problem and solution; see claim 1 above).
Motivation to combine Okumura with 109, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Okumura and 109 disclose claim 10: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing thereon a program for causing a computer to execute processing included in the method for controlling a charge- discharge system that performs charge-discharge with a vehicle energy storage apparatus that is an enemy storage apparatus of a vehicle in a predetermined supply area to which power from a power system is supplied, and supplies power to a power load in the supply area, the method comprising: controlling a switching circuit to selectively connect the power system to the power load based on the status of the power system; acquiring charge-side power amount information indicating a magnitude of a power amount including a charge power amount from the charge-discharge system to the vehicle energy storage apparatus in predetermined periods, and discharge-side power amount information indicating a magnitude of a power amount including a discharge power amount from the vehicle energy storage apparatus to the charge- discharge system; generating display data for causing a display device to display a calendar screen on which the charge-side power amount information and the discharge-side power amount information are displayed for each of the predetermined periods in a calendar in which the predetermined periods are arranged; and transmitting the display data to the display device, wherein the predetermined periods comprises a plurality of one days (see Okumura at least fig. 1-13 and in particular fig. 1-2, 8-11; EV charger and discharger [102], charging and discharging amounts over multiple days/period and see 109 at least fig. 1-10, Abstract and Tech-problem and solution; see claim 1 above).
Motivation to combine Okumura with 109, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MACEEH ANWARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663