DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leahy (US 4,828,502) in view of Cheris et al. (US 7,980,857).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-8, Leahy discloses a wall-mounted display surface, comprising a base structure with a writing surface configured to be wall-mounted, and a frame structure that operates as a closable lid, which conceals the writing surface when closed. See col. 1: 46-52. Note the lid fully closes as per claim 8. Leahy discloses wherein the closable frame member is comprised itself of frame members molded together. See col. 2: 2-6. Leahy discloses a hinge mechanism for opening and closing the lid frame structure. See col. 1: 57-61. Leahy discusses the hinges as being a mechanical line hinge assembly (claims 6-7) partially recessed in a groove in col. 3: 64-68 (the hinge would apparently rest in the recessed channel), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the hinge is hidden from view when the frame structure is closed upon the base (rather it is a continuous line-hinge, camouflaged but visible). However, recessing hinges (fully, as per claim 5) for total concealment is well-established, as is disclosed by the display system of Cheris in fig. 7. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider this with the Leahy system, in order to provide an established aesthetic appearance (i.e. hidden hinges).
Regarding claim 4, Leahy discloses wherein the open and closed positions require different angular orientations between the base and the lid frame structure. See col. 1: 57-61.
Claims 2-3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leahy (US 4,828,502) in view of Cheris et al. (US 7,980,857) and Cheris et al. (US 2008/0248456).
Regarding claims 2-3, Leahy does not disclose grooves for receiving the displays, and wherein the display is visible when the lid is closed (i.e. on the back side of the lid member, similar to the picture display of Leahy). Neverthess this configuration is established. Consider the two-sided writing board of Cheris, which is contained in a groove and can be flipped, as described in paragraphs 0068 and 0076. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider this with the Leahy system, so as to provide various display options (i.e. other than a picture when closed, e.g. a second writing surface).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY A MUSSELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715