DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and is/are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“at least one protective means” in claim 6, line 2, the corresponding structure for which can be found in the specification page 10, lines 25-31.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-5, 7 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 9-10, the recitation “the at least one lateral through-hole” should read --the at least one laterally arranged through-hole--.
In claim 1, lines 13-14, the recitation “the second securing element” should read –the at least one second securing element--.
In claim 1, lines 15-16, the recitation “the at least one through-hole” should read --the at least one laterally arranged through-hole--.
In claim 1, line 16, the recitation “the second securing element” should read –the at least one second securing element--.
In claim 1, line 17, the recitation “the first securing element” should read –the at least one first securing element--.
In claim 1, line 20, the recitation “the second securing element” should read –the at least one second securing element--.
In claim 3, line 2, “the at least one through-hole” should read --the at least one laterally arranged through-hole--.
In claims 4 and 7, all recitations of “the first securing element” should read –the at least one first securing element--.
In claims 4, 5, 7 and 11, all recitations of “the second securing element” should read –the at least one second securing element--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2015/0053875 (“Fohn”).
Regarding claim 1, Fohn discloses a diaphragm valve or a diaphragm seat valve comprising:
a drive (“42”);
a drive rod (mainly defined by “48”, “49”, “50” and “60”) connected to the drive and comprising a connection device (mainly defined by “48”, “50” and “60”); the connection device comprising:
a receptacle (“48”) having a distal opening (bottom opening, relative to the orientation of fig. 6 defined mainly by region “82”) which provides access to a receiving space (“80”) for receiving a portion (portion of pin “6” exterior to diaphragm “4”) of a diaphragm pin (“6”) of a valve diaphragm (“4”), wherein at least one laterally arranged through-hole (“90”) of the receptacle leads into the receiving space (see fig. 5);
at least one first securing element (“60”), which is movably arranged in the at least one lateral through-hole at least perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (“10”; see fig. 1) of the connection device;
at least one second securing element (“50”), which is mounted on the receptacle so as to be movable along the longitudinal axis (between positions of figs. 6-8), wherein the second securing element, in a first position (position where securing sleeve “50” presses securing lock “60” against bias of spring “74”; see figs. 4 and 6) relative to the receptacle, presses the at least one first securing element into the receiving space (see fig. 4) through an inner opening (“92”) of the at least one through-hole, and wherein the second securing element, in a second position (position where securing sleeve “50” allows release of securing lock “60”; see fig. 8) relative to the receptacle, releases the first securing element for movement out of the receiving space (via bias of spring “74”); and
at least one spring element (“54”), which is supported on (by means of abutment with securing sleeve “50”, and biasing the securing sleeve “50” against the receptacle “48”) the receptacle (“48”) and biasing the second securing element toward the first position (spring “54” biases securing sleeve “50” into locked position to secure locking pin “60”);
wherein the drive transfers the drive rod from at least one operating position (see position of fig. 7) into a mounting position (see position of fig. 8) in which the second securing element is in the second position.
Regarding claim 3, Fohn discloses the at least one through-hole (“90”) tapers (see graduated taper of through-hole “90” in fig. 5) at least in portions in a direction toward the inner opening (“92”).
Regarding claim 4, Fohn discloses the second securing element (“50”) comprises a limiting space (space formed by cylindrical inner surface of securing sleeve “50”) which has a first diameter in a first portion (portion distal from diaphragm “4”) in order to press, in the first position (position of fig. 6), the first securing element (“60”) into the receiving space (“80”) through the inner opening (“92”) of the at least one through-hole (“90”), and wherein a second portion (chamfered inner portion of securing sleeve “50” proximal to the diaphragm “4”) of the limiting space has a second diameter (diameter of conical surface “72”; see fig. 4) which is larger than the first diameter in order to release, in the second position (position illustrated in fig. 8), the first securing element (“60”) for movement from the receiving space (“80”).
Regarding claim 5, Fohn discloses the second securing element (“50”) comprises a retaining geometry (annular groove “114” engaged by pin “56” maintains spring element “54” compressed and diaphragm pin “60” is disengaged from groove “8”) for reaching the second position (position where securing sleeve “50” allows release of securing lock “60”; see fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Fohn discloses wherein in the receiving space (“80”) there is at least one protective means (mainly defined by annular groove “8” and/or locking pin “60”) against a falling out of the diaphragm pin (“6”).
Regarding claim 7, Fohn discloses the drive (“42”);
the drive rod (mainly defined by “48” and “49”) connected to the drive, which drive rod comprises the connection device (mainly defined by “48”, “50” and “60”);
a drive-side body (“110”);
a valve body (“112”);
the valve diaphragm, wherein a lateral portion (outer periphery of diaphragm “4”) of the valve diaphragm (“4”) is clamped between the valve body and the drive-side body (see fig. 8), wherein the second securing element (securing sleeve “50”), in its first position (see position of fig. 6) relative to the receptacle (“48”), presses the first securing element (“60”) through the inner opening (“92”) of the at least one through-hole (“90”) into a taper (beveled surfaces “12” and/or “14”, which define the annular groove “8”) of the diaphragm pin (“6”) which is located at least in portions in the receiving space (“80”; see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Fohn discloses the diaphragm pin (“6”) is mounted inside the receiving space (“80”) so as to be movable (clearance between conical surfaces “12” and “14” allow relative play between diaphragm pin “6” and receptacle “48”; see fig. 4) along the longitudinal axis (“10”).
Regarding claim 11, Fohn discloses the retaining geometry (annular groove “114” engaged by pin “56” maintains spring element “54” compressed and diaphragm pin “60” is disengaged from groove “8”) of the second securing element (“50”) meets a stop (“56”) stationary (stop “56” remains engaged with annular groove “114” when driving rod, mainly defined by “48” and “49”, moves between positions of figs. 7 and 8) relative to the drive rod (at least parts “48” and “49”) during the transition of the drive rod into the mounting position (position of fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fohn, as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, in view of CN113646562 (“Obara”).
Regarding claim 8, Fohn discloses the invention as claimed except for a compressor which is arranged between a distal end of the receptacle and the valve diaphragm.
However, Obara teaches (see fig. 10) a compressor (“23”) which is arranged between a distal end (bottom end, relative to the orientation of fig. 9) of a receptacle (“8”) and a valve diaphragm (“22”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Fohn by employing a compressor between a distal end of the receptacle and the valve diaphragm, as taught by Obara, to be able protect the diaphragm from mechanical forces.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Fohn and Obara discloses a free distance (Fohn and Obara discloses a free distance equating to a dimension of zero unit) between the compressor (Obara, “23”), the valve diaphragm (Obara, “22”), and the distal end (Fohn, bottom end, relative to the orientation of fig. 6) of the receptacle (Fohn, “48”) is smaller than a distance between a bottom (Fohn, surface of shaft “49”, which closes opening “78”) of the receiving space (Fohn, “80”) and a distal end (Fohn, end of pin “6” distal from diaphragm “4”) of the diaphragm pin (Fohn, “6”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed February 19, 2026, have been fully considered.
With regards to the objection(s) of claims 3, 8 and 9, as set forth in the Office action dated November 24, 2025, Applicant’s amendments have overcome these objections.
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection(s) of claims 1-11, Applicant’s current amendments have overcome this/these rejection(s).
With regards to the rejection of claim 1 over Fohn, Applicant argues that
“the spring element (54) in Fohn is supported on the intermediate piece (44), not on the pressing part (48), which the Office Action identifies as corresponding to the claimed receptacle”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The intermediate piece (Fohn, “44”) merely describes one region of the valve device (Fohn, “40”) within which the pressing part/receptacle (Fohn, “48”) is disposed (Fohn, see specification paragraph [0039]). The spring element (Fohn, “54”) engages the coupling socket/second securing element (Fohn, “50”) to fix the coupling socket/second securing element (Fohn, “50”) to the pressing part/receptacle (Fohn, “48”; see specification paragraph [0048]), which anticipates the amended claim.
With regards to the rejection of claim 1 over Fohn, Applicant further argues that
“Fohn does not disclose that the spring biases the second securing element toward a defined locking position in which radial securing elements are pressed into engagement with the diaphragm pin as a default state relative to the receptacle. The function and orientation of the spring in Fohn are directed to operational fixation in the feed direction toward the valve seat, not to biasing a locking sleeve toward a defined first position relative to the receptacle as required by claim 1.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 of the present applicant describes (see claim 1, lines 13-14 and lines 16-17) the first position and the second position as positions of the second securing element (112) as positions “relative to the receptacle” (102a-b). In Fohn, spring element (Fohn, “54”), in a similar manner, biases the coupling socket/second securing element (Fohn, “50”) to lock the locking slide/first securing element (Fohn, “60”) from withdrawal (Fohn, see specification paragraph [0050]). Without a rod/stop (Fohn, “56”) the coupling socket/second securing element (Fohn, “50”) would be biased towards the locking position (Fohn, see fig. 7), wherein the coupling socket/second securing element (Fohn, “50”) is in fixed abutment with the pressing part/receptacle (Fohn, “48”). When the rod/stop (Fohn, “56”) is engaged to prevent movement of the coupling socket/second securing element (Fohn, “50”; see fig. 8), the coupling socket/second securing element (Fohn, “50”; see fig. 8) is at a different position, relative to the pressing part/receptacle (Fohn, “48”), which allows separation of the coupling socket/second securing element (Fohn, “50”) from the locking slide/first securing element (Fohn, “60”), which allows for withdrawal of the locking slide/first securing element (Fohn, “60”) from annular groove (Fohn, “8”) and receiving space (Fohn, “80”).
With regards to the rejection of claim 8 and 9 over Fohn in view of Obara, since Applicant’s arguments only concern the limitations of independent claim 1, Applicant’s arguments are addressed in the response to claim 1, above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753