DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 14-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy et al. (US 2019/0075905, hereinafter Kennedy) in view of Wik Far East Ltd (DE202020003366 U1).
Regarding claims 1 & 8, Kennedy discloses a haircare appliance (10, fig. 1) comprising:
a main body (main body of item 10 as shown in figs. 1, 2) housing an airflow generator (50, 58, fig. 5) for generating an airflow;
an intermediate attachment (102, figs. 19-22) for detachably connecting to the main body (main body of item 10 as shown in figs. 1, 2), the intermediate attachment (102, figs. 19-22) comprising an inlet (inlet of item 102 at item 110, fig. 21) for receiving the airflow from the main body (main body of item 10 as shown in figs. 1, 2), and an outlet (outlet of item 102 at item 108, fig. 21) for emitting the airflow; and
a hair treatment attachment (104, figs. 19-22) for detachably connecting to the intermediate attachment (102, figs. 19-22), the hair treatment attachment (104, figs. 19-22) configured to receive the airflow from the outlet (outlet of item 102 at item 108, fig. 21) of the intermediate attachment (102, figs. 19-22), and emit the airflow towards hair to be treated in use,
a sensor module (Kennedy recites “… A temperature sensor (not shown) may be used in the airflow path to allow closed-loop control of the air temperature. …”, [0033]); (Application claim 1) and
wherein the sensor module comprises at least one of: a temperature sensor for sensing a temperature of the airflow path (Kennedy recites “… A temperature sensor (not shown) may be used in the airflow path to allow closed-loop control of the air temperature. …”, [0033]). (Application claim 8)
Kennedy does not disclose wherein the intermediate attachment comprises a sensor module for sensing a property of at least one of the hair to be treated and the hair treatment attachment; (Application claim 1) and
wherein the sensor module comprises at least one of:
a distance sensor for sensing a distance between the hair to be treated and the haircare appliance ;
a moisture sensor for sensing a moisture content of the hair to be treated;
a temperature sensor for sensing a temperature of the hair to be treated;
a sensor for sensing a type of hair treatment attachment connected to the intermediate attachment; and
an imaging sensor for capturing an image of the hair to be treated. (Application claim 8)
Wik Far East Ltd teaches wherein the intermediate attachment (Wik Far East Ltd, 2, fig. 1) comprises a sensor module (Wik Far East Ltd, 13, fig. 1, [0015], [0019]) for sensing a property of at least one of the hair to be treated (Wik Far East Ltd recites “In another embodiment, the attachment includes a sensor. That sensor is suitable for detecting the hair treatment area and recognizing the corresponding condition of the hair. According to the invention, the sensor is intended to collect information about the humidity and temperature of the treated surface.”, [0015]) and the hair treatment attachment; (Application claim 1) and
wherein the sensor module (Wik Far East Ltd, 13, fig. 1, [0015], [0019]) comprises at least one of:
a distance sensor for sensing a distance between the hair to be treated and the haircare appliance (;
a moisture sensor for sensing a moisture content of the hair to be treated;
a temperature sensor (Wik Far East Ltd, 13, fig. 1, [0015], [0019]) for sensing a temperature of the hair to be treated (Wik Far East Ltd recites “In another embodiment, the attachment includes a sensor. That sensor is suitable for detecting the hair treatment area and recognizing the corresponding condition of the hair. According to the invention, the sensor is intended to collect information about the humidity and temperature of the treated surface.”, [0015]);
a sensor for sensing a type of hair treatment attachment connected to the intermediate attachment; and
an imaging sensor for capturing an image of the hair to be treated. (Application claim 8)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the haircare appliance of Kennedy with wherein the intermediate attachment comprises a sensor module for sensing a property of at least one of the hair to be treated and the hair treatment attachment; (Application claim 1) and wherein the sensor module comprises at least one of: a temperature sensor for sensing a temperature of the hair to be treated (Application claim 8), as taught by Wik Far East Ltd, for effectively controlling a temperature of the drying air during a drying process which would result in preventing and/or minimizing a user’s hair from getting damage or burn during the drying process. Thus, the haircare appliance is safer to use and thus benefits the consumer.
Regarding claim 14, Kennedy as modified discloses wherein the intermediate attachment (102, figs. 19-22) comprises a power source (16, fig. 1) configured to power the sensor module (Kennedy recites “… A temperature sensor (not shown) may be used in the airflow path to allow closed-loop control of the air temperature. …”, [0033]) (Wik Far East Ltd, 13, fig. 1, [0015], [0019]).
Regarding claim 15, Kennedy as modified discloses wherein the intermediate attachment (102, figs. 19-22) comprises at least one of:
a locking feature (130, 132, fig. 21) for inhibiting rotation (inhibiting rotation of item 104 in a circular motion relative a longitudinal axis of the item 102) of the hair treatment attachment (104, figs. 19-22) relative to the intermediate attachment (102, figs. 19-22);
a flow deflector for deflecting the airflow in use; and
a throttle for throttling the airflow in use.
Regarding claim 17, Kennedy as modified discloses wherein the inlet (inlet of item 102 at item 110, fig. 21) is opposite the outlet (outlet of item 102 at item 108, fig. 21), and the intermediate attachment (102, figs. 19-22) is configured such that the airflow follows a linear path from the inlet (inlet of item 102 at item 110, fig. 21) to the outlet (outlet of item 102 at item 108, fig. 21) in use.
Regarding claim 18, Kennedy as modified discloses wherein:
the intermediate attachment (102, figs. 19-22) has a length (length of item 102 between inlet at item 110 and outlet at item 108, fig. 21) measured between the inlet (inlet of item 102 at item 110, fig. 21) and the outlet (outlet of item 102 at item 108, fig. 21); and
the length (length of item 102 between inlet at item 110 and outlet at item 108, figs. 19-22) is less than (as shown in figs. 19-22) at least one of a maximum dimension (maximum length or dimension of main body of item 10 as shown in fig. 20) of the main body (main body of item 10 as shown in figs. 1, 2) (fig. 20) in a direction (longitudinal direction) parallel to the length (length of item 102 between inlet at item 110 and outlet at item 108, figs. 19-22) when the main body (main body of item 10 as shown in figs. 1, 2) (fig. 20) is connected to the intermediate attachment (102, figs. 19-22) and a maximum dimension (maximum length or dimension of item 104, figs. 21-22) of the hair treatment attachment (104, figs. 19-22) in a direction (longitudinal direction) parallel to the length (length of item 102 between inlet at item 110 and outlet at item 108, figs. 19-22) when the hair treatment attachment (104, figs. 19-22) is connected to the intermediate attachment (102, figs. 19-22).
Regarding claim 20, Kennedy discloses an intermediate attachment (102, figs. 19-22) for a haircare appliance (10, figs. 1, 20), the intermediate attachment (102, figs. 19-22) comprising:
a first connection portion (110, fig. 21) for detachably connecting to a main body (main body of item 10 as shown in figs. 1, 2) of the haircare appliance (10, figs. 1, 20);
a second connection portion (130, 132, fig. 21) for detachably connecting to a hair treatment attachment (104, figs. 19-22);
an inlet (inlet of item 102 at item 110, fig. 21) for receiving an airflow from the main body (main body of item 10 as shown in figs. 1, 2);
an outlet (outlet of item 102 at item 108, fig. 21) for emitting the airflow into the hair treatment attachment (104, figs. 19-22) such that the airflow is emitted from the hair treatment attachment (104, figs. 19-22) towards hair to be treated in use; and
a sensor module (Kennedy recites “… A temperature sensor (not shown) may be used in the airflow path to allow closed-loop control of the air temperature. …”, [0033]).
Kennedy does not disclose a sensor module for sensing a property of at least one of the hair to be treated and the hair treatment attachment.
Wik Far East Ltd teaches a sensor module (Wik Far East Ltd, 13, fig. 1, [0015], [0019]) for sensing a property of at least one of the hair to be treated (Wik Far East Ltd recites “In another embodiment, the attachment includes a sensor. That sensor is suitable for detecting the hair treatment area and recognizing the corresponding condition of the hair. According to the invention, the sensor is intended to collect information about the humidity and temperature of the treated surface.”, [0015]) and the hair treatment attachment.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the intermediate attachment of Kennedy with the sensor module for sensing a property of at least one of the hair to be treated and the hair treatment attachment, as taught by Wik Far East Ltd, for effectively controlling a temperature of the drying air during a drying process which would result in preventing and/or minimizing a user’s hair from getting damage or burn during the drying process. Thus, the haircare appliance is safer to use and thus benefits the consumer.
Claims 2-7, 9-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy and Wik Far East Ltd as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Abehasera (US 10,722,017).
Regarding claims 2 & 3, Kennedy as modified discloses wherein the haircare appliance (10, fig. 1) comprises a controller (64, fig. 4) for automatically controlling the airflow generator (50, 58, fig. 5). (Application claim 2)
Kennedy does not disclose a controller for automatically controlling the airflow generator based on an output of the sensor module; (Application claim 2) and
wherein the controller is located in the intermediate attachment, and the intermediate attachment is configured to communicate control data from the controller to the airflow generator. (Application claim 3)
Abehasera teaches a controller (Abehasera, 18, figs. 1, 3) for automatically controlling the airflow generator (Abehasera, blower motor of the hair dryer, col. 2, lines 30-39) based on an output of the sensor module (Abehasera, 12, figs. 1, 3) (Abehasera recites “The temperature sensor 12 comprises a digital or analog sensor that detects the temperature of air flowing through the nozzle 10. In some embodiments, the temperature sensor 12 is configured to transmit temperature data to the microcontroller unit 18. The microcontroller unit 18 can react to temperature data by sounding an alert through audible alarm 19, and/or initiating a visible alert through LED 17, and/or sending a shut-off signal to the heating element or blower motor of the hair dryer if, for example, the air temperature exceeds or drops below a predetermined limit.”, col. 2, lines 30-39); (Application claim 2) and
wherein the controller (Abehasera, 18, figs. 1, 3) is located in the intermediate attachment (Abehasera, 10, figs. 1, 2), and the intermediate attachment (Abehasera, 10, figs. 1, 2) is configured to communicate control data from the controller (Abehasera, 18, figs. 1, 3) to the airflow generator (Abehasera, blower motor of the hair dryer, col. 2, lines 30-39). (Application claim 3)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the haircare appliance of Kennedy with the controller for automatically controlling the airflow generator based on an output of the sensor module; (Application claim 2) and wherein the controller is located in the intermediate attachment, and the intermediate attachment is configured to communicate control data from the controller to the airflow generator (Application claim 3), as taught by Abehasera, for effectively controlling an operation of the haircare appliance during a drying process which would result in effectively drying a user’s hair within a short period of time and thus a user’s satisfaction is promoted. Thus, the haircare appliance operates more efficiently and thus benefits the consumer.
Regarding claims 2 & 4, Kennedy as modified discloses wherein the haircare appliance (10, fig. 1) comprises a controller (64, fig. 4) for automatically controlling the airflow generator (50, 58, fig. 5); (Application claim 2) and
wherein the controller (64, fig. 4) is located in the main body (main body of item 10 as shown in figs. 1, 2). (Application claim 4)
Kennedy does not disclose a controller for automatically controlling the airflow generator based on an output of the sensor module; (Application claim 2) and
the intermediate attachment is configured to communicate the output of the sensor module to the controller. (Application claim 4)
Abehasera teaches a controller (Abehasera, 18, figs. 1, 3) for automatically controlling the airflow generator (Abehasera, blower motor of the hair dryer, col. 2, lines 30-39) based on an output of the sensor module (Abehasera, 12, figs. 1, 3) (Abehasera recites “The temperature sensor 12 comprises a digital or analog sensor that detects the temperature of air flowing through the nozzle 10. In some embodiments, the temperature sensor 12 is configured to transmit temperature data to the microcontroller unit 18. The microcontroller unit 18 can react to temperature data by sounding an alert through audible alarm 19, and/or initiating a visible alert through LED 17, and/or sending a shut-off signal to the heating element or blower motor of the hair dryer if, for example, the air temperature exceeds or drops below a predetermined limit.”, col. 2, lines 30-39); (Application claim 2) and
the intermediate attachment (Abehasera, 10, figs. 1, 2) is configured to communicate the output of the sensor module (Abehasera, 12, figs. 1, 3) (Abehasera, col. 2, lines 30-39) to the controller (Abehasera, 18, figs. 1, 3). (Application claim 4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the haircare appliance of Kennedy with the controller for automatically controlling the airflow generator based on an output of the sensor module; (Application claim 2) and the intermediate attachment is configured to communicate the output of the sensor module to the controller (Application claim 4), as taught by Abehasera, for effectively controlling an operation of the haircare appliance during a drying process which would result in effectively drying a user’s hair within a short period of time and thus a user’s satisfaction is promoted. Thus, the haircare appliance operates more efficiently and thus benefits the consumer.
Regarding claim 5, Kennedy as modified discloses wherein the haircare appliance (10, fig. 1) comprises a heater (42, fig. 4) for heating the airflow, and a heater controller (72, 64, 63, figs. 2-6) for controlling the heater (42, fig. 4).
Kennedy does not disclose a heater controller for controlling the heater based on an output of the sensor module.
Abehasera teaches a heater controller (Abehasera, 18, figs. 1, 3) for controlling the heater (Abehasera, heating element of the hair dryer, col. 2, lines 30-39) based on an output of the sensor module (Abehasera, 12, figs. 1, 3) (Abehasera, blower motor of the hair dryer, col. 2, lines 30-39) based on an output of the sensor module (Abehasera, 12, figs. 1, 3) (Abehasera recites “The temperature sensor 12 comprises a digital or analog sensor that detects the temperature of air flowing through the nozzle 10. In some embodiments, the temperature sensor 12 is configured to transmit temperature data to the microcontroller unit 18. The microcontroller unit 18 can react to temperature data by sounding an alert through audible alarm 19, and/or initiating a visible alert through LED 17, and/or sending a shut-off signal to the heating element or blower motor of the hair dryer if, for example, the air temperature exceeds or drops below a predetermined limit.”, col. 2, lines 30-39).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the haircare appliance of Kennedy with the heater controller for controlling the heater based on an output of the sensor module, as taught by Abehasera, for effectively controlling an operating temperature of the haircare appliance during a drying process which would result in effectively drying a user’s hair within a short period of time and thus a user’s satisfaction is promoted. Thus, the haircare appliance operates more efficiently and thus benefits the consumer.
Regarding claim 6, Kennedy as modified discloses the limitations of the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 1 above, but does not disclose wherein the intermediate attachment comprises a wireless transmitter for transmitting data representative of an output of the sensor module to a remote user device.
Abehasera teaches wherein the intermediate attachment (Abehasera, 10, figs. 1, 2) comprises a wireless transmitter (16, figs. 1, 3) for transmitting data representative of an output of the sensor module (Abehasera, 12, figs. 1, 3) to a remote user device (external devices such as a computer, tablet, smartphone, smartwatch, or the like, col. 3, lines 55-60) (col. 4, lines 42-54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the haircare appliance of Kennedy with wherein the intermediate attachment comprises a wireless transmitter for transmitting data representative of an output of the sensor module to a remote user device, as taught by Abehasera, for instantly providing a current operating status or condition of the haircare appliance during a drying process to a user’s device which would result in minimizing the haircare appliance from being interrupted for checking the current operating status or condition of the drying process. Thus, the haircare appliance operates more efficiently and thus benefits the consumer.
Regarding claim 7, Kennedy as modified discloses the limitations of the haircare appliance as claimed in claim 1 above, but does not disclose wherein the intermediate attachment comprises a wireless receiver for receiving command data, and the airflow generator is controllable based on the command data.
Abehasera teaches wherein the intermediate attachment (Abehasera, 10, figs. 1, 2) comprises a wireless receiver (16, figs. 1, 3) for receiving command data (data communication, col. 2, lines 4-15; col. 3, lines 55-60; col. 4, lines 42-54), and the airflow generator (Abehasera, blower motor, col. 2, lines 4-15) is controllable based on the command data (data communication, col. 2, lines 4-15; col. 3, lines 55-60; col. 4, lines 42-54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the haircare appliance of Kennedy with wherein the intermediate attachment comprises a wireless receiver for receiving command data, and the airflow generator is controllable based on the command data, as taught by Abehasera, for providing a greater flexibility of controlling the haircare appliance which would result in promoting a user’s satisfaction. Thus, the haircare appliance is a user-friendly and thus benefits the consumer.
Regarding claims 9 & 11, Kennedy as modified discloses wherein the haircare appliance comprises a user feedback module (62, figs. 8, 9) configured to provide feedback to a user ([0031]); (Application claim 9) and
the user feedback module (62, figs. 8, 9) is located in the main body (main body of item 10 as shown in figs. 1, 2). (Application claim 11)
Kennedy does not disclose a user feedback module configured to provide feedback to a user based on an output of the sensor module; (Application claim 9) and
wherein the intermediate attachment comprises a feedback controller for controlling the user feedback module based on the output of the sensor module, and the feedback controller is configured to communicate control instructions to the user feedback module. (Application claim 11)
Abehasera teaches a user feedback module (Abehasera, 17, 112. figs. 1, 3; col. 3, lines 5-13 and col. 3, line 61 thru col. 4, line 3) configured to provide feedback to a user based on an output of the sensor module (Abehasera, 12, figs. 1, 3) (col. 3, lines 5-13 and col. 3, line 61 thru col. 4, line 3); (Application claim 9) and
wherein the intermediate attachment (Abehasera, 10, figs. 1, 2) comprises a feedback controller (Abehasera, 18, figs. 1, 3) for controlling the user feedback module (Abehasera, 17, 112. figs. 1, 3; col. 3, lines 5-13 and col. 3, line 61 thru col. 4, line 3) based on the output of the sensor module (Abehasera, 12, figs. 1, 3) (col. 3, lines 5-13 and col. 3, line 61 thru col. 4, line 3), and the feedback controller (Abehasera, 18, figs. 1, 3) is configured to communicate control instructions to the user feedback module (Abehasera, 17, 112. figs. 1, 3; col. 3, lines 5-13 and col. 3, line 61 thru col. 4, line 3). (Application claim 11)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the haircare appliance of Kennedy with the user feedback module configured to provide feedback to a user based on an output of the sensor module; (Application claim 9) and wherein the intermediate attachment comprises a feedback controller for controlling the user feedback module based on the output of the sensor module, and the feedback controller is configured to communicate control instructions to the user feedback module (Application claim 11) as taught by Abehasera, for effectively communicating a current operating status or condition of the haircare appliance during a drying process to a user which would result in promoting a user’s satisfaction. Thus, the haircare appliance is a user-friendly and thus benefits the consumer.
Regarding claim 10, Kennedy as modified discloses the limitations of the haircare appliance as claimed in Claim 9 above, but does not disclose wherein the user feedback module is located in the intermediate attachment.
Abehasera further teaches wherein the user feedback module (Abehasera, 17, 112. figs. 1, 3; col. 3, lines 5-13 and col. 3, line 61 thru col. 4, line 3) is located in the intermediate attachment (Abehasera, 10, figs. 1, 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the haircare appliance of Kennedy with wherein the user feedback module is located in the intermediate attachment, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Shifting the location of the user feedback module does not modify the operation of the haircare appliance because the haircare appliance would still provide feedback(s) to the user. Please note, Specification of the instant application does not disclose any criticality of the claim invention.
Regarding claim 12, Kennedy as modified discloses wherein the user feedback module (62, figs. 8, 9) comprises at least one of a haptic feedback module, a visual feedback module (66, fig. 8), and an aural feedback module.
Regarding claim 16, Kennedy as modified discloses wherein the sensor module (Kennedy recites “… A temperature sensor (not shown) may be used in the airflow path to allow closed-loop control of the air temperature. …”, [0033]) is located inside of the airflow flowing through the intermediate attachment (102, figs. 19-22) in use.
Kennedy does not disclose the sensor module is located outside of the airflow flowing through the intermediate attachment in use.
Abehasera teaches the sensor module (Abehasera, 12, figs. 1, 3) is located outside (Abehasera, as shown in figs. 1, 2) of the airflow flowing through the intermediate attachment (Abehasera, 10, figs. 1, 2) in use.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the haircare appliance of Kennedy with the sensor module is located outside of the airflow flowing through the intermediate attachment in use, as taught by Abehasera, for minimizing the sensor module from exposing to a high heat temperature during a drying process which would result in preventing and/or minimizing the sensor module from getting damage. Thus, the life-span of the sensor module is longer and thus benefits the consumer.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy and Wik Far East Ltd as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Conrad (US 2021/0307478).
Regarding claim 13, Kennedy as modified discloses wherein the main body (main body of item 10 as shown in figs. 1, 2) comprises a first inductive coil (Kennedy recites “… The heating element 42 is a resistive wire wrapped around a mica structure 41, a design that is well-known in the art.”, [0030]).
Kennedy does not disclose the intermediate attachment comprises a second inductive coil for inductively coupling to the first inductive coil.
Conrad teaches the intermediate attachment (Conrad, right portion of item 310 at item 312, figs. 67, 68) comprises a second inductive coil (Conrad, 70, fig. 68) for inductively coupling to (Conrad, via items 322, 320, figs. 67, 68, [0789]) the first inductive coil (Conrad, 276, 280, figs. 75, 76).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the haircare appliance of Kennedy with the intermediate attachment comprises a second inductive coil for inductively coupling to the first inductive coil, as taught by Conrad, for providing additional heat to a drying process which would result in effectively drying a user’s hair within a shorter period of time and thus the user’s satisfaction is promoted. Thus, the apparatus for drying or styling hair operates more efficiently and thus benefits the consumer.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy and Wik Far East Ltd as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Malbrough (US 9,743,737).
Regarding claim 19, Kennedy as modified discloses wherein the haircare appliance (10, fig. 1) comprises a further hair treatment attachment (300, figs. 17, 18) different to the hair treatment attachment (104, figs. 19-22), and
Kennedy does not disclose the hair treatment attachment and the further hair treatment attachment are interchangeably connectable to the intermediate attachment.
Malbrough teaches the hair treatment attachment (Malbrough, 2, figs. 1-2) and the further hair treatment attachment (Malbrough, 15, figs. 7-9) are interchangeably connectable to the intermediate attachment (Malbrough, 1, figs. 1-2, 7-9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the haircare appliance of Kennedy with the hair treatment attachment and the further hair treatment attachment are interchangeably connectable to the intermediate attachment, as taught by Malbrough, for providing simplified designs of different types of the hair treatment attachments while promoting a universal intermediate attachment which would result in reducing material cost. Thus, a manufacturing cost of the haircare appliance is reduced and thus benefits the consumer.
Conclusion
/BAO D NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762