DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 5.10.24. In view of this communication, claims 16-41 are now pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Claim 40 recites “stator housing part radially surrounding…” and “the housing part is tightly connected to a bearing flange of the electric motor” and “the bearing flange is connected on a side facing away from the housing part to a stator housing part” which are not shown with element referrals to understand structure.
Claim 41 recites “second bearing flange…” which is not shown with element referrals to understand structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims below are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recite the limitations” wherein the respective stop region distances the respective pin from a wall of a bore through which the pin projects”. Claim 20 upon which claim 22 depends recites “bore of the magnet body”. To advance prosecution, Examiner interprets “a bore” as “the bore”. Claim 23 is rejected due to its dependency on Claim 22 .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-20, 25-30, 33-34, 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Godinsky (US20190170201A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Godinsky discloses (Figs 1-3) a brake arrangement, comprising:
a shaft to be braked [0014];
a housing part (14);
a magnet body (32) including a recess (34 space);
an armature plate (16);
an intermediate part (22,24) arranged between the housing part and the magnet body and including radially inwardly projecting stop regions (44) that project further (22,24 is projecting to the left of 38,40) in an axial direction (26 left in Fig 2) toward the armature plate than a pole face (38,40) formed on the magnet body; and
a ring winding (34) accommodated in the recess in the magnet body.
Regarding Claim 17, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 16. Godinsky further discloses wherein the magnetic body (32) is made of a ferromagnetic material [0018 discloses “Field shell 32 may be made from materials having a relatively low magnetic reluctance such as ferromagnetic materials”] , and the armature plate (16) is made of a ferromagnetic material [ 0016 discloses “Armature 16 may be made from metals or metal alloys or other materials having relatively low magnetic reluctance such as iron or steel”].
Regarding Claim 18, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 16. Godinsky further discloses wherein the stop regions (44) cover a radial distance region in relation to an axis of rotation (26) of the shaft, the radial distance region being arranged radially within a region of contact between the intermediate part (22,24) and the housing part (14) and overlapping with a radial distance region covered by the armature plate (16) [0015, 0016, 0018 discloses fastener 31 going through 14, 46 and 32 which therefore are overlapping radially].
Regarding Claim 19, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 16. Godinsky further discloses wherein the stop regions (44) are arranged at a distance from each other in a circumferential direction (Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 20, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 16. Godinsky further discloses wherein pins (31) are connected to the armature plate (16)[0016], a respective pin projecting through an axially passing through recess (46) in a respective stop region (44) and project through an axially passing through bore [0018] of the magnet body (32).
Regarding Claim 25, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 16. Godinsky further discloses wherein projections (areas having holes for fastener 31 which are radial to rest of 16. Claim recitation does not clarify shape of armature plate) project radially outwardly from the armature plate (16) , the projections adapted to impact on the stop regions (44) when the brake is released.
Regarding Claim 26, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 25. Godinsky further discloses wherein the brake is adapted to be released in response to energizing (20 is electromagnet which will pull 16 when energized) the ring winding (34) and/or actuating a manual release.
Regarding Claim 27, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 25. Godinsky further discloses wherein a radial distance region covered by the projections (16 areas having holes for fastener 31 which are radial to rest of 16) overlaps with a radial distance region respectively covered by the stop regions (44) [0015,0016, 0018 discloses fastener 31 going through 14, 46 and 32 which therefore are overlapping radially].
Regarding Claim 28, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 20. Godinsky further discloses wherein spring elements (18) supported on the magnet body (32) press on the armature plate (16), the armature plate being arranged in an axially movable manner (26) and arranged in a rotationally fixed manner [0016] to the magnet body by the pins (31).
Regarding Claim 29, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 16. Godinsky further discloses wherein the intermediate part (44 which is part of 22) is arranged between the magnet body (32) and the armature plate (16).
Regarding Claim 30, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 16. Godinsky further discloses wherein a brake pad carrier (12) is connected to the shaft [0014] for conjoint rotation and arranged in an axially movable manner (splines in Fig 1 will allow axial movement) relative to the shaft.
Regarding Claim 33, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 16. Godinsky further discloses wherein the pole face (38,40) is shaped like a circular ring (Fig 1 discloses 20 which has 38,40 as circular) and is formed flat on an end face (Fig 2) facing the armature plate (16).
Regarding Claim 34, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 16. Godinsky further discloses wherein the intermediate part (22,24) is arranged to completely extend around in a circumferential direction (Figs 2-3) and/or surrounds the pole face radially.
Regarding Claim 37, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 16. Godinsky further discloses wherein the intermediate part (22,24) is formed in one piece [0019], in one part, as an injection-molded part ,as an elastomer injection-molded part, and/or as a plastic injection-molded part.
Regarding Claim 38, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 16. Godinsky further discloses wherein the armature plate (16) and the magnet body (32) are made of a respective ferromagnetic material [0018,0016] (This claim recitation has similar limitations as claim 17).
Regarding Claim 39, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 16. Godinsky further discloses wherein a ring axis (26) of the ring winding (34) is oriented coaxially (Fig 2) to an axis of rotation of the shaft (26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Godinsky in view of Pardee et al (US20130048464A1), hereinafter Pardee.
Regarding Claim 21, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 16. Godinsky further discloses wherein the respective pin is enclosed in a form-fitting pressed manner by the intermediate part and and/or the respective pin (31) is guided through 0019 discloses “configured to receive a corresponding fastener 31”] but does not explicitly disclose pin touches stop.
Pardee discloses (Fig 3) pin (116) touches stop (122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed brake arrangement of Godinsky modified by pin touching stop of Pardee in order to have sealing structure that reduces leak flow path.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Godinsky in view of Bader et al (US20040208725A1), hereinafter Bader.
Regarding Claim 24, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 20. Godinsky further discloses bore of magnet body (32) and the pin (31) but does not explicitly disclose wherein a sealing element is accommodated in a respective bore and seals towards the pin.
Bader discloses (Fig 1) wherein a sealing element (4) is accommodated in a respective bore (7) and seals towards the pin (1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed brake arrangement of Godinsky modified by seal in bore arrangement of Bader in order to prevent a leak flow path between thread and bore.
Claims 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Godinsky in view of Rieger et al (DE102019002960A1 English translation), hereinafter Rieger.
Regarding Claim 31, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 30. Godinsky further discloses wherein an internal toothing meshes with an external toothing of a tappet connected to the shaft for conjoint rotation [Para 0014 and Fig 1 spline] , the brake pad carrier (12) being arranged axially between the armature plate (16) and a braking face (14 face) formed on a flange (14) but does not disclose flange to be a bearing flange .
Rieger discloses (Fig 1) flange (11,12) to be a bearing flange (Fig 1) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed brake arrangement of Godinsky modified by bearing flange of Rieger in order to have structure that can support a rotating shaft.
Regarding Claim 32, Godinsky in view of Rieger discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 31. Godinsky in view of Rieger further discloses wherein the armature plate (Godinsky, 16) is adapted to press toward the brake pad carrier (12) when the ring winding (34) is not energized so that the brake pad carrier is pressed onto the braking face (14 face), and the armature plate (16) is adapted to move toward the magnet body (32) against spring forces (18) generated by spring elements when the ring winding is energized.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Godinsky in view of Dietrich (DE19902195A1 English translation).
Regarding Claim 35, Godinsky discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 20. Godinsky does not explicitly disclose wherein end regions of the pins facing away from the armature plate axially delimit a lever part that is subjected to spring force applied by a spring part supported on a screw (however Fig 1 of Godinski does disclose in Fig 1 what looks like a lever Le but not rest of the structure explicitly).
Dietrich discloses (Fig 1) wherein end regions (11E) of the pins facing away from the armature plate (5) axially delimit a lever part (14) that is subjected to spring force applied by a spring part (15) supported on a screw (15s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed brake arrangement of Godinsky modified by lever part biased by spring force supported by screw in order to have mechanical structure to disable brake within a given packet size depending upon design choice.
Regarding Claim 36, Godinsky in view of Dietrich discloses the brake arrangement according to claim 35. Godinsky in view of Dietrich does not explicitly disclose wherein the lever part is supported on the magnet body, and a manual release lever is connected to the lever part.
Dietrich further discloses (Fig 1) wherein the lever part (14) is supported (Fig 1) on the magnet body (9), and a manual release lever (18,20) is connected to the lever part.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed brake arrangement of Godinsky in view of Dietrich modified by lever part structure and support as further taught by Dietrich in order to have access to release mechanism and provide support to actuate brake release.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Godinsky in view of Epskamp et al (US20230344305A1 PCT filed 9.2.21), hereinafter Epskamp.
Regarding Claim 40, Godinsky discloses a brake arrangement as recited in claim 16; wherein the housing part (14) is tightly connected to a flange (14), wherein the shaft [0014] is rotatably mounted; wherein a braking face (14 right face) is arranged on the flange but does not explicitly disclose an electric motor comprising brake arrangement , housing part connected to a bearing flange of the electric motor, braking face on bearing flange, wherein the bearing flange is connected on a side facing away from the housing part to a stator housing part of the electric motor, the stator housing part radially surrounding a stator winding of the electric motor.
Epskamp discloses (Fig 1) an electric motor [Abstract] comprising brake arrangement , housing part (1) connected to a bearing flange (1) of the electric motor, braking face (1 right) on bearing flange, wherein the bearing flange is connected on a side facing away from the housing part (1)(bearing flange and housing part can be same, see Drawing objection) to a stator housing part (13) of the electric motor, the stator housing part radially surrounding a stator winding (14) of the electric motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed brake arrangement of Godinsky modified by electric motor structure with bearing flange of Epskamp in order to have an application for the electromagnetic brake.
Regarding Claim 41, Godinsky in view of Epskamp discloses the electric motor according to claim 40. Godinsky in view of Epskamp does not explicitly disclose wherein the stator housing part is connected on a side facing away from the bearing flange to a second bearing flange that accommodates a second bearing that rotatably mounts the rotor shaft.
Epskamp further discloses (Fig 1) wherein the stator housing part (13) is connected on a side facing away from the bearing flange (1) to a second bearing flange (1L) that accommodates a second bearing (Bl) that rotatably mounts the rotor shaft (15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed brake arrangement of Godinsky in view of Epskamp modified by second bearing structure of Epskamp in order to have support at both ends for rotor shaft.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-23 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 22 recites “The brake arrangement according to claim 20, wherein the respective stop region distances the respective pin from a wall of a bore through which the pin projects”. In Godinski, the stop 44 does not distance pin 31 from bore. Therefore claim 22 is allowable. Claim 23 is allowable because of its dependency upon claim 22.
Conclusion
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834