DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites "pf" should read "of". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen et al. [US 6592381 B2] in view of Kline et al. [US 7967638 B1].
Regarding Claim 1, Cohen discloses a connector assembly (200, Fig 2) for connecting together parts to convey electrical signals in-between, the connector assembly (200) comprising: a plurality of terminal wafers (260, 270) mechanically connected together, each of the terminal wafers (260, 270) comprising: a plurality of terminals (300), each terminal including a first press-fit fastener (312); a body (263, 273) comprising plastic molded over the terminals (300), the body having first and second sides extending between first and second ends, wherein the first side comprises a plurality of sockets (holes on the inner surface of the wafer body 263, not numbered but can be seen in Fig 2 and further described in [Column 3, lines 14-24) and the second side comprises a plurality of outwardly-extending plugs (278), and wherein the first press-fit fasteners (312) project from the first end wherein the terminal wafers (260, 270) are connected together by having the plugs (278) of one or more terminal wafers (260, 270) inserted into the sockets (holes on the inner surface of the wafer body (263,273) of one or more other terminal wafers (260, 270), respectively. Cohen does not explicitly disclose a first press-fit fastener joined to a second press-fit fastener by a linearly-extending main section such that the first and second press-fit fasteners extend in opposing directions, and the second press-fit fasteners project from the second end.
However, Kline discloses a similar connector (100, Fig 1) comprising a plurality of terminal wafers (1, Fig 3) including a plurality of terminals (3), each terminal (3) including a first press-fit fastener (31) joined to a second press-fit fastener (32) by a linearly-extending main section (see Figure 8) such that the first and second press-fit fasteners (31, 32) extend in opposing directions, and wherein the first press-fit fasteners (31) project from a first end and the second press-fit fasteners (32) project from a second end.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cohen as suggested by Kline to provide a first press-fit fastener joined to a second press-fit fastener by a linearly-extending main section such that the first and second press-fit fasteners extend in opposing directions, and the second press-fit fasteners project from the second end. Kline explicitly discloses that while it describes a right angle backplane connector, the same connector principles “might also be used in a mezzanine or motherboard application” [Column 6, lines 32-44], a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that such application could require straight connection between parallel boards for reliable interconnection as recognized by Kline. Substituting the right angle terminal geometry taught by Cohen with a linear, opposing-fastener terminals taught by Kline is a predictable design variation that would achieve predictable results.
Regarding Claim 2, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 1, Cohen further discloses the terminals (300) can be any desired number of contacts [Column 4, lines 9-11].
Regarding Claim 3, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 2, Cohen further discloses the terminals (300) can be any desired number of contacts [Column 4, lines 9-11].
Regarding Claim 4, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 1, Kline further discloses the first press-fit fasteners (31) are arranged in a single row and the second press-fit fasteners (32) are arranged in a single row (see Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 4, Cohen further discloses the body (263, 273) comprises a pair of first strip surfaces (see annotated Figure 3), each of which extends uninterrupted for the entire length of the row of the first press-fit fasteners (312), and wherein the row of the first press-fit fasteners (32) is disposed adjacent to and between the first strip surfaces.
Regarding Claim 6, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 5, Kline further discloses the body (2) comprises a pair of first strip surfaces (see annotated Figure 4) including the limitations of claim 6 regarding the first strip surfaces; and a pair of second strip surfaces (see annotated Figure 4), each of the second strip surfaces extends uninterrupted for the entire length of the row of the second press-fit fasteners (32), and wherein the row of the second press-fit fasteners (32) is disposed adjacent to and between the second strip surfaces.
Regarding Claim 7, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 1, Cohen further discloses in each of the terminal wafers (260, 270), the sockets (holes, not numbered) of the first side are aligned with the plugs (278) of the second side.
Regarding Claim 8, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 1, Cohen further discloses a pair of adjacent first terminals (300) have depressions (see annotated Figure 3) formed therein, respectively, the depressions facing each other and forming arcuate portions of the first terminals (300) adjacent to the depressions, respectively.
Regarding Claim 11, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 8, Cohen further discloses a pair of adjacent second terminals (300) have depressions (see annotated Figure 3) formed therein, respectively, the depressions facing each other and forming arcuate portions of the second terminals (300) adjacent to the depressions, respectively. Cohen and Kline do not explicitly disclose a second one of the sockets extends between the arcuate portions of the second terminals.
Regarding Claim 12, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 1, Cohen further discloses the plugs (278) inserted into the sockets (holes, not numbered) together form snap-fit connections [Column 3, lines 14-23].
Regarding Claim 13, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 1, Kline further discloses portions (see annotated Figure 4) of the main sections of the terminals (3) project beyond the body (2) to permit the terminals (3) to flex to accommodate any misalignment between positions of the terminals (3) where they exit the body (2) to positions on a part where the first press-fit fasteners (31) or the second press-fit fasteners (32) are to be connected.
Regarding Claim 14, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 1, Cohen further discloses the connector assembly (200) could comprises first (260), second (270) and third terminal wafers, and wherein the second terminal wafer is disposed between and adjoins the first and third terminal wafers [Column 6, lines 50-60].
Regarding Claim 15, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 1, Cohen further discloses the connector assembly (200) could comprises three or more terminal wafers [Column 6, lines 50-60].
Regarding Claim 16, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 1, Cohen further discloses the body (263, 273) further comprises a pair of first pedestals (see annotated Figure 3)) projecting from the first end of the body (263, 273), the first pedestals bracket the first press-fit fasteners (312). Cohen does not explicitly disclose a pair of second pedestals projecting from the second end of the body, and the second pedestals bracket the second press-fit fasteners, since it does not explicitly disclose second press fit fasteners.
Kline further discloses a pair first and of second pedestals (see annotated Figure 4) projecting from the second end of the body (2), and wherein the first pedestals bracket the first press-fit fasteners (31) and the second pedestals bracket the second press-fit fasteners (32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cohen as suggested by Kline to provide a pair of second pedestals projecting from the second end of the body, and wherein the first pedestals bracket the first press-fit fasteners and the second pedestals bracket the second press-fit fasteners, since it does not explicitly disclose second press fit fasteners. Doing so would provide increased structural stability and better alignment for the contacts/engagement.
Regarding Claim 17, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 16, Cohen further discloses the first pedestals (see annotated Figure 3) are sized such that most of the lengths of the first press-fit fasteners (312) extend outwardly farther than the first pedestals.
Kline further discloses the first pedestals (see annotated Figure 4) are sized such that most of the lengths of the first press-fit fasteners (31) extend outwardly farther than the first pedestals, and wherein the second pedestals (see annotated Figure 4) are sized such that most of the lengths of the second press-fit fasteners (32) extend outwardly farther than the second pedestals.
Regarding Claim 18, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 17, Cohen further discloses first and second circuit boards (102, 104; see Fig 1) having plated holes [Column 2, lines 38-47), wherein the first press- fit fasteners (312) are secured in the plated holes of the first circuit board (102), and wherein the first pedestals (see annotated Figure 3) could press against a planar surface of the first circuit board (102). Cohen does not explicitly disclose the second press-fit fasteners are secured in the plated holes of the second circuit board, and the second pedestals press against a planar surface of the second circuit board.
Kline further discloses first and second circuit boards (7, 8; see Fig 5) having plated holes, wherein the first press-fit fasteners (31) are secured in the plated holes of the first circuit board (7) and the second press-fit fasteners (32) are secured in the plated holes of the second circuit board (8), and wherein first pedestals (see annotated Figure 4) of the body (2) could press against a planar surface of the first circuit board (7) the second pedestals (see annotated Figure 4) of the body (2) could press against a planar surface of the second circuit board (8).
Regarding Claim 19, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 1, Cohen further discloses first and second circuit boards (102, 104; see Fig 1) having plated holes [Column 2, lines 38-47), wherein the first press-fit fasteners (312) are secured in the plated holes of the first circuit board (102). Cohen does not explicitly disclose the second press- fit fasteners are secured in the plated holes of the second circuit board, and wherein top portions of the body press against a planar surface of the first circuit board and bottom portions of the body press against a planar surface of the second circuit board.
Kline further discloses first and second circuit boards (7, 8; see Fig 5) having plated holes, wherein the first press-fit fasteners (31) are secured in the plated holes of the first circuit board (7) and the second press-fit fasteners (32) are secured in the plated holes of the second circuit board (8), and wherein top portions of the body (2) could press against a planar surface of the first circuit board (7) and bottom portions of the body (2) press against a planar surface of the second circuit board (8).
Regarding Claim 20, Cohen and Kline disclose all the limitations of claim 19, Cohen further discloses the top portions of the body (263, 273) comprise a pair of first pedestals (see annotated Figure 3) projecting from the first end of the body (263,273), wherein the first pedestals bracket the first press-fit fasteners (312). Cohen does not explicitly disclose the bottom portions of the body comprise a pair of second pedestals, and the second pedestals bracket the second press-fit fasteners.
Kline further discloses the top portions of the body (2) comprise a pair of first pedestals (see annotated Figure 4) projecting from the first end of the body (2), and wherein the bottom portions of the body (2) comprise a pair of second pedestals (see annotated Figure 4), and wherein the first pedestals bracket the first press-fit fasteners (31) and the second pedestals bracket the second press-fit fasteners (32).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 9, the prior art of record do not explicitly disclose a first one of the sockets extends between the arcuate portions of the first terminals.
Claim 10 is objected to as it is dependent on claim 9.
Conclusion
/THASLIMUR RAHMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834