Detailed Action
This action is responsive to the amendment filed 7/15/2026, in which:
Claims 15, 18-19 were cancelled.
No claims were added.
Claims 14-, 16-17, 20-26 are pending.
Claim(s) 14, 23-26 is/are independent claim(s).
Note Regarding Prior Art
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Note Regarding AIA Status
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a detector for detecting” in claim 14, 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14, 16, 20, 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hyung Taek Lim (US Pg Pub No. US2006/0155395; Published: 07/13/2006)(hereinafter: Lim).
Claim 14:
As per independent claim 14, Lim discloses a control component for a household appliance, the control component comprising [[0022] the home network system comprises at least one home appliance 20 for a home network connected to a power line 11, which supplies operating power [0023] The home appliance 20, which is connected to the home network via the power line 11 and network line 12, includes a load 21 for operating the home appliance, such as a motor, a controller 22 for analyzing data inputted from the network line 12 and outputting a signal for control of the operation of the load 21]:
an interface for a data connection to a further control component of the household appliance [[0022] home server 30 for exchanging information with the home appliance 20 over a network line 12 connected therewith and controlling the home appliance 20 in response to an external home appliance control signal.];
a detector for detecting a predetermined signal on the data connection, the predetermined signal being different from data that can be transmitted between the control component and the further control component [[0023] The home appliance 20, which is connected to the home network via the power line 11 and network line 12, includes a load 21 for operating the home appliance, such as a motor, a controller 22 for analyzing data inputted from the network line 12 and outputting a signal for control of the operation of the load 21 in accordance with the analyzed result an LVT 24 for supplying a drive voltage to the controller 22, a load relay 26 for turning on/off the load 21 in response to the control signal from the controller 22, and a power control device 29 for controlling the supply of the drive voltage from the LVT 24 to the controller 22 according to whether the home appliance 20 is in operation.]
an input for a supply voltage [[0024] The power control device 29 includes an LVT relay 23 disposed between the power line 11 and the LVT 24. The LVT relay 23 acts to prevent an external AC voltage from the power line 11 from being supplied to the LVT 24 when the home appliance 20 is in a standby mode, and supply the external voltage from the power line 11 to the LVT 24 when an operating command is sent from the network line 12.] and
a first output for enabling control of a function of the household appliance in dependence upon a voltage that is present at the input [[0025] The power control device 29 further includes a power supply unit 25 connected between the LVT 24 and the controller 22. The power supply unit 25 acts to selectively supply the drive voltage from the LVT 24 to the controller 22 in response to an on/off operation of the LVT relay 23.]. See figure 5, function of the appliance is dependent on s2, standby or fully on.
a second output for outputting a supply voltage for the further control component, and wherein the control component is configured to provide a high voltage or a low voltage at said second output [[0023] outputting a signal for control of the operation of the load 21 in accordance with the analyzed result an LVT 24 for supplying a drive voltage to the controller 22, a load relay 26 for turning on/off the load 21 in response to the control signal from the controller 22, and a power control device 29 for controlling the supply of the drive voltage from the LVT 24 to the controller 22 according to whether the home appliance 20 is in operation.]
a voltage controller for providing the supply voltage for control of the function on a basis of the supply voltage that is present at the input [[0026] the power supply unit 25 includes a constant-voltage circuit 25a, which is a power supply circuit for supplying the drive voltage from the LVT 24 to the controller 22, a voltage regulating diode 25b, and a charger 25c.] said voltage controller is configured to selectively provide a high voltage or a low voltage [[0014] a low voltage transformer (LVT) for supplying a drive voltage to the controller, and power control means for controlling the supply of the drive voltage from the LVT to the controller according to whether the home appliance is in operation].
Claim 16:
As per claim 16, which depends on claim 14, Lim discloses further comprising a generator for the signal on the data connection in dependence upon a predetermined condition [[0022] a home server 30 for exchanging information with the home appliance 20 over a network line 12 connected therewith and controlling the home appliance 20 in response to an external home appliance control signal.]. External home appliance control signal must have been generated for the home appliance to react to it.
Claim 20:
As per claim 20, which depends on claim 14, Lim discloses wherein the control component is configured to provide data on said data connection for controlling an operating mode of the further control component. [[0023] The home appliance 20, which is connected to the home network via the power line 11 and network line 12, includes a load 21 for operating the home appliance, such as a motor, a controller 22 for analyzing data inputted from the network line 12 and outputting a signal for control of the operation of the load 21 in accordance with the analyzed result an LVT 24 for supplying a drive voltage to the controller 22, a load relay 26 for turning on/off the load 21 in response to the control signal from the controller 22, and a power control device 29 for controlling the supply of the drive voltage from the LVT 24 to the controller 22 according to whether the home appliance 20 is in operation.]
Claim 23:
As per independent claim 23, Lim discloses all the limitations of claim 14 above including control device for a household appliance, the control device comprising a control component according to claim 14.
Additionally, Lim discloses a controller for controlling a functionality of the household appliance [[0015] a), by a controller in a home appliance, determining whether the home appliance is in operation, the home appliance being adapted to transmit and receive data to/from a network line, the controller being adapted to analyze the data received by the home appliance and generate a home appliance control signal in accordance with the analyzed result].
Claim 24:
As per independent claim 24, Lim discloses all the limitations of claim 14 above including a system, comprising two control components each being a control component according to claim 14 [[0022] the home network system comprises at least one home appliance 20 for a home network connected to a power line 11, which supplies operating power [0023] The home appliance 20, which is connected to the home network via the power line 11 and network line 12, includes a load 21 for operating the home appliance, such as a motor, a controller 22 for analyzing data inputted from the network line 12 and outputting a signal for control of the operation of the load 21]:
and a data connection between said two control components [ [0006]The home server 5 is connected with an external communication network to control various home appliances in a home and exchange information therewith from time to time. The plurality of home appliances 2 and 3 are connected with the home server 5 via the network line 4 to exchange information therewith, and also to the power line 1 to receive the operating power therefrom. [0022] home server 30 for exchanging information with the home appliance 20 over a network line 12 connected therewith and controlling the home appliance 20 in response to an external home appliance control signal].
Claim 25:
As per independent claim 25, Lim discloses all the limitations of claim 14 above including a household appliance, comprising two control devices each including a control component according to claim 14 [[0022] the home network system comprises at least one home appliance 20 for a home network connected to a power line 11, which supplies operating power [0023] The home appliance 20, which is connected to the home network via the power line 11 and network line 12, includes a load 21 for operating the home appliance, such as a motor, a controller 22 for analyzing data inputted from the network line 12 and outputting a signal for control of the operation of the load 21, see 0006 not limited to a single device/controller].
and a controller for controlling a function of the household appliance [[0022] a controller 22 for analyzing data inputted from the network line 12 and outputting a signal for control of the operation of the load 21]and a data connection between said control components of said two control devices [[0006]The home server 5 is connected with an external communication network to control various home appliances in a home and exchange information therewith from time to time. The plurality of home appliances 2 and 3 are connected with the home server 5 via the network line 4 to exchange information therewith, and also to the power line 1 to receive the operating power therefrom. [0022] home server 30 for exchanging information with the home appliance 20 over a network line 12 connected therewith and controlling the home appliance 20 in response to an external home appliance control signal]..
Claim 26:
As per independent claim 26, Lim discloses a method for controlling a control component for controlling a function of a household appliance, [[0022] the home network system comprises at least one home appliance 20 for a home network connected to a power line 11, which supplies operating power [0023] The home appliance 20, which is connected to the home network via the power line 11 and network line 12, includes a load 21 for operating the home appliance, such as a motor, a controller 22 for analyzing data inputted from the network line 12 and outputting a signal for control of the operation of the load 21]:
the method comprising the following steps: detecting a predetermined signal on a data connection, which is connected to one or more further control components of the household appliance[[0022] home server 30 for exchanging information with the home appliance 20 over a network line 12 connected therewith and controlling the home appliance 20 in response to an external home appliance control signal.]
wherein the signal is different from data that can be transmitted between two or more control components of the household appliance[[0023] The home appliance 20, which is connected to the home network via the power line 11 and network line 12, includes a load 21 for operating the home appliance, such as a motor, a controller 22 for analyzing data inputted from the network line 12 and outputting a signal for control of the operation of the load 21 in accordance with the analyzed result an LVT 24 for supplying a drive voltage to the controller 22, a load relay 26 for turning on/off the load 21 in response to the control signal from the controller 22, and a power control device 29 for controlling the supply of the drive voltage from the LVT 24 to the controller 22 according to whether the home appliance 20 is in operation.]
and
enabling a control of the function of the household appliance[[0025] The power control device 29 further includes a power supply unit 25 connected between the LVT 24 and the controller 22. The power supply unit 25 acts to selectively supply the drive voltage from the LVT 24 to the controller 22 in response to an on/off operation of the LVT relay 23.]. See figure 5, function of the appliance is dependent on s2, standby or fully on.
By outputting a supply voltage, being a low voltage or a high voltage, for the one or more further control components [[0023] outputting a signal for control of the operation of the load 21 in accordance with the analyzed result an LVT 24 for supplying a drive voltage to the controller 22, a load relay 26 for turning on/off the load 21 in response to the control signal from the controller 22, and a power control device 29 for controlling the supply of the drive voltage from the LVT 24 to the controller 22 according to whether the home appliance 20 is in operation.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim as applied to claim 14 above in view of Vicenzo Aprea et al. (WO 2014060406; Published: 04/14/2014)(hereinafter: Aprea).
Claim 17:
As per claim 17, which depends on claim 16, Lim discloses further comprising a detector for detecting a signal that represents a fulfillment of the predetermined condition.
Aprea, in the same field of an appliance having a standby mode discloses this limitation in that [[page 13, lines 8-13]Preferably, sensing signal SHV is provided to the electronic control unit 20, which determines sensed current and/or sensed voltage on the basis of the sensing signal SHV and verifies whether the current/voltage that electric power network 5 supplies to household appliance electric loads 2 meets prefixed supply requirements].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the signal detecting teachings of Lim to detect a signal that represents a fulfillment of the predetermined condition as disclosed by Aprea. The motivation for doing so would have been to include electric control means configured to generate control signal to open switch means based on a standby command/request which is indicative of a request of transition of the household appliance from the operating state to the standby state (page 3, lines 10-14).
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim as applied to claim 14 above in view of Daniel Anton Falcon et al.(US Pg Pub No. US2013/0342016; Published: 12/26/2013)(hereinafter: Anton Falcon).
Claim 21:
As per claim 21, which depends on claim 14, Lim discloses a data connection but failed to specifically disclose wherein said data connection comprises a bus.
Anton Falcon in the same field of domestic appliances having a standby mode discloses this limitation in that [[0052] . The microcontroller 50 can be connected to the standby microcontrollers 48, 49 for example by way of a communication bus, specifically for example by way of the LIN bus. The activation signals SA can therefore be messages, which are transmitted by way of the communication bus to the standby microcontrollers 48, 49.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the hardware structure of the control component of Lim to include a data bus for making data connections as disclosed by Anton Falcon. The motivation for doing so would have been to choosing appropriate circuits which have very low energy consumption in standby mode (0004).
Claim 22:
As per claim 22, which depends on claim 14, Lim discloses hardware components but failed to specifically disclose the control component configured as an integrated circuit.
Anton Falcon in the same field of domestic appliances having a standby mode discloses this limitation in that [[0029] FIG. 2 shows a block circuit diagram of a circuit arrangement for a domestic appliance according to an embodiment of the invention; [0035] . These circuit units 22a, 22b to 22n can be independent circuit units or higher or lower order circuit units. For example the circuit unit 22a here can be a higher order circuit unit than other circuit units, comprising a main control unit of the domestic appliance, which controls further circuit units.].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the hardware structure of the control component of Lim to include a configure the control as an integrated circuit as disclosed by Anton Falcon. The motivation for doing so would have been to choosing appropriate circuits which have very low energy consumption in standby mode (0004).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2026 regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits: “Lim does not disclose a "detector," as in claim 14, that is capable, in the context, to detect a signal on the data connection that is different from a "transmission between a control component and a further control component…. The home server 30 does not have a corresponding "detector." The controller 22 does have a data connection 12 to the home server and also to the power supply. The signals carried on those two connections, of course, are different. In that case, however, there is no "further control component" with which the controller 22 could exchange data."” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claimed limitation reads: “a detector for detecting a predetermined signal on the data connection, the predetermined signal being different from data that can be transmitted between the control component and the further control component”. The claim limitation only requires some sort of signal detector that is on the data connection and which is capable of detecting a predetermined signal that different from other signals that can be transmitted between the control component and further control components.
Lim clearly discloses in [0023] the home appliance controller is connected to the power line and to a network line, the controller analyzes data inputted from the network line (in other words, detects signals) and outputs a signal for the operation of the appliance. Thus the controller of Lim serves as the detector. The predetermined signals must be different from other received signals via the network line.
Regarding the Applicants regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 103 have been considered and are not found to be persuasive. The Applicant submits the claims are not obvious for the same reasons as before, please refer to the response to arguments above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/HOWARD CORTES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118