DETAILED ACTION
The status of the claims stands as follows:
Pending claims: 1, 5-7, 9, 11-12, 22-23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 40-43, 47, 49-51
Withdrawn claims: 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 40-43, 47, 49-51
Cancelled claims: 2-4, 8, 10, 13-21, 24, 26, 28, 30, 32-39, 44-46, 48
Claims currently under consideration: 1, 5-7, 9, 11-12, 22
Currently rejected claims: 1, 5-7, 9, 11-12, 22
Allowed claims: None
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1, 5-7, 9, 11-12, 22) in the reply filed on 10/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 40-43, 47, 49-51 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II-X, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/05/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract uses the phrases “The present disclosure relates generally […] and more specifically” and “The present disclosure also relates”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, "(iv) less than or equal to about 7% ash on a dry weight basis; or (v) less than or equal to about 12% moisture on a dry weight basis; (vi) any combinations of (i)-(v)” should be written as "(iv) less than or equal to about 7% ash on a dry weight basis; (v) less than or equal to about 12% moisture on a dry weight basis; or (vi) any combinations of (i)-(v)”.
In claim 11, “(iv) at least about 10 ppm of lectins; or (v) less than or equal to 20 mg isoflavones per 100 gram protein-enriched soy ingredient; or (vi) any combinations of (i) - (v)” should be read as “(iv) at least about 10 ppm of lectins; (v) less than or equal to 20 mg isoflavones per 100 gram protein-enriched soy ingredient; or (vi) any combinations of (i) - (v)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-7, 9, 11-12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claims 1, 6, 9, 11, 12, and 22 recited in relation to amounts of components is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For the purpose of the examination, the term “about” will be interpreted as meaning a ±10% deviation from the recited amount.
Claim 5 recites that “the method results in the release of at least 60% less CO2”. However, the claim does not recite a unit of measurement with which to determine whether a 60% reduction has occurred (e.g., a 60% reduction based on weight; a 60% reduction based on volume). Therefore, the claim is indefinite.
For the purpose of this examination, the reduction will be interpreted as being based on weight.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected by reason of dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (US 2009/0041887; IDS citation) in view of Kong (Kong et al., “An Energy-Friendly Alternative in the Large-Scale Production of Soybean Oil”, 2018, Journal of Environmental Management, 230:234-244; IDS citation).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Liang teaches a method of processing soybeans, the method comprising: (a) providing high protein soybeans; (b) defatting the high protein soybeans by solvent extraction to produce a defatted soybean composition (corresponding to soybean meal or flakes); and (c) desolventizing the defatted soybean composition to directly produce protein-enriched white flakes [0036], [0044], [0050]-[0053]. Liang teaches that the high protein soybeans in step (a) contain at least about 45 wt.% soy protein on a dry weight basis [0036], which encompasses the concentration range recited in present claim 1. Liang teaches that the protein-enriched white flakes produced in step (c) contain at least about 58 wt.% protein on a dry weight basis [0036], which falls within the concentration range recited in present claim 1. In regard to the encompassing range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that; "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.I.
Kong does not disclose that the method results in at least 60% less CO2 release into the atmosphere per ton of protein-enriched white flakes as compared to white flakes produced from commodity soybeans as recited in present claim 5. However, Kong teaches the claimed method steps (a)-(c) using high protein soybeans to produce protein-enriched white flakes. Therefore, Kong is considered to disclose a method that results in at least 60% less CO2 release into the atmosphere per ton of protein-enriched white flakes as compared to white flakes produced from commodity soybeans using the same method steps, thereby rendering present claim 5 obvious.
Liang does not teach that the method performs at least one of features (i)-(iii) recited in present claim 1.
However, Kong teaches a method of processing soybeans comprising the steps of providing soybeans, defatting the soybeans through solvent extraction, and then desolventizing the soybeans to obtain soybean oil and protein (page 235, column 1, 1st paragraph). Kong teaches that the conventional method of performing these steps is an energy-intensive process that significantly impacts the environment (abstract). Kong teaches that reductions in steam and cooling water consumptions and reductions in environmental effects of the process are important targets in improving solvent extraction (page 235, column 1, 2nd paragraph). Kong teaches that energy efficiency of an improved soybean processing method results in gross energy saving of about 50%; reduced wastewater loading by 56.5%; and reduced CO2 emissions by 62.5% (abstract).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to have modified the method of Liang to comprise using energy efficient strategies disclosed in Kong. Since Liang teaches a method of processing soybeans comprising claimed steps (a)-(c) [0036], [0044], [0050]-[0053] and Kong teaches that such a method is an energy-intensive process that significantly impacts the environment and that reductions in steam and cooling water consumptions and reductions in environmental effects of the process are important targets in improving solvent extraction (abstract; page 235, column 1, 2nd paragraph), a skilled practitioner would have been motivated to incorporate the energy-efficient strategies disclosed in Kong into the method of Liang. Combining the teachings of Liang and Kong in this manner represents “applying a known technique to a known […] method […] ready for improvement to yield predictable results”, thereby rendering the combination of these references obvious. MPEP §2143.I.D.
From the amounts of energy savings, reduced wastewater loading, and reduced CO2 emissions disclosed in Kong, it would be obvious for the method resulting from the combination of Liang and Kong to comprise at least one of features (i)-(iii) as recited in present claim 1, thereby rendering the claimed features (i)-(iii) obvious.
Regarding claim 6, Liang teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the protein-enriched white flakes may have a moisture content of less than 12.5 wt.% [0080], which is considered to fall within the claimed moisture concentration range.
Regarding claim 12, Liang teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the method further comprising grinding the protein-enriched white flakes to provide a protein-enriched soy flour comprising at least about 58 wt.% protein on a dry weight basis [0036], [0056], [0080], which falls within the claimed concentration range.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (US 2009/0041887; IDS citation) in view of Kong (Kong et al., “An Energy-Friendly Alternative in the Large-Scale Production of Soybean Oil”, 2018, Journal of Environmental Management, 230:234-244; IDS citation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jiang (Jiang et al., “Genetic Analysis of Sugar Composition and Its Relationship with Protein, Oil, and Fiber in Soybean”, 2018, Crop Science, vol. 58, pages 2413-2421).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, modified Liang teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the production of protein-enriched white flakes from high protein soybeans (Liang [0050]-[0053]).
Modified Liang does not teach that the protein-enriched white flakes contain at least 4 wt.% total sugars on a dry weight basis as recited in present claim 7; or that the protein-enriched white flakes contain at least one of the concentrations of raffinose and stachyose recited in present claim 9.
However, Jiang discloses that high protein soybeans (corresponding to PI 468909) comprise total sugars in an amount such as 10 wt.% on a dry weight basis (page 2416, column 1, 2nd paragraph; page 2418, Table 2), which falls within the range recited in present claim 7. Jiang also discloses that high protein soybeans comprise raffinose in an amount of 1 wt.% on a dry weight basis and stachyose in an amount of 2.4 wt.% on a dry weight basis (page 2418, Table 2), which fall within the ranges recited in present claim 9.
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the present invention for the protein-enriched white flakes of Liang to have total sugars, raffinose, and stachyose concentrations similar to or greater than those disclosed in Jiang. Since Liang teaches the production of protein-enriched white flakes from high protein soybeans wherein the solvent extraction removes oil from the soybeans and the flakes comprise carbohydrates [0050]-[0053], [0059], but Liang does not disclose the concentrations of carbohydrates within high protein soybeans, a skilled practitioner would have been motivated to consult an additional reference such as Jiang in order to determine the concentrations of carbohydrates within high protein soybeans. In consulting Jiang, the practitioner would find that high protein soybeans may have concentrations of total sugars, raffinose, and stachyose of 10 wt.%, 1 wt.%, and 2.4 wt.% on a dry weight basis, respectively. Since the soybean processing method of Liang is considered to remove oils and no carbohydrates from the soybeans, it would be obvious for the resulting flakes to comprise total sugars, raffinose, and stachyose concentrations similar to or greater than the total sugars, raffinose, and stachyose concentrations present in the high protein soybean prior to solvent extraction. Therefore, it would be obvious for the protein-enriched white flakes of Liang to comprise concentrations of total sugars, raffinose, and stachyose which fall within the ranges recited in present claims 7 and 9, thereby rendering the claims obvious.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (US 2009/0041887; IDS citation) in view of Kong (Kong et al., “An Energy-Friendly Alternative in the Large-Scale Production of Soybean Oil”, 2018, Journal of Environmental Management, 230:234-244; IDS citation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yaklich (Yaklich, R.W., “β-Conglycinin and Glycinin in High-Protein Soybean Seeds”, J. Agric. Food Chem., 2001, 49, pages 729-735).
Regarding claim 11, modified Liang teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the production of protein-enriched white flakes from high protein soybeans (Liang [0050]-[0053]).
Modified Liang does not teach that the protein-enriched white flakes have at least one of features (i)-(vi) recited in present claim 11.
However, Yaklich teaches that soybeans from normal soybean lines contain about 41 wt.% protein on a dry weight basis and that β-conglycinin and glycinin constitute about 70% of that protein (page 729, column 1, 1st paragraph; column 2, 2nd paragraph). Therefore, soybeans from normal soybean lines contain about 29 wt.% β-conglycinin and glycinin. Yaklich also teaches that soybeans from high protein soybean lines contain more β-conglycinin and glycinin than soybeans from the normal soybean lines (abstract). As such, soybeans from high protein soybean lines are considered to contain amounts of β-conglycinin and glycinin greater than about 29 wt.% so that the concentration of each of β-conglycinin and glycinin in the high protein soybean would necessarily include amounts from greater than 0 wt.% to 29 wt.% on a dry weight basis.
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the present invention for the protein-enriched white flakes of Liang to contain amounts of β-conglycinin and glycinin which at least overlap the claimed amounts of β-conglycinin and glycinin as taught by Yaklich. Since Liang teaches the production of protein-enriched white flakes from high protein soybeans wherein the solvent extraction removes oil from the soybeans and the flakes comprise protein [0050]-[0053], [0059], but Liang does not disclose the concentrations of various proteins within high protein soybeans, a skilled practitioner would have been motivated to consult an additional reference such as Yaklich in order to determine the concentrations of various proteins within high protein soybeans. In consulting Yaklich, the practitioner would find that high protein soybeans may have concentrations of β-conglycinin and glycinin that includes amounts from greater than 0 wt.% to 29 wt.% on a dry weight basis. Since the soybean processing method of Liang is considered to remove oils while leaving behind proteins from the soybeans, it would be obvious for the resulting flakes to comprise β-conglycinin and glycinin concentrations greater than the β-conglycinin and glycinin concentrations present in the high protein soybean prior to solvent extraction. Therefore, it would be obvious for the protein-enriched white flakes of Liang to comprise concentrations of β-conglycinin and glycinin which at least overlap the ranges recited in features (ii) and (iii) of present claim 11, thereby rendering the claim obvious. MPEP 2144.05.I.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (US 2009/0041887; IDS citation) in view of Kong (Kong et al., “An Energy-Friendly Alternative in the Large-Scale Production of Soybean Oil”, 2018, Journal of Environmental Management, 230:234-244; IDS citation) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Baumer (US 2006/0188641).
Regarding claim 22, modified Liang teaches the invention as described above in claim 12, including the method further comprising the production of protein-enriched soy flour comprising at least about 58 wt.% protein on a dry weight basis (Liang [0036], [0056], [0080]). Liang teaches that the soy flour may be further processed into textured soy products [0056].
Liang does not teach that the method further comprises extruding the protein-enriched soy flour to produce a protein-enriched textured soy flour comprising at least 60 wt.% soy protein on a dry weight basis.
However, Baumer teaches a method for preparing textured soy protein products using soy flour, wherein the method comprises extruding the soy flour [0031], [0033]. Baumer teaches that the textured soy protein product may comprise at least about 70 wt.% soy protein on a dry weight basis [0009].
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to have modified the method of Liang to comprise extruding the protein-enriched soy flour to form a protein-enriched textured soy flour comprising at least about 70 wt.% soy protein on a dry basis as taught by Baumer. Since Liang teaches that the protein-enriched soy flour may be further processed into textured soy products [0056] but does not disclose a method of producing textured soy products, a skilled practitioner would have been motivated to consult an additional reference such as Baumer in order to determine a suitable method of preparing textured soy products, thereby rendering extrusion of the protein-enriched soy flour obvious. In consulting Baumer, the practitioner would also find that the textured soy flour may contain at least about 70 wt.% soy protein on a dry weight basis [0009], which falls within the presently claimed concentration.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of co-pending Application No. 18/724,345 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 requires the features of co-pending claim 3.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/KELLY P KERSHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 1791