Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections on page 9 lines 7-15, filed 7/1/2026, with respect to claims 8 and 23 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 8 and 23 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on page 9 line 16 to page 11 line 21, filed 7/1/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 11, 16-18, 20-21, 26, 31, and 46 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of the previously applied reference: U.S. Publication No. 20230269620 to Rossbach et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 11, 16, 17, 20, 26, 31, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 20230269620 to Rossbach et al.
Referring to claim 1, Rossbach et al disclose in Figures 1-10 a method for receiving a service (performed by BS), comprising:
Transmitting first scheduling information (Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules different QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a first data segment of an XR service) to a terminal (UE), wherein the first scheduling information is configured to schedule a resource (QoS parameters and DRB/LCH) for transmitting a first data segment of a target service (XR service) in a first scheduling mode (Sections 0133, 0134, 0138-0140, 0143-0145, 0158, and 0163: CG, DG, or SPS). Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a first data segment of an XR service. Step 804: UE transmits the first data segment to BS in a first CG corresponding to the scheduled QoS parameters and DRB/LCH of the first data segment from BS.
Configuring an association relationship (Sections 0140, 0143, and 0148-0154: BS can schedule QoS parameters of a data segment based on a previous data segment) between the first scheduling information and second scheduling information (Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules different QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a second data segment of an XR service), and transmitting the second scheduling information to the terminal, wherein the second scheduling information is configured to schedule a resource (QoS parameters and DRB/LCH) for transmitting a second data segment of the target service in a second scheduling mode (Sections 0133, 0134, 0138-0140, 0143-0145, 0158, and 0163: CG, DG, or SPS). Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a second data segment of an XR service. Step 806: UE transmits the second data segment to BS in a second CG corresponding to the scheduled QoS parameters and DRB/LCH of the second data segment from BS. Sections 0140, 0143, and 0148-0154: BS can schedule QoS parameters of a data segment based on a previous data segment (claimed “association relationship”). For example, BS can schedule a second data segment to have a higher/lower QoS parameter than a first data segment, such as scheduling the second data segment to have a higher latency, priority, or reliability than the first data segment (claimed “association relationship”) or scheduling the second data segment to have a lower latency, priority, or reliability than the first data segment (claimed “association relationship”).
Wherein the second scheduling mode is different from the first scheduling mode. Sections 0138-0140: The first data segment in step 804 is transmitted in a first CG and the second data segment in step 806 is transmitted in a second CG. However, Section 0140 also discloses that the second data segment in step 806 can be transmitted in a second SPS, which is different from the first CG of the first data segment in step 804 (claimed “wherein the second scheduling mode is different from the first scheduling mode”). Also, the Abstract and Section 0009 disclose that the “plurality of data bursts may be transmitted according to at least one of one or more configured grants (CGs), one or more dynamic grants (DGs), and one or more instances of the one or more CGs or one or more DGs.”. So, the different data bursts/data segments can be transmitted according to different scheduling modes of CG and DG, since data bursts can be transmitted according to “at least one of” CG or DG, which can include both CG and DG. Also, Section 0133 disclose that “XR services may benefit from utilizing multiple configured grants (CGs), dynamic grants (DGs) and downlink (DL) semi-periodic scheduling (SPS) for streams to reduce latency.”. So, the different data segments can be transmitted according to different scheduling modes of CG, DG, and SPS. Refer to Sections 0084-0174.
Referring to claim 2, Rossbach et al disclose in Figures 1-10 wherein configuring the association
relationship between the first scheduling information and the second scheduling information comprises:
configuring an association relationship between first parameter information (QoS parameters such as latency, priority, and reliability) of the first scheduling information and second parameter information (QoS parameters such as latency, priority, and reliability) of the second scheduling information. Sections 0140, 0143, and 0148-0154: BS can schedule QoS parameters of a data segment based on a previous data segment (claimed “association relationship”). For example, BS can schedule a second data segment to have a higher/lower QoS parameter than a first data segment, such as scheduling the second data segment to have a higher priority or higher reliability than the first data segment (claimed “association relationship”) or scheduling the second data segment to have a lower priority or lower reliability than the first data segment (claimed “association relationship”). Refer to Sections 0084-0174.
Referring to claim 5, Rossbach et al disclose in Figures 1-10 wherein the second scheduling information comprises the first parameter information of the first scheduling information (not in reference; claim is in “and/or” form), the second parameter information of the second scheduling information (Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a second data segment of an XR service; so BS schedules QoS parameters such as latency, priority, and reliability to the second data segment), and/or the association relationship between the first parameter information of the first scheduling information and the second parameter information of the second scheduling information (not in reference; claim is in “and/or” form).
And/or, the first scheduling information comprises the first parameter information of the
first scheduling information (Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a first data segment of an XR service; so BS schedules QoS parameters such as latency, priority, and reliability to the first data segment), the second parameter information of the second scheduling information (not in reference; claim is in “and/or” form), and/or the association relationship between the first parameter information of the first scheduling information and the second parameter information of the second scheduling information (not in reference; claim is in “and/or” form). Refer to Sections 0084-0174.
Referring to claim 11, Rossbach et al disclose in Figures 1-10 wherein the second scheduling information further carries specific parameter information (QoS parameters such as latency, priority, and reliability), wherein the specific parameter information is configured to indicate that the second scheduling information is configured to transmit the target service (BS schedules QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a second data segment of an XR service). Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a second data segment of an XR service; so BS schedules QoS parameters such as latency, priority, and reliability to the second data segment of an XR service. Refer to Sections 0084-0174.
Referring to claim 16, Rossbach et al disclose in Figures 1-10 a method for receiving a service (performed by UE), comprising:
Receiving first scheduling information (Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules different QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a first data segment of an XR service) transmitted from a network device (BS), and receiving a first data segment of a target service (XR service) transmitted in a first scheduling mode (Sections 0133, 0134, 0138-0140, 0143-0145, 0158, and 0163: CG, DG, or SPS) based on the first scheduling information. Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a first data segment of an XR service. Step 804: UE transmits the first data segment to BS in a first CG corresponding to the scheduled QoS parameters and DRB/LCH of the first data segment from BS.
Receiving second scheduling information (Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules different QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a second data segment of an XR service) transmitted from the network device, and receiving a second data segment of the target service transmitted in a second scheduling mode (Sections 0133, 0134, 0138-0140, 0143-0145, 0158, and 0163: CG, DG, or SPS) based on the second scheduling information, wherein an association relationship (Sections 0140, 0143, and 0148-0154: BS can schedule QoS parameters of a data segment based on a previous data segment) exists between the first scheduling information and the second scheduling information. Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a second data segment of an XR service. Step 806: UE transmits the second data segment to BS in a second CG corresponding to the scheduled QoS parameters and DRB/LCH of the second data segment from BS. Sections 0140, 0143, and 0148-0154: BS can schedule QoS parameters of a data segment based on a previous data segment (claimed “association relationship”). For example, BS can schedule a second data segment to have a higher/lower QoS parameter than a first data segment, such as scheduling the second data segment to have a higher latency, priority, or reliability than the first data segment (claimed “association relationship”) or scheduling the second data segment to have a lower latency, priority, or reliability than the first data segment (claimed “association relationship”).
Wherein the second scheduling mode is different from the first scheduling mode. Sections 0138-0140: The first data segment in step 804 is transmitted in a first CG and the second data segment in step 806 is transmitted in a second CG. However, Section 0140 also discloses that the second data segment in step 806 can be transmitted in a second SPS, which is different from the first CG of the first data segment in step 804 (claimed “wherein the second scheduling mode is different from the first scheduling mode”). Also, the Abstract and Section 0009 disclose that the “plurality of data bursts may be transmitted according to at least one of one or more configured grants (CGs), one or more dynamic grants (DGs), and one or more instances of the one or more CGs or one or more DGs.”. So, the different data bursts/data segments can be transmitted according to different scheduling modes of CG and DG, since data bursts can be transmitted according to “at least one of” CG or DG, which can include both CG and DG. Also, Section 0133 disclose that “XR services may benefit from utilizing multiple configured grants (CGs), dynamic grants (DGs) and downlink (DL) semi-periodic scheduling (SPS) for streams to reduce latency.”. So, the different data segments can be transmitted according to different scheduling modes of CG, DG, and SPS. Refer to Sections 0084-0174.
Referring to claim 17, Rossbach et al disclose in Figures 1-10 wherein the association relationship exists between the first scheduling information and the second scheduling information comprises: an association relationship exists between first parameter information (QoS parameters such as latency, priority, and reliability) of the first scheduling information and second parameter information (QoS parameters such as latency, priority, and reliability) of the second scheduling information. Sections 0140, 0143, and 0148-0154: BS can schedule QoS parameters of a data segment based on a previous data segment (claimed “association relationship”). For example, BS can schedule a second data segment to have a higher/lower QoS parameter than a first data segment, such as scheduling the second data segment to have a higher priority or higher reliability than the first data segment (claimed “association relationship”) or scheduling the second data segment to have a lower priority or lower reliability than the first data segment (claimed “association relationship”). Refer to Sections 0084-0174.
Referring to claim 20, refer to the rejection of claim 5.
Referring to claim 26, Rossbach et al disclose in Figures 1-10 wherein the second scheduling information further carries specific parameter information (QoS parameters such as latency, priority, and reliability), wherein the specific parameter information is configured to indicate that the second scheduling information is configured to receive the target service (BS schedules QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a second data segment of an XR service). Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a second data segment of an XR service; so BS schedules QoS parameters such as latency, priority, and reliability to the second data segment of an XR service. Refer to Sections 0084-0174.
Referring to claim 31, Rossbach et al disclose in Figures 1-10 a network device (BS), comprising a memory (memory 460), a transceiver (radio 430, communication chain 432, and antenna 434) and a processor (processor 404) wherein the memory is configured for storing a computer program (memory 460 stores a program), the transceiver is configured for transmitting and receiving data under control of the processor (radio 430, communication chain 432, and antenna 434 transmit and receive data to and from UE), and the processor is configured for reading the computer program in the memory (processor 404 executes the program stored in memory 460 to perform BS functions) and executing the following operations:
Transmitting first scheduling information (Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules different QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a first data segment of an XR service) to a terminal (UE), wherein the first scheduling information is configured to schedule a resource (QoS parameters and DRB/LCH) for transmitting a first data segment of a target service (XR service) in a first scheduling mode (Sections 0133, 0134, 0138-0140, 0143-0145, 0158, and 0163: CG, DG, or SPS). Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a first data segment of an XR service. Step 804: UE transmits the first data segment to BS in a first CG corresponding to the scheduled QoS parameters and DRB/LCH of the first data segment from BS.
Configuring an association relationship (Sections 0140, 0143, and 0148-0154: BS can schedule QoS parameters of a data segment based on a previous data segment) between the first scheduling information and second scheduling information (Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules different QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a second data segment of an XR service), and transmitting the second scheduling information to the terminal, wherein the second scheduling information is configured to schedule a resource (QoS parameters and DRB/LCH) for transmitting a second data segment of the target service in a second scheduling mode (Sections 0133, 0134, 0138-0140, 0143-0145, 0158, and 0163: CG, DG, or SPS). Sections 0137-0141: BS schedules QoS parameters and DRBs/LCHs to different data segments of an XR service, including scheduling QoS parameters and a DRB/LCH to a second data segment of an XR service. Step 806: UE transmits the second data segment to BS in a second CG corresponding to the scheduled QoS parameters and DRB/LCH of the second data segment from BS. Sections 0140, 0143, and 0148-0154: BS can schedule QoS parameters of a data segment based on a previous data segment (claimed “association relationship”). For example, BS can schedule a second data segment to have a higher/lower QoS parameter than a first data segment, such as scheduling the second data segment to have a higher latency, priority, or reliability than the first data segment (claimed “association relationship”) or scheduling the second data segment to have a lower latency, priority, or reliability than the first data segment (claimed “association relationship”).
Wherein the second scheduling mode is different from the first scheduling mode. Sections 0138-0140: The first data segment in step 804 is transmitted in a first CG and the second data segment in step 806 is transmitted in a second CG. However, Section 0140 also discloses that the second data segment in step 806 can be transmitted in a second SPS, which is different from the first CG of the first data segment in step 804 (claimed “wherein the second scheduling mode is different from the first scheduling mode”). Also, the Abstract and Section 0009 disclose that the “plurality of data bursts may be transmitted according to at least one of one or more configured grants (CGs), one or more dynamic grants (DGs), and one or more instances of the one or more CGs or one or more DGs.”. So, the different data bursts/data segments can be transmitted according to different scheduling modes of CG and DG, since data bursts can be transmitted according to “at least one of” CG or DG, which can include both CG and DG. Also, Section 0133 disclose that “XR services may benefit from utilizing multiple configured grants (CGs), dynamic grants (DGs) and downlink (DL) semi-periodic scheduling (SPS) for streams to reduce latency.”. So, the different data segments can be transmitted according to different scheduling modes of CG, DG, and SPS. Refer to Sections 0084-0174.
Referring to claim 46, Rossbach et al disclose in Figures 1-10 a terminal (UE), comprising a memory (memory 306), a transceiver (wireless communication circuitry 330 and antenna 335) and a processor (processor 302) wherein the memory is configured for storing a computer program (memory 306 stores a program), the transceiver is configured for transmitting and receiving data under control of the processor (wireless communication circuitry 330 and antenna 335 transmit and receive data to and from BS), and the processor is configured for reading the computer program in the memory (processor 302 executes the program stored in memory 306 to perform UE functions) and performing the method of claim 16. Refer to the rejection of claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230269620 to Rossbach et al.
Referring to claim 3, Rossbach et al disclose in Figures 1-10 wherein the association relationship between the first parameter information of the first scheduling information and the second parameter information of the second scheduling information comprises:
The association relationship between the first parameter information and the second parameter information is a target function relationship. Sections 0140, 0143, and 0148-0154: BS can schedule QoS parameters of a data segment based on a previous data segment (claimed “target function relationship”). For example, BS can schedule a second data segment to have a higher/lower QoS parameter than a first data segment, such as scheduling the second data segment to have a higher latency, priority, or reliability than the first data segment (claimed “target function relationship”) or scheduling the second data segment to have a lower latency, priority, or reliability than the first data segment (claimed “target function relationship”).
Wherein the target function relationship comprises:
An equal relationship. Section 0151-0152: BS can schedule QoS parameters to change every Nth data segment (claimed “target function relationship”). So, the QoS parameters of the 1st data segment to the Nth-1 data segment are the same, since the QoS parameters only change every Nth data segment (claimed “an equal relationship” between the 1st data segment to the Nth-1 data segment).
Or, the first parameter information of the first scheduling information is an odd number, and the second parameter information of the second scheduling information is an even number. Sections 0140, 0143, and 0148-0154: BS can schedule the second data segment to have a higher latency, priority, or reliability than the first data segment (claimed “target function relationship”) or schedule the second data segment to have a have a higher latency, priority, or reliability than the first data segment (claimed “target function relationship”). Although not specifically disclosed: since the latency, priority, or reliability are expressed in numbers and since the latency, priority, or reliability of the first data segment and second data segment are different, the latency, priority, or reliability of the first data segment can be an odd number (claimed “the first parameter information of the first scheduling information is an odd number”) and the latency, priority, or reliability of the second data segment can be an even number (claimed “the second parameter information of the second scheduling information is an even number”). For example, the BLER of Section 0143 is a QoS parameter that can be any number such as the odd numbers of 10-1 or 10-5.
Or, the first parameter information of the first scheduling information is an even number, and the second parameter information of the second scheduling information is an odd number. Sections 0140, 0143, and 0148-0154: BS can schedule a second data segment to have a higher/lower QoS parameter than a first data segment, such as scheduling the second data segment to have a higher latency, priority, or reliability than the first data segment (claimed “target function relationship”) or scheduling the second data segment to have a have a higher latency, priority, or reliability than the first data segment (claimed “target function relationship”). Although not specifically disclosed: since the latency, priority, or reliability are expressed in numbers and since the latency, priority, or reliability of the first data segment and second data segment are different, the latency, priority, or reliability of the first data segment can be an even number (claimed “the first parameter information of the first scheduling information is an even number”) and the latency, priority, or reliability of the second data segment can be an even number (claimed “the second parameter information of the second scheduling information is an odd number”). For example, the BLER of Section 0143 is a QoS parameter that can be any number such as the odd numbers of 10-1 or 10-5. Refer to Sections 0084-0174.
Referring to claim 18, refer to the rejection of claim 3.
Claims 6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230269620 to Rossbach et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220038243 to Shrestha et al.
Referring to claim 6, Rossbach et al do not disclose wherein the first parameter information is HARQ process information corresponding to the first scheduling mode, and the second parameter is HARQ process information corresponding to the second scheduling mode, wherein the HARQ process information comprises an HARQ process number or the number of HARQ processes.
Shrestha et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Section 0093 wherein for each SPS or CG (claimed “first scheduling mode” and claimed “second scheduling mode”), the network configures a number of HARQ processes (claimed “number of HARQ processes”); for example: if UE is configured with 3 SPS configurations, the network configures 1 HARQ process for the first configuration, 2 HARQ processes for the second configuration, and 3 HARQ processes for the third configuration; the number of HARQ processes supported via CG may be 16 or more. Also in Sections 0089-0091, 0094, and 0131: each SPS or CG (claimed “first scheduling mode” and claimed “second scheduling mode”) is associated with a HARQ process ID (claimed “HARQ process number”). Refer to Sections 0025-0144. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first parameter information is HARQ process information corresponding to the first scheduling mode, and the second parameter is HARQ process information corresponding to the second scheduling mode, wherein the HARQ process information comprises an HARQ process number or the number of HARQ processes. One would have been motivated to do so since each scheduling mode, such as CG or SPS, is associated with a HARQ process number to identify the CG or SPS and with a number of HARQ processes to identify the number of HARQ processes of each of CG or SPS, thereby facilitating FEC and ARQ to improve data transmission reliability.
Referring to claim 21, refer to the rejection of claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 12, 14, 23, 27, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20100003997 to Koyanagi et al disclose in Figures 1-21 and Section 0069 wherein a node allocates available subframe resources to coded blocks and allocates different resources to different parts of a single coded block. Refer to Sections 0032-0214.
U.S. Publication No. 20240056263 to Awad et al disclose in Figures 1-15B and Sections 0063-0073 and 0146-0147 wherein different resources are allocated to different portions of control information, wherein the resources can be allocated using SPS or DG. Refer to Sections 0023-0296.
U.S. Publication No. 20240276514 to Fan et al disclose in Figures 1-20 and Sections 0198-0201 wherein depending on the resource size of the CG-PUSCH/SPS-PDSCH and the size of the data to be transmitted, CG-PUSCH/SPS-PDSCH may transmit all data or part of the data. Refer to Sections 0044-0304.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
July 10, 2026