DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a re-radiation device that receives the output signal” in claim 1. In particular, the claim limitation “a re-radiation device” is a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language “receives the output signal” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder “a re-radiation device” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
“a temperature monitor that detects a surface temperature” in claim 6. In particular, the claim limitation “a temperature monitor” is a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language “detects a surface temperature” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder “a temperature monitor” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
The limitations of “a carrier signal generator” and “a modulation signal generator” in claim 1 are both not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, even though the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language as both “a carrier signal generator” and “a modulation signal generator” are understood to be made products.
In this case, in para 0041, the specification states: the re-radiation device 6 includes an antenna 21, therefore, the re-radiation device encompasses an antenna or any other structures in the disclosure which positively perform the function, and functional equivalents thereof.
In this case, in para 0050, the specification states: the temperature monitor 20 includes an infrared sensor, therefore, the temperature monitor encompasses an infrared sensor or any other structures in the disclosure which positively perform the function, and functional equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okajima (US9510396B2) in view of Durnan (US11419190B2), referred to as Durnan '190.
Fig. 3 of Okajima
Regarding claim 1, Okajima teaches a microwave treatment device comprising:
a heating chamber (101) that accommodates an object to be heated (Col. 9 lines 35-40 an object to be heated housed in the heating chamber 101);
a carrier signal generator (120) that generates a carrier signal in a microwave band (Col. 9 lines 55-65 high-frequency power generating part 120 a frequency control signal Cfreq of a reference frequency for generating a plurality of subcarrier waves used for heating in the high-frequency power unit 130; Col. 3 lines 15-20 microwave);
a modulation signal generator (150) that generates a modulation signal in an HF or UHF band (Col. 10 lines 45-55 the quadrature modulation signal Mod(Q) input from the modulation signal generating part 150 and outputs the subcarrier wave to the high-frequency power amplification part 132);
a modulator (130) to which the carrier signal and the modulation signal are input (Fig. 3), the modulator (130) amplitude-modulating the carrier signal (Col. 10 lines 45-55 subcarrier wave generated by the high-frequency power unit 130) using the modulation signal (Col. 16 lines 55-67 quadrature modulation part 131 modulating the high-frequency power generated by the high-frequency power generating part 120 with an input modulation signal; where quadrature modulation is understood to be a form of amplitude modulating);
a first antenna (140) that radiates an output signal output from the modulator (130) into the heating chamber (101); but is silent on a re-radiation device that receives the output signal, extracts a frequency component of the modulation signal from the received output signal, and re-radiates the modulation signal into the heating chamber.
Durnan '190 teaches a re-radiation device (Col. 6 lines 5-10 re-radiators 276 e.g., re-radiators 176, 376-1, 376-2, 576-1, 576-2, 676-1, 676-2, 676-3, 676-4, FIGS. 1, 3, 5A-5C, 6A, 6B) that receives the output signal (voltage-type of re-radiator 276-1 may be positioned in a region of high electric field),
extracts a frequency component of the modulation signal from the received output signal (Col. 10 lines 1-10 energy received by the first re-radiator 276-1, where receiving the signal would also include receiving a frequency of the signal), and re-radiates the modulation signal into the heating chamber (Col. 10 lines 1-10 energy received by the first re-radiator 276-1 may be fed through a transmission path to a second, voltage-type of re-radiator 276-2 that is positioned in an area of low electric field. The second re-radiator 276-2 may then radiate the received energy into the area of low electric field).
Okajima and Durnan ‘190 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of microwaves. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Okajima to incorporate the teachings of Durnan ‘190 to have a re-radiation device to receive a signal and extract frequency then re-radiates the signal in order to be able to redistribute the electric field within the heating cavity for more even heating in of the object being heated (Durnan ‘190 Col. 10 lines 50-67).
Regarding claim 2, Okajima and Durnan ‘190 teach the microwave treatment device according to claim 1, and Okajima teaches further comprising: a solid-state power amplifier (132) that power-amplifies the output signal (Col. 10 lines 45-55 subcarrier wave generated by the high-frequency power unit 130); and control circuitry (110) that controls the amplitude modulation of the modulator (131, Col. 16 lines 35-45).
Regarding claim 5, Okajima and Durnan ‘190 teach the microwave treatment device according to claim 1, and Okajima teaches the carrier signal has a frequency of 2450 MHz or 5800 MHZ (Col. 15 lines 60-67 the reference frequency is preferably determined as 2450 MHz).
Okajima and Durnan ‘190 do not teach the modulation signal has a frequency of 13.56 MHz or 860 to 960 MHz. However, applicant has not stated that having the frequency within the range above provides any unexpected or synergetic results. Okajima teaches the frequencies of the signals must be optimized in order to achieve the desired rate of power absorption in the object being heated (Col. 15 lines 50-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the combination as taught by Okajima and Durnan ‘190 to have the frequency of the modulation signal be in the range above, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okajima (US9510396B2) in view of Durnan (US11419190B2), referred to as Durnan '190, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okuma (JP2006017407A) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 3, Okajima and Durnan ‘190 teach the microwave treatment device according to claim 1, but Okajima is silent on wherein the re-radiation device includes: a second antenna that receives the output signal; a rectifier that rectifies the output signal received by the second antenna; a smoothing circuit that smooths a signal output from the rectifier and extracts a DC component; and a third antenna that re-radiates a signal output from the smoothing circuit into the heating chamber.
Durnan ‘190 teaches a second antenna (276-1) that receives the output signal (Col. 10 lines 1-10); and a third antenna (276-2) that re-radiates a signal output (Col. 10 lines 1-10) into the heating chamber (240).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Okajima to incorporate the teachings of Durnan ‘190 to have a second and third antenna in order to be able to redistribute the electric field within the heating cavity for more even heating in of the object being heated (Durnan ‘190 Col. 10 lines 50-67).
Okajima and Durnan ‘190 is silent on a rectifier that rectifies the output signal received by the second antenna; a smoothing circuit that smooths a signal output from the rectifier and extracts a DC component.
Okuma teaches a rectifier (25) that rectifies the output signal received by the second antenna (20); a smoothing circuit (26) that smooths a signal output from the rectifier (25) and extracts a DC component ([0049] output filter 26 removes harmonics generated when the microwave is rectified by the diode 25, and outputs DC power; wherein removing harmonics is understood to be a smoothing operation).
Okajima, Durnan ‘190, and Okuma are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of microwaves. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Okajima and Durnan ‘190 to incorporate the teachings of Okuma to have a rectifier and a smoothing circuit in order to produce a DC power from the microwave wave received for exporting power (Okuma [0046-0049]).
Regarding claim 9, Okajima and Durnan ‘190 teach the microwave treatment device according to claim 2, but Okajima is silent on wherein the re-radiation device includes: a second antenna that receives the output signal; a rectifier that rectifies the output signal received by the second antenna; a smoothing circuit that smooths a signal output from the rectifier and extracts a DC component; and a third antenna that re-radiates a signal output from the smoothing circuit into the heating chamber.
Durnan ‘190 teaches a second antenna (276-1) that receives the output signal (Col. 10 lines 1-10); and a third antenna (276-2) that re-radiates a signal output (Col. 10 lines 1-10) into the heating chamber (240).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Okajima to incorporate the teachings of Durnan ‘190 to have a second and third antenna in order to be able to redistribute the electric field within the heating cavity for more even heating in of the object being heated (Durnan ‘190 Col. 10 lines 50-67).
Okajima and Durnan ‘190 is silent on a rectifier that rectifies the output signal received by the second antenna; a smoothing circuit that smooths a signal output from the rectifier and extracts a DC component.
Okuma teaches a rectifier (25) that rectifies the output signal received by the second antenna (20); a smoothing circuit (26) that smooths a signal output from the rectifier (25) and extracts a DC component ([0049] output filter 26 removes harmonics generated when the microwave is rectified by the diode 25, and outputs DC power; wherein removing harmonics is understood to be a smoothing operation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Okajima and Durnan ‘190 to incorporate the teachings of Okuma to have a rectifier and a smoothing circuit in order to produce a DC power from the microwave wave received for exporting power (Okuma [0046-0049]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okajima (US9510396B2) in view of Durnan (US11419190B2), referred to as Durnan '190 and Okuma (JP2006017407A) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Yasui (US20100224623A1).
Regarding claim 4, Okajima, Durnan ‘190, and Okuma teach the microwave treatment device according to claim 3, but Okajima and Durnan ‘190 are silent on wherein the re-radiation device includes: a low-pass filter that extracts a frequency component from the signal output from the rectifier; and an amplifier that uses the DC component as power supply power and amplifies the frequency component.
Okuma teaches a low-pass filter (24, low pass) that extracts a frequency component from the signal output ([0047] low-pass filter)from the rectifier (25).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Okajima and Durnan ‘190 to incorporate the teachings of Okuma to have a low pass filter in order to produce a DC power from the microwave wave received for exporting power (Okuma [0046-0049]).
Okajima, Durnan ‘190, and Okuma are silent on an amplifier that uses the DC component as power supply power and amplifies the frequency component.
Yasui teaches an amplifier (5a-5d) that uses the DC component as power supply power and amplifies the frequency component ([0084-0085]).
Okajima, Durnan ‘190, Okuma, and Yasui are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of microwave. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Okajima, Durnan ‘190, and Okuma to incorporate the teachings of Yasui to have an amplifier so that the power being distributed to the oven is the desired power for the heated object (Yasui [0087]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okajima (US9510396B2) in view of Durnan (US11419190B2), referred to as Durnan '190, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bilchinsky (US-20110033584).
Regarding claim 6, Okajima and Durnan ‘190 teach the microwave treatment device according to claim 1, but are silent on further comprising a temperature monitor that detects a surface temperature of the object to be heated.
Bilchinsky teaches a temperature monitor that detects a surface temperature of the object to be heated ([0105] infrared temperature sensor).
Okajima, Durnan ‘190, and Bilchinsky are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of microwaves. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Okajima and Durnan ‘190 to incorporate the teachings of Bilchinsky to have a temperature monitor in order to measure the temperature of the heated object (Bilchinsky [0105]).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okajima (US9510396B2) in view of Durnan (US11419190B2), referred to as Durnan '190, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Durnan (US20230180797A1), referred to as Durnan '797.
Regarding claim 7, Okajima and Durnan ‘190 teach the microwave treatment device according to claim 2, but are silent on wherein a semiconductor element configuring the solid-state power amplifier is formed by a wide bandgap semiconductor.
Durnan ‘797 teaches wherein a semiconductor element (103) configuring the solid-state power amplifier is formed by a wide bandgap semiconductor ([0011] wide-bandgap semiconductors such as gallium nitride (GaN), silicon carbide (SiC), and boron nitride (BN)).
Okajima, Durnan ‘190, and Durnan ‘797 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of microwave. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Okajima and Durnan ‘190 to incorporate the teachings of Durnan ‘797 to have a semiconductor that is a wide band gap semiconductor so that the microwave may operate at higher voltage and temperature (Durnan ‘797 [0011]).
Regarding claim 8, Okajima, Durnan ‘190, and Durnan ‘797 teach the microwave treatment device according to claim 7, but Okajima and Durnan ‘190 are silent on wherein the wide bandgap semiconductor is a silicon carbide or gallium nitride-based material or diamond.
Durnan ‘797 teaches wherein the wide bandgap semiconductor is a silicon carbide or gallium nitride-based material or diamond ([0011] wide-bandgap semiconductors such as gallium nitride (GaN), silicon carbide (SiC), and boron nitride (BN)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Okajima and Durnan ‘190 to incorporate the teachings of Durnan ‘797 to have a semiconductor that is of a silicon carbide or gallium nitride-based material or diamond in order to operate at higher voltage and temperature than standard silicon devices (Durnan ‘797 [0011]).
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/16/2026