DETAILED ACTION
1. The office acknowledges the receipt of the following and placed of record in the file: Application dated 5/10/2024 claimed priority of date 11/12/2021.
2. Claims 1-31 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
switching means adapted to switch an energy flow in claim 2 and switching means are adapted to perform the switching of the energy flow in claim 3.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: [Fig-6(PSP)].
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 14-15, 20-22 and 24-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiyoshi Gotou (“Gotou”, U.S. Patent Publications No. 2012/0086427.
Regarding Claims 1 and 30, Gotou teaches a Function Enhancement Control Cabinet Module, (FECCM) for a control cabinet [Fig-1], said FECCM, comprising:
a housing into which the Function Enhancement Control Cabinet Module (FECCM) is integrated [Fig-1(“two-way switch-1” has housing)];
at least one energy interface provided at a rear side of the FECCM, for connection of said FECCM, to a power distribution system of said control cabinet [Para: 0059(see port or interface (21 and 22) connections of two-way switch-1 with power source-2 and also see Fig-1)];
at least one application device interface (output 41 or 42) provided at a front side of the housing of the FECCM, for mounting at least one application device (load 4) thereto for connection and power supply of the at least one application device to said FECCM [Para: 0059(“a first output terminal 41 to which one end of the load 4 is connected, … first input terminal 21 and a second input terminal 22 to which the other side of the AC power source 2 … 3 is connected” to provide power to load 4) and 0060; and Fig-1];
at least one internal bidirectional power supply path (opening and closing unit-5) provided between the at least one energy interface (port or interface 21 and 22) and the at least one application device interface (41 or 42) [Fig-1(see the connection of unit-5 with energy interface 21 or 22 in one side and connection of load 4 with interface 41 or 42, as described in para 0060 and 0063)],
wherein the at least one internal bidirectional power supply path is adapted to feed electrical power from the power distribution system connected to the at least one energy interface in a forward power supply direction to the at least one application device connected to the at least one application device interface [Para: 0059(“AC power source 2 or a positive electrode side of the DC power source 3 is connected and a first output terminal 41 to which one end of the load 4 is connected” where the “opening and closing unit-5 can be connected with … AC power source 2” in forward power supply to provide power to load since it “does not have direction dependency on a current or voltage inputted … positive and negative” see para 0063)] or
is adapted to feed electrical power in a reverse power supply direction from the at least one application device connected to the at least one application device interface to the power distribution system connected to the at least one energy interface;
a control interface (controller 8) for connection of said FECCM to an external controller [Fig-1(10)]; and comprising
a user visualization interface adapted to provide output information to a user and/or adapted to receive user input commands from a user of said control cabinet [Para: 0022(“a power type determination unit for displaying a determination result” to a user, also see para 0032-0033)].
Regarding Claim 2, Gotou teaches switching means (opening and closing unit 5) adapted to switch an energy flow between the forward power supply direction [Para: 0063(“opening and closing unit 5 includes the bi-directional semiconductor switch having a transistor structure that does not have direction dependency on a current or voltage inputted” put forward power)] and the reverse power supply direction depending on a type of a device connected to the at least one application device mounted to the at least one application device interface at the front side of the housing of the FECCM [Para: 0064(as “opening and closing unit 5 shown in FIG. 1, showing a bi-directional semiconductor switch formed of inversely-connected elements …”)] , (1).
Regarding Claim 3, Gotou teaches wherein the switching means are adapted to perform the switching of the energy flow between the forward supply direction [Para: 0063] and the reverse supply direction [Para: 0064] under control of a microcontroller (controller 8) or FPGA integrated in a data processing unit of the FECCM [Para: 0083 and 0091] .
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Gotou teaches at least one measurement unit (71) provided between the at least one energy interface and the at least one application device interface to provide measurement data to the data processing unit (rectifying unit 6) of said FECCM [Para: 0086].
Regarding Claim 6, Gotou teaches wherein the data processing unit is galvanically isolated from said at least one measurement unit and is adapted to exchange control information and data with the external controller connected to the control interface of the FECCM [Fig-8A (See item 6 and 71)].
Regarding Claim 8, Gotou teaches wherein the data processing unit of the FECCM is adapted to determine an application device operation state of the at least one application device connected to the at least one application device interface provided at the front side of the housing of said FECCM by evaluation of the measurement data received by the data processing unit from the at least one measurement unit of the FECCM [para: 0086(as “When the AC/DC two-way switch 1 is connected with the AC power source 2, a ripple current rectified by the rectifying unit 6 is inputted to the power type determination unit 71”)]; and/or
wherein the data processing unit of is adapted to determine a power supply state of the power distribution system connected to the at least one energy interface provided at the rear side of the housing of said FECCM by evaluation of the measurement data received by the data processing unit of the FECCM from the at least one measurement unit of the FECCM.
Regarding Claim 9, Gotou teaches wherein the user visualization interface is connected to the data processing unit of the FECCM and is adapted to display the application device operation state, in particular an operation failure state, of the at least one application device connected to the at least one application device interface provided at the front side of the housing of the FECCM and/or is adapted to display a power supply state of the power distribution system connected to the at least one energy interface provided at the rear side of the housing of the FECCM [Para: 0022(“a power type determination unit for displaying a determination result” to a user, also see para 0032-0033)].
Regarding Claim 10, Gotou teaches wherein the user visualization interface is a touch sensitive user interface adapted to receive user input commands of a user of the control cabinet [OO22].
Regarding Claim 14, Gotou teaches an AC power supply phase (AC power source 2), L, is applied to a corresponding electrical contact (21 and 22) of the at least one energy interface provided at the rear side of the housing of the FECCM connected to the -power distribution system [Para: 0059 and Fig-1].
Regarding Claim 20, Gotou teaches wherein the data processing unit of the FECCM is adapted to communicate with an external control cabinet controller connected to the control interface of the by means of a predefined data transfer protocol including a field bus data transfer protocol or an Ethernet-based data transfer protocol [Para: 0094].
Regarding Claim 21, Gotou teaches wherein the at least one application device (load 4) connected to the at least one application device interface provided at the front side of the housing of the FECCM comprises a switchable or non-switchable load connector [Para: 082(as “When a signal for turning on the load 4 is received from the manipulation unit 10,”) and Fig-1(see connection of load 4 with switch 10)].
Regarding Claim 22, Gotou teaches wherein the at least one energy interface provided at the rear side of the housing of the FECCM comprises several electrical contacts for AC power supply phases, L, of a multiphase power distribution system [Fig-1(see AC power source 2)] and
wherein the at least one application device interface provided at the front side of the housing of the comprises several electrical contacts for AC power supply phases, L, of a multiphase application device connectable to at least one the application device interface provided at the front side of the housing of the FECCM [Fig-1(see the connection interfaces 21 and 22 of AC power supply 2 that connect load device 4)].
Regarding Claim 29, Gotou teaches wherein the switching means comprises a power electronic subsystem having semiconductor switches adapted to perform a switching of an energy flow between the forward supply direction and the reverse supply direction under control of a microcontroller or FPGA integrated in a data processing unit of the FECCM [Para: 0063(“the bi-directional semiconductor switch having a transistor structure”)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 24-28 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotou as set forth above.
Regarding Claim 31, Gotou teaches wherein the at least one energy interface provided at the rear side of the housing of the FECCM comprises several electrical contacts for AC power supply phases, L, of a multiphase power distribution system [Fig-1(see AC power source 2)] and
wherein the at least one application device interface provided at the front side of the housing of the comprises several electrical contacts for AC power supply phases, L, of a multiphase application device connectable to at least one the application device interface provided at the front side of the housing of the FECCM [Fig-1(see the connection interfaces 21 and 22 of AC power supply 2 that connect load device 4)]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have each AC power supply phase, L, of the AC power distribution system (14) an associated measurement unit and wherein the measurement units and the data processing units of the FECCM are provided on a common rectangular printed circuit board based on user requirement in order have an efficient system and achieving commercial success.
Regarding Claims 24-28, Claims recite obvious variations of FECCM as set forth above. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the teachings of Gotou (as set forth above) to achieve various aspects of FECCM as recited in Claims 24-28 in order to achieve commercial success and user requirement.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 4, 7, 11-13, 16-19 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED H REHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176