DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2004/0055281) in view of Pott (US 5,992,142).
In Reference to Claim 16
(See Tang, Figures 1-4)
Tang et al. (Tang) discloses:
A method for operating an internal combustion engine (10), wherein the internal combustion engine (10) comprises:
at least one combustion chamber (12) in which a fuel is at least partially burned with ambient air (See Tang, Paragraph [0021]), and
an exhaust tract that is coupled to an outlet side of the at least one combustion chamber (12) in a fluid communicating manner (See Tang, Paragraph [0021]),
wherein hydrogen is used as fuel for the internal combustion engine (10) (See Tang, Paragraph [0021]),
wherein the internal combustion engine (10) also has at least one NOx storage catalyst (B) and an exhaust gas discharged from the at least one combustion chamber (12) into the exhaust tract at least partially flows through the at least one NOx storage catalyst (B) (See Tang, Paragraph [0022]),
the method comprising:
controlling the engine to burn a lean air/hydrogen mixture in the at least one combustion chamber (12) in a first operating state (See Tang, Paragraph [0024]),
regenerating the NOx storage catalyst (B) in a second operating state, by controlling the engine to burn a rich air/hydrogen mixture in the at least one combustion chamber (12) (See Tang, Paragraph [0028]),
wherein the second operating state is set in all operating modes. (See Tang, Paragraphs [0004] & [0024]).
Tang discloses the claimed invention except:
If it is detected that an idling operation of the internal combustion engine is present, setting the second operating state in an idling operation of the internal combustion engine and/or if it is detected that an overrun operation of the internal combustion engine is present, setting the second operating state is set in an overrun operation of the internal combustion engine.
Pott discloses an NOx storage catalyst control system. (See Pott, Abstract). Pott discloses detecting and idling and/or overrun (i.e.-coasting) operation and setting the second operating state (i.e-rich regeneration condition) in response to the detection. (See Pott, Column 5, Lines 3-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have detected and controlled the second operating mode of Tang to occur during detected idling and/or overrun operating modes as both references are directed towards NOx storage catalyst control systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that performing the second operating condition (i.e.-regeneration) during idling and/or overrun detected operating modes would have prevented discomfort as such operating modes occur without power output required from the engine thus improving overall drivability of the vehicle while maintaining emissions reduction. (See Pott, Column 5, Lines 3-32).
In Reference to Claim 17
(See Tang, Figures 1-4)
Tang discloses:
wherein the internal combustion engine (10) further comprises an exhaust gas recirculation device (24), via which exhaust gas is returned from the exhaust tract to the combustion chamber (12). (See Tang, Paragraph [0021]).
In Reference to Claim 18
(See Tang, Figures 1-4)
Tang discloses:
Further comprising, in the second operating state, controlling an exhaust gas recirculation device to recirculate exhaust gas into the at least one combustion chamber (12). (See Tang, Paragraph [0024]).
In Reference to Claim 23
(See Tang, Figures 1-4)
Tang discloses:
A control device (22) configured to carry out the method according to claim 16. (See Claim 16 rejection above).
In Reference to Claim 24
(See Tang, Figures 1-4)
Tang discloses:
A system, comprising:
an internal combustion engine (10) comprising:
at least one combustion chamber (12) in which a fuel is at least partially burnable with ambient air (See Tang, Paragraph [0021]),
an exhaust tract which is coupled to an outlet side of the at least one combustion chamber (12) in a fluid communicating manner (See Tang, Paragraph [0021]), and
at least one NOx storage catalyst (B) and an exhaust gas discharged from the at least one combustion chamber (12) into the exhaust tract can at least partially flow through the at least one NOx storage catalyst (B) (See Tang, Paragraph [0022]); and
a storage device for hydrogen, which is coupled to the internal combustion engine (10) in a fluid communicating manner, and
a control device (22) configured to carry out the method according to claim 16. (See Claim 16 rejection above).
The Examiner notes that a hydrogen fueled engine will include a hydrogen storage device to supply the engine with hydrogen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 21-22, 25, and 28 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “independently changing the flow rate of the exhaust gas in the plurality of the exhaust tract sections by a throttling device which is variable in terms of a degree of throttling and is arranged upstream of the at least one NOx storage catalyst in the plurality the exhaust tract sections, completely suppressing the flow rate in at least one of the exhaust tract sections having at least one NOx storage catalyst for and during the regeneration of that at least one NOx storage catalyst in the respective at least one exhaust tract section, and feeding a reduction agent for reducing the nitrogen oxides stored in each of the at least one NOx storage catalysts into the plurality of exhaust tract sections between the respective at least one NOx storage catalyst and the variable throttle device.” in claim 19 and “wherein the flow rate in at least one of the exhaust tract sections having at least one NOx storage catalyst can be completely suppressed for and during the regeneration of that at least one NOx storage catalyst” in claim 25. Specifically, although the closest prior art of Ancimer discloses suppressing exhaust flow through an at least one exhaust gas tract section, Ancimer discloses suppressing exhaust gas through the exhaust gas tract section including the NOx storage catalyst which is not being regenerated. (emphasis added). Accordingly, The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “independently changing the flow rate of the exhaust gas in the plurality of the exhaust tract sections by a throttling device which is variable in terms of a degree of throttling and is arranged upstream of the at least one NOx storage catalyst in the plurality the exhaust tract sections, completely suppressing the flow rate in at least one of the exhaust tract sections having at least one NOx storage catalyst for and during the regeneration of that at least one NOx storage catalyst in the respective at least one exhaust tract section, and feeding a reduction agent for reducing the nitrogen oxides stored in each of the at least one NOx storage catalysts into the plurality of exhaust tract sections between the respective at least one NOx storage catalyst and the variable throttle device.” in claim 19 and “wherein the flow rate in at least one of the exhaust tract sections having at least one NOx storage catalyst can be completely suppressed for and during the regeneration of that at least one NOx storage catalyst” in claim 25.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13 September 2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746