DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment/arguments filed on 08/11/2026. Claims 3, 11-13 and 24-25 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 14 and 15 have been amended. Claim 26 has been added. Currently, claims 1, 2, 4-10, 14-23 and 26 are pending. This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to amended claims 1, 14 and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Regarding amended claim 1, on page 8, applicant argues that the amended claim 1 requires the limitations/features of “full bit count of the first set” and “[t]he two non-zero bit counts subsist concurrently, applied to different sets within the same measurement window according to which set each transceiver belong to”. However, neither original claim 1 nor amended claim 1 requires these argued features. Amended claim 1 merely require “a first number of bits” in the first operating mode (i.e. first set). Also, amended claim 1 actually requires different sets (two non-zero bit counts) within different measurement windows and not subsist concurrently by claiming “first operating mode for a first time period” and “a second operating mode for a second time period, the second time period following the first time period”. Therefore, any arguments based on these non-claimed features are considered moot.
Applicant is correct that Tang and Moshfeghi alone do not disclose the lower second bit count. However, the previous Office Action identified this lacking feature and relied on Mackenzie for the corresponding limitation of previous (now-cancelled) claim 3. The combination of Tang and Moshfeghi teaches three different modes (two non-zero bit count modes and one zero bit count mode, see detailed rejection below), and Mackenzie only being relied on to teach “the second number of bits being lower than the first number of bits”, not the “non-zero bit count” mode as argued in page 9.
On page 10, Applicant further argues that “[t]he proposed modification would also defeat Tang’s own purpose... Tang’s method depend on the accuracy of that quantity” by stating that “Mackenzie states… where reduced bit width can degrade effective signal to interference and noise ratio of the received signal” and further argues it is not reasonable to combine Mackenize into Tang and Moshfeghi. The Examiner respectively disagrees. Mackenzie discloses a trade-off technique between reduced bit width and expected error threshold to reduce fronthaul resource use (par [0046]-[0048], see detailed rejection below), and further discloses using a lower bit width precision that’s sufficient to satisfy the expected error threshold (see par [0046]-[0048] of Mackenzie) to perform the trade-off operation. Therefore, incorporating the teaching of Mackenzie into Tang and Moshfeghi would provide a system with trade-off feature, and would not defeat Tang’s own purpose.
On pages 10 and 11, Applicant further argues that the none of the references identifies “the second set is brought up at reduced bit count rather than at the bit count of the first set, signal quality or strength for every transceiver can be obtained within the same second time period without the power spike on the digital interface that simultaneous full rate transfer would cause” and further describes what the description/specification describes. However, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., obtained within the same second time period without the power spike on the digital interface that simultaneous full rate transfer) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Additionally, the rejection is based on the combination of Tang in view of Moshfeghi and Mackenzie, not any of these references alone.
Regarding independent claims 14 and 15, see responses above.
Regarding the dependent claims, see responses above.
Regarding new claim 26, see detailed rejection below.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 20190181942 A1) in view of Moshfeghi (US 20170230099 A1), and in further view of Mackenzie (US 20220312263 A1).
Consider claim 1, Tang discloses method for a processing unit, the processing unit being connectable to a plurality of antennas of a wireless device (read as the UE 106 with processor 302, wireless communication circuitry 330, multiple antennas 335, radios, and antenna switch block 402, which together provide dynamically configurable antenna and radio paths used for adaptive antenna selection, figures 3 and 4, par [0051] and [0054] [0059]), comprising:
configuring a first set of the plurality of antenna paths to be in a first operating mode for a first time period (read as the UE 106 initially uses Rx0 and Rx1 as the active antenna set, with Rx0 handling transmit and receive activity and Rx1 handling receive activity before later measurement activity involving Rx2 and Rx3, figures 5 and 7A, par [0076] and [0092]);
configuring a second set of the plurality of antenna paths to be in a non-operating mode for the first time period (read as the additional antennas Rx2 and Rx3 are turned off during the earlier interval while Rx0 and Rx1 remain active, and the additional antennas are later enabled for measurement duration, figures 7A, par [0077], [0079] and [0092]);
configuring the second set of antenna paths to be in a second operating mode for a second time period, the second time period following the first time period (read as the additional Rx2 and Rx3 antennas are powered on for the later measurement duration after the earlier off duration, which allows the additional antennas to receive measurements during the later measurement duration, figures 7A, par [0077], [0079] and [0092]);
during the second time period obtaining a signal quality/strength for each of the plurality of antenna paths (read as during the measurement duration, the UE 106 measures received signal metrics such as SNR and SINR for each antenna Rx0 through Rx3 using the initially active antennas and the additionally enabled antennas, figures 7A and 8A, par [0078], [0092] and [0095]);
at the end of the second time period, updating the first and second sets of antenna paths based on the obtained signal quality/strength (read as after the measurement duration, the UE 106 evaluates received signal metrics from candidate antennas against the initial active antennas, uses differences/delta and thresholds to choose the next antenna set, then turns off antennas outside the chosen set while activating antennas in the chosen set, figures 5, 7A and 8A, par [0082], [0087] and [0092]),
wherein for each of the transceivers in the first operating mode, a signal is transmitted to/from the processing unit, (read as the initial operating duration/state (i.e. first operating mode) in which the initially activate antenna group (Rx0 and Rx1) is used for transmit and/or receive signal to/from the processing unit 302, figure 5, par [0076]-[0079], [0082] and [0087]);
wherein for each of the transceivers in the second operating mode, a signal, is transmitted to/from the processing unit and for the transceivers in the non-operating mode, a signal is transmitted to/from the processing unit (read as in the later measurement operating duration/state, additional antennas (Rx2 and Rx3) are enabled for measurement operation (i.e. second operating mode) to transmit to/from the processing unit 302, figure 5, par [0076]-[0079], [0082] and [0087]), and
that for the transceiver in the non-operating mode, the corresponding signal path is deactivated (read as the inactive antenna paths would be deactivated and later reactivated, and a later selected antenna group is used after measurement, figure 5, par [0076]-[0079], [0082] and [0087]).
However, Tang discloses the claimed invention above with first and second sets of antenna paths used in the adaptive measurement and selection process (par [0076] and [0092]) but does not specifically disclose the processing unit being connectable to a plurality of transceivers via one or more digital interface; the first and second sets comprising transceivers; for each transceivers in first operation mode, a first number of bits describing a signal are transmitted to or from the processing unit via an associated digital interface; each transceivers in second operation mode, a second number of bits describing a signal are transmitted to or from the processing unit via an associated digital interface; and for the transceivers in the non-operating mode, zero bits describing a signal are transmitted to or from the processing unit.
Nonetheless, Moshfeghi discloses distributed transceiver signal paths, comprising central processor 400 connected by direct separate cables and corresponding control channels to distributed transceivers 410a through 410N; in the digital interface configuration, transceiver receives digital transmit bits from baseband processor 420 and sends digitized received wave from bits to baseband processor 420 through a digital connection or interface; activates selected transceivers, switches other transceivers off for power saving, and further discloses that data transfer would be suspended or stopped, which corresponds to configuring the non-operating signal path to carry zero digitized waveform bits while its separate control channel may remain, figures 4 and 10, par [0045], [0047]-[0049] and [0060].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Moshfeghi into the teachings of Tang, which modified by Moshfeghi, to configure the adaptive antenna selection process using Moshfeghi’s digital transceivers, corresponding control channels and digital connections, in order to improve link quality while saving power during adaptive measurement and selection process (see par [0048] and [0060] of Moshfeghi).
However, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, disclose the claimed invention above with transmitting digital bits over digital links and digital connection/cable (par [0049] of Moshfeghi) but does not specifically disclose the second number of bits being lower than the first number of bits.
Nonetheless, Mackenzie discloses a processor implementing one or more compression technique to achieve any one of the available bit widths (bit numbers), greater compression would achieve relatively fewer bits per sample, and lower compression would achieve more bits per sample, and selecting and communicating at a reduced bit width that satisfies an expected error threshold, which reduces fronthaul resource use and operating energy, par [0022] and [0046]-[0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Mackenzie into the teachings of Tang, which modified by Moshfeghi, to configure the digital links/connections of distributed transceivers using Mackenzie’s selectable bit number/width control technique, with a first bit width for the transceivers in the first operating mode and a lower bit width for the transceivers in the second operating mode, in order to reduce fronthaul resource use (i.e. Tang’s measurement operation) when lower bit width precision is sufficient to satisfy the expected error threshold (see par [0046]-[0047] of Mackenzie).
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi and Mackenzie, discloses repeating the steps of configuring a first set of the plurality of antennas to be in a first operating mode for a first time period; configuring a second set of the plurality of antennas to be in a non-operating mode for the first time period; configuring the second set of antennas to be in a second operating mode for a second time period, the second time period following the first time period; during the second time period obtaining a signal quality/strength for each of the plurality of antennas; and at the end of the second time period, updating the first and second sets of antennas based on the obtained signal quality/strength (read as the repeating the same antenna path selection process with periodically taking measurements: activating initial set of antennas for initial communication period while deactivating additional antennas for later measurements time duration, repeating trigger conditions, activating the additional antenna sets for signal metric measurements and selection of antenna sets, and after selection activating the selected second set while deactivating antennas not part of that set, which carries forward the initial activate antenna set, the inactive remaining antenna paths, the later measurement state, the received signal metric collection, and the antenna set change or swap sequence as shown in claim 1 above, figures 5 and 7A, par [0075]-[0079], [0082], [0084]-[0087]and [0092]).
However, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi and Mackenzie, discloses the claimed invention above with repeated antenna selection and repeated measurement intervals (par [0088] and [0079]) but does not specifically disclose apply the repeated configuring the first set, configuring of the second set in non-operating mode, configuring of the second set in the second operating mode, obtaining the signal quality or strength, and updating the first and second sets to sets of transceivers.
Nonetheless, Moshfeghi further discloses a transceiver level implementation having distributed transceivers 410a through 410N that maybe be selectively activated or switched off, with switcher 620 controlling on and off states and selected transceivers chosen based on strong propagation channel responses, figures 4-7, par [0048], [0053] and [0055].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Moshfeghi into the teachings of Tang, which modified by Moshfeghi and Mackenzie, to modify the repeated antenna selection using Moshfeghi’s distributed transceiver system feature, in order to save power during repeated adaptive selection (see par [0048] of Moshfeghi).
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 1 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi and Mackenzie, discloses wherein configuring the second set of transceivers to be in a second operating mode for a second time period is only performed if the signal quality/strength for each of the transceivers of the first set of the plurality of transceivers fulfils a first criterion (read as UE 106 monitoring radio link conditions for each antenna in the first antenna set, using received signal metrics including SNR, determining trigger conditions from such metrics, and powering on additional antennas for the measurement duration (figures 5 and 7, par [0068], [0070] and [0076]-[0079] of Tang) for transceivers (par [0045]-[0050] of Moshfeghi)), wherein the signal quality is measured as a signal to noise ratio (SNR) and the first criterion is fulfilled if the SNR of one or more transceivers of the first set has a value above a first threshold or wherein the signal quality is measured as a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) and the first criterion is fulfilled if the SINR of one or more transceivers of the first set has a value above a first threshold (read as In case d, the device may enter 2×2 mode if any of the listed conditions is satisfied, e.g., if received signal measurements such as RSRP or SNR exceed a threshold, figure 9A, par [0100]).
Consider claim 14, Tang discloses an apparatus, connectable to a plurality of antennas and radios, comprising control circuitry (read as the UE 106 with processor 302, wireless communication circuitry 330, multiple antennas 335, multipole radios, and antenna switch block 402, which together provide dynamically configurable antenna and radio paths used for adaptive antenna selection, figures 3 and 4, par [0051] and [0054] [0059]), the control circuitry being configured to cause:
configuration of a first set of the plurality of antenna paths to be in a first operating mode for a first time period (read as the UE 106 initially uses Rx0 and Rx1 as the active antenna set, with Rx0 handling transmit and receive activity and Rx1 handling receive activity before later measurement activity involving Rx2 and Rx3, figures 5 and 7A, par [0076] and [0092]);
configuration of a second set of the plurality of antenna paths to be in a non-operating mode for the first time period (read as the additional antennas Rx2 and Rx3 are turned off during the earlier interval while Rx0 and Rx1 remain active, and the additional antennas are later enabled for measurement duration, figures 7A, par [0077], [0079] and [0092]);
configuration of the second set of antenna paths to be in a second operating mode for a second time period, the second time period following the first time period (read as the Rx2 and Rx3 antennas are powered on for the later measurement duration after the earlier off duration, which allows the remaining antennas to receive measurements during the later measurement duration, figures 7A, par [0077], [0079] and [0092]);
during the second time period obtaining a signal quality/strength for each of the plurality of antenna paths (read as during the measurement duration, the UE 106 measures received signal metrics such as SNR and SINR for each antenna Rx0 through Rx3 using the initially active antennas and the additionally enabled antennas, figures 7A and 8A, par [0078], [0092] and [0095]);
at the end of the second time period, updating the first and second sets of antenna paths based on the obtained signal quality/strength (read as after the measurement duration, the UE 106 evaluates received signals metrics from candidate antennas against the initial active antennas, uses differences/delta and thresholds to choose the next antenna set, then turns off antennas outside the chosen set while activating antennas in the chosen set, figures 5, 7A and 8A, par [0082], [0087] and [0092]);
wherein for each of the transceivers in the first operating mode, a signal is transmitted to/from the processing unit, (read as the initial operating duration/state (i.e. first operating mode) in which the initially activate antenna group (Rx0 and Rx1) is used for transmit and/or receive signal to/from the processing unit 302, figure 5, par [0076]-[0079], [0082] and [0087]);
wherein for each of the transceivers in the second operating mode, a signal, is transmitted to/from the processing unit and for the transceivers in the non-operating mode, a signal is transmitted to/from the processing unit (read as in the later measurement operating duration/state, additional antennas (Rx2 and Rx3) are enabled for measurement operation (i.e. second operating mode) to transmit to/from the processing unit 302, figure 5, par [0076]-[0079], [0082] and [0087]), and
that for the transceiver in the non-operating mode, the corresponding signal path is deactivated (read as the inactive antenna paths would be deactivated and later reactivated, and a later selected antenna group is used after measurement, figure 5, par [0076]-[0079], [0082] and [0087]).
However, Tang discloses the claimed invention above with first and second sets of antenna paths used in the adaptive measurement and selection process (par [0076] and [0092]) but does not specifically disclose the processing unit being connectable to a plurality of transceivers via one or more digital interface; the first and second sets comprising transceivers; for each transceivers in first operation mode, a first number of bits describing a signal are transmitted to or from the processing unit via an associated digital interface; each transceivers in second operation mode, a second number of bits describing a signal are transmitted to or from the processing unit via an associated digital interface; and for the transceivers in the non-operating mode, zero bits describing a signal are transmitted to or from the processing unit.
Nonetheless, Moshfeghi discloses distributed transceiver signal paths, comprising central processor 400 connected by direct separate cables and corresponding control channels to distributed transceivers 410a through 410N; in the digital interface configuration, transceiver receives digital transmit bits from baseband processor 420 and sends digitized received wave from bits to baseband processor 420 through a digital connection or interface; activates selected transceivers, switches other transceivers off for power saving, and further discloses that data transfer would be suspended or stopped, which corresponds to configuring the non-operating signal path to carry zero digitized waveform bits while its separate control channel may remain, figures 4 and 10, par [0045], [0047]-[0049] and [0060].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Moshfeghi into the teachings of Tang, which modified by Moshfeghi, to configure the adaptive antenna selection process using Moshfeghi’s digital transceivers, corresponding control channels and digital connections, in order to improve link quality while saving power during adaptive measurement and selection process (see par [0048] and [0060] of Moshfeghi).
However, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, disclose the claimed invention above with transmitting digital bits over digital links and digital connection/cable (par [0049] of Moshfeghi) but does not specifically disclose the second number of bits being lower than the first number of bits.
Nonetheless, Mackenzie discloses a processor implementing one or more compression technique to achieve any one of the available bit widths (bit numbers), greater compression would achieve relatively fewer bits per sample, and lower compression would achieve more bits per sample, and selecting and communicating at a reduced bit width that satisfies an expected error threshold, which reduces fronthaul resource use and operating energy, par [0022] and [0046]-[0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Mackenzie into the teachings of Tang, which modified by Moshfeghi, to configure the digital links/connections of distributed transceivers using Mackenzie’s selectable bit number/width control technique, with a first bit width for the transceivers in the first operating mode and a lower bit width for the transceivers in the second operating mode, in order to reduce fronthaul resource use (i.e. Tang’s measurement operation) when lower bit width precision is sufficient or satisfies the expected error threshold (see par [0046]-[0047] of Mackenzie).
Claims 4-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 20190181942 A1) in view of Moshfeghi (US 20170230099 A1), and in further view of Mackenzie (US 20220312263 A1), and in further view of Kang et al. (US 20200044709 A1).
Consider claims 4 and 9, as applied to claim 1 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi and Mackenzie, discloses the claimed invention above and receiving one or more signal during the second time period (read as receiving signals in the later measurement duration for radio link metric such as SNR measurement, figure 5, par [0076]-[0079] of Tang, par [0045]-[0050] of Moshfeghi) but does not specifically disclose the one or more signal as one or more synchronization signals.
Nonetheless, Kang discloses the electronic device 101 may receive a synchronization signal block set and may measure received intensity of each of synchronization signal blocks in the synchronization signal block set, and receive synchronization signal blocks using a plurality of antennas at the same time, using the plurality of RF reception chains, par [0123], [0149] and [0152].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kang into the teachings of Tang, which modified by Moshfeghi and Mackenzie, to configure signal measurement timings of the transceivers using Kang’s SSB receiving at the same time technique, in order allow the UE to synchronize communications with all of the active transceiver at the same time during the during adaptive wireless selection.
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 4 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Kang, discloses the claimed invention above and receiving one or more signal using transceivers during the second time period (read as receiving signals in the later measurement duration for radio link metric such as SNR measurement (figure 5, par [0076]-[0079] of Tang) for transceivers (par [0045]-[0050] of Moshfeghi)) but does not specifically disclose receiving synchronization signals comprises receiving synchronization signals for each of the plurality of transceiver simultaneously.
Nonetheless, Kang discloses the electronic device 101 may receive a synchronization signal block set and may measure received intensity of each of synchronization signal blocks in the synchronization signal block set, and receive synchronization signal blocks using a plurality of antennas at the same time, using the plurality of RF reception chains, par [0123], [0149] and [0152].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kang into the teachings of Tang, which modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Kang, to configure signal measurement timings of the transceivers using Kang’s SSB receiving at the same time technique, in order allow the UE to synchronize communications with all of the active transceiver at the same time during the during adaptive wireless selection.
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 5 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Kang, discloses the claimed invention above and wherein obtaining the signal quality/strength for each of the plurality of transceivers (read as receiving signals in the later measurement duration for radio link metric such as SNR measurement (figure 5, par [0076]-[0079] of Tang) for transceivers (par [0045]-[0050] of Moshfeghi)) but does not specifically in accordance with the simultaneously received synchronization signals.
Nonetheless, Kang discloses the electronic device 101 may receive a synchronization signal block set and may measure received intensity of each of synchronization signal blocks in the synchronization signal block set, and receive synchronization signal blocks using a plurality of antennas at the same time, using the plurality of RF reception chains, par [0123], [0149] and [0152].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kang into the teachings of Tang, which modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Kang, to configure signal measurement timings of the transceivers using Kang’s SSB receiving at the same time technique, in order allow the UE to synchronize communications with all of the active transceiver at the same time during the during adaptive wireless selection.
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 5 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi and Mackenzie, discloses wherein obtaining the signal quality/strength for each of the plurality of transceivers comprises obtaining the signal quality/strength for each of the plurality of transceivers (read as receiving signals in the later measurement duration for radio link metric such as SNR measurement (figure 5, par [0076]-[0079] of Tang) for transceivers (par [0045]-[0050] of Moshfeghi)) from a corresponding synchronization signal (read as receive a synchronization signal block set and may measure received intensity of each of synchronization signal blocks in the synchronization signal block set, and receive synchronization signal blocks using a plurality of antennas at the same time, using the plurality of RF reception chains, par [0123], [0149] and [0152] of Kang).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 4 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Kang, discloses wherein the one or more synchronization signals are one or more synchronization signal blocks, SSBs (read as receive synchronization signal blocks using a plurality of antennas at the same time, using the plurality of RF reception chains, par [0123], [0149] and [0152] of Kang).
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 20190181942 A1) in view of Moshfeghi (US 20170230099 A1), and in further view of Mackenzie (US 20220312263 A1), and in further view of Kang et al. (US 20200044709 A1), and in further view of Li (US 20220167291 A1).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 5 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Kang, discloses the claimed invention above and receiving signals for each of the plurality of transceivers (par [0045]-[0050] of Moshfeghi) but does not specifically disclose wherein receiving synchronization signals comprises receiving the same synchronization signal for each of the plurality of transceivers.
Nonetheless, Li discloses second device periodically transmits synchronization signal blocks, contain the same synchronization signal block identifiers and the same synchronization signal block contents; and the synchronization signal blocks are received through k antenna panels of n antenna panels of the first device, par [0068], [0070]-[0071] and [0091]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Tang, which modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Kang, to configure signal measurement using Li’s same SSB reception technique, in order to align transceivers measurements to common SSB resources.
Claims 15, 16 and 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 20190181942 A1) in view of Moshfeghi (US 20170230099 A1), and in further view of Mackenzie (US 20220312263 A1), and in further view of Hornbuckle (US 20190097662 A1).
Consider claim 15, Tang discloses an apparatus with processing unit, connectable to a plurality of antennas and radios (read as the UE 106 with processor 302, wireless communication circuitry 330, multiple antennas 335, multipole radios, and antenna switch block 402, where antenna switching logic dynamically configures which antennas are used by which radios during the adaptive antenna selection, figures 3 and 4, par [0051], [0054]-[0055], [0057] and [0059]) and configured to:
receive the first configuration information from the external processing unit (read as receiving configuration indication from base station for configuring the operation of the UE 106, par [0063], [0089] and [0127]; and then the UE 106 selecting the antenna sets using the various steps of the antennas selection process, figure 5, par [0066]-[0067], [0079], [0082] and [0087]);
configure a first set of the plurality of antenna paths to be in a first operating mode for a first time period based on the first configuration information (read as the UE 106 is configured with the received configuration indication to select antenna set (par [0063]), and initially uses Rx0 and Rx1 as the active antenna set, with Rx0 handling transmit and receive activity and Rx1 handling receive activity before later measurement activity involving Rx2 and Rx3, figures 5 and 7A, par [0076] and [0092]);
configure a second set of the plurality of antenna paths to be in a non-operating mode for the first time period based on the first configuration information (read as the UE 106 is configured with the received configuration indication to select antenna set (par [0063]), and the additional antennas Rx2 and Rx3 are turned off during the earlier interval while Rx0 and Rx1 remain active, and the additional antennas are later enabled for measurement duration, figures 7A, par [0077], [0079] and [0092]);
configure the second set of antenna paths to be in a second operating mode for a second time period, the second time period following the first time period (read as the Rx2 and Rx3 antennas are powered on for the later measurement duration after the earlier off duration, which allows the remaining antennas to receive measurements during the later measurement duration, figures 7A, par [0077], [0079] and [0092]);
receive a signal from each of the plurality of antenna paths (read as the UE 106 receives signal using the plurality of antenna paths, and obtaining received signal metrics for Rx0 through Rx3 during measurement duration, using the initially active antennas and the additionally activated antennas, figures 7A and 8A, par [0078], [0092] and [0095]);
transmit the received signals to the external processing unit (read as the UE 106 sending measured or aggregated radio link information received from the processor to a base station or other device for calculation or determination, figure 5, par [0081]);
receive or use selection information based on the measurement (read as measurement information being reported to base station or other device for calculation or determinations, and the antenna set being selected based at least in part one those measurements, figure 5, par [0081]-[0082]); and
update the first and second sets of antenna paths based on the measurements periodically (read as periodically, evaluates received signals metrics from candidate antennas against the initial active antennas, uses differences/delta and thresholds to choose the next antenna set, then turns off antennas outside the chosen set while activating antennas in the chosen set, figures 5, 7A and 8A, par [0077], [0082] and [0087]),
wherein for each of the transceivers in the first operating mode, a signal is transmitted to/from the processing unit, (read as the initial operating duration/state (i.e. first operating mode) in which the initially activate antenna group (Rx0 and Rx1) is used for transmit and/or receive signal to/from the processing unit 302, figure 5, par [0076]-[0079], [0082] and [0087]);
wherein for each of the transceivers in the second operating mode, a signal, is transmitted to/from the processing unit and for the transceivers in the non-operating mode, a signal is transmitted to/from the processing unit (read as in the later measurement operating duration/state, additional antennas (Rx2 and Rx3) are enabled for measurement operation (i.e. second operating mode) to transmit to/from the processing unit 302, figure 5, par [0076]-[0079], [0082] and [0087]), and
that for the transceiver in the non-operating mode, the corresponding signal path is deactivated (read as the inactive antenna paths would be deactivated and later reactivated, and a later selected antenna group is used after measurement, figure 5, par [0076]-[0079], [0082] and [0087]).
However, Tang discloses the claimed invention above with first and second sets of antenna paths used in the adaptive measurement and selection process (par [0076] and [0092]) but does not specifically disclose the processing unit being connectable to a plurality of transceivers via one or more digital interface; the first and second sets comprising transceivers; for each transceivers in first operation mode, a first number of bits describing a signal are transmitted to or from the processing unit via an associated digital interface; each transceivers in second operation mode, a second number of bits describing a signal are transmitted to or from the processing unit via an associated digital interface; and for the transceivers in the non-operating mode, zero bits describing a signal are transmitted to or from the processing unit.
Nonetheless, Moshfeghi discloses distributed transceiver signal paths, comprising central processor 400 connected by direct separate cables and corresponding control channels to distributed transceivers 410a through 410N; in the digital interface configuration, transceiver receives digital transmit bits from baseband processor 420 and sends digitized received wave from bits to baseband processor 420 through a digital connection or interface; activates selected transceivers, switches other transceivers off for power saving, and further discloses that data transfer would be suspended or stopped, which corresponds to configuring the non-operating signal path to carry zero digitized waveform bits while its separate control channel may remain, figures 4 and 10, par [0045], [0047]-[0049] and [0060].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Moshfeghi into the teachings of Tang, which modified by Moshfeghi, to configure the adaptive antenna selection process using Moshfeghi’s digital transceivers, corresponding control channels and digital connections, in order to improve link quality while saving power during adaptive measurement and selection process (see par [0048] and [0060] of Moshfeghi).
However, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, disclose the claimed invention above with transmitting digital bits over digital links and digital connection/cable (par [0049] of Moshfeghi) but does not specifically disclose the second number of bits being lower than the first number of bits.
Nonetheless, Mackenzie discloses a processor implementing one or more compression technique to achieve any one of the available bit widths (bit numbers), greater compression would achieve relatively fewer bits per sample, and lower compression would achieve more bits per sample, and selecting and communicating at a reduced bit width that satisfies an expected error threshold, which reduces fronthaul resource use and operating energy, par [0022] and [0046]-[0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Mackenzie into the teachings of Tang, which modified by Moshfeghi, to configure the digital links/connections of distributed transceivers using Mackenzie’s selectable bit number/width control technique, with a first bit width for the transceivers in the first operating mode and a lower bit width for the transceivers in the second operating mode, in order to reduce fronthaul resource use (i.e. Tang’s measurement operation) when lower bit width precision is sufficient or satisfies the expected error threshold (see par [0046]-[0047] of Mackenzie).
However, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi and Mackenzie, discloses the claimed invention above with digital connections/interfaces of the processor but does not specifically disclose the digital interface, comprising one or more analog-to-digital converters, ADC's, one or more digital-to-analog converters DAC's, a baseband BB processor and a serializer/deserializer SERDES.
Nonetheless, Hornbuckle discloses baseband processing circuit 140 and digital transceiver circuit 200 with ADC 202, DAC 212, SerDes 206 and 216, digital downconverter 204, and digital upconverter 214, where baseband processing circuit 140 process baseband signals and provides control or feedback, figures 1 and 2, par [0016] and [0024]-[0026].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hornbuckle into the teachings of Tang, which modified by Moshfeghi and Mackenzie, to configure the digital connections/interfaces using Hornbuckle’s signal chain hardware, in order to enable digital conversion and serialized transfer between transceivers and baseband processor.
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 15 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Hornbuckle, discloses the claimed invention above and periodically evaluates received signals metrics (par [0077]) and the UE 106 is configured with the received configuration indication to select antenna set (par [0063]) but does not specifically disclose configured to receive second configuration information from the external processing unit and wherein configuring the second set of transceivers to be in a second operating mode for a second time period is based on the second configuration information.
Nonetheless, Moshfeghi discloses feedback between user-end application device 220 and master application device 210, where feedback or negotiation channel 240 exchanges and negotiates system configurations such as number of transceivers within devices, number of antennas per transceivers, the measured channel responses, the sequence of antenna array coefficients being evaluated, figures 2, 5 and 8, par [0039], [0050] and [0056].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Moshfeghi into the teachings of Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Hornbuckle, to modify the steps of periodic antenna selection using Moshfeghi’s distributed transceiver control with feedback, in order to improve later antenna set control during changing channel conditions.
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 15 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Hornbuckle, discloses wherein the received signals for the transceivers in the first set of transceivers are transmitted to the external processing unit (read as the UE 106 sending measured or aggregated radio link information received from the processor to a base station or other device for calculation or determination, figure 5, par [0081]); with a first bit resolution and the received signals for the transceivers in the second set of transceivers are transmitted to the external processing unit (read as the UE 106 sending measured or aggregated radio link information received from the processor to a base station or other device for calculation or determination, figure 5, par [0081]) and digital bits through digital links and digital connection/cable (par [0049] of Moshfeghi) but does not specifically transmit with a first bit resolution with the first set of transceiver, and transmit with a second bit resolution with the second set of transceiver, the second bit resolution being lower than the first bit resolution.
Nonetheless, Mackenzie discloses a processor implementation with one or more compression technique to achieve anyone of the available bit widths (bit numbers), greater compression would achieve relatively fewer bits per sample, and lower compression would achieve more bits per sample, par [0022].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Mackenzie into the teachings of Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Hornbuckle, to configure the digital links/connections of distributed transceivers using Mackenzie’s bit number/width control technique, in order to reduce fronthaul resource use when lower sample precision is sufficient.
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 15 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Hornbuckle, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose a basic reference clock configured to generate a basic reference frequency, and a phase locked loop PLL configured to from the basic reference frequency generate a first or a second reference frequency, the second frequency being lower than the first frequency, and wherein the first reference frequency is utilized for the digital interface if the transceiver belongs to the first set of transceivers and wherein the second reference frequency is utilized for the digital interface if the transceiver belongs to the second set of transceivers.
Nonetheless, Hornbuckle further discloses the PLL 220 receives a reference clock signal(s) and then generates the clock signals for the ADC 202 and DAC 212, par [0022]; which the system sample clock may be provided (e.g., buffered) to the ADCs (e.g., 321, 325) and the DAC 324; the sample rate of the system sample clock is about 32 Gsps, where a sample may be taken on both rise and fall edges of the system sample clock to effectively generate a fanout sample rate of about 64 Gsps; the system sample clock may be configured to run at full rate (e.g., 1 GHz), at half rate (e.g., 500 MHz), or at quarter rate (e.g., 250 MHz) depending on implementation, par [0022] and [0041].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Hornbuckle into the teachings of Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Hornbuckle, to modify the digital interface using Hornbuckle’s clock control with various sample clock rates, in order to reduce fronthaul resource use when lower sample clock rate is sufficient.
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 15 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Hornbuckle, discloses wherein the digital interface comprises a memory unit associated with the BB processor or the SERDES of the digital interface (read as memory 306 and processor(s) 302 with digital processing with digital interface, figure 3 with par [0053] of Tang, and par [0049] of Moshifeghi) but does not specifically disclose wherein the digital interface is configured to store, in the memory unit, the received signals for the transceivers in the second set of transceivers (read as receiving signals using antennas and measure them to produce measurements results (i.e. SNR); and both he receiving signals and measurement results are stored in memory for the processing of processor, par [0076]-[0079]), and wherein the digital interface is configured to transmit the stored signals to the external processing unit during a third time period, the third time period being shorter than the second time period (read as the UE 106 sending measured or aggregated radio link information received from the processor to a base station or other device at a time at the end of step 506 after the actual measurement intervals of step 506; the time interval of the end of step 506 is shorter than the total time interval of step 506, figure 5, par [0076]-[0081] and [0092]).
Consider claim 21, as applied to claim 20 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Hornbuckle, discloses wherein the received signals for the transceivers in the first set of transceivers are transmitted to the external processor during the second time period (read as all measurement for all four antennas happens in time interval of step 506 (i.e. second time period) and being transmitted to base station at the end of step 506, figure 5, par [0076]-[0081] and [0092]).
Consider claim 22, as applied to claim 20 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Hornbuckle, discloses wherein the third time period is a portion of the second time period (read as all measurement for all four antennas happens in time interval of step 506 (i.e. second time period) and being transmitted to base station at the end of step 506, figure 5, par [0076]-[0081] and [0092]).
Consider claim 23, as applied to claim 22 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Hornbuckle, discloses wherein the portion of the second time period is a last portion of the second time period or a time period following the second time period (read as all measurement for all four antennas happens in time interval of step 506 (i.e. second time period) and being transmitted to base station at the end of step 506, figure 5, par [0076]-[0081] and [0092]).
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 20190181942 A1) in view of Moshfeghi (US 20170230099 A1), and in further view of Mackenzie (US 20220312263 A1), and in further view of Hornbuckle (US 20190097662 A1), and in further view of Xu et al. (US 20210336638 A1).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 15 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Hornbuckle, discloses the claimed invention above with ADC and DAC (Hornbuckle) but does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more ADC's and/or the one or more DAC's is configured to operate with a first bit resolution in the first operating mode and with a second bit resolution in the second operating mode, the second bit resolution being lower than the first bit resolution.
Nonetheless, Xu discloses ADC being configured to operate in speeds/bit rates (modes), such as to have higher resolution and lower resolution, par [0083] and [0102].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Xu into the teachings of Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi, Mackenzie and Hornbuckle, to modify ADC interface using Xu’s ADC resolution converter control technique, in order to reduce operating power and improving system efficiency (see par [0082] of Xu).
Claim 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 20190181942 A1) in view of Moshfeghi (US 20170230099 A1), and in further view of Mackenzie (US 20220312263 A1), and in further view of Lee et al. (US 20190173490 A1).
Consider claim 26, as applied to claim 1 above, Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi and Mackenzie, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the second number of bits describing a signal comprises the most significant bits of the bits describing the signal transmitted in the first operating mode.
Nonetheless, Lee discloses digitalized signal with retention of the most significant bits, comprising a same source word extends from b14 through b0, identifies l4 as the Most significant Bit, removes lower bits b0 through b7 and retains b14 through b8; the reduced word thus comprises the most significant bits of the original full word, figure 5, par [0066].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the teachings of Tang, as modified by Moshfeghi and Mackenzie, to configured the transmitted digital signal in the measurement operation using Lee’s digitalized signal with retention of the most significant bits technique, in order to reduce the data transferred for the temporarily activated transceiver paths while keeping the remove count within a selected error vector magnitude requirement (see par [0056] of Lee).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645