DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed July 24 2026 have been fully considered. They are persuasive in part, as explained below. To the extend they are persuasive, they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth in this action, which are summarized as follows. Claims 26-28, 30-33, and 38 are rejected over Hayward and Cheung, claims 29 over Hayward, Cheung and Jacobs, claim 34 rejected over Hayward, Cheung, Boyle and Olson, claim 35 rejected over Hayward, Cheung, and Boyle, claim 36-37 rejected over Hayward, Cheung and Mets and Bieganski, claims 39 rejected over Hayward, Cheung, and Metrot, claims 40-41 rejected over Hayward, Cheung, Metrot and Boyle, and claims 42 and 44, 45 rejected over Boyle and Jacobs and claims 43 over Boyle Jacobs, and Metrot.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 26 have been fully considered and are persuasive regarding Hayward alone, however the new ground of rejection relies on Cheung to teach what Hayward does not disclose. Cheung teaches that the thermoplastic layers are heat bonded around low density foam cores in sports boards without destroying the core, see col. 5 lines 62-col. 6 line 44, col. 7 lines 10-19).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 42-45 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s argument with respect to claim 39 have been considered but are not persuasive. Metrot’s deck and hull half shells 112a, 112b forming the upper and lower structures of board 110 are themselves sandwich structures in which a foam core layer 12 is confined between inner and outer composite skins 14 (see fig. 5-6). Metrot inserts a compressed foam layer 16 in a localized sone of the deck (see para. 78) the reinforced portion may be divided into several portions, and the hull, the rials, or the noses may likewise be reinforced (para. 79). The rails 115 are the peripheral lateral edge of the board (para. 76). The compressed foam layer may be received in a recess 120 of matching shape and depth (para. 80, see fig. 7). Metrot places localized low density regions within the structures surrounding the interior of the board, not only in a core. Metrot also expressly applies its construction to skateboards (para. 11). Therefore, meeting the claims limitations. In addition, Cheung is relied on to teach the fused, monolithic matrix structure. Therefore, all arguments are addressed.
Claim Objections
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 recites “for the a lower structure” and line 5 recites “for the a upper structure”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 33 line 1 recites “wherein in that each of the core layers”, examiner suggests change to “wherein each of the core layers”.
Claim 37 recites “based upon on the user inputs” on line 3. Examiner suggests “based upon the user inputs”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32-33, and 42-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 recites stacking the plurality of layers, it is unclear if this is the plurality of core layers or the plurality of layers of plastic and/or plastic composite material.
Claim 42 recites “the board body” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 44 recites “the lower, upper, and peripheral matrix structures” in line 5 and 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 45 recites “reinforcing strips in the core” in line 3-4. Claim 45 depends on claim 42 where the core is not claimed. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 26-28, 30-33, and 38 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Hayward (TW200932625), English translation provided as NPL, and further in view of Cheung (US 7303454).
In regards to claim 26, Hayward discloses a method of manufacturing a skateboard (410), for use in skateboarding or other extreme sports (the field of sport boards expressly includes skateboarding, see background), wherein the skateboard comprises: upper (416) and lower (417) surfaces extending along a length between first and second ends (430, 432) and across a width perpendicular to the length (see fig. 19,22), the skateboard having a thickness between the upper and lower surfaces (see fig. 21); and a core (418), a lower structure (424) located beneath the core (418) and forming the lower surface (417), an upper structure (422) located above the core (418) and forming the upper surface (416) and a peripheral structure (440, see fig. 22) around the core (418) and between the upper and lower structures (422, 424), wherein the method comprises: determining customizable performance parameters for the skateboard comprising board flexibility, board pop-up, shock absorption and/or strength (see para. 0033-0035, 0139, 0235, 0237, disclosing varying foam core density along the length and varying thickness or composition of the layers to change the rigidity / deflection and performance); selecting, for achieving the customizable performance parameters to tune the properties of the skateboard, (i) the core (418) (see para. 139-149, 201), (ii) a plurality of layers of plastic and/or plastic-composite material for forming the upper structure (422), lower structure and peripheral structure (424) (see para. 131) and (iii) an interface between the core and the upper and/or lower structures (440) (fig. 22); arranging the selected core and plurality of layers over and/or around one another with the selected interface (see fig. 22, para. 201-205); and forming the lower, upper and peripheral structures by heating the plurality of layers (see para. 055) plurality of layers to at least the melting points of the layers and then allowing them to cool such that the layers fuse and resolidify to form a monolithic structure with the core encapsulated therein.
Cheung teaches a laminated sports board 15 having a polyethylene foam core 16, a top laminate (21/24) of polyolefin film and an intermediate layer, a bottom laminate 29/36 of polyolefin film and an intermediate layer, and polyolefin foam side strips 34, 35 extending around the perimeter of the core (see col. 5 lines 20-62, fig. 1-3). Cheung teaches heat laminating the bottom laminate to the core, heat laminating the side strips to cover the cut side edges and then heat laminating the top laminate to the core and wraps it over the side strips, so that the core is enclosed (col. 5 line 62-col. 6 line 44, fig. 8, 12b). The intermediate layers 24, 36 have a lower melting temperature than the other materials, wet, and diffuse into the adjacent layers and form a physical bond with them when cooled (col. 7 lines 10-19). Cheung’s heat lamination thus heats the thermoplastic bonding phase of the layers to at least the melting points and allows it to cool, so that the layers fuse and resolidify into a unitary structure with the core encapsulate therein.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Cheung’s thermoplastic bonding approach in Hayward’s similar layered board construction, forming the upper, lower, and side layers as thermoplastic layers heat bonded to one another and around the core. Hayward supplies the board and the performance tailoring; Cheung supplies a known bonding method for foam core laminates. The modification would provide a bonded, lightweight board assembly and a way to attach the skins and peripheral structure to the core without the weight and delamination drawbacks of adhesive bonding that Cheung teaches (see col. 1 line 25-36, col. 3 line 45-55). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Cheung demonstrates that its lower melting bonding layer once melted bonds around the low density foam core when cooled.
In regards to claim 27, Hayward as combined with Cheung teaches wherein during the arranging step the plurality of layers are stacked together as a sandwich structure with the core (418) located within a hollow space of at least one layer of the plurality of layers for forming the peripheral structure (see fig. 22), overlain by at least one layer of the plurality of layers for forming the upper structure (422) and underlain by at least one layer of the plurality of layers for forming the lower structure (424).
In regards to claim 28, Hayward and Cheung in combination teach comprising at least one of: cutting at least one of the plurality of layers for a lower structure; cutting at least one of the plurality of layers for the peripheral structure with a hollow space for accommodating the core; and cutting at least one of the plurality of layers for the upper structure (see fig. 22, para. 203, the layers are formed and then cut, the upper, lower and peripheral structure are cut in a shape to accommodate the core 418 thereby with a hollow space).
In regards to claim 30, Hayward and Cheung in combination teach wherein: the upper and lower structures have the same or different thicknesses above and below the core (see fig. 22, para. 201); and/or the thicknesses and/or number of the plurality of layers forming the upper and lower structures are selected for achieving the customizable performance parameters for a given board weight (para. 201 discloses the layers 422, 424, 440, 426, 428 may be the same as shown or varied as need to create the desired difference in deflection in the board 410).
In regards to claim 31, Hayward teaches the core is formed by fusing many discrete thermoplastic beads together in a mold under heat/steam but it fails to explicitly disclose forming the core from a plurality of core layers. Cheung teaches a comparable sports board to Hayward's wherein the core is formed from two or more layers laminated together to form the core. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Hayward in view of Cheung wherein the core is formed from a plurality of layers for the board to be formed with the desired density and thickness, substituting one known equivalent for another would have been obvious with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claim 32, Hayward and Cheung in combination teach forming the core by at least one of: cutting the plurality of core layers to shape, such as from sheets of material; stacking the plurality of layers together; and fusing the plurality of core layers to form a single core body upon cooling. optionally by heating and pressing, optionally by heating to a temperature in the range of between 180°C and 240°C. This method is taught by Hayward, para. 055, 087, and 0146, cutting ,stacking, fusing. Cheung teaches the layers are laminated together, the process of lamination is understood as boding them together under high temperature and pressure and then cooled to form a multilayer single body core, see Cheung Col. 5 lines 27-30. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Cheung's lamination process for the forming of the multilayer core as combined in Hayward, in order for the cores density and structural integrity be maintained.
In regards to claim 33, Hayward and Cheung teach wherein in that each of the core layers has a thickness between 0.05 mm and 3 mm inclusive and wherein the core layers are stacked together prior to fusing (see Cheung col. 5 lines 23-25, .25 in thickness with at least 2 layers each layer being about 3 mm).
In regards to claim 38, Hayward and Cheung in combination teach a skateboard (410) formed according to the method of claim 26 (see above claim 26).
Claims 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayward (TW200932625) and Cheung (US 7303454), as applied above, and further in view of Jacobs (EP 1787790) (see attached).
In regards to claim 29, Hayward and Cheung teach wherein during the forming step: the plurality of layers are heated and pressed to fuse and melt so that the monolithic structure is produced; a pressure is applied in the range of from 10 bar to 20 bar inclusive; and/or the pressure is applied within an autoclave environment (see para. 147, Hayward discloses the step of applying pressure from a press causing the layers to be solidified). Although Hayward fails to disclose the pressure is applied in the range of from 10 bar to 20 bar. However, Jacobs teaches a similar method of manufacturing a sandwiched style composite wherein the method includes the steps of applying a pressure to fuse the layers together, wherein the pressure applied is in the range from 5-20 bar (see Jacobs para. 0011, 0013, 0014). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, lacking criticality, to apply the range as taught by Jacobs in order to properly distribute the materials into the space and form the monolithic structure since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayward (TW200932625), and Cheung (US 7303454), as applied above, and further in view of Boyle (US 20090108554) and Olson (US 5921564).
In regards to claim 34, Hayward in view of Cheung teaches, wherein at least one core layer comprises carbon fiber reinforced plastic and/or high strength composite material (see para. 139-144 and 145); Hayward fails to explicitly disclose the core comprises an essentially ring-shaped body having a hollow central region; and/or top and/or bottom core surfaces of the core are rough, are undulated, comprise a plurality of slots or cuts in the core and/or comprise a non-uniform cross-sectional area.
Boyle teaches a skateboard 20 comparable to Hayward with an improvement technique wherein the core (middle layers 55C-55E) comprises an essentially ring-shaped body having a hollow central region (core plates are provided with cutouts 60C - 60E forming essentially a ring shaped body around the ring). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Hayward as combined with Cheung, in view of Boyle wherein the core is ring shaped to accommodate a reinforcement for increased strength performances of the board as Boyle teaches.
Olson teaches a comparable sport board (2) to that of Hayward wherein the top and/or bottom core surfaces of the core are rough, are undulated, comprise a plurality of slots or cuts in the core and/or comprise a non-uniform cross-sectional area (see fig. 2 and 3, slots 12 on the lower surface of the board core 10). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the core of Hayward as combined with Cheung, before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success, in view of Olson’s teachings, including the rough, undulated, slots or cuts in the core with a nonuniform cross sectional area in order to increase the strength of the board (Olson col.2 lines 32-38). Examiner notes it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331. Additionally, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayward (TW200932625) and Cheung (US 7303454), as applied above and further in view of Boyle (US 20090108554).
In regards to claim 35, Hayward in view of Cheung teaches the core comprises a matrix of plastic material (see para. 139-144) but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the core comprises several discrete reinforcing strips within a matrix of plastic material. Boyle teaches, see fig.1-2, the core of a board (middle layers 55C-E) provided with slots (60) for reinforcing strips (52). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hayward as combined with Cheung, to form the core with the improvement technique of reinforcing strips as Boyle teaches, before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success, so as to increase rigidity, and torsional stiffness (see para. 0045).
Claims 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayward (TW200932625) and Cheung (US 7303454), as applied above and further in view of Mets (US 20150302504) and Bieganski (US 6321221).
In regards to claim 36, Hayward, in view of Cheung teach manufacturing a board having performance characteristics that are selectable/tunable by selecting construction variables (core configuration/density, and cover/layer thickness/composition) to achieve desired flexural response and stiffness characteristics. However, Hayward fails to disclose the method comprising providing a user interface for receipt of inputs including a user weight, selections of the customizable performance parameters and a priority order of the selected customizable performance parameters; and determining the customizable performance parameters for the board based upon receipt of user inputs via the user interface.
Mets teaches a method and system for selecting a surfboard wherein a board is selected based on user input (weight and height) through a web application system (see abstract) wherein the system selects a "suitable board tailored to [the user's] needs and preferences" (para. 0052) and it determines the surfboard size information, length width, thickness and volume from the received user information (i.e., selecting performance related board characteristics based on user inputs, see para. 0007-0011).
In addition, regarding the priority order, Bieganski teaches prompting the user with questions corresponding to product attributes and allowing the user to weight the importance of each attribute, storing that information, and then ordering the attributes according to the preference weights, and ranking the products accordingly. Thereby producing recommendations in priority ordered form (see claim 16, priority ordering/ranking recommendations) based off of user's weighted input. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Hayward method of manufacturing a tunable performance board by incorporating the user input interface and input driven selection features of Mets and Bieganski with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to permit each user to provide their characteristics and desired performance, thereby achieving predictable results of improved user fit and selection consistency without changing the manufacturing operations of Hayward.
In regards to claim 37, Hayward teaches a selecting board construction variables (selecting the core compositions, the number or composition of layers for upper and lower structure and the peripheral structure, and the interface) to tune board performance characteristics but fails to teach that such selection is performed by a computer system comprising at least one processor implementing an algorithm, wherein, based upon on the user inputs, the algorithm makes a selection of the most appropriate board for that user amongst a finite number of standardized boards. Mets teaches a computer system (100) executing an algorithm that receives user inputs (weight/height) and based upon those inputs determines and recommends/selects one or more suitable boards from a finite set of board represented by the system (see para. 007-0011, and 0013-0018). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Hayward's selection system for turning a board's construction variables by implementing a computer system as taught by Mets based upon the users inputs to make a selection of a board for that user amongst what is available by Hayward that best satisfy the inputs, thereby achieving predictable improvements in selection accuracy and manufacturability while using known computerized selection techniques to choose among known results effective board construction variables.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayward (TW200932625) and Cheung (US 7303454), as applied above, and further in view of Metrot (US 20080280096).
In regards to claim 39, Hayward discloses a board (410) for use in skateboarding or other extreme sports (the field of sport boards expressly includes skateboarding, see background), wherein the board comprises: upper (416) and lower (417) surfaces extending along a length between first and second ends (430, 432) and across a width perpendicular to the length (see fig. 19,22), the board having a thickness between the upper and lower surfaces (see fig. 21); and a core (418), a lower matrix structure (424) located beneath the core and forming the lower surface, an upper matrix structure (422) located above the core (418) and forming the upper surface and a peripheral matrix structure (440) around the core (418) and between the upper and lower matrix structures (424, 422), wherein: the lower, upper and peripheral matrix structures comprise a plurality of layers of plastic or plastic-composite material fused together as a monolithic plastic or plastic composite matrix structure and the core (418) is encapsulated within the monolithic structure(see fig. 22) (see para. 0135 "multilayer structure comprising at least three layers, see also para. 0145-148, upper and lower covers include a second layer of the laminate resin which can be cured and hardened to fix everything together, the laminate resin is a layer of plastic or plastic composite material fused together see again para. 0135-136); the properties of the board are defined by a combination of attributes of the core, of the upper matrix structure, lower matrix structure, and peripheral matrix structure (see para. 128-149).
Hayward fails to teach the board wherein the layers fused together as a monolithic plastic or plastic composite matrix, the upper, lower and/or peripheral matrix structure comprise pockets of lightweight material, said lightweight material having a density less than 400 Kg/m3.
Cheung teaches thermoplastic bonding of top and bottom laminates and side strips around a foam core using lower melting intermediate layers that bond the adjacent layers on cooling (see col. 5 line 62, col. 6 line 44, col. 7 line 10-19). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Hayward forming the layers as a thermoplastically bonded, unitary matrix structure as taught by Cheung, for the same reasons as laid out in claim 26.
Metrot teaches a board similar to hayward (board 10) where a layered sandwich structure (upper, lower, peripheral and core structure) are arranged having localized lightweight layers (see para. 0013, sandwich structure is reinforced at least locally by at least one compressed foam layer, examiner understands this to mean it is not continuous and is more of a pocket/insert of lightweight material). Metrot teaches that the half shells forming the deck and hull are themselves sandwich structures containing a foam core layer 12 (see para. 0031, 0074) Metrot teaches one example of a lightweight material see para. 0004 with density lower than 400 Kg/m3 (see also Metrot para. 0011, 0038-0039, 0078-0080, 0067). Examiner notes it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331. Therefore, although this is explicitly used in the core, one of ordinary skill in the art could use the same material for the lightweight layers as well. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hayward, before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success in view of Metrot for increased reinforcement with a lightweight density as the improvement technique of boards Metrot suggests.
Claims 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayward (TW200932625), Cheung (US 7303454), and Metrot (US 20080280096) and further in view of Boyle (US 20090108554).
In regards to claim 40, Hayward, Cheung, and Metrot fail to teach wherein said core comprises several discrete reinforcing strips within a matrix of plastic material. However, Boyle teaches see fig.1-2, the core of a board (middle layers 55C-E) provided with slots (60) for reinforcing strips (52). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hayward to form the core with the improvement technique of reinforcing strips as Boyle teaches, before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success, so as to increase rigidity, and torsional stiffness (see para. 0045).
In regards to claim 41, Hayward discloses variable rigidity along the longitudinal direction using core density variation and layer thickness (see para. 201). Because Hayward already motivates tuning for performance, varying reinforcement layout/thickness along the length is well known as Boyle teaches to achieve the desired stiffness distribution. Therefore, in combination it would have been obvious to further modify Hayward with Boyle's improvement technique of reinforcement layers wherein there is variable rigidity along a longitudinal direction of the board between the first end and the second end, wherein said variable rigidity is achieved through variation of the reinforcing layers or structure.
Claim 42 and 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyle (US 20090108554) and further in view of Jacobs (EP 1787790).
In regards to claim 42, Boyle teaches a skateboard deck 20 having a concave upper surface 28 and a convex lower surface 30 extending along a length between first and second ends 24, 26 and across a width, with a thickness between the surfaces (see para. 32, 39, fig.1 and 2). The deck comprises a plurality of layers 55a-55g extending between the upper and lower surfaces that are stacked, pressed, and bonded together (para. 39-44). Boyle teaches that the layers may be of materials other than wood including plastic. Boyle fails to teach or suggest the layers fused together as a monolithic structure, and layers comprising pp composite or pp copolymer as a metrics and stretched pp homopolymer as reinforcement.
However, Jacobs teaches a reinforced thermoplastic composite in which highly oriented semi crystalline polymer serves as reinforced for a non-oriented matrix, providing light weight good mechanical properties with strength and recyclability (see para. 10). The reinforcement is preferably homopolypropylene and the matric is preferably a copolymer of propylene with ethylene (see para. 21-22). Jacob teaches heating the material above the matrix melting point while preserving the reinforcement (para. 11 and 13) and hot presses stacked layers of the composite fabric into a plate thereby teaching a monolithic structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Boyle in view of Jacob’s improvement technique using lightweight, impact resistant self-reinforced polypropylene composite of Jacobs for the layers of Boyles skateboard deck, fusing the stacked layers together. Such a modification would have been made with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claim 44, Boyle and Jacob teach further comprising a core (153, see fig. 6, par. 0060, 0038, and 0058), a lower structure (layer 55f, 55g) located beneath the core (153) and forming the lower surface (see para. 40, 43), an upper structure (layer 55a, 55b) located above the core (153) and forming the upper surface (see para. 40, 44) and a peripheral structure (layers 55c-55e) around the core (153) and between the upper and lower structures (55a-b, and 55f-g), wherein: the lower, upper and peripheral matrix structures (layers 55a-55g) comprise the plurality of layers fused together as a monolithic structure (as taught by Jacob’s) and the core (153) is encapsulated within the monolithic structure (all the layers heated to the melting point creating a monolithic structure); and the lower, upper and peripheral matrix structures comprise the PP composite (as Jacob teaches see claim 42).
In regards to claim 45, Boyle and Jacobs in combination teach wherein there is variable rigidity along a longitudinal direction of the skateboard (20) between the first end and the second end (see para. 0013, 0062, varying reinforcement geometry and layer construction to vary stiffness along the deck), wherein said variable rigidity is achieved through variation of reinforcing strips in the core or monolithic structure(reinforcing strips is understood as an additional layer which Boyle teaches in varying the layer construction, increasing composite layers and including reinforcing rods to adjust the rigidity).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyle (US 20090108554) and Jacobs (EP 1787790), as applied above, and further in view of Metrot (US 20080280096).
In regards to claim 43, Boyle as modified fails to teach wherein within the at least one of the plurality of layers comprises pockets of lightweight material, said lightweight material comprising balsa wood. Metrot teaches, a board similar to Boyle (board 10) where a sandwich structure (upper, lower, peripheral and core structure) are arranged having localized lightweight layers, said lightweight material comprising balsa wood (see para. 0013, sandwich structure is reinforced at least locally by at least one compressed foam layer, examiner understands this to mean it is not continuous and is more of a pocket/insert of lightweight material, see par. 0005). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Boyle in view of Jacobes, including pockets of balsa wood, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331. Although Boyle and Jacobs don't explicitly teach the PP composite extends throughout at least 75% of the volume of the board, it is understood that the layers and structure excluding the core make up approximately more than 75% of the board's volume (see Boyle). Examiner notes, absent any evidence of criticality, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Boyle with a reasonable expectation of success for the pp composite to extend throughout at least 75% of the boards volume, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
This action is Non-final. The new grounds of rejection set for below are not necessitated in their entirety by applicant’s amendment.
/C.A.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614