DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 23-40 recite the broad recitations, and the claims also recite “for example” and “preferably” followed by narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-24, 27-32, and 34-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordens (US 2023/0133789) in view of Li (CN 113652246A).
Regarding claims 23-24, 27-29, 31-32, 34-40, Jordens teaches feeding hydrocarbon and dilute steam to a reactor tube and exposing the feeds to infrared radiation from electric heating [0014], [0057-0064]. Jordens teaches an infrared steam cracking furnace comprising one or more reactor tubes, and electrically heated emitter, and a reflector [0014-0061]. Examiner considers the reflector material of Jordens to read on the claimed conductivity/reflectance limitations. Jordens teaches the reflectors focus the infrared radiation on the receiving tubes [0037]. Jordens teaches the furnace produces a flux of at least 20000 W/m2 or 50000 W/m2 [0061]. Jordens teaches infrared wavelengths in the range of 700 nm – 1 mm [0018]. Jordens teaches ceramic or silicon nitride heaters [0038-0044]. Jordens teaches electrical emitters of various designs including lamps, tubes, panels, scallops, or rods [0035]. Jordens teaches electric heating element temperatures of 1000-3000˚C [0042].
While Jordens teaches using the claimed emitters, reflectors, and steam cracking tubes, Jordens does not explicitly disclose the claimed spacing.
However, Li teaches an electrical steam cracking furnace having the claimed spacing (see examples).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected the spacing of the Jordens reactor in order to obtained the desired heating flux and steam cracking reactions. Examiner additionally notes that one may use Li as guidance for what spacing is known in the art.
Regarding claim 30, Examiner notes that duplication of parts is obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordens (US 2023/0133789) in view of Li (CN 113652246A) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Barendregt (US 2008/0142411).
Regarding claims 25-26, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 23, as discussed above.
The previous combination does not explicitly disclose the tube configuration.
However, Barendregt teaches that tubes can be can be configured in single, dual, tiple, or more parallel lanes [0085].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected the desired tube configuration, as known in the art.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordens (US 2023/0133789) in view of Li (CN 113652246A) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Tsangaris (US 2008/0277265).
Regarding claims 33, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 23, as discussed above.
The previous combination does not explicitly disclose the enclosure material.
However, Tsangaris teaches that it is well known in the art to use silicate brick enclosures for high temperature hydrocarbon processing, for the benefit of providing insulation [0281-0282].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected appropriate materials, such as well-known silicate brick enclosures of Tsangaris, in order to provide insulation from the high temperature reactions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN104371754A – cited on ISR, teaches electric cracking furnace
CN113801683A - cited on ISR, teaches electric cracking furnace
US 4,800,252 – teaches an infrared electric cracking furnace
US 2021/0113980 – teaches electrically heated cracking furnace
US 2022/0395805 – teaches electric steam cracker
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771