DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 3 September 2026 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Status of the Claims
Claims 14 and 17-18 have been canceled.
Claims 4-11 have been withdrawn.
Claim 12 has been amended to change from being claim dependent on independent claim 1, to another independent claim independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the claimed method of claim 12 requires different steps from that of independent claim 1.
Since Applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 12-13 and 15-16 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claims 1-3 are presented for examination on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trzyna et al. (2021) in view of Bunnell et al. (2008) and Roxburgh et al. (2016) and Estes et al. (2010) [cited by Applicant in IDS filed 2/3/26] in view of Wahyungingsih et al. (2020).
Trzyna et al. discloses a method of obtaining an improved adipose-derived stem cell conditioned medium (ASC-CM) (ASC-conditioned medium, page 6 second paragraph) or secretome with a profile of secreted factors capable of use in the treatment of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and other neurodegenerative disorders and in different embodiments, Tryzna discloses isolating (ASCs isolated from WAT, page 10 third paragraph), growing and stimulating adipose-derived stem cell in a growth media containing one or more growth factors (ASCs stimulation with FGF-2 or epidermal growth factor (EGF), page 5 third paragraph). The previous disclosure of Tryzna includes isolating (ASCs isolated from WAT, page 10 third paragraph), growing and stimulating adipose-derived stem cell in a growth media containing one or more growth factors (ASCs stimulation with FGF-2 or epidermal growth factor (EGF), page 5 third paragraph), and provides the benefit of increasing the secretion of desirable factors including HGF (Tryzna reference; page 5 third paragraph). Trzyna further discloses wherein the growth factors are selected from one or more of: HGF, PDGF-AA, EGF (ASCs stimulation with FGF-2 or epidermal growth factor (EGF), page 5 third paragraph), HB-EGF, GDNF, NT-4, bFGF, VEGF-A, TGF-B3, SCF, TGF-B2, VEGF-D, IGF-IR, M-CSF, IGF-2, NT-3, PDGF-AB, IGF-1, PLGF, bNGF, PDGF-BB, TGF-a, and GCSF.
Trzyna further discloses wherein the growth media containing one or more cytokines selected from: Pentraxin-3, PAI-1, Thromnospondin-1, MCP-1, IL-8 (adipose-derived stem cells secrete other cytokines with a well-defined pro-inflammatory properties such as IL-7, IL-8, page 5 second paragraph), GROa/CXCLI, Dkk-1, Chitinase-3-like-l, MCP-3, IGFBP-3, HGF (HGF production is increase, page 5 third paragraph), ENA-78/CXCL5, uPAR, Osteopontin, Emmprin/CD147, MMP-9, MIC-I/GDF-15, VEGF, TFF3, IL-6 SDF-la, Endoglin/CD105, Adiponectin, IL-17A, SHGB, IFN-gamma, Andiopoietin-2, Angiogenin, GM-CSF, IL-la, Lipcalin-2, Vitamin D-BP, Kallikrein-3, CD40L, FGF-19 and CD30.
Trzyna discloses the method for obtaining an improved adipose-derived stem cell conditioned medium (ASC-CM) (ASC-conditioned medium, page 6 second paragraph) of claim 1, comprising: i) isolating subcutaneous adipose tissue samples were obtained from a patient, wherein the tissue sample is obtained from lipo-aspiration or liposuction (advantage of MSCs isolated from AT is that they can be easily obtained by liposuction from autologous subcutaneous adipose tissue, page 2 first paragraph).
Trzyna discloses wherein the adlpose-derived stem cell conditioned medium (ASC-CM) comprises one or more growth factors (ASCs are better in the bioactive factors secretion such as nerve growth factor (NGF), hepatocyte growth factor (HGF), page 4 second paragraph).
Trzyna also discloses EGF cells such as (EGF, FGF-2, and TGF alpha are essential wound healing factors, enhancing these processes and cell migration, page 5 third paragraph).
Bunnell discloses: digesting the adipose tissue samples in filtered collagenase (collagenase digests of adipose tissue, page 2 third paragraph) type I (Collagenase Type I, page 3 second paragraph); separating the adipose-derived stem cells from the adipose tissue adipocytes via centrifugation to obtain a first pellet containing the
adipose-derived stem cells (ASCs, is obtained by centrifuging the sample this step completes the separation of the stromal cells from the primary adipocytes, page 3 second paragraph), treating the adipose-derived stem cell pellet with a red blood cell lysis buffer (The pellet is then resuspended in 1 ml lysis buffer, page 3 second paragraph) and further centrifuging to obtain a second adipose-derived stem cell
pellet (centrifuged at 2000 rpm for. 5 min. The supernatant is aspirated, the cell pellet, page 3 second paragraph); and, resuspending the second adipose-derived stem cell pellet in a growth medium (cell pellet is resuspended in a maximum of 3 ml of stromal medium, page 3 second paragraph) to stimulate the adipose-derived stem cells (Scheme for processing of adipose tissue and isolation of adipose-derived
stem cells, figure 1).
Roxburgh discloses wherein the adipose-derived stem cells are stimulated with a growth media comprising DMEM/F12 (DMEM:F12, table 1) produce the adipose-derived stem cell conditioned medium (ASC-CM) (isolation and proliferation of Adipose-derived stem cells, page 966 first column third paragraph) or secretome. Roxburgh does not disclose 5% FBS; EGF (5ng/ml); hFGF-B (10 ng/ml); ascorbic acid (250 uM).
Estes discloses a solution of FBS and DMEM/F12 (80% (v/v) FBS, 10% (v/v) DMEM/F.12, and 10% (v/v) DMSO, page 11 first paragraph).
Wahyungingsih et al. disclose that supplementing DMEM with ascorbic acid increased the cell division and suppressed the aging processes indicated by normal spread cell in size compared to cell cultured in DMEM and FBS without ascorbic acid supplementation.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the Application to have prepared ASC-CM for treatment of ALS by growing the cells in growth medium containing DMEM-F12, FBS, EGF, FGF and ascorbic acid as all are known in the prior art as appropriate components of growth media for ASC-CM, which are thought to be effective in treatment of ALS.
Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical.
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40oC and 80oC and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100oC and an acid concentration of 10%); See also, Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ 2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references where held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ 2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ 2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ 2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
In KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court emphasized a flexible approach to the obviousness question, stating that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. § 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418; see also id. at 421 ("A person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
Applicant’s invention appears predicated on an unexpected result (i.e., “improved” ASC-CM), - an unpredictable phenomenon, highly dependent upon specific conditions and/or amounts of particular ingredients. With respect to such unexpected results, please note that in KSR, the Court also reaffirmed that evidence of unexpected results may overcome an examiner's prima facie case of obviousness. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416 ("The fact that the elements worked together in an unexpected and fruitful manner supported the conclusion that Adams' design was not obvious to those skilled in the art" - discussing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39). However, "any superior property must be unexpected to be considered as evidence of non-obviousness." Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 1371 (Fed. Cir. 2007). Thus, "[m]ere improvement in properties does not always suffice to show unexpected results ....[W]hen an applicant demonstrates substantially improved results.., and states that the results were unexpected, this should suffice to establish unexpected results in the absence of evidence to the contrary." In re Soni, 54 F.3d 746, 751 (Fed. Cir. 1995). Moreover, in order to establish unexpected results for claimed invention, objective evidence of non-obviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support. In re Greenfield, 571 F.2d 1185, 1189 (CCPA 1978). Please also note that "the discovery of an optimum value of a variable in a known process is usually obvious." Pfizer v. Apotex, 480 F.3d at 1368. The rationale for determining the optimal parameters for prior art result effective variables "flows from the 'normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known.'" Id. (quoting In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003)).
Thus, the claimed method is deemed merely a optimized version of growth medium commonly-employed to grow ASC-CM, which would have been well within the purview of the skilled practitioner as routine experimentation to alter the components of a growth media to maximize its efficacy in producing ASC-CM for ALS treatment.
Accordingly, the instant claims, in the range of growth condition where no unexpected results are observed (e.g., “improved” efficacy of ASC-CM produced with a specific growth medium, that is – evidence of the criticality of the recited component amounts in the growth medium), would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill having the above cited references before him/her.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments/arguments, with respect to the 35 USC 112 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112 rejection of the previous Office action has been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments/arguments filed with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s amended claims removing the descriptor “improved” are directed to a method comprising isolating, growing and stimulating adipose-derived stem cells in a growth media, wherein the growth media comprises DMEM/F12; 5% FBS; EGF (5ng/ml); hFGF-B (10 ng/ml); and ascorbic acid (250 uM).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant asserts that the rejection relies on the principle that "discovery of an optimum value of a variable in a known process is usually obvious" and on In re Aller's teaching that optimizing a disclosed range of conditions is not inventive. However, this line of authority presupposes that the "general conditions of [the] claim" (i.e., the same components in roughly the same combination) are already disclosed in the prior art, such that a skilled artisan need only vary a recognized, result- effective variable within a known range. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Here, by contrast, no single reference, nor the
combination as a whole, discloses the recited five-component growth medium (DMEM/F12 + 5% FBS + EGF 5 ng/ml + hFGF-B 10 ng/ml + ascorbic acid 250 uM) as a "known process," nor does any reference identify ascorbic acid concentration, in combination with EGF and hFGF-B in an ASC growth medium, as a "result-effective variable" with a disclosed workable range from which the claimed concentration could be considered an "optimization."
This is unpersuasive, since each of the recited components is known to be used in stem cell growth media. In KSR, the Supreme Court indicated that the obviousness analysis should consider the “background knowledge possessed by a person having ordinary skill in the art.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Under KSR, information deemed within PHOSITA’s general knowledge is more powerful than that found buried in a prior art reference because we assume that PHOSITA would consider using their general knowledge in combination with the prior art — even absent any express motivation to do so. Under 35 U.S.C. § 103, the obviousness inquiry turns not only on the prior art, but whether “the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious . . . to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.” 35 U.S.C. § 103. Regardless of the tribunal, the inquiry into whether any “differences” between the invention and the prior art would have rendered the invention obvious to a skilled artisan necessarily depends on such artisan’s knowledge.
Furthermore, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 ("The same constricted analysis led the Court of Appeals to conclude, in error, that a patent claim cannot be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was ‘[o]bvious to try.’ ... When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under §103."). Thus, after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process. See e.g., MPEP 2144.05.II.B.
Applicants can rebut obviousness by showing the criticality of the viables in the claimed method. "The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims. . . . In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range." In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also Minerals Separation, Ltd. v. Hyde, 242 U.S. 261, 271 (1916) (a patent based on a change in the proportions of a prior product or process (changing from 4-10% oil to 1% oil) must be confined to the proportions that were shown to be critical (1%)); In re Scherl, 156 F.2d 72, 74-75, 70 USPQ 204, 205 (CCPA 1946) ("Where the issue of criticality is involved, the applicant has the burden of establishing his position by a proper showing of the facts upon which he relies."); In re Becket, 88 F.2d 684 (CCPA 1937) ("Where the component elements of alloys are the same, and where they approach so closely the same range of quantities as is here the case, it seems that there ought to be some noticeable difference in the qualities of the respective alloys."); In re Lilienfeld, 67 F.2d 920, 924 (CCPA 1933) ("It is well established that, while a change in the proportions of a combination shown to be old, such as is here involved, may be inventive, such changes must be critical as compared with the proportions used in the prior processes, producing a difference in kind rather than degree."); In re Wells, 56 F.2d 674, 675, 12 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1932) ("Changes in proportions of agents used in combinations . . . in order to be patentable, must be critical as compared with the proportions of the prior processes."); E.I. DuPont de Nemours & Company v. Synvina C.V., 904 F.3d 996, 1006, 128 USPQ2d 1193, 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2018.)("[A] modification of a process parameter may be patentable if it ‘produce[s] a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art." (citing Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs, UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 693, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023) ("A difference of degree is not as persuasive as a difference in kind – i.e., if the range produces ‘a new property dissimilar to the known property,’ rather than producing a predictable result but to an unexpected extent.").
Accordingly, the instant claims, in the conditions/variables of the claimed method where no unexpected results are observed (e.g., criticality of the recited conditions producing a product with unexpected/surprising results, such as improved efficacy in treating ALS), would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill having the above cited references before him/her.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/RUSSELL G FIEBIG/ Examiner, Art Unit 1655