DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits in response to communications filed by Applicant on May 10th, 2024. Claims 1-13 and 16-22 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the Claims, filed on May 10th, 2024, have been entered. Claims 4, 7, and 12 are currently amended and pending, claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, and 13 are original, unamended, and pending, claims 16-22 are new and pending, and claims 14-15 have been canceled. The amendments to the Specifications, filed on May 10th, 2024, have been entered. The amendments to the Abstract, filed on May 10th, 2024, have been entered.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202111334158.9, filed on 11/11/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) filed on 05/10/2024 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9107683 B2 ("Houtash") in view of US 12329471 B2 ("Balter").
Regarding claim 1, Houtash teaches a method for keeping a position of a remote center of manipulation (RC point) of a surgical robot constant in a reference coordinate system (Fo), the surgical robot comprising (Houtash: Abstract, “Devices, systems, and methods are disclosed for cancelling movement one or more joints of a tele-surgical manipulator to effect manipulation movement of an end effector. Methods include calculating movement of joints within a null-perpendicular space to effect desired end effector movement while calculating movement of one or more locked joints within a null-space to cancel the movement of the locked joints within the null-perpendicular-space. Methods may further include calculating movement of one or more joints to effect an auxiliary movement or a reconfiguration movement that may include movement of one or more locked joints. The auxiliary and reconfiguration movements may overlay the manipulation movement of the joints to allow movement of the locked joints to effect the auxiliary movement or reconfiguration movement, while the movement of the locked joints to effect manipulation is canceled. Various configurations for devices and systems utilizing such methods are provided herein.”, Column 12 lines 33-47, “FIG. 4 shows a Patient Side Cart 22 having a plurality of manipulator arms, each supporting a surgical instrument or tool 26 at a distal end of the manipulator arm. The Patient Side Cart 22 shown includes four manipulator arms 100 which can be used to support either a surgical tool 26 or an imaging device 28, such as a stereoscopic endoscope used for the capture of images of the site of the procedure. Manipulation is provided by the robotic manipulator arms 100 having a number of robotic joints. The imaging device 28 and the surgical tools 26 can be positioned and manipulated through incisions in the patient so that a kinematic remote center is maintained at the incision so as to minimize the size of the incision. Images of the surgical site can include images of the distal ends of the surgical instruments or tools 26 when they are positioned within the field-of-view of the imaging device 28.”):
a processor (Houtash: Column 17 lines 33-47, “In some embodiments, the joint movements of the manipulator are controlled by driving one or more joints by a con troller using motors of the system, the joints being driven according to coordinated and joint movements calculated by a processor of the controller. Mathematically, the controller may perform at least some of the calculations of the joint commands using vectors and/or matrices, some of which may have elements corresponding to configurations or velocities of the joints. The range of alternative joint configurations available to the processor may be conceptualized as a joint space. The joint space may, for example, have as many dimensions as the manipulator has degrees of freedom, and a particular configuration of the manipulator may represent a particular point in the joint space, with each coordinate corresponding to a joint state of an associated joint of the manipulator.”),
an adjustment arm (Houtash: Figure 4, Figure 5A, Column 13 lines 31-52, “In certain embodiments, such as shown for example in FIG. 5A, an exemplary manipulator arm includes a proximal revolute joint J1 that rotates about a first joint axis so as to revolve the manipulator arm distal of the joint about the joint axis. In some embodiments, revolute joint J1 is mounted directly to the base, while in other embodiments, joint J1 may be mounted to one or more movable linkages or joints.”. The cited figures and passages show that the robot arm can be mounted to one or more movable linkages. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that these movable linkages comprise an adjustment arm.),
and a cyclone joint (Houtash: Figure 5A, Column 13 lines 31-52, “In certain embodiments, such as shown for example in FIG. 5A, an exemplary manipulator arm includes a proximal revolute joint J1 that rotates about a first joint axis so as to revolve the manipulator arm distal of the joint about the joint axis.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the joint J1 is a form of cyclone joint.);
the adjustment arm comprising a plurality of joints (Houtash: Figure 4, Figure 5A, Column 13 lines 31-52, “In some embodiments, revolute joint J1 is mounted directly to the base, while in other embodiments, joint J1 may be mounted to one or more movable linkages or joints.”. The cited figures and passages show that the robot arm can be mounted to one or more movable linkages. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that these movable linkages comprise an adjustment arm.);
and the method being executed by a processor and comprising the following steps: receiving a user input for performing adjustment to the cyclone joint (Houtash: Column 4 lines 8-21, “In certain embodiments, a system operator enters a recon figuration command with a user input device and drives one or more joints of the manipulator within the null-space until the manipulator is reconfigured as desired.”, Column 6 lines 1-9, “The system further includes a processor having a controller coupling the input to the manipulator arm and configured to calculate a movement of the plurality of joints in response to a user input command. The system may further include an input device for receiving a reconfiguration command to move a first set of joints of the plurality of joints with a desired reconfiguration movement while maintaining the end effector in the desired state.”, Column 10 lines 40-62, “Embodiments of the invention may include a user input which is configured to take advantage of the degrees of freedom of a manipulator structure. Rather than manually reconfiguring the manipulator, the input facilitates use of driven joints of the kinematic linkage to reconfigure the manipulator structure in response to entry of a reconfiguration command by a user. In various embodiments, the user input for receiving the reconfiguration command is incorporated into and/or disposed near the manipulator arm. In other embodiments, the input comprises a centralized input device to facilitate reconfiguration of one or more joints, such as a cluster of buttons on the patient side cart or a joystick. The input device for receiving the reconfiguration command may be separate from the input for receiving a manipulation command to effect movement of the end effector.”. The cited passages clearly show that the system is configured to receive a user input regarding a reconfiguration of the robot system. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this would include the cyclone joint J1.);
controlling the cyclone joint to perform angle adjustment according to the user input (Houtash: Column 4 lines 8-21, “In certain embodiments, a system operator enters a recon figuration command with a user input device and drives one or more joints of the manipulator within the null-space until the manipulator is reconfigured as desired.”, Column 6 lines 1-9, “The system further includes a processor having a controller coupling the input to the manipulator arm and configured to calculate a movement of the plurality of joints in response to a user input command. The system may further include an input device for receiving a reconfiguration command to move a first set of joints of the plurality of joints with a desired reconfiguration movement while maintaining the end effector in the desired state.”, Column 10 lines 40-62, “Embodiments of the invention may include a user input which is configured to take advantage of the degrees of freedom of a manipulator structure. Rather than manually reconfiguring the manipulator, the input facilitates use of driven joints of the kinematic linkage to reconfigure the manipulator structure in response to entry of a reconfiguration command by a user. In various embodiments, the user input for receiving the reconfiguration command is incorporated into and/or disposed near the manipulator arm. In other embodiments, the input comprises a centralized input device to facilitate reconfiguration of one or more joints, such as a cluster of buttons on the patient side cart or a joystick. The input device for receiving the reconfiguration command may be separate from the input for receiving a manipulation command to effect movement of the end effector.”. The cited passages clearly show that the system is configured to reconfigure the robot arm based on a user input. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this would include the cyclone joint J1.);
calculating target positions of at least three joints of the adjustment arm according to the angle adjustment performed by the cyclone joint (Houtash: Column 17 line 48 – Column 18 line 12, “In an exemplary embodiment, the system includes a con troller in which a commanded position and velocity of a feature in the work-space, denoted here as its Cartesian-coordinate space (referred to herein as Cartesian-space), are inputs. The feature may be any feature on the manipulator or off the manipulator which can be used as a control frame to be articulated using control inputs. An example of a feature on the manipulator, used in many examples described herein, would be the tool-tip. Another example of a feature on the manipulator would be a physical feature which is not on the tool-tip, but is a part of the manipulator, such as a pin or a painted pattern. An example of a feature off the manipulator would be a reference point in empty space which is exactly a certain distance and angle away from the tool-tip. Another example of a feature off the manipulator would be a target tissue whose position relative to the manipulator can be established. In all these cases, the end effector is associated with an imaginary control frame which is to be articulated using control inputs. However, in the following, the "end effector" and the "tool tip" are used synonymously. Although generally, there is no closed form relationship which maps a desired Cartesian space end effector position to an equivalent joint space position, there is generally a closed form relationship between the Cartesian space end effector and joint-space velocities. The kinematic Jacobian is the matrix of partial derivatives of Cartesian space position elements of the end effector with respect to joint space position elements. In this way, the kinematic Jacobian captures the kinematic relationship between the end effector and the joints. In other words, the kinematic Jacobian captures the effect of joint motion on the end effector. The kinematic Jacobian (J) can be used to map joint-space velocities (dq/dt) to Cartesian space end effector velocities (dx/dt) using the relationship below”, Column 12 lines 16-23, “Thus, even when there is no closed-form mapping between input and output positions, mappings of the velocities can iteratively be used, such as in a Jacobian-based controller to implement a movement of the manipulator from a commanded user input, however a variety of implementations can be used.”, Column 18 lines 24-33, “One such implementation is described in simplified terms below. The commanded joint position is used to calculate the Jacobian (J). During each time step (Δt) a Cartesian space velocity (dx/dt) is calculated to perform the desired move( dxdes/dt) and to correct for built up deviation (Δx) from the desired Cartesian space position. This Cartesian space velocity is then converted into a joint-space velocity (dq/dt) using the pseudo-inverse of the Jacobian (J#). The resulting joint space commanded velocity is then integrated to produce joint-space commanded position (q). These relationships are listed below:”. The cited passages teach that the system is configured to determine the position of each join in joint space required to achieve the target position in cartesian space based on the reconfiguration command input by a user.);
so as to maintain the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system constant (Houtash: Column 4 line 55 – Column 5 line 9, “A processor having a controller couples the input device to the manipulator. In response to a reconfiguration command, the processor determines movements of one or more joints to effect the desired reconfiguration so that the intermediate portion of the instrument is within the access site during the end effector's desired movement and maintains the desired remote center location about which the shaft pivots.”, Column 18 lines 33-47, “FIG. 4 shows a Patient Side Cart 22 having a plurality of manipulator arms, each supporting a surgical instrument or tool 26 at a distal end of the manipulator arm. The Patient Side Cart 22 shown includes four manipulator arms 100 which can be used to support either a surgical tool 26 or an imaging device 28, such as a stereoscopic endoscope used for the capture of images of the site of the procedure. Manipulation is provided by the robotic manipulator arms 100 having a number of robotic joints. The imaging device 28 and the surgical tools 26 can be positioned and manipulated through incisions in the patient so that a kinematic remote center is maintained at the incision so as to minimize the size of the incision. Images of the surgical site can include images of the distal ends of the surgical instruments or tools 26 when they are positioned within the field-of-view of the imaging device 28.”, Column 16 line 54 – Column 17 line 3, “Thus, in procedures having minimal patient clearance near the insertion point, use of the joint J7 in accordance with the present invention may provide additional clearance while maintaining the remote center location or the position of the end effector as desired.”, Column 18 lines 40-59, “The pseudo-inverse of the Jacobian (J) directly maps the desired tool tip motion ( and, in some cases, a remote center of pivotal tool motion) into the joint velocity space. If the manipulator being used has more useful joint axes than tool tip degrees of freedom (up to six), (and when a remote center of tool motion is in use, the manipulator should have an additional three joint axes for the three degrees of freedom associated with location of the remote center), then the manipulator is said to be redundant. A redundant manipulator's Jacobian includes a "null-space" having a dimension of at least one. In this context, the "null-space" of the Jacobian (N(J)) is the space of joint velocities which instantaneously achieves no tool tip motion ( and when a remote center is used, no movement of the pivotal point location); and "null-motion" is the combination, trajectory or path of joint positions which also produces no instantaneous movement of the tool tip and/or location of the remote center.”, Column 18 line 66 – Column 19 line 17, “The joint velocity according to Equation (4) has two components:
the first being the null-perpendicular-space component, the "purest" joint velocity (shortest vector length) which produces the desired tool tip motion (and when the remote center is used, the desired remote center motion) and the second being the null-space component.”, Column 21 lines 49-65, “… respectively, thereby providing the movement by which the controller can effect the desired reconfiguration of the manipulator while maintaining the desired state of the end effector (and/or location of the remote center).”. The cited passages teach that the positions of the joints are determined such that the remote center of motion is maintained.).
Houtash does not teach controlling the at least three joints of the adjustment arm to perform position adjustment according to the target positions of the at least three joints so as to maintain the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system constant.
Balter, in the same field of endeavor, teaches controlling the at least three joints of the adjustment arm to perform position adjustment according to the target positions of the at least three joints so as to maintain the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system constant (Balter: Column 10 lines 1-7, “With reference to FIG. 3, the movable cart 60 includes a lift 61 and a setup arm 62, which provides a base for mounting of the robotic arm 40. The lift 61 allows for vertical movement of the setup arm 62. The movable cart 60 also includes a display 69 for displaying information pertaining to the robotic arm 40.”, Column 10 lines 8-20, “The setup arm 62 includes a first link 62a, a second link 62b, and a third link 62c, which provide for lateral maneuverability of the robotic arm 40. The links 62a, 62b, 62c are interconnected at joints 63a and 63b, each of which may include an actuator (not shown) for rotating the links 62b and 62b relative to each other and the link 62c. In particular, the links 62a, 62b, 62c are movable in their corresponding lateral planes that are parallel to each other, thereby allowing for extension of the robotic arm 40 relative to the patient (e.g., surgical table). In embodiments, the robotic arm 40 may be coupled to the surgical table (not shown). The setup arm 62 includes controls 65 for adjusting movement of the links 62a, 62b, 62c as well as the lift 61.”, Column 10 lines 21-29, “The third link 62c includes a rotatable base 64 having two degrees of freedom. In particular, the rotatable base 64 includes a first actuator 64a and a second actuator 64b. The first actuator 64a is rotatable about a first stationary arm axis which is perpendicular to a plane defined by the third link 62c and the second actuator 64b is rotatable about a second stationary arm axis which is transverse to the first stationary arm axis. The first and second actuators 64a and 64b allow for full three-dimensional orientation of the robotic arm 40.”, Column 11 lines 28-39, “The computer 41 includes a plurality of controllers, namely, a main cart controller 41a, a setup arm controller 41b, a robotic arm controller 41c, and an instrument drive unit (IDU) controller 41d.”, Column 11 lines 40-53, “The setup arm controller 41b controls each of joints 63a and 63b, and the rotatable base 64 of the setup arm 62 and calculates desired motor movement commands ( e.g., motor torque) for the pitch axis and controls the brakes. The robotic arm controller 41c controls each joint 44a and 44b of the robotic arm 40 and calculates desired motor torques required for gravity compensation, friction compensation, and closed loop position control of the robotic arm 40. The robotic arm controller 41c calculates a movement command based on the calculated torque. The calculated motor commands are then communicated to one or more of the actuators 48a and 48b in the robotic arm 40. The actual joint positions are then transmitted by the actuators 48a and 48b back to the robotic arm controller 41c.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the setup arm is controlled by a controller configured to drive the motors of the setup arm such that the setup arm is in a desired position.).
Houtash teaches a method for keeping a position of a remote center of manipulation (RC point) of a surgical robot constant in a reference coordinate system (Fo), the surgical robot comprising: a processor, an adjustment arm, and a cyclone joint; the adjustment arm comprising a plurality of joints; and the method being executed by a processor and comprising the following steps: receiving a user input for performing adjustment to the cyclone joint; controlling the cyclone joint to perform angle adjustment according to the user input; calculating target positions of at least three joints of the adjustment arm according to the angle adjustment performed by the cyclone joint; so as to maintain the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system constant. Houtash does not teach controlling the at least three joints of the adjustment arm to perform position adjustment according to the target positions of the at least three joints so as to maintain the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system constant. Balter teaches controlling the at least three joints of the adjustment arm to perform position adjustment according to the target positions of the at least three joints so as to maintain the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system constant. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method taught in Houtash with controlling the at least three joints of the adjustment arm to perform position adjustment according to the target positions of the at least three joints so as to maintain the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system constant taught in Balter. Furthermore, the robot system taught in Houtash already teaches a multi-joint setup arm, but does not state whether the position of the setup arm can be controlled by the controller. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the system taught in Houtash such that the setup arm is controlled by the controller as taught in Balter according to known methods. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to perform such a modification as the modification simply involve adding more actuated links to a robot, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to control a robot with a plurality of actuated links. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a method for keeping a position of a remote center of manipulation (RC point) of a surgical robot constant in a reference coordinate system (Fo), the surgical robot comprising: controlling the at least three joints of the adjustment arm to perform position adjustment according to the target positions of the at least three joints so as to maintain the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system constant.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Houtash with controlling the at least three joints of the adjustment arm to perform position adjustment according to the target positions of the at least three joints so as to maintain the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system constant taught in Balter with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Claim(s) 2-3, and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9107683 B2 ("Houtash") in view of US 12329471 B2 ("Balter") in further view of CN 109895101 A ("Ma").
Regarding claim 2, Houtash in view of Balter teaches wherein the step of calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm according to the angle adjustment performed by the cyclone joint comprises: obtaining the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo) (Houtash: Column 18 lines 40-59, “The pseudo-inverse of the Jacobian (J) directly maps the desired tool tip motion ( and, in some cases, a remote center of pivotal tool motion) into the joint velocity space. If the manipulator being used has more useful joint axes than tool tip degrees of freedom (up to six), (and when a remote center of tool motion is in use, the manipulator should have an additional three joint axes for the three degrees of freedom associated with location of the remote center), then the manipulator is said to be redundant. A redundant manipulator's Jacobian includes a "null-space" having a dimension of at least one. In this context, the "null-space" of the Jacobian (N(J)) is the space of joint velocities which instantaneously achieves no tool tip motion ( and when a remote center is used, no movement of the pivotal point location); and "null-motion" is the combination, trajectory or path of joint positions which also produces no instantaneous movement of the tool tip and/or location of the remote center.”. The cited passage clearly shows that, when a remote center of motion is in use, it’s position and orientation are acquired in order to derive the necessary equations of motion.)
obtaining an angle value of the cyclone joint (Balter: Column 11 lines 28-39, “The computer 41 includes a plurality of controllers, namely, a main cart controller 41a, a setup arm controller 41b, a robotic arm controller 41c, and an instrument drive unit (IDU) controller 41d. The main cart controller 41a receives and processes joint commands from the controller 21a of the computer 21 and communicates them to the setup arm controller 41b, the robotic arm controller 41c, and the IDU controller 41d. The main cart controller 41a also manages instrument exchanges and the overall state of the movable cart 60, the robotic arm 40, and the IDU 52. The main cart controller 41a also communicates actual joint angles back to the controller 21a.”. The cited passage clearly shows that the system acquires the current joint values of each joint.);
Houtash in view of Balter does not teach calculating a constant transformation (Toa) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to an adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa);
obtaining an angle value of the cyclone joint;
calculating a first transformation (Tbc) from a cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to an RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint;
calculating a second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) based on the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo), the constant transformation (Toa), and the first transformation (Tbc); and
calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm based on the second transformation (Tab).
Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches calculating a constant transformation (Toa) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to an adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) (Ma: Equation 1, “The articulated robotic arm consists of a base A, an end effector G, five links B, C, D, E, and F, and six rotary joints 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. A coordinate system for each joint of the robotic arm is established based on an improved DH parameter method. The coordinate system includes: a base coordinate system O0, coordinate systems O1~O6 corresponding to the six rotary joints of the robotic arm, and the coordinate system O6 for the end effector. Specifically, the zi axis of joint i is collinear with the axis of joint i, while the xi< axis lies on the common normal to the axes of joint i and i+1, pointing from i to i+1. When two joint axes intersect, the x_ The direction of NER29_ is coaxial, in the same direction, or in opposite directions with the cross product of the two vectors zi-1×zi. The direction of xi-1 is always along the common normal from axis i-1 to axis i. When the two axes xi-1 and xi are parallel and in the same direction, θ<sub>i</sub> of the i-th rotation joint is zero. The yi axis is determined by the right-hand rectangular coordinate system rule, where i = 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. The initial position of the first joint coordinate system is set on the base of the robot arm and coincides with the base coordinate system {O0:x0,y0,z0}, and the base coordinate system remains unchanged.”, ¶ 0011, “Step 2: Establish the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints.”, ¶ 0012, “Based on four structural geometric parameters between adjacent joints of the robotic arm: link angle θi, link twist angle αi, link length ai, and link distance di, calculate the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix i-1Ti, i=1,2,...6 of the adjacent coordinate systems. The definitions of each geometric parameter are as follows: the link twist angle θi between adjacent joints i and i+1 is the angle between the xi and xi-1 axes, around the zi axis from the xi-1 axis to the xi axis, positive when conforming to the right-hand rule; for rotating joints, θi is a variable; the link twist angle αi is the angle between the zi and zi+1 axes, around the xi axis. The 7-axis runs from the z_NER58-axis to the z_NER59-axis. It is positive when it conforms to the right-hand rule. When the two joint axes are parallel, αi = 0. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, αi = -90° or 90°. The link length ai is the length of the common perpendicular of the z_NER63-axis and the z_NER64-axis, measured along the x_NER65-axis. When the two joint axes are parallel, ai = li. li is the length of the link. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, ai = 0. The link distance di between adjacent joints is the distance between the x_NER71-axis and the x_NER72-axis, measured on the z_NER73-axis. For rotary joints, di is a constant.”. The cited passages describe a the process of using the DH parameter method to define the transformation matrices from coordinate system to coordinate system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to use the cited method and Equation 1 to define a transformation matrix from a reference frame to a robot frame.);
calculating a first transformation (Tbc) from a cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to an RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint (Ma: Equation 1, “The articulated robotic arm consists of a base A, an end effector G, five links B, C, D, E, and F, and six rotary joints 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. A coordinate system for each joint of the robotic arm is established based on an improved DH parameter method. The coordinate system includes: a base coordinate system O0, coordinate systems O1~O6 corresponding to the six rotary joints of the robotic arm, and the coordinate system O6 for the end effector. Specifically, the zi axis of joint i is collinear with the axis of joint i, while the xi< axis lies on the common normal to the axes of joint i and i+1, pointing from i to i+1. When two joint axes intersect, the x_ The direction of NER29_ is coaxial, in the same direction, or in opposite directions with the cross product of the two vectors zi-1×zi. The direction of xi-1 is always along the common normal from axis i-1 to axis i. When the two axes xi-1 and xi are parallel and in the same direction, θ<sub>i</sub> of the i-th rotation joint is zero. The yi axis is determined by the right-hand rectangular coordinate system rule, where i = 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. The initial position of the first joint coordinate system is set on the base of the robot arm and coincides with the base coordinate system {O0:x0,y0,z0}, and the base coordinate system remains unchanged.”, ¶ 0011, “Step 2: Establish the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints.”, ¶ 0012, “Based on four structural geometric parameters between adjacent joints of the robotic arm: link angle θi, link twist angle αi, link length ai, and link distance di, calculate the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix i-1Ti, i=1,2,...6 of the adjacent coordinate systems. The definitions of each geometric parameter are as follows: the link twist angle θi between adjacent joints i and i+1 is the angle between the xi and xi-1 axes, around the zi axis from the xi-1 axis to the xi axis, positive when conforming to the right-hand rule; for rotating joints, θi is a variable; the link twist angle αi is the angle between the zi and zi+1 axes, around the xi axis. The 7-axis runs from the z_NER58-axis to the z_NER59-axis. It is positive when it conforms to the right-hand rule. When the two joint axes are parallel, αi = 0. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, αi = -90° or 90°. The link length ai is the length of the common perpendicular of the z_NER63-axis and the z_NER64-axis, measured along the x_NER65-axis. When the two joint axes are parallel, ai = li. li is the length of the link. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, ai = 0. The link distance di between adjacent joints is the distance between the x_NER71-axis and the x_NER72-axis, measured on the z_NER73-axis. For rotary joints, di is a constant.”. The cited passages describe a the process of using the DH parameter method to define the transformation matrices from coordinate system to coordinate system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to use the cited method and Equation 1 to define a transformation matrix from a reference frame to a robot frame.);
calculating a second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) based on the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo), the constant transformation (Toa), and the first transformation (Tbc) (Ma: Equation 1, Equation 2, “The articulated robotic arm consists of a base A, an end effector G, five links B, C, D, E, and F, and six rotary joints 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. A coordinate system for each joint of the robotic arm is established based on an improved DH parameter method. The coordinate system includes: a base coordinate system O0, coordinate systems O1~O6 corresponding to the six rotary joints of the robotic arm, and the coordinate system O6 for the end effector. Specifically, the zi axis of joint i is collinear with the axis of joint i, while the xi< axis lies on the common normal to the axes of joint i and i+1, pointing from i to i+1. When two joint axes intersect, the x_ The direction of NER29_ is coaxial, in the same direction, or in opposite directions with the cross product of the two vectors zi-1×zi. The direction of xi-1 is always along the common normal from axis i-1 to axis i. When the two axes xi-1 and xi are parallel and in the same direction, θ<sub>i</sub> of the i-th rotation joint is zero. The yi axis is determined by the right-hand rectangular coordinate system rule, where i = 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. The initial position of the first joint coordinate system is set on the base of the robot arm and coincides with the base coordinate system {O0:x0,y0,z0}, and the base coordinate system remains unchanged.”, ¶ 0011, “Step 2: Establish the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints.”, ¶ 0012, “Based on four structural geometric parameters between adjacent joints of the robotic arm: link angle θi, link twist angle αi, link length ai, and link distance di, calculate the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix i-1Ti, i=1,2,...6 of the adjacent coordinate systems. The definitions of each geometric parameter are as follows: the link twist angle θi between adjacent joints i and i+1 is the angle between the xi and xi-1 axes, around the zi axis from the xi-1 axis to the xi axis, positive when conforming to the right-hand rule; for rotating joints, θi is a variable; the link twist angle αi is the angle between the zi and zi+1 axes, around the xi axis. The 7-axis runs from the z_NER58-axis to the z_NER59-axis. It is positive when it conforms to the right-hand rule. When the two joint axes are parallel, αi = 0. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, αi = -90° or 90°. The link length ai is the length of the common perpendicular of the z_NER63-axis and the z_NER64-axis, measured along the x_NER65-axis. When the two joint axes are parallel, ai = li. li is the length of the link. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, ai = 0. The link distance di between adjacent joints is the distance between the x_NER71-axis and the x_NER72-axis, measured on the z_NER73-axis. For rotary joints, di is a constant.”, ¶ 0017, “The homogeneous transformation matrices i-1Ti of the adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints are obtained by right multiplying them sequentially:”, ¶ 0019, “Among them, the matrices on the right side of the equation: 0T1, 1T2, 2T3, 3T4, 4T5, and 5T6 are the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrices of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and final coordinate systems relative to the previous coordinate system, respectively.”, ¶ 0020, “The matrix 0T6 on the left side of the equation is the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of the terminal coordinate system O6 relative to the base coordinate system O0; where nx, ny, nz are the cosine values of the angles between the x6 axis of the terminal coordinate system {O6:x6,y6,z6} and the x0,y0,z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ox, oy, oz represents the cosine of the angle between the y6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ax, ay, az represent the cosine of the angle between the z6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; px, py, pz represent the Cartesian coordinates of the origin O6 of the terminal coordinate system in the base coordinate system.”. The cited passages clearly teach determining the transformation matrix from one coordinate system to another based on other transformation matrices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to use the cited method and equation 2 to determine the transformation matrix between two coordinate systems based on other transformation matrices.); and
calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm based on the second transformation (Tab) (Ma: Equation 3, ¶ 0020, “The matrix 0T6 on the left side of the equation is the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of the terminal coordinate system O6 relative to the base coordinate system O0; where nx, ny, nz are the cosine values of the angles between the x6 axis of the terminal coordinate system {O6:x6,y6,z6} and the x0,y0,z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ox, oy, oz represents the cosine of the angle between the y6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ax, ay, az represent the cosine of the angle between the z6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0< axes of the base coordinate system; px, py, pz represent the Cartesian coordinates of the origin O6 of the terminal coordinate system in the base coordinate system.”. The cited passage and equation 3 clearly shows that the transformation matrices can be used to determine the position of each joint.).
Houtash in view of Balter teaches of calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm according to the angle adjustment performed by the cyclone joint comprises: obtaining the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo) obtaining an angle value of the cyclone joint. Houtash in view of Balter does not teach calculating constant transformation (Toa) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to an adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa); calculating a first transformation (Tbc) from a cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to an RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint; calculating a second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) based on the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo), the constant transformation (Toa), and the first transformation (Tbc); and calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm based on the second transformation (Tab). Ma teaches calculating constant transformation (Toa) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to an adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa); calculating a first transformation (Tbc) from a cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to an RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint; calculating a second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) based on the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo), the constant transformation (Toa), and the first transformation (Tbc); and calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm based on the second transformation (Tab). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Houtash in view of Balter with calculating constant transformation (Toa) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to an adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa); calculating a first transformation (Tbc) from a cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to an RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint; calculating a second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) based on the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo), the constant transformation (Toa), and the first transformation (Tbc); and calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm based on the second transformation (Tab) taught in Ma. Furthermore, the method taught in Houtash in view of Balter teaches performing forward kinematics of the system and includes the remote center of motion in said forward kinematics, but does not specify what method of solving for the forward kinematics is used (Houtash: Figure 16A, Column 21 lines 49-65, “According to the method of FIG. 16A, the system: calculates the forward kinematics of the manipulator arm; then calculates dx/dt using Equation (1), calculates dqprep/dt using Equation (5), then calculates dqnul;/dt from z which may depend on dqprep/dt and the Jacobian using Equation (6). From the calculated dqprep/dt and dqnull/ dt the system then calculates dq/dt and q using Equations ( 4) and (3), respectively, thereby providing the movement by which the controller can effect the desired reconfiguration of the manipulator while maintaining the desired state of the end effector (and/or location of the remote center).”). As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method taught in Houtash in view of Balter to use the DH parameter method using transformation matrices to derive the forward kinematics as taught in Ma. The DH parameter method is a commonly used method of deriving transformation matrices for use in forward kinematics and would have been well within the technological capabilities of one of ordinary before the effective filling date of the claimed invention. Such a combination would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a method for keeping a position of a remote center of manipulation (RC point) of a surgical robot constant in a reference coordinate system (Fo), the surgical robot comprising: calculating constant transformation (Toa) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to an adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa); calculating a first transformation (Tbc) from a cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to an RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint; calculating a second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) based on the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo), the constant transformation (Toa), and the first transformation (Tbc); and calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm based on the second transformation (Tab).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Houtash in view of Balter with calculating constant transformation (Toa) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to an adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa); calculating a first transformation (Tbc) from a cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to an RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint; calculating a second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) based on the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo), the constant transformation (Toa), and the first transformation (Tbc); and calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm based on the second transformation (Tab) taught in Ma with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Ma teaches wherein the step of obtaining the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo) comprises: obtaining a third transformation (Toe) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to the RC point coordinate system (Fe) through a kinematic calculation (Ma: Equation 1, Equation 2, “The articulated robotic arm consists of a base A, an end effector G, five links B, C, D, E, and F, and six rotary joints 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. A coordinate system for each joint of the robotic arm is established based on an improved DH parameter method. The coordinate system includes: a base coordinate system O0, coordinate systems O1~O6 corresponding to the six rotary joints of the robotic arm, and the coordinate system O6 for the end effector. Specifically, the zi axis of joint i is collinear with the axis of joint i, while the xi< axis lies on the common normal to the axes of joint i and i+1, pointing from i to i+1. When two joint axes intersect, the x_ The direction of NER29_ is coaxial, in the same direction, or in opposite directions with the cross product of the two vectors zi-1×zi. The direction of xi-1 is always along the common normal from axis i-1 to axis i. When the two axes xi-1 and xi are parallel and in the same direction, θ<sub>i</sub> of the i-th rotation joint is zero. The yi axis is determined by the right-hand rectangular coordinate system rule, where i = 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. The initial position of the first joint coordinate system is set on the base of the robot arm and coincides with the base coordinate system {O0:x0,y0,z0}, and the base coordinate system remains unchanged.”, ¶ 0011, “Step 2: Establish the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints.”, ¶ 0012, “Based on four structural geometric parameters between adjacent joints of the robotic arm: link angle θi, link twist angle αi, link length ai, and link distance di, calculate the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix i-1Ti, i=1,2,...6 of the adjacent coordinate systems. The definitions of each geometric parameter are as follows: the link twist angle θi between adjacent joints i and i+1 is the angle between the xi and xi-1 axes, around the zi axis from the xi-1 axis to the xi axis, positive when conforming to the right-hand rule; for rotating joints, θi is a variable; the link twist angle αi is the angle between the zi and zi+1 axes, around the xi axis. The 7-axis runs from the z_NER58-axis to the z_NER59-axis. It is positive when it conforms to the right-hand rule. When the two joint axes are parallel, αi = 0. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, αi = -90° or 90°. The link length ai is the length of the common perpendicular of the z_NER63-axis and the z_NER64-axis, measured along the x_NER65-axis. When the two joint axes are parallel, ai = li. li is the length of the link. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, ai = 0. The link distance di between adjacent joints is the distance between the x_NER71-axis and the x_NER72-axis, measured on the z_NER73-axis. For rotary joints, di is a constant.”, ¶ 0017, “The homogeneous transformation matrices i-1Ti of the adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints are obtained by right multiplying them sequentially:”, ¶ 0019, “Among them, the matrices on the right side of the equation: 0T1, 1T2, 2T3, 3T4, 4T5, and 5T6 are the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrices of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and final coordinate systems relative to the previous coordinate system, respectively.”, ¶ 0020, “The matrix 0T6 on the left side of the equation is the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of the terminal coordinate system O6 relative to the base coordinate system O0; where nx, ny, nz are the cosine values of the angles between the x6 axis of the terminal coordinate system {O6:x6,y6,z6} and the x0,y0,z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ox, oy, oz represents the cosine of the angle between the y6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ax, ay, az represent the cosine of the angle between the z6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0< axes of the base coordinate system; px, py, pz represent the Cartesian coordinates of the origin O6 of the terminal coordinate system in the base coordinate system.” Houtash: Figure 16A, Column 21 lines 49-65, “According to the method of FIG. 16A, the system: calculates the forward kinematics of the manipulator arm; then calculates dx/dt using Equation (1), calculates dqprep/dt using Equation (5), then calculates dqnul;/dt from z which may depend on dqprep/dt and the Jacobian using Equation (6). From the calculated dqprep/dt and dqnull/ dt the system then calculates dq/dt and q using Equations ( 4) and (3), respectively, thereby providing the movement by which the controller can effect the desired reconfiguration of the manipulator while maintaining the desired state of the end effector (and/or location of the remote center).”. The cited passages clearly teach determining the transformation matrix from one coordinate system to another based on other transformation matrices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to use the cited method and equations 1 and 2 to determine the transformation matrix between a robot frame and a reference frame. Additionally Houtash already teaches performing forward kinematics with respect to a remote center of motion.); and
acquiring the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo) according to the third transformation (Toe) (Ma: Equation 3, ¶ 0020, “The matrix 0T6 on the left side of the equation is the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of the terminal coordinate system O6 relative to the base coordinate system O0; where nx, ny, nz are the cosine values of the angles between the x6 axis of the terminal coordinate system {O6:x6,y6,z6} and the x0,y0,z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ox, oy, oz represents the cosine of the angle between the y6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ax, ay, az represent the cosine of the angle between the z6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0< axes of the base coordinate system; px, py, pz represent the Cartesian coordinates of the origin O6 of the terminal coordinate system in the base coordinate system.”, Houtash: Figure 16A, Column 21 lines 49-65, “According to the method of FIG. 16A, the system: calculates the forward kinematics of the manipulator arm; then calculates dx/dt using Equation (1), calculates dqprep/dt using Equation (5), then calculates dqnul;/dt from z which may depend on dqprep/dt and the Jacobian using Equation (6). From the calculated dqprep/dt and dqnull/ dt the system then calculates dq/dt and q using Equations ( 4) and (3), respectively, thereby providing the movement by which the controller can effect the desired reconfiguration of the manipulator while maintaining the desired state of the end effector (and/or location of the remote center).”. The cited passage and equation 3 clearly shows that the transformation matrices can be used to determine the position of each joint. Additionally, Houtash teaches performing forward kinematics with respect to a remote center of motion.).
Regarding claim 5, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Ma teaches wherein the step of calculating the first transformation (Tbe) from the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to the RC point coordinate system (Fe) comprises: determining the first transformation (Tbe) from the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to the RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint (Ma: Equation 1, Equation 2, “The articulated robotic arm consists of a base A, an end effector G, five links B, C, D, E, and F, and six rotary joints 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. A coordinate system for each joint of the robotic arm is established based on an improved DH parameter method. The coordinate system includes: a base coordinate system O0, coordinate systems O1~O6 corresponding to the six rotary joints of the robotic arm, and the coordinate system O6 for the end effector. Specifically, the zi axis of joint i is collinear with the axis of joint i, while the xi< axis lies on the common normal to the axes of joint i and i+1, pointing from i to i+1. When two joint axes intersect, the x_ The direction of NER29_ is coaxial, in the same direction, or in opposite directions with the cross product of the two vectors zi-1×zi. The direction of xi-1 is always along the common normal from axis i-1 to axis i. When the two axes xi-1 and xi are parallel and in the same direction, θ<sub>i</sub> of the i-th rotation joint is zero. The yi axis is determined by the right-hand rectangular coordinate system rule, where i = 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. The initial position of the first joint coordinate system is set on the base of the robot arm and coincides with the base coordinate system {O0:x0,y0,z0}, and the base coordinate system remains unchanged.”, ¶ 0011, “Step 2: Establish the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints.”, ¶ 0012, “Based on four structural geometric parameters between adjacent joints of the robotic arm: link angle θi, link twist angle αi, link length ai, and link distance di, calculate the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix i-1Ti, i=1,2,...6 of the adjacent coordinate systems. The definitions of each geometric parameter are as follows: the link twist angle θi between adjacent joints i and i+1 is the angle between the xi and xi-1 axes, around the zi axis from the xi-1 axis to the xi axis, positive when conforming to the right-hand rule; for rotating joints, θi is a variable; the link twist angle αi is the angle between the zi and zi+1 axes, around the xi axis. The 7-axis runs from the z_NER58-axis to the z_NER59-axis. It is positive when it conforms to the right-hand rule. When the two joint axes are parallel, αi = 0. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, αi = -90° or 90°. The link length ai is the length of the common perpendicular of the z_NER63-axis and the z_NER64-axis, measured along the x_NER65-axis. When the two joint axes are parallel, ai = li. li is the length of the link. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, ai = 0. The link distance di between adjacent joints is the distance between the x_NER71-axis and the x_NER72-axis, measured on the z_NER73-axis. For rotary joints, di is a constant.”, ¶ 0017, “The homogeneous transformation matrices i-1Ti of the adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints are obtained by right multiplying them sequentially:”, ¶ 0019, “Among them, the matrices on the right side of the equation: 0T1, 1T2, 2T3, 3T4, 4T5, and 5T6 are the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrices of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and final coordinate systems relative to the previous coordinate system, respectively.”, ¶ 0020, “The matrix 0T6 on the left side of the equation is the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of the terminal coordinate system O6 relative to the base coordinate system O0; where nx, ny, nz are the cosine values of the angles between the x6 axis of the terminal coordinate system {O6:x6,y6,z6} and the x0,y0,z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ox, oy, oz represents the cosine of the angle between the y6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ax, ay, az represent the cosine of the angle between the z6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0< axes of the base coordinate system; px, py, pz represent the Cartesian coordinates of the origin O6 of the terminal coordinate system in the base coordinate system.”, Houtash: Figure 16A, Column 21 lines 49-65, “According to the method of FIG. 16A, the system: calculates the forward kinematics of the manipulator arm; then calculates dx/dt using Equation (1), calculates dqprep/dt using Equation (5), then calculates dqnul;/dt from z which may depend on dqprep/dt and the Jacobian using Equation (6). From the calculated dqprep/dt and dqnull/ dt the system then calculates dq/dt and q using Equations ( 4) and (3), respectively, thereby providing the movement by which the controller can effect the desired reconfiguration of the manipulator while maintaining the desired state of the end effector (and/or location of the remote center).”. The cited passages clearly teach determining the transformation matrix from one coordinate system to another based on other transformation matrices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to use the cited method and equations 1 and 2 to determine the transformation matrix between a robot frame and a reference frame. Additionally, Houtash teaches performing forward kinematics with respect to a remote center of motion.).
Regarding claim 6, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Ma teaches wherein the step of calculating the second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) comprises: constructing a calculation model for the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo) based on a coordinate transformation relationship (Ma: Equation 2, Equation 3, ¶ 0020, “The matrix 0T6 on the left side of the equation is the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of the terminal coordinate system O6 relative to the base coordinate system O0; where nx, ny, nz are the cosine values of the angles between the x6 axis of the terminal coordinate system {O6:x6,y6,z6} and the x0,y0,z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ox, oy, oz represents the cosine of the angle between the y6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ax, ay, az represent the cosine of the angle between the z6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0< axes of the base coordinate system; px, py, pz represent the Cartesian coordinates of the origin O6 of the terminal coordinate system in the base coordinate system.”, ¶ 0024, “Combining formulas (2) and (3), we obtain the relationship between the joint rotation angles θi (i=1,2,3,4,5,6), the RPY rotation angles rx, ry, rz, and the translation distances px, py, pz:”, Houtash: Figure 16A, Column 21 lines 49-65, “According to the method of FIG. 16A, the system: calculates the forward kinematics of the manipulator arm; then calculates dx/dt using Equation (1), calculates dqprep/dt using Equation (5), then calculates dqnul;/dt from z which may depend on dqprep/dt and the Jacobian using Equation (6). From the calculated dqprep/dt and dqnull/ dt the system then calculates dq/dt and q using Equations ( 4) and (3), respectively, thereby providing the movement by which the controller can effect the desired reconfiguration of the manipulator while maintaining the desired state of the end effector (and/or location of the remote center).”. The cited passages clearly teach determining a calculation model for a point based on the transformation relationship. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to apply the cited methods and equations to perform the operation for a point in a reference frame. Additionally, Houtash teaches performing forward kinematics with respect to a remote center of motion.); and
expanding the calculation model along an X-direction, a Y-direction, and a Z-direction to obtain three equations (Ma: Equation 4, ¶ 0024, “Combining formulas (2) and (3), we obtain the relationship between the joint rotation angles θi (i=1,2,3,4,5,6), the RPY rotation angles rx, ry, rz, and the translation distances px, py, pz:”. The cited passage and equation clearly shows that the calculation model is expanded out to show the equations describing position in the X, Y, and Z directions.);
wherein the equations comprise a multivariate linear equation system, in which the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm are used as unknown variables (Ma: Equation 4. The position equations are clearly multivariate, based on the angles of each joint, wherein these joint angles are unknown.).
Regarding claim 7, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Ma teaches wherein the step of constructing the calculation model for the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo) based on the coordinate transformation relationship comprises: Poe=Roa*Rab*Pbe+ Roa*Pab+ Poa,
wherein Poe represents a position component of a third transformation Toe;
Roa represents an attitude component of the constant transformation Toa;
Poa represents a position component of the constant transformation Toa;
Rab represents an attitude component of the second transformation Tab;
Pab represents a position component of the second transformation Tab;
Rbc represents an attitude component of the first transformation Tbe; and
Pbe represents a position component of the first transformation Tbe (Ma: Equation 1, Equation 2, Equation 3, and Equation 4, “The articulated robotic arm consists of a base A, an end effector G, five links B, C, D, E, and F, and six rotary joints 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. A coordinate system for each joint of the robotic arm is established based on an improved DH parameter method. The coordinate system includes: a base coordinate system O0, coordinate systems O1~O6 corresponding to the six rotary joints of the robotic arm, and the coordinate system O6 for the end effector. Specifically, the zi axis of joint i is collinear with the axis of joint i, while the xi< axis lies on the common normal to the axes of joint i and i+1, pointing from i to i+1. When two joint axes intersect, the x_ The direction of NER29_ is coaxial, in the same direction, or in opposite directions with the cross product of the two vectors zi-1×zi. The direction of xi-1 is always along the common normal from axis i-1 to axis i. When the two axes xi-1 and xi are parallel and in the same direction, θ<sub>i</sub> of the i-th rotation joint is zero. The yi axis is determined by the right-hand rectangular coordinate system rule, where i = 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. The initial position of the first joint coordinate system is set on the base of the robot arm and coincides with the base coordinate system {O0:x0,y0,z0}, and the base coordinate system remains unchanged.”, ¶ 0011, “Step 2: Establish the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints.”, ¶ 0012, “Based on four structural geometric parameters between adjacent joints of the robotic arm: link angle θi, link twist angle αi, link length ai, and link distance di, calculate the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix i-1Ti, i=1,2,...6 of the adjacent coordinate systems. The definitions of each geometric parameter are as follows: the link twist angle θi between adjacent joints i and i+1 is the angle between the xi and xi-1 axes, around the zi axis from the xi-1 axis to the xi axis, positive when conforming to the right-hand rule; for rotating joints, θi is a variable; the link twist angle αi is the angle between the zi and zi+1 axes, around the xi axis. The 7-axis runs from the z_NER58-axis to the z_NER59-axis. It is positive when it conforms to the right-hand rule. When the two joint axes are parallel, αi = 0. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, αi = -90° or 90°. The link length ai is the length of the common perpendicular of the z_NER63-axis and the z_NER64-axis, measured along the x_NER65-axis. When the two joint axes are parallel, ai = li. li is the length of the link. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, ai = 0. The link distance di between adjacent joints is the distance between the x_NER71-axis and the x_NER72-axis, measured on the z_NER73-axis. For rotary joints, di is a constant.”, ¶ 0017, “The homogeneous transformation matrices i-1Ti of the adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints are obtained by right multiplying them sequentially:”, ¶ 0019, “Among them, the matrices on the right side of the equation: 0T1, 1T2, 2T3, 3T4, 4T5, and 5T6 are the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrices of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and final coordinate systems relative to the previous coordinate system, respectively.”, ¶ 0020, “The matrix 0T6 on the left side of the equation is the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of the terminal coordinate system O6 relative to the base coordinate system O0; where nx, ny, nz are the cosine values of the angles between the x6 axis of the terminal coordinate system {O6:x6,y6,z6} and the x0,y0,z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ox, oy, oz represents the cosine of the angle between the y6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ax, ay, az represent the cosine of the angle between the z6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; px, py, pz represent the Cartesian coordinates of the origin O6 of the terminal coordinate system in the base coordinate system.”, ¶ 0024, “Combining formulas (2) and (3), we obtain the relationship between the joint rotation angles θi (i=1,2,3,4,5,6), the RPY rotation angles rx, ry, rz, and the translation distances px, py, pz:”. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the Poe equation is derived from the cited Equation 2 by multiplying the transformation matricies together and taing the first three rows of the rightmost column. Additionally, said equation is clearly an obvious variation of Equation 3, specifically the equation defined between 0T6 and the corressponding matrix. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that rotation matrix and position vector defined in the Poe equation represent the rotation and position components of each subsequent transformation matrix used to derive the total transformation as shown in Equation 2.).
Regarding claim 8, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Ma teaches wherein the step of expanding the calculation model along the X-direction, the Y-direction, and the Z-direction to obtain the three equations comprises: expanding equation Poe=Roa*Rab*Pbe+Roa*Pab+Poa according to position components in the X-direction, the Y-direction, and the Z-direction, respectively, to obtain a compensation solution model comprising the following equation system:
Px = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi)
Py = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi)
Pz = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi) (Ma: Equation 4, ¶ 0024, “Combining formulas (2) and (3), we obtain the relationship between the joint rotation angles θi (i=1,2,3,4,5,6), the RPY rotation angles rx, ry, rz, and the translation distances px, py, pz:”. The cited passage and equation clearly shows that expanding the above recited equation (shown and derived from Equation 3) results in the claimed compensation solution model.)
wherein Px, Py, and Pz are three components of the RC point position Poe in the X direction, the Y-direction, and the Z-direction, respectively, and f1, f2, and f3 represent corresponding calculation functions, which are all related to positions (θ1, θ2, … , θi) of the at
least three joints of the adjustment arm (Ma: Equation 4, ¶ 0024, “Combining formulas (2) and (3), we obtain the relationship between the joint rotation angles θi (i=1,2,3,4,5,6), the RPY rotation angles rx, ry, rz, and the translation distances px, py, pz:” Houtash: Figure 16A, Column 21 lines 49-65, “According to the method of FIG. 16A, the system: calculates the forward kinematics of the manipulator arm; then calculates dx/dt using Equation (1), calculates dqprep/dt using Equation (5), then calculates dqnul;/dt from z which may depend on dqprep/dt and the Jacobian using Equation (6). From the calculated dqprep/dt and dqnull/ dt the system then calculates dq/dt and q using Equations ( 4) and (3), respectively, thereby providing the movement by which the controller can effect the desired reconfiguration of the manipulator while maintaining the desired state of the end effector (and/or location of the remote center).”. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been easily able to apply the method and equations taught in the cited passage to determine the position of a reference point. Furthermore, the three equations are clearly a function of the joint angles. Additionally, Houtash teaches performing forward kinematics with respect to a remote center of motion.).
Regarding claim 9, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Ma teaches wherein the step of calculating target positions of at least three joints of the adjustment arm comprises: calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm according to the compensation solution model (Ma: Ma: Equation 4, ¶ 0024, “Combining formulas (2) and (3), we obtain the relationship between the joint rotation angles θi (i=1,2,3,4,5,6), the RPY rotation angles rx, ry, rz, and the translation distances px, py, pz:”, ¶ 0026, “Step 4: Establish the Jacobian matrix for solving the inverse kinematics of the robotic arm.”, ¶ 0027, “Based on the relationship between rx, ry, rz, px, py, pz and θi,i=1,2,3,4,5,6 in formula (4), the Jacobian matrix of the joint coordinate system is obtained by taking the partial derivatives of fi,i=1,2,3,4,5,6 with respect to θi,i=1,2,3,4,5,6 respectively:”, ¶ 0031, “When using the LM iterative method to calculate the inverse kinematics numerical solution θend corresponding to the pose matrix Tend of the given end-effector coordinate system O6, record the pose matrix Tcur of the current end-effector coordinate system O6 and the corresponding joint rotation angles θcur.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system is configured to use the compensation solution model (Equation 4) to derive the Jacobian matrix and solve inverse kinematics in order to acquire the joint positions.).
Claim(s) 4 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9107683 B2 ("Houtash") in view of US 12329471 B2 ("Balter") in further view of CN 109895101 A ("Ma") in further view of US 10016900 B1 ("Meyer").
Regarding claim 4, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Ma does not teach wherein the step of obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint comprises: obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint from a joint encoder; wherein the joint encoder comprises a position sensor, and the position sensor is configured to measure an angle value of a joint where the joint encoder is located.
Meyer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the step of obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint comprises: obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint from a joint encoder; wherein the joint encoder comprises a position sensor, and the position sensor is configured to measure an angle value of a joint where the joint encoder is located (Meyer: Column 17 lines 3-18, “Returning to FIG. 16, provided is a system 100 that may include a cart 105 and one or more robotic arms 110 and 120. The cart 105 may include a processor (not illustrated) and a memory (not illustrated). However, depending on the embodiment, one or more of the processor and the memory may be located on or within another device, such as on the moveable tower 30 illustrated in FIG. 1. Also shown in FIG. 16 is a patient introducer 130 which may be inserted into a patient (not illustrated) prior to a medical procedure. The patient introducer 130 may comprise an introducer tube 131 configured to guide a steerable instrument (not illustrated) into the patient for the medical procedure. The patient introducer may 130 also comprise an aligmnent member 133 configured to facilitate alignment between the patient introducer 130 and one of the robotic arms 110 and 120.”, Column 17 line 54 – Column 8 line 3, “Each of the joints 113 may further house a position sensor configured to measure the relative position of the two adjacent linkages 111. Thus, a given joint 113 may further house the position sensor, which may be configured to measure the angle between the two adjacent linkages 111. The system may be able to determine the position of each of the linkages 111 in the first robotic arm 110 based on the output of each of the position sensors. Additionally, as discussed below, the output of the position sensors may be used to determine a force applied to a reference point on the first robotic arm 110. In certain embodiments, a given position sensor may include an encoder. The encoder may be configured to measure the speed and/or position of the motor shaft by reading, for example, coded visual information printed on the motor shaft and may provide feedback to the system representative of the speed and/or position of the motor.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Ma with wherein the step of obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint comprises: obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint from a joint encoder; wherein the joint encoder comprises a position sensor, and the position sensor is configured to measure an angle value of a joint where the joint encoder is located taught in Meyer with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because the combination is the simple addition of a known sensor to a system readily configurable for said sensor. The system taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Ma teaches sending the current joint angles to the controller, but does not specify the sensors used to accomplish this. As such one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the system taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Ma with the encoders taught in Meyer according to methods known in the art. Additionally, encoders are a type of sensor that is commonly used to gather angle data and would have been well within the technological knowledge of a person of ordinary skill in the art. Such a modification would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required.
Regarding claim 16, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Ma does not teach wherein the step of obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint comprises: obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint from a joint encoder; wherein the joint encoder comprises a position sensor, and the position sensor is configured to measure an angle value of a joint where the joint encoder is located.
Meyer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the step of obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint comprises: obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint from a joint encoder; wherein the joint encoder comprises a position sensor, and the position sensor is configured to measure an angle value of a joint where the joint encoder is located (Meyer: Column 17 lines 3-18, “Returning to FIG. 16, provided is a system 100 that may include a cart 105 and one or more robotic arms 110 and 120. The cart 105 may include a processor (not illustrated) and a memory (not illustrated). However, depending on the embodiment, one or more of the processor and the memory may be located on or within another device, such as on the moveable tower 30 illustrated in FIG. 1. Also shown in FIG. 16 is a patient introducer 130 which may be inserted into a patient (not illustrated) prior to a medical procedure. The patient introducer 130 may comprise an introducer tube 131 configured to guide a steerable instrument (not illustrated) into the patient for the medical procedure. The patient introducer may 130 also comprise an aligmnent member 133 configured to facilitate alignment between the patient introducer 130 and one of the robotic arms 110 and 120.”, Column 17 line 54 – Column 8 line 3, “Each of the joints 113 may further house a position sensor configured to measure the relative position of the two adjacent linkages 111. Thus, a given joint 113 may further house the position sensor, which may be configured to measure the angle between the two adjacent linkages 111. The system may be able to determine the position of each of the linkages 111 in the first robotic arm 110 based on the output of each of the position sensors. Additionally, as discussed below, the output of the position sensors may be used to determine a force applied to a reference point on the first robotic arm 110. In certain embodiments, a given position sensor may include an encoder. The encoder may be configured to measure the speed and/or position of the motor shaft by reading, for example, coded visual information printed on the motor shaft and may provide feedback to the system representative of the speed and/or position of the motor.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Ma with wherein the step of obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint comprises: obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint from a joint encoder; wherein the joint encoder comprises a position sensor, and the position sensor is configured to measure an angle value of a joint where the joint encoder is located taught in Meyer with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because the combination is the simple addition of a known sensor to a system readily configurable for said sensor. The system taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Ma teaches sending the current joint angles to the controller, but does not specify the sensors used to accomplish this. As such one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the system taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Ma with the encoders taught in Meyer according to methods known in the art. Additionally, encoders are a type of sensor that is commonly used to gather angle data and would have been well within the technological knowledge of a person of ordinary skill in the art. Such a modification would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required.
Claim(s) 10, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9107683 B2 ("Houtash") in view of US 12329471 B2 ("Balter") in further view of US 8834489 B2 ("Cooper").
Regarding claim 10, Houtash in view of Balter does not teach wherein the adjustment arm comprises: a first rotary joint, a first linear joint, a second rotary joint, and a second linear joint; or alternatively, the adjustment arm comprises: the first linear joint, the second rotary joint, and the second linear joint.
Cooper, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the adjustment arm comprises: a first rotary joint, a first linear joint, a second rotary joint, and a second linear joint; or alternatively, the adjustment arm comprises: the first linear joint, the second rotary joint, and the second linear joint (Cooper: Figures 5A, 6A-B, 9A, Column 9 lines 18-48, “Referring to FIGS. 6A, 6B, 9A, each set-up joint arm 38, 40, 42, 44 defines releasably fixable links and joints that are pre-configurable. In a preferred embodiment, each set-up joint arm 38, 40, 42, 44 includes at least one balanced, fixable, jointed parallelogram linkage structure 46 extending between a pair of adjacent fixable rotational joints 48, 50. The jointed parallelogram structure 46 accommodates motion in a generally vertical direction, and the adjacent rotational joints 48, 50 accommodate pivotal motion about vertical axes as described in more detail below. One or more linear or curved sliding axes could be used in lieu of any or all of the rotary ones”, Column 9 line 49 – Column 10 line 6, “Each set-up joint arm 38, 40, 42, 44 has surprisingly simplified kinematics (e.g., with no more than four degrees of freedom) due to the improved range of motion provided by the manipulators 32, 34. Typically, the arms accommodate translation of the fixable links and joints in a generally vertical direction as denoted by arrow SJC 3 for arm 38 in FIG. 5A, arrow SJA1 3 for arm 40 in FIG. 6A, and arrow SJX 3 for arm 44 in FIG. 6B. The arms also accommodate rotation of the fixable links and joints about two or three vertical axes. As seen in FIG. 6A, arrows SJA1 1, SJA1 2, and SJA1 4 illustrate the rotational joints 60, 48, 50 respectively of the set-up joint arm 40. The translational and rotational axes for the left set-up joint arm 42 (SJA2) is identical to that of the right arm 40 (SJA1) illustrated in FIG. 6A. FIG. 6B denotes the rotational joints 64, 48, 50 of the set-up joint auxiliary arm 44 by arrows SJX 1, SJX 2, and SJX 4 respectively. Arrows SJC 2 and SJC 4 illustrate the rotational joints 48, 50 respectively of the set-up joint center arm 38 in FIG. 5A. The arms 38, 40, 42, 44 may be power operated, computer controlled, manually pre-configured, or a combination thereof. Preferably, joints SJA1 1, SJA2 1, and SJX 1 of the set-up joint arms 40, 42 and the auxiliary arm 44 are motorized while the other joints and set-up joint center arm 38 are manually positioned. Motors may be located within the plurality of fixable links or orienting platform to drive pulley and belt mechanisms.”, Column 13 lines 51-64, “Referring now to FIGS. 10A and 10B, oblique and top views of the set-up joint arm 40 supporting the patient side robotic manipulator 32 are shown. As discussed above, the set-up joint arm 40 has four degrees of freedom (SJA1 1, SJA1 2, SJA1 3, SJA1 4), wherein the SJA1 1 joint is motorized and the other joints are manually positioned. FIGS. 10C and 10D illustrate rotational motion of the set-up joint arm 40 as denoted by arrow SJA1 2. FIGS. 10E and 10F illustrate translation of the set-up joint arm 40 as denoted by arrow SJA1 3. FIGS. 10G and 10H illustrate both translational and rotational motion of the set-up joint arm 40 as denoted by arrows SJA1 3, and SJA1 4. The translational and rotational axes for the left set-up joint arm 42 (SJA2) is identical to that of the right arm 40 (SJA1)”. The cited passages clearly shows that the setup arms comprise a plurality of joints including rotational and linear joints, and that any or all rotational joints can be substituted for linear joints. The cited passages therefore teaches the combination of joints in claim 10.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Houtash in view of Balter with wherein the adjustment arm comprises: a first rotary joint, a first linear joint, a second rotary joint, and a second linear joint; or alternatively, the adjustment arm comprises: the first linear joint, the second rotary joint, and the second linear joint taught in Cooper with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have required the simple substitution of one known type of joint for another. The method taught in Houtash in view of Balter teaches an adjustment arm wherein the adjustment arm comprises a plurality of joints, but all of these joints are rotational joints. Cooper teaches a setup arm wherein the setup arm comprises both rotational and linear joints, wherein any number of rotational joints can be replaced with linear joints. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to replace the rotational joints of the setup arm taught in Houtash in view of Balter with linear joints taught in Cooper according to methods known in the art. Additionally, said types of joints would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required.
Regarding claim 12, Houtash in view of Balter teaches a robotic arm, the robotic arm comprising (Houtash: Column 12 lines 33-47, “FIG. 4 shows a Patient Side Cart 22 having a plurality of manipulator arms, each supporting a surgical instrument or tool 26 at a distal end of the manipulator arm. The Patient Side Cart 22 shown includes four manipulator arms 100 which can be used to support either a surgical tool 26 or an imaging device 28, such as a stereoscopic endoscope used for the capture of images of the site of the procedure. Manipulation is provided by the robotic manipulator arms 100 having a number of robotic joints. The imaging device 28 and the surgical tools 26 can be positioned and manipulated through incisions in the patient so that a kinematic remote center is maintained at the incision so as to minimize the size of the incision. Images of the surgical site can include images of the distal ends of the surgical instruments or tools 26 when they are positioned within the field-of-view of the imaging device 28.”):
an adjustment arm, in connection with the orientation platform, the adjustment arm comprising a plurality of joints (Houtash: Column 13 lines 31-52, Figure 4, Figure 5A, “In certain embodiments, such as shown for example in FIG. 5A, an exemplary manipulator arm includes a proximal revolute joint J1 that rotates about a first joint axis so as to revolve the manipulator arm distal of the joint about the joint axis. In some embodiments, revolute joint J1 is mounted directly to the base, while in other embodiments, joint J1 may be mounted to one or more movable linkages or joints.”. The cited figures and passages show that the robot arm can be mounted to one or more movable linkages. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that these movable linkages comprise an adjustment arm.);
a cyclone joint, in connection with the adjustment arm, with an axis passing through the cyclone joint being defined as a cyclone axis (Houtash: Column 13 lines 31-52, Figure 5A, “In certain embodiments, such as shown for example in FIG. 5A, an exemplary manipulator arm includes a proximal revolute joint J1 that rotates about a first joint axis so as to revolve the manipulator arm distal of the joint about the joint axis.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the joint J1 is a form of cyclone joint.); and
a processor, in connection with the cyclone joint and the adjustment arm (Houtash: Column 17 lines 33-47, “In some embodiments, the joint movements of the manipulator are controlled by driving one or more joints by a con troller using motors of the system, the joints being driven according to coordinated and joint movements calculated by a processor of the controller. Mathematically, the controller may perform at least some of the calculations of the joint commands using vectors and/or matrices, some of which may have elements corresponding to configurations or velocities of the joints. The range of alternative joint configurations available to the processor may be conceptualized as a joint space. The joint space may, for example, have as many dimensions as the manipulator has degrees of freedom, and a particular configuration of the manipulator may represent a particular point in the joint space, with each coordinate corresponding to a joint state of an associated joint of the manipulator.”);
wherein the processor is configured to execute the method according to claim 1 (Houtash: Houtash: Column 4 lines 8-21, Column 4 line 55 – Column 5 line 9, Column 6 lines 1-9, Column 10 lines 40-62, Column 12 lines 33-47, Column 16 line 54 – Column 17 line 3, Column 17 line 48 – Column 18 line 12, Column 18 lines 16-23, Column 18 lines 24-33, Column 18 lines 40-59, Column 18 line 66 – Column 19 line 17, Column 21 lines 49-65, Balter: Column 10 lines 1-7, Column 10 lines 8-20, Column 10 lines 21-29, Column 11 lines 28-39, Column 11 lines 40-53. The cited passages clearly describe the method of claim 1.).
Houtash in view of Balter does not teach a robotic arm, in connection with an orientation platform.
Cooper teaches a robotic arm, in connection with an orientation platform (Cooper: Figure 5A orienting platform 36, Column 8 lines 41-57, “Referring now to FIGS. 5A and 5B, perspective views from above of an exemplary modular manipulator support assembly 30 constructed in accordance with the principles of the present invention are illustrated. The modular manipulator support 30 aligns and supports robotic manipulators, such as patient side manipulators 32 or endoscope camera manipulators 34, with a set of desired surgical incision sites in a patient's body. The modular manipulator support assembly 30 generally includes an orienting platform 36 and a plurality of configurable set-up joint arms 38, 40, 42, 44 coupleable to the orienting platform 36. Each arm 38, 40, 42, 44 is movably supporting an associated manipulator 32, 34 which in turn movably supports an associated instrument. It will be appreciated that the above depictions are for illustrative purposes only and do not necessarily reflect the actual shape, size, or dimensions of the modular manipulator support assembly 30. This applies to all depictions hereinafter.”).
Houtash in view of Balter teaches a robotic arm, the robotic arm comprising: an adjustment arm, in connection with the orientation platform, the adjustment arm comprising a plurality of joints; a cyclone joint, in connection with the adjustment arm, with an axis passing through the cyclone joint being defined as a cyclone axis; and a processor, in connection with the cyclone joint and the adjustment arm; wherein the processor is configured to execute the method according to claim 1. Houtash in view of Balter teaches a robotic arm, in connection with an orientation platform. Cooper teaches a robotic arm, in connection with an orientation platform. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified Houtash in view of Balter with a robotic arm, in connection with an orientation platform taught in Cooper. Furthermore, the robot taught in Houtash in view of Balter is mounted to a cart. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to mount the robot art to a orientation platform as taught in Cooper according to known methods. Additionally, mounting the robot to a different mechanism would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a robotic arm, the robotic arm comprising: a robotic arm, in connection with an orientation platform.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the robot taught in Houtash in view of Balter with a robotic arm, in connection with an orientation platform taught in Cooper with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper teaches a slave operating device, comprising an orientation platform (Cooper: Figure 5A orienting platform 36, Column 8 lines 41-57, “Referring now to FIGS. 5A and 5B, perspective views from above of an exemplary modular manipulator support assembly 30 constructed in accordance with the principles of the present invention are illustrated. The modular manipulator support 30 aligns and supports robotic manipulators, such as patient side manipulators 32 or endoscope camera manipulators 34, with a set of desired surgical incision sites in a patient's body. The modular manipulator support assembly 30 generally includes an orienting platform 36 and a plurality of configurable set-up joint arms 38, 40, 42, 44 coupleable to the orienting platform 36. Each arm 38, 40, 42, 44 is movably supporting an associated manipulator 32, 34 which in turn movably supports an associated instrument. It will be appreciated that the above depictions are for illustrative purposes only and do not necessarily reflect the actual shape, size, or dimensions of the modular manipulator support assembly 30. This applies to all depictions hereinafter.”),
wherein the slave operating device comprises the robotic arm according to claim 12, and the robotic arm is in connection with the orientation platform (Houtash: Column 11 lines 5-33, “Referring now to the drawings, in which like reference numerals represent like parts throughout the several views, FIG. 1A is an overhead view illustration of a Minimally Invasive Robotic Surgical (MIRS) system 10, in accordance with many embodiments, for use in performing a minimally invasive diagnostic or surgical procedure on a Patient 12 who is lying down on an Operating table 14. The system can include a Surgeon's Console 16 for use by a surgeon 18 during the procedure. One or more Assistants 20 may also participate in the procedure. The MIRS system 10 can further include a Patient Side Cart 22 (surgical robot) and an Electronics Cart 24. The Patient Side Cart 22 can manipulate at least one removably coupled tool assembly 26 (hereinafter simply referred to as a "tool") through a minimally invasive incision in the body of the Patient 12 while the surgeon 18 views the surgical site through the Console 16. An image of the surgical site can be obtained by an endoscope 28, such as a stereoscopic endoscope, which can be manipulated by the Patient Side Cart 22 so as to orient the endoscope 28. The Electronics Cart 24 can be used to process the images of the surgical site for subsequent display to the surgeon 18 through the Surgeon's Console 16. The number of surgical tools 26 used at one time will generally depend on the diagnostic or surgical procedure and the space constraints within the operating room among other factors. If it is necessary to change one or more of the tools 26 being used during a procedure, an Assistant 20 may remove the tool 26 from the Patient Side Cart 22, and replace it with another tool 26 from a tray 30 in the operating room.”, Column 17 lines 54-60, “FIG. 1B diagranimatically illustrates a robotic surgery system 50 (such as MIRS system 10 of FIG. 1A). As discussed above, a Surgeon's Console 52 (such as Surgeon's Console 16 in FIG. 1A) can be used by a surgeon to control a Patient Side Cart (Surgical Robot) 54 (such as Patent Side Cart 22 in FIG. 1A) during a minimally invasive procedure. The Patient Side Cart 54 can use an imaging device, such as a stereoscopic endoscope, to capture images of the procedure site and output the captured images to an Electronics Cart 56 (such as the Electronics Cart 24 in FIG. 1A). As discussed above, the Electronics Cart 56 can process the captured images in a variety of ways prior to any subsequent display. For example, the Electronics Cart 56 can overlay the captured images with a virtual control interface prior to displaying the combined images to the surgeon via the Surgeon's Console 52. The Patient Side Cart 54 can output the captured images for processing outside the Electronics Cart 56. For example, the Patient Side Cart 54 can output the captured images to a processor 58, which can be used to process the captured images. The images can also be processed by a combination of the Electronics Cart 56 and the processor 58, which can be coupled together so as to process the captured images jointly, sequentially, and/or in combinations thereof. One or more separate displays 60 can also be coupled with the processor 58 and/or the Electronics Cart 56 for local and/or remote display of images, such as images of the procedure site, or other related images.”. The surgery robot clearly comprises a slave device.).
Claim(s) 11, 17-18, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9107683 B2 ("Houtash") in view of US 12329471 B2 ("Balter") in further view of US 8834489 B2 ("Cooper") in further view of CN 109895101 A ("Ma").
Regarding claim 11, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper does not teach wherein a position θ1 of the first rotary joint is a constant, and target positions (θ2, θ3, θ4) of the first linear joint, the second rotary joint, and the first linear joint are obtained according to the following compensation solution model:
Px = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi)
Py = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi)
Pz = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi)
Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a position θ1 of the first rotary joint is a constant, and target positions (θ2, θ3, θ4) of the first linear joint, the second rotary joint, and the first linear joint are obtained according to the following compensation solution model:
Px = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi)
Py = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi)
Pz = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi) (Ma: Equation 1, Equation 2, Equation 3, and Equation 4, “The articulated robotic arm consists of a base A, an end effector G, five links B, C, D, E, and F, and six rotary joints 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. A coordinate system for each joint of the robotic arm is established based on an improved DH parameter method. The coordinate system includes: a base coordinate system O0, coordinate systems O1~O6 corresponding to the six rotary joints of the robotic arm, and the coordinate system O6 for the end effector. Specifically, the zi axis of joint i is collinear with the axis of joint i, while the xi< axis lies on the common normal to the axes of joint i and i+1, pointing from i to i+1. When two joint axes intersect, the x_ The direction of NER29_ is coaxial, in the same direction, or in opposite directions with the cross product of the two vectors zi-1×zi. The direction of xi-1 is always along the common normal from axis i-1 to axis i. When the two axes xi-1 and xi are parallel and in the same direction, θ<sub>i</sub> of the i-th rotation joint is zero. The yi axis is determined by the right-hand rectangular coordinate system rule, where i = 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. The initial position of the first joint coordinate system is set on the base of the robot arm and coincides with the base coordinate system {O0:x0,y0,z0}, and the base coordinate system remains unchanged.”, ¶ 0011, “Step 2: Establish the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints.”, ¶ 0012, “Based on four structural geometric parameters between adjacent joints of the robotic arm: link angle θi, link twist angle αi, link length ai, and link distance di, calculate the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix i-1Ti, i=1,2,...6 of the adjacent coordinate systems. The definitions of each geometric parameter are as follows: the link twist angle θi between adjacent joints i and i+1 is the angle between the xi and xi-1 axes, around the zi axis from the xi-1 axis to the xi axis, positive when conforming to the right-hand rule; for rotating joints, θi is a variable; the link twist angle αi is the angle between the zi and zi+1 axes, around the xi axis. The 7-axis runs from the z_NER58-axis to the z_NER59-axis. It is positive when it conforms to the right-hand rule. When the two joint axes are parallel, αi = 0. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, αi = -90° or 90°. The link length ai is the length of the common perpendicular of the z_NER63-axis and the z_NER64-axis, measured along the x_NER65-axis. When the two joint axes are parallel, ai = li. li is the length of the link. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, ai = 0. The link distance di between adjacent joints is the distance between the x_NER71-axis and the x_NER72-axis, measured on the z_NER73-axis. For rotary joints, di is a constant.”, ¶ 0017, “The homogeneous transformation matrices i-1Ti of the adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints are obtained by right multiplying them sequentially:”, ¶ 0019, “Among them, the matrices on the right side of the equation: 0T1, 1T2, 2T3, 3T4, 4T5, and 5T6 are the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrices of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and final coordinate systems relative to the previous coordinate system, respectively.”, ¶ 0020, “The matrix 0T6 on the left side of the equation is the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of the terminal coordinate system O6 relative to the base coordinate system O0; where nx, ny, nz are the cosine values of the angles between the x6 axis of the terminal coordinate system {O6:x6,y6,z6} and the x0,y0,z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ox, oy, oz represents the cosine of the angle between the y6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ax, ay, az represent the cosine of the angle between the z6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; px, py, pz represent the Cartesian coordinates of the origin O6 of the terminal coordinate system in the base coordinate system.”, ¶ 0024, “Combining formulas (2) and (3), we obtain the relationship between the joint rotation angles θi (i=1,2,3,4,5,6), the RPY rotation angles rx, ry, rz, and the translation distances px, py, pz:”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the compensation solution model is an obvious variation of Equation 4 (i.e. the compensation solution model has two less joints).).
Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper teaches a method for keeping a position of a remote center of manipulation (RC point) of a surgical robot constant in a reference coordinate system (Fo). Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper does not teaches wherein a position θ1 of the first rotary joint is a constant, and target positions (θ2, θ3, θ4) of the first linear joint, the second rotary joint, and the first linear joint are obtained according to the following compensation solution model: Px = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi) Py = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi) Pz = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi). Ma teaches wherein a position θ1 of the first rotary joint is a constant, and target positions (θ2, θ3, θ4) of the first linear joint, the second rotary joint, and the first linear joint are obtained according to the following compensation solution model: Px = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi) Py = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi) Pz = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper with wherein a position θ1 of the first rotary joint is a constant, and target positions (θ2, θ3, θ4) of the first linear joint, the second rotary joint, and the first linear joint are obtained according to the following compensation solution model: Px = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi) Py = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi) Pz = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi) taught in Ma. Furthermore, the method taught in Houtash in view of Balter in view of Cooper teaches performing forward kinematics of the system and includes the remote center of motion in said forward kinematics, but does not specify what method of solving for the forward kinematics is used (Houtash: Figure 16A, Column 21 lines 49-65, “According to the method of FIG. 16A, the system: calculates the forward kinematics of the manipulator arm; then calculates dx/dt using Equation (1), calculates dqprep/dt using Equation (5), then calculates dqnul;/dt from z which may depend on dqprep/dt and the Jacobian using Equation (6). From the calculated dqprep/dt and dqnull/ dt the system then calculates dq/dt and q using Equations ( 4) and (3), respectively, thereby providing the movement by which the controller can effect the desired reconfiguration of the manipulator while maintaining the desired state of the end effector (and/or location of the remote center).”). As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper to use the DH parameter method using transformation matrices to derive the forward kinematics as taught in Ma which results in the claimed compensation solution model. The DH parameter method is a commonly used method of deriving transformation matrices for use in forward kinematics and would have been well within the technological capabilities of one of ordinary before the effective filling date of the claimed invention. Such a combination would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a method for keeping a position of a remote center of manipulation (RC point) of a surgical robot constant in a reference coordinate system (Fo), the surgical robot comprising: wherein a position θ1 of the first rotary joint is a constant, and target positions (θ2, θ3, θ4) of the first linear joint, the second rotary joint, and the first linear joint are obtained according to the following compensation solution model: Px = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi) Py = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi) Pz = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper with wherein a position θ1 of the first rotary joint is a constant, and target positions (θ2, θ3, θ4) of the first linear joint, the second rotary joint, and the first linear joint are obtained according to the following compensation solution model: Px = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi) Py = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi) Pz = f1(θ1, θ2, … , θi)taught in Ma with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper teaches wherein the step of calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm according to the angle adjustment performed by the cyclone joint comprises: obtaining the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo) (Houtash: Column 18 lines 40-59, “The pseudo-inverse of the Jacobian (J) directly maps the desired tool tip motion ( and, in some cases, a remote center of pivotal tool motion) into the joint velocity space. If the manipulator being used has more useful joint axes than tool tip degrees of freedom (up to six), (and when a remote center of tool motion is in use, the manipulator should have an additional three joint axes for the three degrees of freedom associated with location of the remote center), then the manipulator is said to be redundant. A redundant manipulator's Jacobian includes a "null-space" having a dimension of at least one. In this context, the "null-space" of the Jacobian (N(J)) is the space of joint velocities which instantaneously achieves no tool tip motion ( and when a remote center is used, no movement of the pivotal point location); and "null-motion" is the combination, trajectory or path of joint positions which also produces no instantaneous movement of the tool tip and/or location of the remote center.”. The cited passage clearly shows that, when a remote center of motion is in use, it’s position and orientation are acquired in order to derive the necessary equations of motion.)
obtaining an angle value of the cyclone joint (Balter: Column 11 lines 28-39, “The computer 41 includes a plurality of controllers, namely, a main cart controller 41a, a setup arm controller 41b, a robotic arm controller 41c, and an instrument drive unit (IDU) controller 41d. The main cart controller 41a receives and processes joint commands from the controller 21a of the computer 21 and communicates them to the setup arm controller 41b, the robotic arm controller 41c, and the IDU controller 41d. The main cart controller 41a also manages instrument exchanges and the overall state of the movable cart 60, the robotic arm 40, and the IDU 52. The main cart controller 41a also communicates actual joint angles back to the controller 21a.”. The cited passage clearly shows that the system acquires the current joint values of each joint.);
Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper does not teach calculating a constant transformation (Toa) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to an adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa);
obtaining an angle value of the cyclone joint;
calculating a first transformation (Tbc) from a cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to an RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint;
calculating a second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) based on the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo), the constant transformation (Toa), and the first transformation (Tbc); and
calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm based on the second transformation (Tab).
Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches calculating a constant transformation (Toa) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to an adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) (Ma: Equation 1, “The articulated robotic arm consists of a base A, an end effector G, five links B, C, D, E, and F, and six rotary joints 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. A coordinate system for each joint of the robotic arm is established based on an improved DH parameter method. The coordinate system includes: a base coordinate system O0, coordinate systems O1~O6 corresponding to the six rotary joints of the robotic arm, and the coordinate system O6 for the end effector. Specifically, the zi axis of joint i is collinear with the axis of joint i, while the xi< axis lies on the common normal to the axes of joint i and i+1, pointing from i to i+1. When two joint axes intersect, the x_ The direction of NER29_ is coaxial, in the same direction, or in opposite directions with the cross product of the two vectors zi-1×zi. The direction of xi-1 is always along the common normal from axis i-1 to axis i. When the two axes xi-1 and xi are parallel and in the same direction, θ<sub>i</sub> of the i-th rotation joint is zero. The yi axis is determined by the right-hand rectangular coordinate system rule, where i = 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. The initial position of the first joint coordinate system is set on the base of the robot arm and coincides with the base coordinate system {O0:x0,y0,z0}, and the base coordinate system remains unchanged.”, ¶ 0011, “Step 2: Establish the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints.”, ¶ 0012, “Based on four structural geometric parameters between adjacent joints of the robotic arm: link angle θi, link twist angle αi, link length ai, and link distance di, calculate the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix i-1Ti, i=1,2,...6 of the adjacent coordinate systems. The definitions of each geometric parameter are as follows: the link twist angle θi between adjacent joints i and i+1 is the angle between the xi and xi-1 axes, around the zi axis from the xi-1 axis to the xi axis, positive when conforming to the right-hand rule; for rotating joints, θi is a variable; the link twist angle αi is the angle between the zi and zi+1 axes, around the xi axis. The 7-axis runs from the z_NER58-axis to the z_NER59-axis. It is positive when it conforms to the right-hand rule. When the two joint axes are parallel, αi = 0. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, αi = -90° or 90°. The link length ai is the length of the common perpendicular of the z_NER63-axis and the z_NER64-axis, measured along the x_NER65-axis. When the two joint axes are parallel, ai = li. li is the length of the link. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, ai = 0. The link distance di between adjacent joints is the distance between the x_NER71-axis and the x_NER72-axis, measured on the z_NER73-axis. For rotary joints, di is a constant.”. The cited passages describe a the process of using the DH parameter method to define the transformation matrices from coordinate system to coordinate system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to use the cited method and Equation 1 to define a transformation matrix from a reference frame to a robot frame.);
calculating a first transformation (Tbc) from a cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to an RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint (Ma: Equation 1, “The articulated robotic arm consists of a base A, an end effector G, five links B, C, D, E, and F, and six rotary joints 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. A coordinate system for each joint of the robotic arm is established based on an improved DH parameter method. The coordinate system includes: a base coordinate system O0, coordinate systems O1~O6 corresponding to the six rotary joints of the robotic arm, and the coordinate system O6 for the end effector. Specifically, the zi axis of joint i is collinear with the axis of joint i, while the xi< axis lies on the common normal to the axes of joint i and i+1, pointing from i to i+1. When two joint axes intersect, the x_ The direction of NER29_ is coaxial, in the same direction, or in opposite directions with the cross product of the two vectors zi-1×zi. The direction of xi-1 is always along the common normal from axis i-1 to axis i. When the two axes xi-1 and xi are parallel and in the same direction, θ<sub>i</sub> of the i-th rotation joint is zero. The yi axis is determined by the right-hand rectangular coordinate system rule, where i = 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. The initial position of the first joint coordinate system is set on the base of the robot arm and coincides with the base coordinate system {O0:x0,y0,z0}, and the base coordinate system remains unchanged.”, ¶ 0011, “Step 2: Establish the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints.”, ¶ 0012, “Based on four structural geometric parameters between adjacent joints of the robotic arm: link angle θi, link twist angle αi, link length ai, and link distance di, calculate the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix i-1Ti, i=1,2,...6 of the adjacent coordinate systems. The definitions of each geometric parameter are as follows: the link twist angle θi between adjacent joints i and i+1 is the angle between the xi and xi-1 axes, around the zi axis from the xi-1 axis to the xi axis, positive when conforming to the right-hand rule; for rotating joints, θi is a variable; the link twist angle αi is the angle between the zi and zi+1 axes, around the xi axis. The 7-axis runs from the z_NER58-axis to the z_NER59-axis. It is positive when it conforms to the right-hand rule. When the two joint axes are parallel, αi = 0. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, αi = -90° or 90°. The link length ai is the length of the common perpendicular of the z_NER63-axis and the z_NER64-axis, measured along the x_NER65-axis. When the two joint axes are parallel, ai = li. li is the length of the link. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, ai = 0. The link distance di between adjacent joints is the distance between the x_NER71-axis and the x_NER72-axis, measured on the z_NER73-axis. For rotary joints, di is a constant.”. The cited passages describe a the process of using the DH parameter method to define the transformation matrices from coordinate system to coordinate system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to use the cited method and Equation 1 to define a transformation matrix from a reference frame to a robot frame.);
calculating a second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) based on the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo), the constant transformation (Toa), and the first transformation (Tbc) (Ma: Equation 1, Equation 2, “The articulated robotic arm consists of a base A, an end effector G, five links B, C, D, E, and F, and six rotary joints 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. A coordinate system for each joint of the robotic arm is established based on an improved DH parameter method. The coordinate system includes: a base coordinate system O0, coordinate systems O1~O6 corresponding to the six rotary joints of the robotic arm, and the coordinate system O6 for the end effector. Specifically, the zi axis of joint i is collinear with the axis of joint i, while the xi< axis lies on the common normal to the axes of joint i and i+1, pointing from i to i+1. When two joint axes intersect, the x_ The direction of NER29_ is coaxial, in the same direction, or in opposite directions with the cross product of the two vectors zi-1×zi. The direction of xi-1 is always along the common normal from axis i-1 to axis i. When the two axes xi-1 and xi are parallel and in the same direction, θ<sub>i</sub> of the i-th rotation joint is zero. The yi axis is determined by the right-hand rectangular coordinate system rule, where i = 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. The initial position of the first joint coordinate system is set on the base of the robot arm and coincides with the base coordinate system {O0:x0,y0,z0}, and the base coordinate system remains unchanged.”, ¶ 0011, “Step 2: Establish the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints.”, ¶ 0012, “Based on four structural geometric parameters between adjacent joints of the robotic arm: link angle θi, link twist angle αi, link length ai, and link distance di, calculate the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix i-1Ti, i=1,2,...6 of the adjacent coordinate systems. The definitions of each geometric parameter are as follows: the link twist angle θi between adjacent joints i and i+1 is the angle between the xi and xi-1 axes, around the zi axis from the xi-1 axis to the xi axis, positive when conforming to the right-hand rule; for rotating joints, θi is a variable; the link twist angle αi is the angle between the zi and zi+1 axes, around the xi axis. The 7-axis runs from the z_NER58-axis to the z_NER59-axis. It is positive when it conforms to the right-hand rule. When the two joint axes are parallel, αi = 0. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, αi = -90° or 90°. The link length ai is the length of the common perpendicular of the z_NER63-axis and the z_NER64-axis, measured along the x_NER65-axis. When the two joint axes are parallel, ai = li. li is the length of the link. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, ai = 0. The link distance di between adjacent joints is the distance between the x_NER71-axis and the x_NER72-axis, measured on the z_NER73-axis. For rotary joints, di is a constant.”, ¶ 0017, “The homogeneous transformation matrices i-1Ti of the adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints are obtained by right multiplying them sequentially:”, ¶ 0019, “Among them, the matrices on the right side of the equation: 0T1, 1T2, 2T3, 3T4, 4T5, and 5T6 are the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrices of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and final coordinate systems relative to the previous coordinate system, respectively.”, ¶ 0020, “The matrix 0T6 on the left side of the equation is the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of the terminal coordinate system O6 relative to the base coordinate system O0; where nx, ny, nz are the cosine values of the angles between the x6 axis of the terminal coordinate system {O6:x6,y6,z6} and the x0,y0,z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ox, oy, oz represents the cosine of the angle between the y6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ax, ay, az represent the cosine of the angle between the z6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; px, py, pz represent the Cartesian coordinates of the origin O6 of the terminal coordinate system in the base coordinate system.”. The cited passages clearly teach determining the transformation matrix from one coordinate system to another based on other transformation matrices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to use the cited method and equation 2 to determine the transformation matrix between two coordinate systems based on other transformation matrices.); and
calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm based on the second transformation (Tab) (Ma: Equation 3, ¶ 0020, “The matrix 0T6 on the left side of the equation is the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of the terminal coordinate system O6 relative to the base coordinate system O0; where nx, ny, nz are the cosine values of the angles between the x6 axis of the terminal coordinate system {O6:x6,y6,z6} and the x0,y0,z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ox, oy, oz represents the cosine of the angle between the y6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ax, ay, az represent the cosine of the angle between the z6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0< axes of the base coordinate system; px, py, pz represent the Cartesian coordinates of the origin O6 of the terminal coordinate system in the base coordinate system.”. The cited passage and equation 3 clearly shows that the transformation matrices can be used to determine the position of each joint.).
Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper teaches of calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm according to the angle adjustment performed by the cyclone joint comprises: obtaining the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo) obtaining an angle value of the cyclone joint. Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper does not teach calculating constant transformation (Toa) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to an adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa); calculating a first transformation (Tbc) from a cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to an RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint; calculating a second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) based on the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo), the constant transformation (Toa), and the first transformation (Tbc); and calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm based on the second transformation (Tab). Ma teaches calculating constant transformation (Toa) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to an adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa); calculating a first transformation (Tbc) from a cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to an RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint; calculating a second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) based on the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo), the constant transformation (Toa), and the first transformation (Tbc); and calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm based on the second transformation (Tab). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper with calculating constant transformation (Toa) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to an adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa); calculating a first transformation (Tbc) from a cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to an RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint; calculating a second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) based on the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo), the constant transformation (Toa), and the first transformation (Tbc); and calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm based on the second transformation (Tab) taught in Ma. Furthermore, the method taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper teaches performing forward kinematics of the system and includes the remote center of motion in said forward kinematics, but does not specify what method of solving for the forward kinematics is used (Houtash: Figure 16A, Column 21 lines 49-65, “According to the method of FIG. 16A, the system: calculates the forward kinematics of the manipulator arm; then calculates dx/dt using Equation (1), calculates dqprep/dt using Equation (5), then calculates dqnul;/dt from z which may depend on dqprep/dt and the Jacobian using Equation (6). From the calculated dqprep/dt and dqnull/ dt the system then calculates dq/dt and q using Equations ( 4) and (3), respectively, thereby providing the movement by which the controller can effect the desired reconfiguration of the manipulator while maintaining the desired state of the end effector (and/or location of the remote center).”). As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper to use the DH parameter method using transformation matrices to derive the forward kinematics as taught in Ma. The DH parameter method is a commonly used method of deriving transformation matrices for use in forward kinematics and would have been well within the technological capabilities of one of ordinary before the effective filling date of the claimed invention. Such a combination would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a method for keeping a position of a remote center of manipulation (RC point) of a surgical robot constant in a reference coordinate system (Fo), the surgical robot comprising: calculating constant transformation (Toa) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to an adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa); calculating a first transformation (Tbc) from a cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to an RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint; calculating a second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) based on the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo), the constant transformation (Toa), and the first transformation (Tbc); and calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm based on the second transformation (Tab).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper with calculating constant transformation (Toa) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to an adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa); calculating a first transformation (Tbc) from a cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to an RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint; calculating a second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) based on the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo), the constant transformation (Toa), and the first transformation (Tbc); and calculating the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm based on the second transformation (Tab) taught in Ma with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 18, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper in further view of Ma teaches wherein the step of obtaining the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo) comprises: obtaining a third transformation (Toe) from the reference coordinate system (Fo) to the RC point coordinate system (Fe) through a kinematic calculation (Ma: Equation 1, Equation 2, “The articulated robotic arm consists of a base A, an end effector G, five links B, C, D, E, and F, and six rotary joints 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. A coordinate system for each joint of the robotic arm is established based on an improved DH parameter method. The coordinate system includes: a base coordinate system O0, coordinate systems O1~O6 corresponding to the six rotary joints of the robotic arm, and the coordinate system O6 for the end effector. Specifically, the zi axis of joint i is collinear with the axis of joint i, while the xi< axis lies on the common normal to the axes of joint i and i+1, pointing from i to i+1. When two joint axes intersect, the x_ The direction of NER29_ is coaxial, in the same direction, or in opposite directions with the cross product of the two vectors zi-1×zi. The direction of xi-1 is always along the common normal from axis i-1 to axis i. When the two axes xi-1 and xi are parallel and in the same direction, θ<sub>i</sub> of the i-th rotation joint is zero. The yi axis is determined by the right-hand rectangular coordinate system rule, where i = 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. The initial position of the first joint coordinate system is set on the base of the robot arm and coincides with the base coordinate system {O0:x0,y0,z0}, and the base coordinate system remains unchanged.”, ¶ 0011, “Step 2: Establish the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints.”, ¶ 0012, “Based on four structural geometric parameters between adjacent joints of the robotic arm: link angle θi, link twist angle αi, link length ai, and link distance di, calculate the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix i-1Ti, i=1,2,...6 of the adjacent coordinate systems. The definitions of each geometric parameter are as follows: the link twist angle θi between adjacent joints i and i+1 is the angle between the xi and xi-1 axes, around the zi axis from the xi-1 axis to the xi axis, positive when conforming to the right-hand rule; for rotating joints, θi is a variable; the link twist angle αi is the angle between the zi and zi+1 axes, around the xi axis. The 7-axis runs from the z_NER58-axis to the z_NER59-axis. It is positive when it conforms to the right-hand rule. When the two joint axes are parallel, αi = 0. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, αi = -90° or 90°. The link length ai is the length of the common perpendicular of the z_NER63-axis and the z_NER64-axis, measured along the x_NER65-axis. When the two joint axes are parallel, ai = li. li is the length of the link. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, ai = 0. The link distance di between adjacent joints is the distance between the x_NER71-axis and the x_NER72-axis, measured on the z_NER73-axis. For rotary joints, di is a constant.”, ¶ 0017, “The homogeneous transformation matrices i-1Ti of the adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints are obtained by right multiplying them sequentially:”, ¶ 0019, “Among them, the matrices on the right side of the equation: 0T1, 1T2, 2T3, 3T4, 4T5, and 5T6 are the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrices of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and final coordinate systems relative to the previous coordinate system, respectively.”, ¶ 0020, “The matrix 0T6 on the left side of the equation is the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of the terminal coordinate system O6 relative to the base coordinate system O0; where nx, ny, nz are the cosine values of the angles between the x6 axis of the terminal coordinate system {O6:x6,y6,z6} and the x0,y0,z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ox, oy, oz represents the cosine of the angle between the y6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ax, ay, az represent the cosine of the angle between the z6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0< axes of the base coordinate system; px, py, pz represent the Cartesian coordinates of the origin O6 of the terminal coordinate system in the base coordinate system.” Houtash: Figure 16A, Column 21 lines 49-65, “According to the method of FIG. 16A, the system: calculates the forward kinematics of the manipulator arm; then calculates dx/dt using Equation (1), calculates dqprep/dt using Equation (5), then calculates dqnul;/dt from z which may depend on dqprep/dt and the Jacobian using Equation (6). From the calculated dqprep/dt and dqnull/ dt the system then calculates dq/dt and q using Equations ( 4) and (3), respectively, thereby providing the movement by which the controller can effect the desired reconfiguration of the manipulator while maintaining the desired state of the end effector (and/or location of the remote center).”. The cited passages clearly teach determining the transformation matrix from one coordinate system to another based on other transformation matrices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to use the cited method and equations 1 and 2 to determine the transformation matrix between a robot frame and a reference frame. Additioanlly Houtash already teaches performing forward kinematics with respect to a remote center of motion.); and
acquiring the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo) according to the third transformation (Toe) (Ma: Equation 3, ¶ 0020, “The matrix 0T6 on the left side of the equation is the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of the terminal coordinate system O6 relative to the base coordinate system O0; where nx, ny, nz are the cosine values of the angles between the x6 axis of the terminal coordinate system {O6:x6,y6,z6} and the x0,y0,z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ox, oy, oz represents the cosine of the angle between the y6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ax, ay, az represent the cosine of the angle between the z6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0< axes of the base coordinate system; px, py, pz represent the Cartesian coordinates of the origin O6 of the terminal coordinate system in the base coordinate system.”, Houtash: Figure 16A, Column 21 lines 49-65, “According to the method of FIG. 16A, the system: calculates the forward kinematics of the manipulator arm; then calculates dx/dt using Equation (1), calculates dqprep/dt using Equation (5), then calculates dqnul;/dt from z which may depend on dqprep/dt and the Jacobian using Equation (6). From the calculated dqprep/dt and dqnull/ dt the system then calculates dq/dt and q using Equations ( 4) and (3), respectively, thereby providing the movement by which the controller can effect the desired reconfiguration of the manipulator while maintaining the desired state of the end effector (and/or location of the remote center).”. The cited passage and equation 3 clearly shows that the transformation matrices can be used to determine the position of each joint. Additionally, Houtash teaches performing forward kinematics with respect to a remote center of motion.).
Regarding claim 20, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper in further view of Ma teaches wherein the step of calculating the first transformation (Tbe) from the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to the RC point coordinate system (Fe) comprises: determining the first transformation (Tbe) from the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) to the RC point coordinate system (Fe) based on the angle value of the cyclone joint (Ma: Equation 1, Equation 2, “The articulated robotic arm consists of a base A, an end effector G, five links B, C, D, E, and F, and six rotary joints 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. A coordinate system for each joint of the robotic arm is established based on an improved DH parameter method. The coordinate system includes: a base coordinate system O0, coordinate systems O1~O6 corresponding to the six rotary joints of the robotic arm, and the coordinate system O6 for the end effector. Specifically, the zi axis of joint i is collinear with the axis of joint i, while the xi< axis lies on the common normal to the axes of joint i and i+1, pointing from i to i+1. When two joint axes intersect, the x_ The direction of NER29_ is coaxial, in the same direction, or in opposite directions with the cross product of the two vectors zi-1×zi. The direction of xi-1 is always along the common normal from axis i-1 to axis i. When the two axes xi-1 and xi are parallel and in the same direction, θ<sub>i</sub> of the i-th rotation joint is zero. The yi axis is determined by the right-hand rectangular coordinate system rule, where i = 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. The initial position of the first joint coordinate system is set on the base of the robot arm and coincides with the base coordinate system {O0:x0,y0,z0}, and the base coordinate system remains unchanged.”, ¶ 0011, “Step 2: Establish the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints.”, ¶ 0012, “Based on four structural geometric parameters between adjacent joints of the robotic arm: link angle θi, link twist angle αi, link length ai, and link distance di, calculate the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix i-1Ti, i=1,2,...6 of the adjacent coordinate systems. The definitions of each geometric parameter are as follows: the link twist angle θi between adjacent joints i and i+1 is the angle between the xi and xi-1 axes, around the zi axis from the xi-1 axis to the xi axis, positive when conforming to the right-hand rule; for rotating joints, θi is a variable; the link twist angle αi is the angle between the zi and zi+1 axes, around the xi axis. The 7-axis runs from the z_NER58-axis to the z_NER59-axis. It is positive when it conforms to the right-hand rule. When the two joint axes are parallel, αi = 0. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, αi = -90° or 90°. The link length ai is the length of the common perpendicular of the z_NER63-axis and the z_NER64-axis, measured along the x_NER65-axis. When the two joint axes are parallel, ai = li. li is the length of the link. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, ai = 0. The link distance di between adjacent joints is the distance between the x_NER71-axis and the x_NER72-axis, measured on the z_NER73-axis. For rotary joints, di is a constant.”, ¶ 0017, “The homogeneous transformation matrices i-1Ti of the adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints are obtained by right multiplying them sequentially:”, ¶ 0019, “Among them, the matrices on the right side of the equation: 0T1, 1T2, 2T3, 3T4, 4T5, and 5T6 are the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrices of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and final coordinate systems relative to the previous coordinate system, respectively.”, ¶ 0020, “The matrix 0T6 on the left side of the equation is the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of the terminal coordinate system O6 relative to the base coordinate system O0; where nx, ny, nz are the cosine values of the angles between the x6 axis of the terminal coordinate system {O6:x6,y6,z6} and the x0,y0,z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ox, oy, oz represents the cosine of the angle between the y6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ax, ay, az represent the cosine of the angle between the z6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0< axes of the base coordinate system; px, py, pz represent the Cartesian coordinates of the origin O6 of the terminal coordinate system in the base coordinate system.”, Houtash: Figure 16A, Column 21 lines 49-65, “According to the method of FIG. 16A, the system: calculates the forward kinematics of the manipulator arm; then calculates dx/dt using Equation (1), calculates dqprep/dt using Equation (5), then calculates dqnul;/dt from z which may depend on dqprep/dt and the Jacobian using Equation (6). From the calculated dqprep/dt and dqnull/ dt the system then calculates dq/dt and q using Equations ( 4) and (3), respectively, thereby providing the movement by which the controller can effect the desired reconfiguration of the manipulator while maintaining the desired state of the end effector (and/or location of the remote center).”. The cited passages clearly teach determining the transformation matrix from one coordinate system to another based on other transformation matrices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to use the cited method and equations 1 and 2 to determine the transformation matrix between a robot frame and a reference frame. Additionally, Houtash teaches performing forward kinematics with respect to a remote center of motion.).
Regarding claim 21, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper in further view of Ma teaches wherein the step of calculating the second transformation (Tab) from the adjustment arm coordinate system (Fa) to the cyclone joint coordinate system (Fb) comprises: constructing a calculation model for the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo) based on a coordinate transformation relationship (Ma: Equation 2, Equation 3, ¶ 0020, “The matrix 0T6 on the left side of the equation is the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of the terminal coordinate system O6 relative to the base coordinate system O0; where nx, ny, nz are the cosine values of the angles between the x6 axis of the terminal coordinate system {O6:x6,y6,z6} and the x0,y0,z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ox, oy, oz represents the cosine of the angle between the y6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ax, ay, az represent the cosine of the angle between the z6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0< axes of the base coordinate system; px, py, pz represent the Cartesian coordinates of the origin O6 of the terminal coordinate system in the base coordinate system.”, ¶ 0024, “Combining formulas (2) and (3), we obtain the relationship between the joint rotation angles θi (i=1,2,3,4,5,6), the RPY rotation angles rx, ry, rz, and the translation distances px, py, pz:”, Houtash: Figure 16A, Column 21 lines 49-65, “According to the method of FIG. 16A, the system: calculates the forward kinematics of the manipulator arm; then calculates dx/dt using Equation (1), calculates dqprep/dt using Equation (5), then calculates dqnul;/dt from z which may depend on dqprep/dt and the Jacobian using Equation (6). From the calculated dqprep/dt and dqnull/ dt the system then calculates dq/dt and q using Equations ( 4) and (3), respectively, thereby providing the movement by which the controller can effect the desired reconfiguration of the manipulator while maintaining the desired state of the end effector (and/or location of the remote center).”. The cited passages clearly teach determining a calculation model for a point based on the transformation relationship. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to apply the cited methods and equations to perform the operation for a point in a reference frame. Additionally, Houtash teaches performing forward kinematics with respect to a remote center of motion.); and
expanding the calculation model along an X-direction, a Y-direction, and a Z-direction to obtain three equations (Ma: Equation 4, ¶ 0024, “Combining formulas (2) and (3), we obtain the relationship between the joint rotation angles θi (i=1,2,3,4,5,6), the RPY rotation angles rx, ry, rz, and the translation distances px, py, pz:”. The cited passage and equation clearly shows that the calculation model is expanded out to show the equations describing position in the X, Y, and Z directions.);
wherein the equations comprise a multivariate linear equation system, in which the target positions of the at least three joints of the adjustment arm are used as unknown variables (Ma: Equation 4. The position equations are clearly multivariate, based on the angles of each joint, wherein these joint angles are unknown.).
Regarding claim 22, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper in further view of Ma teaches wherein the step of constructing the calculation model for the position of the RC point in the reference coordinate system (Fo) based on the coordinate transformation relationship comprises: Poe=Roa*Rab*Pbe+ Roa*Pab+ Poa,
wherein Poe represents a position component of a third transformation Toe;
Roa represents an attitude component of the constant transformation Toa;
Poa represents a position component of the constant transformation Toa;
Rab represents an attitude component of the second transformation Tab;
Pab represents a position component of the second transformation Tab;
Rbc represents an attitude component of the first transformation Tbe; and
Pbe represents a position component of the first transformation Tbe (Ma: Equation 1, Equation 2, Equation 3, and Equation 4, “The articulated robotic arm consists of a base A, an end effector G, five links B, C, D, E, and F, and six rotary joints 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. A coordinate system for each joint of the robotic arm is established based on an improved DH parameter method. The coordinate system includes: a base coordinate system O0, coordinate systems O1~O6 corresponding to the six rotary joints of the robotic arm, and the coordinate system O6 for the end effector. Specifically, the zi axis of joint i is collinear with the axis of joint i, while the xi< axis lies on the common normal to the axes of joint i and i+1, pointing from i to i+1. When two joint axes intersect, the x_ The direction of NER29_ is coaxial, in the same direction, or in opposite directions with the cross product of the two vectors zi-1×zi. The direction of xi-1 is always along the common normal from axis i-1 to axis i. When the two axes xi-1 and xi are parallel and in the same direction, θ<sub>i</sub> of the i-th rotation joint is zero. The yi axis is determined by the right-hand rectangular coordinate system rule, where i = 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. The initial position of the first joint coordinate system is set on the base of the robot arm and coincides with the base coordinate system {O0:x0,y0,z0}, and the base coordinate system remains unchanged.”, ¶ 0011, “Step 2: Establish the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints.”, ¶ 0012, “Based on four structural geometric parameters between adjacent joints of the robotic arm: link angle θi, link twist angle αi, link length ai, and link distance di, calculate the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix i-1Ti, i=1,2,...6 of the adjacent coordinate systems. The definitions of each geometric parameter are as follows: the link twist angle θi between adjacent joints i and i+1 is the angle between the xi and xi-1 axes, around the zi axis from the xi-1 axis to the xi axis, positive when conforming to the right-hand rule; for rotating joints, θi is a variable; the link twist angle αi is the angle between the zi and zi+1 axes, around the xi axis. The 7-axis runs from the z_NER58-axis to the z_NER59-axis. It is positive when it conforms to the right-hand rule. When the two joint axes are parallel, αi = 0. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, αi = -90° or 90°. The link length ai is the length of the common perpendicular of the z_NER63-axis and the z_NER64-axis, measured along the x_NER65-axis. When the two joint axes are parallel, ai = li. li is the length of the link. When the two joint axes are perpendicular, ai = 0. The link distance di between adjacent joints is the distance between the x_NER71-axis and the x_NER72-axis, measured on the z_NER73-axis. For rotary joints, di is a constant.”, ¶ 0017, “The homogeneous transformation matrices i-1Ti of the adjacent coordinate systems of the robotic arm joints are obtained by right multiplying them sequentially:”, ¶ 0019, “Among them, the matrices on the right side of the equation: 0T1, 1T2, 2T3, 3T4, 4T5, and 5T6 are the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrices of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and final coordinate systems relative to the previous coordinate system, respectively.”, ¶ 0020, “The matrix 0T6 on the left side of the equation is the homogeneous coordinate transformation matrix of the terminal coordinate system O6 relative to the base coordinate system O0; where nx, ny, nz are the cosine values of the angles between the x6 axis of the terminal coordinate system {O6:x6,y6,z6} and the x0,y0,z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ox, oy, oz represents the cosine of the angle between the y6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; ax, ay, az represent the cosine of the angle between the z6 axis of the terminal coordinate system and the x0, y0, z0 axes of the base coordinate system; px, py, pz represent the Cartesian coordinates of the origin O6 of the terminal coordinate system in the base coordinate system.”, ¶ 0024, “Combining formulas (2) and (3), we obtain the relationship between the joint rotation angles θi (i=1,2,3,4,5,6), the RPY rotation angles rx, ry, rz, and the translation distances px, py, pz:”. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the Poe equation is derived from the cited Equation 2 by multiplying the transformation matricies together and taing the first three rows of the rightmost column. Additionally, said equation is clearly an obvious variation of Equation 3, specifically the equation defined between 0T6 and the corressponding matrix. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that rotation matrix and position vector defined in the Poe equation represent the rotation and position components of each subsequent transformation matrix used to derive the total transformation as shown in Equation 2.).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9107683 B2 ("Houtash") in view of US 12329471 B2 ("Balter") in further view of US 8834489 B2 ("Cooper") in further view of CN 109895101 A ("Ma") in further view of US 10016900 B1 ("Meyer").
Regarding claim 19, Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Ma does not teach wherein the step of obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint comprises: obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint from a joint encoder; wherein the joint encoder comprises a position sensor, and the position sensor is configured to measure an angle value of a joint where the joint encoder is located.
Meyer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the step of obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint comprises: obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint from a joint encoder; wherein the joint encoder comprises a position sensor, and the position sensor is configured to measure an angle value of a joint where the joint encoder is located (Meyer: Column 17 lines 3-18, “Returning to FIG. 16, provided is a system 100 that may include a cart 105 and one or more robotic arms 110 and 120. The cart 105 may include a processor (not illustrated) and a memory (not illustrated). However, depending on the embodiment, one or more of the processor and the memory may be located on or within another device, such as on the moveable tower 30 illustrated in FIG. 1. Also shown in FIG. 16 is a patient introducer 130 which may be inserted into a patient (not illustrated) prior to a medical procedure. The patient introducer 130 may comprise an introducer tube 131 configured to guide a steerable instrument (not illustrated) into the patient for the medical procedure. The patient introducer may 130 also comprise an aligmnent member 133 configured to facilitate alignment between the patient introducer 130 and one of the robotic arms 110 and 120.”, Column 17 line 54 – Column 8 line 3, “Each of the joints 113 may further house a position sensor configured to measure the relative position of the two adjacent linkages 111. Thus, a given joint 113 may further house the position sensor, which may be configured to measure the angle between the two adjacent linkages 111. The system may be able to determine the position of each of the linkages 111 in the first robotic arm 110 based on the output of each of the position sensors. Additionally, as discussed below, the output of the position sensors may be used to determine a force applied to a reference point on the first robotic arm 110. In certain embodiments, a given position sensor may include an encoder. The encoder may be configured to measure the speed and/or position of the motor shaft by reading, for example, coded visual information printed on the motor shaft and may provide feedback to the system representative of the speed and/or position of the motor.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the robot taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper in further view of Ma with wherein the step of obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint comprises: obtaining the angle value of the cyclone joint from a joint encoder; wherein the joint encoder comprises a position sensor, and the position sensor is configured to measure an angle value of a joint where the joint encoder is located taught in Meyer with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because the combination is the simple addition of a known sensor to a system readily configurable for said sensor. The system taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper in further view of Ma teaches sending the current joint angles to the controller, but does not specify the sensors used to accomplish this. As such one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the system taught in Houtash in view of Balter in further view of Cooper in further view of Ma with the encoders taught in Meyer according to methods known in the art. Additionally, encoders are a type of sensor that is commonly used to gather angle data and would have been well within the technological knowledge of a person of ordinary skill in the art. Such a modification would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required.
Conclusion
/N.W.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658