DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. (US 2021/0135734 A1), hereinafter referred to as D1, in view of Bai et al. (US 2022/0141677 A1), hereinafter referred to as D2.
Regarding claim 1, D1 discloses a system and method for joint beam sweep configuration in 5G networks, which comprises:
reporting, to a base station, SMR capability information (Referring to Figures 6 and 7, a repeater 310a, with in-band control, may initially follow an access procedure (similar to the access procedure used by a UE) to establish a connection to the gNB 204 as the initial connection setup 602. As part of the initial connection setup 602, the repeater 310a may share information about the beamforming codebook with the gNB 204. For example, the beamforming codebook contains information on what beams the repeater 310a is able to create. In some embodiments, repeater 310a may further share with gNB 204 additional capability (reporting to a base station SMR capability information) and configuration information, such as, but not limited to, information on the architecture of the repeater, beam switching latency, synchronization level, etc. See paragraphs 0084-0086.);
receiving, from the base station, SMR control information corresponding to the SMR capability information, the SMR control information comprising a first portion configuring a synchronization signal block (SSB) burst set for an SMR SSB beam sweep (Referring to Figures 6 and 7, the gNB 204 may determine a BS beam sweep configuration, and a repeater sweep configuration. For example, for the BS beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 determines how many SSBs are to be transmitted, at which beam directions to transmit the SSBs, in what beam sweep order and/or SSB transmission order to transmit the SSBs, and the sweeping periodicity/frequency. For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 determines a beamforming mode for the repeater, e.g., whether (i) a single broad beam, (ii) a time division multiplexing of SSB beams received from gNB 204, or (iii) a repeater selected SSB beam will be used. For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE. The base station transmits the BS beam sweep configuration to the repeater. See paragraphs 0087-0090.); and
performing, based on the SMR control information, at least one of the SMR SSB beam sweep using SSBs of the SSB burst set and the SMR CSI-RS beam sweep using CSI- RS resources of the CSI-RS resource set (Referring to figures 6 and 7, the BS may perform the initial beam sweeping with the repeater using the BS sweep configuration parameters See paragraphs 0094-0096.).
D1 does not disclose and a second portion configuring a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource set for an SMR CSI-RS beam sweep.
D2 teaches a process flow 400 that supports combined beam sweeping procedure in accordance. Process flow 400 may include a base station 105-c and a UE 115-c, which may be corresponding examples of devices described with reference to FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B, and 2C. UE 115-c and base station 105-c may perform a multi-phase beam sweeping procedure. For instance, base station 105-b and UE 115-b may perform a first phase (e.g., P1) beam sweeping procedure to identify a coarse beam pair (e.g., a coarse transmit beam and a coarse receive beam) on which to communicate, as described with reference to FIG. 2A. Base station 105-c and UE 115-c may perform a second phase (e.g., P2) beam sweeping procedure to identify a refined transmit beam for base station 105-c, as described with reference to FIG. 2B, and may further perform a third phase (e.g., P3) beam sweeping procedure to identify a receive beam for UE 115-c. Prior to 405, base station 105-b and UE 115-b may complete a P1 beam sweeping procedure. At 405, base station 105-c may transmit, and UE 115-c may receive, reference signal configuration information (e.g., SSB configuration information, CSI-RS configuration information, or the like). The configuration information may include configuration information for a first set of reference signals to be transmitted at 415 (e.g., SSBs or CSI-RSs to be transmitted at 415) and a second set of reference signals to be transmitted at 445 (e.g., CSI-RSs with repetition enabled in RRC signaling). See paragraphs 0088-0090.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the SSB/CSI-RS configuration for beam sweeping as taught by D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to decrease signaling overhead and improve data throughput.
Regarding claim 2, the primary reference further teaches wherein at least one of the first portion and the second portion is received in high-layer signaling on an physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for the SMR (Referring to Figures 6 and 7, the network 100 may be an NR network deployed over a licensed spectrum. The BSs 105 can transmit synchronization signals (e.g., including a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS)) in the network 100 to facilitate synchronization. The BSs 105 can broadcast system information associated with the network 100 (e.g., including a master information block (MIB), remaining system information (RMSI), and other system information (OSI)) to facilitate initial network access. In some instances, the BSs 105 may broadcast the PSS, the SSS, and/or the MIB in the form of synchronization signal block (SSBs) over a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) and may broadcast the RMSI and/or the OSI over a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). See paragraphs 0044-0046.)
Regarding claim 16, D1 discloses the performing, based on the SMR control information, one of the SMR SSB beam sweep and the SMR CSI-RS beam sweep comprises performing the SMR SSB beam sweep based on the first portion; and the method further comprises receiving, from the base station, based on the first portion, the SSB burst set for the SMR SSB beam sweep, wherein the SMR SSB beam sweep occurs within a period of an SMR SSB burst periodicity (Referring to Figures 6 and 7, the gNB 204 may determine a BS beam sweep configuration, and a repeater sweep configuration. For example, for the BS beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 determines how many SSBs are to be transmitted, at which beam directions to transmit the SSBs, in what beam sweep order and/or SSB transmission order to transmit the SSBs, and the sweeping periodicity/frequency. For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 determines a beamforming mode for the repeater, e.g., whether (i) a single broad beam, (ii) a time division multiplexing of SSB beams received from gNB 204, or (iii) a repeater selected SSB beam will be used. For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE. The base station transmits the BS beam sweep configuration to the repeater and performing the beam sweep according to the configuration. See paragraphs 0087-0090.)
Regarding claim 17, the primary reference further teaches wherein the first portion indicates the SMR SSB burst periodicity (Referring to Figures 6 and 7, the gNB 204 may determine a BS beam sweep configuration, and a repeater sweep configuration. For example, for the BS beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 determines how many SSBs are to be transmitted, at which beam directions to transmit the SSBs, in what beam sweep order and/or SSB transmission order to transmit the SSBs, and the sweeping periodicity/frequency. For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 determines a beamforming mode for the repeater, e.g., whether (i) a single broad beam, (ii) a time division multiplexing of SSB beams received from gNB 204, or (iii) a repeater selected SSB beam will be used. For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE. The base station transmits the BS beam sweep configuration to the repeater and performing the beam sweep according to the configuration. See paragraphs 0087-0090.)
Regarding claim 18, the primary reference further teaches wherein: the first portion includes an offset value; and the SSB burst set is received within the period according to the offset value (Referring to Figures 6 and 7, the gNB 204 may determine a BS beam sweep configuration, and a repeater sweep configuration. For example, for the BS beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 determines how many SSBs are to be transmitted, at which beam directions to transmit the SSBs, in what beam sweep order and/or SSB transmission order to transmit the SSBs, and the sweeping periodicity/frequency (offset interpreted as null). For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 determines a beamforming mode for the repeater, e.g., whether (i) a single broad beam, (ii) a time division multiplexing of SSB beams received from gNB 204, or (iii) a repeater selected SSB beam will be used. For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE. The base station transmits the BS beam sweep configuration to the repeater and performing the beam sweep according to the configuration (offset of null). See paragraphs 0087-0090.)
Regarding claim 19, the primary reference further teaches wherein the offset value is given in units of half radio frames (Referring to Figures 6 and 7, the gNB 204 may determine a BS beam sweep configuration, and a repeater sweep configuration. For example, for the BS beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 determines how many SSBs are to be transmitted, at which beam directions to transmit the SSBs, in what beam sweep order and/or SSB transmission order to transmit the SSBs, and the sweeping periodicity/frequency (offset interpreted as null). For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 determines a beamforming mode for the repeater, e.g., whether (i) a single broad beam, (ii) a time division multiplexing of SSB beams received from gNB 204, or (iii) a repeater selected SSB beam will be used. For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE. The base station transmits the BS beam sweep configuration to the repeater and performing the beam sweep according to the configuration (offset of null). See paragraphs 0087-0090.)
Regarding claim 20, the primary reference further teaches wherein the offset value is given in units of a length of a maximum number of SSBs that are supported when using a current subcarrier spacing (Referring to Figures 6 and 7, the gNB 204 may determine a BS beam sweep configuration, and a repeater sweep configuration. For example, for the BS beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 determines how many SSBs are to be transmitted, at which beam directions to transmit the SSBs, in what beam sweep order and/or SSB transmission order to transmit the SSBs, and the sweeping periodicity/frequency (offset interpreted as null). For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 determines a beamforming mode for the repeater, e.g., whether (i) a single broad beam, (ii) a time division multiplexing of SSB beams received from gNB 204, or (iii) a repeater selected SSB beam will be used. For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE. The base station transmits the BS beam sweep configuration to the repeater and performing the beam sweep according to the configuration (offset of null). See paragraphs 0087-0090.)
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, 7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. (US 2021/0135734 A1), hereinafter referred to as D1, in view of Bai et al. (US 2022/0141677 A1), hereinafter referred to as D2, in view of Parkvall et al. (US 2017/0331577 A1), hereinafter referred to as D3.
Regarding claim 3, D1 does not disclose wherein a first one of the first portion and the second portion is received in downlink control information (DCI) of a first DCI format having cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits scrambled by a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) that identifies that the first DCI format includes the first one of the first portion and the second portion.
D3 teaches it is well-known in the art that UEs may monitor one or more group-scheduled messages in addition to the dedicated messages. This is done by configuring the UE to not only monitor DCIs for a UE-specific CRC (typically the UE temporary identity is used to mask the CRC), but also for one or more group CRCs. See paragraph 0602-0604.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the monitoring of DCIs for specific identities of D3 in the system of D1 and D2. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to comply with well-known standards for monitoring for device specific messaging.
Regarding claim 4, D1 does not disclose wherein the first RNTI of the first DCI format is different than a second RNTI of a second DCI format used by the base station corresponding to a second one of the first portion and the second portion.
D3 teaches it is well-known in the art that UEs may monitor one or more group-scheduled messages in addition to the dedicated messages. This is done by configuring the UE to not only monitor DCIs for a UE-specific CRC (typically the UE temporary identity is used to mask the CRC), but also for one or more group CRCs (different UE’s comprise different temporary identifiers which are used by base stations). See paragraph 0602-0604.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the monitoring of DCIs for specific identities of D3 in the system of D1 and D2. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to comply with well-known standards for monitoring for device specific messaging.
Regarding claim 6, D1 does not disclose wherein the DCI is received in a first search space set that identifies the first one of the first portion and the second portion.
D2 the CSI-RS configuration information may be included in a single configuration message (e.g., higher layer signaling, such as RRC signaling, control signaling such as DCI, or the like).. See paragraphs 0073-0075 and 0088-0089.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the SSB/CSI-RS configuration for beam sweeping as taught by D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to decrease signaling overhead and improve data throughput.
Regarding claim 7, the primary reference further teaches performing PDCCH monitoring for the DCI according to a control resource set (CORESET) configuration that includes: a number of consecutive symbols for a CORESET; a set of resource blocks (RBs) for the CORESET; control channel element (CCE) to resource element group (REG) mapping parameters for the CORESET; and an antenna port quasi co-location (QCL) parameter for the CORESET (Referring to Figures 1, 6, and 7, The BS 105 may additionally configure the UE 115 with one or more CORESETs in a BWP. A CORESET may include a set of frequency resources spanning a number of symbols in time (consecutive). The BS 105 may configure the UE 115 with one or more search spaces for PDCCH monitoring based on the CORESETS. The UE 115 may perform blind decoding in the search spaces to search for DL control information (e.g., UL and/or DL scheduling grants) from the BS. In an example, the BS 105 may configure the UE 115 with the BWPs, the CORESETS, and/or the PDCCH search spaces via RRC configurations. See paragraphs 0051-0053. After decoding the MIB, the UE 115 may receive RMSI and/or OSI. The RMSI and/or OSI may include radio resource control (RRC) information related to random access channel (RACH) procedures, paging, control resource set (CORESET) for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring, physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), power control, and SRS. See paragraph 0047. The gNB 204 makes the determination for sweeping configuration based on any combination of received information on the capabilities or category of the repeater received at initial connection setup 602, such as, but not limited to codebook information (including number of beams, quasi co-location (QCL) info, number of spatial layers, beam widths, etc.). See paragraph 0088. The BSs 105 can assign or schedule transmission resources (e.g., in the form of time-frequency resource blocks (RB)) for downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) transmissions in the network 100. See paragraph 0043. In addition, it is well-known in the art that an aggregation level for a control channel candidate may refer to a number of control channel resources (e.g., control channel elements (CCEs)) associated with encoded information. See D2 at paragraph 0040.)
Regarding claim 12, the primary reference further teaches performing PDCCH monitoring for the DCI according to a search space set configuration that includes: a PDCCH monitoring periodicity; a PDCCH monitoring offset; and a number of PDCCH candidates per control channel element (CCE) aggregation level (AL) (Referring to Figures 1, 6, and 7, The BS 105 may configure the UE 115 with one or more search spaces for PDCCH monitoring based on the CORESETS. The UE 115 may perform blind decoding in the search spaces to search for DL control information (e.g., UL and/or DL scheduling grants) from the BS. In an example, the BS 105 may configure the UE 115 with the BWPs, the CORESETS, and/or the PDCCH search spaces (comprising a periodicity, an offset of null, a number of PDCC candidates per CCE AL of null) via RRC configurations. See paragraph 0052.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8-11, and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MCMENAMY et al. (US 2024/0187085 A1) - An apparatus configured for communicating in a wireless communication network is configured for obtaining, based on a reception of a signal, information about an on/off mode and/or obtaining, based on a reception of a signal, information about a communication mode. The apparatus is configured for operating according to the obtained information to amplify and forward a received signal to repeat the received signal.
SAKHNINI et al. (US 2023/0106224 A1) - Transmitting signaling indicating a synchronization signal block (SSB) pattern that identifies SSB slots for sweeping a set of SSB beams over one or more SSB bursts with configurable gaps between at least some of the SSB slots, and transmitting SSBs in accordance with the pattern.
Matsumura et al. (US 2022/0038194 A1) - A receiving section that receives at least one signal of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); and a control section that measures interference by using the signal in a first resource specified in a specification.
DONALD L. MILLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/Donald L Mills/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462