DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 1 and 4-7 are of poor, pixelated quality, possibly due to a low-quality transmission. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 11 (and all claims that depend therefrom) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 11 recite that “the cooling loop is at least partially surrounding a transmission housing.” The previous interpretation was that most of the lower section 130 was considered the transmission housing, which the applicant has traversed, stating that Dudley’s cooling loop stops short of reaching the transmission housing. However, Dudley appears to teach the same relationship between the cooling loop and transmission housing as the current invention, as shown below:
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Heat Exchanger)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cooling Loop)][AltContent: textbox (Transmission Housing)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
Figure 1- Current Application Figure 1(c) and Dudley Figure 1 (annotated)
As seen in current application figure 1, the cooling loop 170 extends as far down as heat exchanger 180, stopping above transmission 166. Nothing in the disclosure indicates that the cooling loop surrounds the actual transmission. Therefore when the applicant argues that “Critically, Dudney's heat exchanger is merely mounted on the underwater drive housing between the cavitation plate and the gear box 36, above or adjacent to the gear box, not surrounding it” (page 8) it is unclear how this differs from the current invention. Put another way, if the entire lower section 130 cannot be interpreted as the transmission housing, then the current invention does not meet the claim as written. For the purposes of this action, the transmission housing will continue to be interpreted as the lower portion of the outboard motor.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, line 2 recites “a transmission housing.” It is unclear if this is the same “a transmission housing” recited in line 8 of parent claim 1.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In this case, claim 11 does not recite any features that are not already recited in parent claim 1 (if they do in fact reference the same transmission housing). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11, 12, 14, 16, 45 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudney US 5,009,622 in view of Jesewitz US 11,932,367.
Regarding claim 1, Dudney teaches an outboard 10 for a watercraft, the outboard having a body comprising:
a motor housing portion (top of 10) for housing a motor; and
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2- Dudney Figure 1)]
a closed cooling loop 12, 14, 16, 20, 22, for cooling fluid, configured to cool the motor when housed in the motor housing portion,
wherein the cooling loop is configured such that a portion thereof 20 is submerged in water when the outboard is in use, and wherein the cooling loop is at least partially surrounding a transmission housing within the outboard.
In this case, the entire lower portion of the outboard is interpreted as the transmission housing. In an alternate interpretation, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the heat exchanger/cooling loop at the very bottom end of the housing in order to maximize the cooling effect, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Dudney does not teach that the motor is an axial flux electrical machine with a controller. Jesewitz teaches an outboard 100 for a watercraft, the outboard having a body comprising:
a motor housing portion 905 for housing an electric motor axial flux electrical machine 301 and a controller 530; and
a cooling loop 700, 720, for cooling fluid, configured to cool the axial flux electrical machine and the controller when housed in the motor housing portion,
wherein the cooling loop is configured such that a portion 902 thereof is submerged in water when the outboard is in use.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the outboard of Dudney with an electric motor axial flux electrical machine (and a controller) as taught by Jesewitz in order to utilize a cleaner energy source that requires less maintenance than an internal combustion engine.
Figure 3- Jesewitz Figure 7
Regarding claim 2, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Dudney also teaches that at least a portion of the cooling loop 12, 14, 16, 20, 22 is situated adjacent an outer surface of the outboard, said outer surface being submerged in water when the outboard is in use.
Regarding claim 3, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Dudney also teaches that the cooling loop 16, 22 extends through a mid-section of the outboard, the cooling loop in the mid-section having a cool side 22 and a hot side 16, wherein the hot side is situated adjacent to a front surface of the mid-section when the outboard is in use (column 2, lines 23-29).
Regarding claim 4, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 3. Jesewitz also teaches that the cooling loop 700 is configured such that when the controller 530 and axial flux electrical machine 301 are housed within the motor housing portion the cool side of the cooling loop is configured to cool the controller and the axial flux electrical machine. As stated above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the outboard or Dudney with an electric motor axial flux electrical machine (and a controller) as taught by Jesewitz in order to utilize a cleaner energy source that requires less maintenance than an internal combustion engine. Jesewitz does not teach that the cooling loop is configured to cool the controller before cooling the axial flux electrical machine, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to place the controller before the axial flux electrical machine on the cooling loop in order to obtain the desired cooling according to specific cooling priorities, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 5, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Dudney also teaches that the cooling loop comprises a heat exchanger 20.
Regarding claim 6, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 5. Dudney also teaches that the heat exchanger 20 is provided in a portion of the outboard body which is configured to be submerged in water when the outboard is in use.
Regarding claim 7, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 5. Dudney also teaches that the heat exchanger 20 is positioned adjacent to a front surface of the body of the outboard 10 when in use.
Regarding claim 8, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 5. Dudney also teaches that the heat exchanger 20 comprises a larger effective cross-sectional area than the cooling loop portions 12, 14 which put the motor housing portion in fluid communication with the heat exchanger. If applicant disagrees, then it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the heat exchanger and cooling loop of whatever relative sizes were desired in order to obtain the desired cooling effect, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the proportions of components. A change in proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Reese, 129 USPQ 402.
Regarding claim 11, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Dudney also teaches a transmission housing 36, wherein the cooling loop 16, 20, 22 at least partially surrounds the transmission housing. In this case, the entire lower portion of the outboard is interpreted as the transmission housing. In an alternate interpretation, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the heat exchanger/cooling loop at the very bottom end of the housing in order to maximize the cooling effect, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 12, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Dudney also teaches that the cooling loop 12, 14, 16, 20, 22 comprises a coolant pump 18 configured to pump cooling fluid around the cooling loop.
Regarding claim 14, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Dudney also teaches that the cooling loop 12, 14, 16, 20, 22 comprises an expansion vessel 26 for controlling coolant pressure and/or coolant fill-level.
Regarding claim 16, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Dudney also teaches that the motor housing portion (top of 10) comprises a stator housing for the axial flux receiving a stator of the axial flux electrical machine. Please note that as modified by Jesewitz, the motor housing will comprise a stator housing.
Regarding claim 45, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Dudney also teaches an outboard assembly comprising:
an outboard 10;
a motor housed within the motor housing portion (top of 10);
a propeller (column 2, lines 28-30) coupled to a lower section of the outboard; and
a drive coupling extending between the motor and the propeller (as the power is transmitted).
Jesewitz also teaches an outboard assembly comprising:
an outboard 100;
an axial flux electrical machine 301 housed within the motor housing portion;
a propeller 450 coupled to a lower section of the outboard; and
a drive coupling 410, 480 extending between the axial flux electrical machine and the propeller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the outboard of Dudney with an electric motor axial flux electrical machine (and controller, coupling, prop, etc.) as taught by Jesewitz in order to utilize a cleaner energy source that requires less maintenance than an internal combustion engine.
Regarding claim 55, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Dudney and Jesewitz also teach a watercraft comprising the outboard assembly of claim 1.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudney US 5,009,622 in view of Jesewitz US 11,932,367 and Li US 10,760,470.
Regarding claim 13 as best understood, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 12. Dudney also teaches a coolant pump 18, but does not teach that the coolant pump is configured to be driven by an axial flux electrical machine housed within the motor housing portion. Li teaches an outboard with a motor 101 and a pump 4 driven cooling circuit, wherein the pump is driven by the motor (column 4, lines 10-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the outboard of Dudney by having the motor (which as modified is an axial flux electrical machine housed within the motor housing portion) drive the pump as taught by Li in order to simplify the device and eliminate the need for a second driver.
Claims 46-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudney US 5,009,622 in view of Jesewitz US 11,932,367 and Snyder US 4,080,099.
Regarding claim 46, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 45. Dudney does not teach that the propeller comprises a plurality of blades, wherein at least one of the plurality of blades comprises a cutting portion for cutting fouling. Snyder teaches a propeller 10 comprising a plurality of blades 20, wherein at least one of the plurality of blades comprises a cutting portion 25 for cutting fouling. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the outboard of Dudney with a propeller having blades as taught by Snyder in order to reduce the likelihood of propeller fouling.
Regarding claim 47 as best understood, Dudney, Jesewitz and Snyder teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 46. Snyder also teaches that each of the plurality of blades 20 comprise a cutting portion 25. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the outboard of Dudney with a propeller having blades as taught by Snyder in order to reduce the likelihood of propeller fouling.
Regarding claim 48 as best understood, Dudney, Jesewitz and Snyder teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 46. Snyder also teaches that the cutting portion 25 comprises a sharper edge 30 than other edges of the at least one blade.
Regarding claim 49 as best understood, Dudney, Jesewitz and Snyder teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 46. Neither Dudney nor Snyder explicitly teach that the cutting portion is made from a more durable material than other portions of the blade, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the cutting portion from a durable material in order to keep the blade sharper longer while minimizing cost for the main body of the propeller, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudney US 5,009,622 in view of Jesewitz US 11,932,367 and Davis US 5,277,632.
Regarding claim 51, Dudney and Jesewitz teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 45. Dudney also teaches a skeg extending beneath the lower section of the outboard (see Dudney figure 1), but does not teach that the skeg is made from a less durable material than the lower section. Davis teaches an outboard 24 which comprises a skeg 52 extending beneath the lower section of the outboard, wherein the skeg is made from a less durable material than the lower section (column 3, lines 58-59). In an alternate interpretation, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the skeg from a less durable material in order ensure that it breaks away cleanly without other damage to the outboard, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Dudley’s cooling loop does not at least partially surround the transmission housing, please see the 112(a) issues above. From top to bottom, both Dudley and the current invention comprise a motor housing, a cooling loop ending in a heat exchanger, a space, and then the transmission. As detailed above, if Dudney's heat exchanger 20 is merely mounted on the underwater drive housing between the cavitation plate and the gear box 36, above or adjacent to the gear box, not surrounding it, then so is the heat exchanger of the current invention.
In an alternative interpretation, it was also explained that it would be a simple rearrangement of parts to locate the heat exchanger/cooling loop at the very bottom end of the housing in order to maximize the cooling effect. The applicant disagrees on the basis that “Dudney expressly claims that ‘the cooling system [be] free of operative contact with said gear box.’ (Dudney, cl. 1)” (page 8). The examiner disagrees for two reasons.
First, Dudney refers to “the cooling system being free of operative contact with said gear box external to the motor housing whereby the cooling system primarily cools the motor” (claim 1, emphasis added). Operative contact would require a connection for the exchange of fluids and/or heat. The heat exchanger can be physically near or contacting the transmission housing without being in operative contact- the same way a person can be inside a house, surrounded by electric and water lines without being operatively connected with either.
Second, the rearrangement of parts could lead to the heat exchanger being below the transmission, meaning the transmission housing would be surrounded by portions of the cooling loop above and below.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the applicant argues that Jesewitz does not teach the single closed cooling loop required by claim 1. The examiner responds that primary reference Dudney teaches a single closed cooling loop, and (regarding this feature) Jesewitz is only relied upon for the teaching that the same cooling loop 720 can cool the axial flux electrical machine 301 and the controller 530. Where applicant argues that Jesewitz also teaches a separate cooling loop 740, the examiner responds that this is a separate feature, and not the portion of Jesewitz that was relied upon.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC BURGESS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615