DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lohr et al (Pub. No. 20260075669).
- With respect to claims 1, 7, 12, 14, Lohr teaches an operation a method performed by a transmitting user equipment (UE), the method comprising: transmitting, to a receiving UE, a direct communication request message based on a default sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) (par. 60 discloses “The DCR message may be sent according to a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration (e.g., DCR message may be sent during DRX ActiveTime to ensure that a peer UE is able to receive the DCR message” and Fig. 5 step 510); transmitting, to the receiving UE, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including an initial sidelink DRX configuration (e.g. Fig. 5 shows step 518 and Fig. 6 step 618 and par. 61 discloses the predefined configuration is used “until peer UEs configure a different DRX configuration using a RRCReconfigurationSidelink procedure”; par. 64-68); and transmitting, to the receiving UE, a sidelink signal based on the initial sidelink DRX configuration (e.g. Fig. 5-6 step 526, 626 discloses “using a dedicated DRX configuration for unicast link; par. 64, 68), wherein the receiving UE is in an active state between a reception of the direct communication request message and a reception of the RRC reconfiguration message (par. 60 discloses the peer UE is in ActiveTime, monitoring SCI/PSCCH, when the DCR is received. Löhr further discloses that the period after establishment of the unicast link until the SL DRX configuration is configured by RRCReconfiguration "may be considered DRX ActiveTime (e.g., no DRX is applied)." Par. 69).
- With respect to claims 2, 8, Lohr teaches wherein the initial sidelink DRX configuration is completed based on a reception of an RRC reconfiguration complete message (see claim 1 and par. 60 discloses the initiating of SL RRC Reconfiguration).
- With respect to claims 3, 9, Lohr teaches receiving, from the receiving UE, an RRC reconfiguration complete message or an RRC reconfiguration failure message in response to the RRC reconfiguration message (see par. 64 and Fig. 5 step 518).
- With respect to claims 5, 11, Lohr teaches transmitting a sidelink signal only in an on duration of the default sidelink DRX before transmitting the direct communication request message (see par. 60 discloses a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used for transmission and/or reception of PC5-S messages until PC5-S security has been established. In such embodiments, during establishment of a unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure), an initiating UE (TX UE) sends a direct communication request (“DCR”) message to initiate the unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure)”.
- With respect to claim 6, Lohr teaches wherein the active state is maintained even in an off duration of the default sidelink DRX (e.g. inactive timer for SL as discloses in par. 53, 75-78).
- With respect to claim 13, Lohr teaches wherein the transmitting UE communicates with at least one of another UE, a UE related to an autonomous driving vehicle, a BS, or a network (e.g. UEs in Fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
. Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471